DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed June 29, 2026.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed June 29, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) previously presented in the Office Action sent April 1, 2026 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed June 29, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent April 1, 2026 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0318521 A1) in view of Polanky et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0088139 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Li discloses a mounting base for PV panel installation, characterized in that it comprises
an integrated base body (2, Fig. 1-4),
multiple mounting screws (23, Fig. 2-4), and
at least one rail clamp (combination of 3/4 depicted in Fig. 1-4 cited to read on the claimed “at least one rail clamp”), wherein:
the base body includes a fixed base (such as depicted in Fig. 2-4, the cited base body 2 includes a fixed base 21) and
a mounting section on top of the fixed base (as depicted in Fig. 2-4, the cited base body 2 includes a mounting section 22 on top of the fixed base), wherein
the mounting section connects to the at least one rail clamp (as depicted in Fig. 1-4, the cited mounting section 22 connects to the cited at least one rail clamp 3/4);
the fixed base is equipped with multiple pre-installed screw sections, arranged around its periphery, with pre-threaded holes matching the mounting screws (as depicted in Fig. 2-4, the cited fixed base 21 is equipped with multiple pre-installed screw sections 212 with mounting screws 23, arranged around its periphery, with pre-threaded holes matching the cited mounting screws 23); the at least one rail clamp consists of
a clamp body connected to an adjustable section (as depicted in Fig. 2-4, the cited at least one rail clamp 3/4 consists of a clamp body 3 connected to an adjustable section 4), wherein the adjustable section includes
a movable block (421, Fig. 2-4),
a spring (424, Fig. 2-4 and see [0036] teaching “elastic member 424 is preferably a spring), and
a flange bolt (422, Fig. 2-4); and
the mounting section features a positioning groove; the clamp body is equipped with a protrusion that fits into the positioning groove (as depicted in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3 below, the cited mounting section 22 features a positioning groove between two teeth, the cited clamp body at component 3 is equipped with a protrusion at a tooth that fits into the cited positioning groove).
Annotated Fig. 3
Li does not disclose wherein the spring is a conical spring.
However, Polanky et al. discloses a mounting base for PV panel installation (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a spring can be a conical spring (see [0027]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the spring in the mounting base of Li for the conical spring disclosed by Polanky et al. because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function, in the instant case a spring, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
With regard to claim 3, independent claim 1 is obvious over Li in view of Polanky et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Li discloses characterized in that
the mounting section is U-shaped (as depicted in Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 4 below, the cited mounting section 22 is cited to read on the claimed “is U-shaped” because it includes a portion, at the bottom part of slot 221, that includes a shape resembling the letter U), and
Annotated Fig. 4
the rail clamps are connected to the mounting section via bolts, allowing for vertical height adjustment of the at least one rail clamp through a U-slot mechanism (as depicted in Fig. 2-4, the cited at least one rail clamp 3/4 is connected to the cited mounting section via bolts 242, allowing for vertical height adjustment of the at least one rail clamp 3/4 through a U-slot mechanism 221).
With regard to claim 4, dependent claim 3 is obvious over Li in view of Polanky et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Li discloses characterized in that
a top of the mounting section is designed with a retaining edge to prevent bolt slippage (such as depicted in Fig. 3, a top of the cited mounting section 22 is designed with a retaining edge including corrugated teeth to prevent bolt slippage).
With regard to claim 5, independent claim 1 is obvious over Li in view of Polanky et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Li discloses characterized in that
the center of the fixed base is provided with a spare screw installation hole (as depicted in Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 2 below, the center of the cited fixed base 21 is provided with a spare screw installation hole 212, as it is structurally capable of receiving a spare screw).
Annotated Fig. 2
With regard to claim 6, independent claim 1 is obvious over Li in view of Polanky et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Li discloses characterized in that
a contact surface between the mounting section and the at least one rail clamp is equipped with anti-slip teeth (as depicted in Fig. 3, a contact surface between cited the mounting section 22 and the cited at least one rail clamp 3/4 at component 3 is equipped with anti-slip teeth).
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truthseeker (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0387848 A1) in view of Polanky et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0088139 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Truthseeker discloses a mounting base for PV panel installation, characterized in that it comprises
an integrated base body (298, Fig. 17),
multiple mounting screws (118, Fig. 17), and
at least one rail clamp (combination of 296/302/304, Fig. 17 cited to read on the claimed “at least one rail clamp”), wherein:
the base body includes a fixed base (such as depicted in Fig. 17, the cited base body 298 includes a fixed base at the bottom horizontal portion of 298) and
a mounting section on top of the fixed base (as depicted in Fig. 17, the cited base body 298 includes a mounting section at the vertical portion of 298 on top of the cited fixed base), wherein
the mounting section connects to the at least one rail clamp (as depicted in Fig. 17, the cited mounting section, recall vertical portion of 298, connects to the cited at least one rail clamp 296/302/304);
the fixed base is equipped with multiple pre-installed screw sections, arranged around its periphery, with pre-threaded holes matching the mounting screws (as depicted in Fig. 17, the cited fixed base, recall bottom horizontal portion of 298, is equipped with multiple pre-installed screw sections at 300, arranged around its periphery, with pre-threaded holes 300 matching the cited mounting screws 118); the at least one rail clamp consists of
a clamp body connected to an adjustable section (as depicted in Fig. 17, the cited at least one rail clamp 296/302/304 consists of a clamp body 296 connected to an adjustable section 302/304), wherein the adjustable section includes
a movable block (304, Fig. 17), and
a flange bolt (302, Fig. 17); and
the mounting section features a positioning groove; the clamp body is equipped with a protrusion that fits into the positioning groove (as depicted in Fig. 17, the cited mounting section, recall vertical portion of 298, features a positioning groove between alignment flanges 306, the cited clamp body at component 296 is equipped with a vertical protrusion that fits into the cited positioning groove).
Annotated Fig. 3
Truthseeker does not disclose wherein the adjustable section of the at least one rail clamp includes a conical spring.
However, Polanky et al. discloses a mounting base for PV panel installation (see Title and Abstract) and teaches an adjustable section of a clamp can include a conical spring to bias the fastener when the bolt is partially threaded into the hole (see [0027]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the mounting base of Truthseeker to include a conical spring, as disclosed by Polanky et al., because it would have provided to bias the cited adjustable section when the cited bolt is partially threaded into the hole.
With regard to claim 7, independent claim 1 is obvious over Truthseeker in view of Polanky et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Truthseeker discloses characterized in that
the positioning groove and the protrusion are both rectangular (see Fig. 17 depicting the cited positioning groove between flanges 306 and the cited protrusion at the vertical portion of 296 are both rectangular).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truthseeker (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0387848 A1) in view of Polanky et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0088139 A1), and in further view of Qu et al. (CN 118909568 A) and Meyer et al. (CN 104736943 A).
With regard to claim 7, independent claim 1 is obvious over Truthseeker in view of Polanky et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Truthseeker teaches characterized in that the bottom of the fixed base is a waterproof seal (see 134, Fig. 17 and [0116]) but does not teach the waterproof seal includes a foam rubber layer, a butyl rubber layer, and a release paper.
However, Qu et al. discloses a waterproof member for a PV installation (see Title and Abstract) and teaches the material of the waterproof member can be sequentially layered with a substrate layer of polyurethane, a waterproof insulation layer made of butyl rubber, and a release paper (see [0023-0026]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the cited layered materials suggested by Qu et al. for the material of the cited waterproof seal of Truthseeker because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, in the instant case a material for a waterproof seal, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP 2144.07).
Truthseeker, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the polyurethane substrate layer is a foam rubber layer.
However, Meyer et al. discloses a PV installation (see Title and Abstract) and teaches polyurethane can be in the form of a foam rubber to provide high coefficient of static friction of a flexible material (see [0084]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the polyurethane material of Truthseeker, as modified above, to include the polyurethane foam rubber material of Meyer et al. because it would have provided for high coefficient of static friction of a flexible material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited rail clamp 3/4 of Li is not the claimed “rail clamp” because “Li’s clamp 4 does not connect a base to a rail”. However, this argument is not persuasive and the claims do not require a rail clamp to “connect a base to a rail”.
The claims require “the mounting section connects to the at least one rail clamp” which Li depicts in Fig. 1-4, as the cited mounting section 22 connects to the cited at least one rail clamp 3/4.
Applicant argues Li does not teach the claimed “integrated base body” because Li teaches a multi-component mounting system and the invention is directed to a unitary integrated mounting base. However, this argument is not persuasive.
The claims do not recite any limitations precluding a multi-component mounting system or requiring a unitary integrated mounting base.
Applicant argues that Li and Polansky lack proper motivation because the spring in Li is used differently than the spring in Polansky. However, this argument is not persuasive.
Both the cited spring in Li and the cited spring in Polansky are used to apply a bias/force.
Applicant argues Truthseeker does not teach a “rail clamp” or an “adjustable section” because the cited components have different functions. However, this argument is not persuasive.
The claims do not recite or require a function precluding the cited components of Truthseeker to read on the claimed rail clamp and adjustable section.
Applicant argues the alignment flanges of Truthseeker are not position grooves because they provide vertical stability. However, this argument is not persuasive.
Nothing in the claims or in Truthseeker precludes components which provide vertical stability to read on a positioning groove.
Applicant argues in the response there is no motivation to add a conical spring to Truthseeker because Truthseeker has no need for a spring bias. However, this argument is not persuasive.
It would have been obvious because it would have provided to bias the cited adjustable section when the cited bolt is partially threaded into the hole.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 September 7, 2026