DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0106799 to Cai et al. (“Cai”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0408293 to Han et al. (“Han”).
As to claim 1, Cai discloses a method performed by a consumer network function (NF) in a wireless communication system (Cai: fig 1-16), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a network function energy control function (NECF), a request message for energy related information about at least one NF instance (Cai: fig 1-16, [0023-207]: fig 6A-B ... in operation 1, service (AF) (consumer network function (NF)) sends an EE (energy efficiency) management request (transmitting ... a request message for energy related information ...) to the SEECF (... to a network function energy control function (NECF)) directly or via the exposure interface ... operation 2, upon receiving the request, SEECF queries the DAF for current (actual) or estimated EE information for the service [0130] ... operation 5 the DAF requests the related NFs for the EE information and the NFs return the requested EE information in operation 6 (transmitting, to a network function energy control function (NECF), a request message for energy related information about at least one NF instance) [0132]).
Cai did not explicitly disclose receiving, from the NECF, a response message including the energy related information about the at least one NF instance corresponding to a target NF(emphasis added).
For clarity, Han discloses receiving, from the NECF, a response message including the energy related information about the at least one NF instance corresponding to a target NF(emphasis added) (Han: fig 1-9, [0022-113]: fig 3-8 ... to automate a configuration of network apparatuses or resources so that higher-level requirements of a mobile communication network operation, such as the minimization of an energy operation (see with [0074] below - energy related information about the at least one NF instance corresponding to a target NF) [0020] ... a case where a specific slice (target NF) is in a congested situation analytics information of a terminal may be requested from the NWDAF (NECF) 430 and additionally, an operator may request, from the NWDAF (NECF) 430, service usage analytics information of a terminal as a part of the application of a policy, such as the optimization of network energy ... (see with fig 3-8 ‘target of reporting’ & [0020] above - receiving, from the NECF, a response message including the energy related information about the at least one NF instance corresponding to a target NF) [0074] ... an object of a policy related to a change in the RFSP index value may be for achieving objects from various operation viewpoints, such as a reduction of energy of a terminal (see with [0020;74] above - target NF), a reduction of energy of a base station(see with [0020;74] above - target NF) ... the PCF 620 may request network analytics information for a radio access technology and frequency for each specific area (see with [0074] above - target NF(s)) through a message provided by the NWDAF (NECF) (see with fig 3-8 ‘target of reporting’ & [0074] above - receiving, from the NECF, a response message including the energy related information about the at least one NF(s) instance corresponding to a target NF(s)) ... information delivered in filter information (see with fig 3-8 & [0074] above - receiving, from the NECF, a response message including the energy related information about the at least one NF(s) instance corresponding to a target NF(s)) for limiting and providing information used by a terminal in a specific interval or at specific future timing and, additionally, if only analytics information for a specific RAT or a specific frequency band is necessary, the specific RAT or frequency band may be included in a filter (see with fig 3-8 & [0074] above - receiving, from the NECF, a response message including the energy related information about the at least one NF(s) instance corresponding to a target NF(s)) [0088-89] ... NWDAF 630 delivers generated analytics information to the PCF 620 that requested the analytics information (see with fig 3-8 & [0074;88-89] above - receiving, from the NECF, a response message including the energy related information about the at least one NF(s) instance corresponding to a target NF(s)) [0091]).
Cai and Han are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to automate configuration.
Before the effective filing date, for AIA , it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Han into the method by Cai. The suggestion/motivation would have been to automate a configuration of network apparatuses or resources so that higher-level requirements of a mobile communication network operation, such as the minimization of an energy operation (Han: [0020]).
Cai and Han further disclose performing energy-aware NF selection based on the received energy related information (Cai: fig 1-16, [0023-207]: fig 6-11 ... for example see fig 7 ... determining an EE policy for the service based on the EE (energy efficiency) management request and obtained EE (energy efficiency) information from SEECF/DAF 730 ... when the service-level EE does not meet or exceed a requested EE level included in the EE management request, adjusting EE policies for one or more of the user plane paths according to the EE capabilities of the respective NNFs (NF selection(s)) until an updated service-level EE determined based on the adjusted EE policies meets or exceeds the requested EE level 734 (performing energy-aware NF(s) selection based on the received energy related information);
Han: fig 1-9, [0022-113]: fig 3-8 ... PCF 620 may select an RFSP index value that is most optimized so that a specific terminal achieves an object of an operation (see with fig 3-8 & [0074;88-89;91] above - performing energy-aware NF selection based on the received energy related information) [0092]).
Same motivation applies as mentioned above to make the proposed modification.
As to claim 2, Cai and Han disclose wherein the NECF is comprised in a network data analytic function (NWDAF) (Cai: fig 1-16, [0023-207]: SEECF (510) can be implemented as a part of the PCF or an extension thereof. ... NWDAF (521) and MDAF (522) are more specific examples of the DAF (420) in fig 4 and NWDAF provides EE analytics based on information from NFs (540) [0080] ... exemplary method shown in fig 7 can be performed by an SEECF or a network node hosting an SEECF (see with [0080] above & [0166;207] below - node hosting NWDAF/DAF – thus, wherein the NECF is comprised in a network data analytic function (NWDAF)) such as described elsewhere herein [0138] ... exemplary method shown in fig 8 can be performed by a DAF such as an NWDAF, MDAF, or combination thereof, or a network node hosting the same, such as described elsewhere herein (see with [0080;138] above & [0207] below - node hosting NWDAF/DAF – thus, wherein the NECF is comprised in a network data analytic function (NWDAF)) [0166] ... although various embodiments are described above in terms of methods, techniques, and/or procedures, the person of ordinary skill will readily comprehend that such methods, techniques, and/or procedures can be embodied by various combinations of hardware and software in various systems, communication devices, computing devices, control devices, apparatuses, non-transitory computer- readable media, computer program products, etc (see with [0080;138;166] above - node hosting NWDAF/DAF – thus, wherein the NECF is comprised in a network data analytic function (NWDAF)) [0207];
Han: fig 1-9, [0022-113]: ... functionalities provided in the components and "units" may be combined into fewer components and "units" or may be further separated into additional components and "units" and, furthermore, the components and "units" may be implemented to operate on one or more CPUs within a device or a security multimedia card and, furthermore, in an embodiment, "-unit" may include one or more processors (see with Cai above - node hosting NWDAF/DAF – thus, wherein the NECF is comprised in a network data analytic function (NWDAF)) [0037]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 3, Cai and Han disclose wherein the at least one NF instance includes NF instances included in an NF type that the consumer NF has selected and currently using (Han: fig 1-9, [0022-113]: ... UDM may assist in performing generation of ... the processing of a user ID, the reverse concealment of a subscriber concealed ID (SUPI), the management of lists of the NF currently supporting a UE, subscriber information (subscription) management, SMS management, etc., for example. [0047] ... NWDAF can configure an optimal value by taking into consideration a service usage history (an NF type that the consumer NF has selected) of a terminal and a current situation (and currently using) of a network in addition to information that is previously used in determining an RFSP index value by the PCF or the AMF (see with [0047] above & fig 3 301 analyticid5 “UE usage type”, target of reporting = list of SUPI, filters” - wherein the at least one NF instance includes NF instances included in an NF type that the consumer NF has selected and currently using) [0055]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 4, Cai and Han disclose wherein the request message for energy related information includes target NF information and request identifier (Cai: fig 1-16, [0023-207]: ... energy efficiency as service criteria, with a goal of allowing users e.g., end users and/or application services to select energy efficiency criteria along with other network performance parameters for their services (see with [0073] below - requirements) (wherein the request message for energy related information includes ...) [0070] ... requirements can be communicated either dynamically through a network interface e.g., NEF or can be specified via a service level agreement (SLA) (see with [0070] above- wherein the request message for energy related information includes) [0073] ... each service-level requirement can include the following information elements: Requirement Type, with "Energy Efficiency" or "EE" being used to identify a requirement for energy efficiency [0088-89] ... service ID (possible request identifier) for the service associated with the requirement [0090] Performance Metric, indicating a type of network performance e.g., DV, latency, etc. to which the EE requirement applies [0091] ... required (or requested) EE level, which vary according to performance metric and for example, if the performance metric is DV, a required EE level could be X Mbytes/Joule [0092] ... IP Filter to identify specific IP flows for the service (possible request identifier) and UE IDs, to identify specific UEs that are associated with the energy efficiency requests (request message for energy related information includes target NF information ...) [0094-95] ... service (AF) sends an EE management request to the SEECF directly or via the exposure interface and the request includes a service ID (possible request identifier) a performance metric, a required or requested EE level (request message for energy related information includes target NF information ...) and optionally other information described above such as IP filters, user plane path filters, etc. In operation 2, upon receiving the request, the SEECF queries the DAF for current (actual) or estimated EE information for the service (request message for energy related information includes target NF information ...) in the communication network and the query includes the service ID and, if available, IP filter(s) or user plane path filter(s) that the DAF can use to identify the service ((possible request identifier(s))) [0130];
Han: fig 1-9, [0022-113]: ... (NWDAF) includes receiving a message to request network analytics information for a radio access technology and frequency for each specific area, collecting information for providing the network analytics information based on the message (request message for energy related information includes ...) [0011] ... the generated network analytics information includes usage-related analytics information of a UE and usage-related analytics information of the UE includes at least one of information on a slice used by the UE (target NF information) information on a data network used by the UE, an identifier of the UE (possible request identifier) a UE usage type (possible request identifier) a media type (possible request identifier) a mobility type (possible request identifier) an average bandwidth, a maximum bandwidth, a use application list (target NF information) and a 5G quality of service identifier (5QI) list (target NF information) [0013]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 5, Cai and Han disclose wherein the response message is received periodically (Han: fig 1-9, [0022-113]: ... the NWDAF 320 may deliver the generated analytics information to the consumer 310 who has requested the analytics information and in the case of subscription in step 301, the analytics information may be delivered whenever a condition in which notification is delivered is satisfied (wherein the response message is received periodically) [0070] ... information related to the time may be additionally delivered in filter information for limiting and providing information used by a terminal in a specific interval or at specific future timing (wherein the response message is received periodically) [0068]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 6, Cai and Han disclose wherein the response message includes at least one of energy efficiency (EE), energy consumption (EC), or renewable energy ratio (Cai: fig 1-16, [0023-207]: Requirement Type with "Energy Efficiency" or "EE" being used to identify a requirement for energy efficiency [0089]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 7-11 and 13, see similar rejection to claims 1-4, 6 and 5, respectively where the method is taught by the method.
As to claim 12, Cai and Han disclose wherein the energy related information is collected from an OAM or corresponding NF instance (Cai: fig 1-16, [0023-207]: ... SEECF performs these operations based on EE information collected from NFs (440) (corresponding NF instance(s)) and management functions MFs, 450, e.g., in OAM (an OAM) analytics provided by the Data Analytics Function 420, e.g., NWDAF, and other relevant information [0075]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A) US 20250317353 – Starsinic
In an embodiment, a method implemented in a first network function (NF) node, comprises transmitting, to a network repository function (NRF) node, a discovery request message comprising first information indicating one or more service operations related to NFs to be discovered; receiving, from the NRF node, a discovery response message comprising second information indicating one or more discovered NFs, and energy consumption information respectively associated with the one or more service operations of each of the one or more discovered NFs; determining a discovered NF among the one or more discovered NFs based on the energy consumption information respectively associated with the one or more service operations of each of the one or more discovered NFs; and transmitting, to a second NF node of the determined discovered NF, a first request message for the one or more service operations.
B) US 20250373654 – Feder
Systems and methods described herein detect user equipment (UE)-based denial-of-service (DoS) or distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks based on energy consumption levels. An energy consumption (EC) DDoS monitoring service, collects, from one or more network devices in a core network, energy consumption data and identifies, based on the energy consumption data, normal energy consumption levels of one or more UE devices or network functions. The EC DDoS monitoring service determines, based on the normal energy consumption levels, energy consumption thresholds indicative of a DoS or DDoS attack.
/JUNE SISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455