DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama (US 2023/0195391) in view of Nakane (US 2025/0337845).
Regarding Claim 1, Murayama teaches an information processing apparatus (Paragraph 2) having a function of executing a job (Paragraph 51), the information processing apparatus comprising:
a display (Paragraph 57, wherein there is a display);
at least one processor (Paragraph 76, wherein there is a CPU); and
at least one memory that is in communication with the at least one processor (Paragraph 77, wherein there is a memory),
wherein the at least one memory stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to:
control the display to display a plurality of items respectively corresponding to a plurality of jobs executed by the information processing apparatus (Paragraph 33 and 34, wherein job information can be displayed);
accept a selection of an item from the plurality of items (Paragraph 115, wherein the user can select the error displayed);
perform a diagnosis of the information processing apparatus regarding the item based on acceptance of the selection of the item (Paragraphs 82 and 116-118, wherein it is determined how to correct the error).
Murayama does not teach in a case where the plurality of items is displayed, perform a diagnosis of the information processing apparatus without the selection of the item from the plurality of items.
Nakane does teach in a case where the plurality of items is displayed, perform a diagnosis of the information processing apparatus without the selection of the item from the plurality of items (Paragraphs 60-68, wherein the user can select to show a list of countermeasures that may be needed without selecting any particular error/job itself.).
Murayama teaches displaying a selection of errors corresponding to jobs.
Nakane teaches displaying a selection of determining an error that may not be associated with a job.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Murayama performs the same function as it does separately of selecting a job and correcting the associated error. Nakane performs the same function as it does separately selectin a mode to determine how to correct an error.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The result of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in modifying the invention of Murayama to include the additional option of a diagnosis mode to determine additional problems with the image processing apparatus, as disclosed by Nakane thereby enabling for countermeasures to be determined for each a job countermeasure and a device countermeasure.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention made.
Regarding Claim 2, Nakane further teaches wherein the function of executing the job includes at least one of a function of a printer configured to perform printing and a function of a scanner configured to read an image as data (Paragraph 26, wherein there is a printer and a scanner).
Murayama and Nakane are combinable because they both deal with processing errors in an image processing apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Murayama with the teachings of Nakane for the purpose of properly denying all types of problems within the device (Nakane: Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Murayama further teaches wherein the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to:
accept selection of a diagnosis content (Paragraph 115, wherein the user can select the error displayed); and
perform the diagnosis of the information processing apparatus regarding the diagnosis content and the item based on acceptance of both the selection of the diagnosis content and the selection of the item (Paragraphs 82 and 116-118, wherein it is determined how to correct the error).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakane further teaches wherein the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to:
accept selection of a diagnosis content (Paragraphs 60-68, wherein the user can select to show a list of countermeasures that may be needed without selecting any particular error/job itself.); and
in a case where the display displays the plurality of items after acceptance of the selection of the diagnosis content, perform a diagnosis of the information processing apparatus without the selection of the item from the plurality of items (Paragraphs 60-68, wherein the user can select to show a list of countermeasures that may be needed without selecting any particular error/job itself.).
Murayama teaches displaying a selection of errors corresponding to jobs.
Nakane teaches displaying a selection of determining an error that may not be associated with a job.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Murayama performs the same function as it does separately of selecting a job and correcting the associated error. Nakane performs the same function as it does separately selectin a mode to determine how to correct an error.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The result of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in modifying the invention of Murayama to include the additional option of a diagnosis mode to determine additional problems with the image processing apparatus, as disclosed by Nakane thereby enabling for countermeasures to be determined for each a job countermeasure and a device countermeasure.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention made.
Regarding Claim 5, Murayama further teaches wherein the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to, in a case where the accepted selection of the diagnosis content is a selection of a predetermined diagnosis content, perform control of not executing the diagnosis of the information processing apparatus (Paragraphs 60-68, wherein the user can select to show a list of countermeasures that may be needed without selecting any particular error/job itself. The countermeasure is only for that job).
Regarding Claim 8, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama (US 2023/0195391) in view of Nakane (US 2025/0337845) further in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 6, Murayama in view of Nakane does not teach wherein the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to transmit image data read by a scanner of the information processing apparatus to an external apparatus, and
wherein the predetermined diagnosis content is a diagnosis menu regarding the transmission of the image data read by the scanner.
Official notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a device that can transmit a scanned image. This is a known feature of image processing apparatuses, to be able to scan an image and either save the image to an external device or transmit it to another device for processing and/or printing. When adding functionality to the device, different errors would need to be addressed.
Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Murayama in view of Nakane with the teachings of transmission of image data for the purpose of expanding the options available to the device for image processing of data.
Regarding Claim 7, Murayama teaches storage configured to store information regarding the job executed by the information processing apparatus (Paragraph 57, wherein job information is stored).
Murayama in view of Nakane does not teach wherein the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to:
delete the information from the storage unit; and
in a case where the information is not stored in the storage unit, perform a diagnosis of the information processing apparatus after acceptance of a selection of a diagnosis content without the selection of the item.
Official notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to delete a job when it is completed and therefore if there is an error in the device, and no jobs are present, then the errors are not associated with a job. This would require a selection of a diagnosis similar to Nakane to be performed to determine the countermeasures to correct the error.
Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Murayama in view of Nakane with the teachings of deleting of completed jobs to ensure that proper identification of errors within the device is performed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of Imai (US 2024/0114096) is directed towards displaying countermeasures for an image processing apparatus.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699