DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 7 posted on 04/01/2025 are presently pending in the application and have been examined below, of which claims 1, 6 and 7 are presented in independent form.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 04/01/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/01/2025 and 07/15/2025, have been considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, initialed and dated copies of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 filed as stated above are attached to the instant Office Action.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holub et al. (US 12386980) (hereafter Holub) and in view of Hannis et al. (US 20150047032) (hereafter Hannis).
As per claim 1 Holub discloses: A method for detecting attacks on a computer system, comprising the following steps: for each of one or more security vulnerabilities, extracting at least one exploit string assigned to the security vulnerability from code of a program that exploits the security vulnerability (Holub, in col. 2, ll.45-53 discloses detection of security vulnerability in a code by execution of specially generated string), wherein each of the extracted exploit strings is a string sent by the program for exploiting the security vulnerability to which the exploit string is assigned (Holub, in col. 2, ll.54-62 further discloses generation of execution detection token, i.e., extraction, identifying detected security vulnerability);
receiving messages by a computer system (Holub, in col. 4, ll.23-33 and in Fig. 1 discloses a detection system performing scanning, i.e., searching, of the data files/messages processed in the system); searching for the extracted exploit strings in payload data of the received messages (Holub, in col. 4, ll.47-53 further discloses storage in a respective database the detected execution detected token, EDT, related to the detected security vulnerability; the detected strings are compared for matching with the stored strings);
Holub does not explicitly disclose: usage of specialized detection system performing network traffic scanning, i.e., scanning of received messages for vulnerability and respective exploits, followed by identification, i.e., assignment, and generation alarm. However, Hannis discloses: and in response to one of the extracted exploit strings being found in one of the received messages, issuing an alarm indicating that an attack to exploit the security vulnerability assigned to the found exploit string has occurred, and alarm information indicating the message and the security vulnerability (Hannis, in para. [0065-0066] discloses Network Intrusion Detection System, NIDS, performing a search for pattern, indicating malicious activity in the system, Hannis, in para. [0074] discloses generation an alert in the network in response to the detected security vulnerability);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holub in view of teaching of Hannis because they both disclose methods for detection and treatment of malicious actions by using exploits analysis. The motivation to combine would be to modify Holub for teaching of Hannis for using an intrusion detection system generating identifiers and alarms for found system vulnerabilities to improve security in the system.
As per claim 2 Holub as modified discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the computer system by which the messages are received implements a honeypot (Hannis in para. [0242-0244] discloses implementation of honeypot for system vulnerability treatment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holub in view of teaching of Hannis because they both disclose methods for detection and treatment of malicious actions by using exploits analysis. The motivation to combine would be to modify Holub for teaching of Hannis for using honeypot technology to treat system vulnerabilities and to improve security in the system.
As per claim 3 Holub as modified discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to one of the extracted exploit strings being found in one of the received messages, establishing a security measure against the security vulnerability assigned to the found exploit string on the computer system or another computer system (Examiner note: the limitation “a security measure” is disclosed by applicant in para. [0032] of SPECS as a honeypot implemented in the system) (Hannis in para. [0242-0244] discloses implementation of honeypot for system vulnerability treatment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holub in view of teaching of Hannis because they both disclose methods for detection and treatment of malicious actions by using exploits analysis. The motivation to combine would be to modify Holub for teaching of Hannis for using honeypot technology to treat system vulnerabilities and to improve security in the system.
As per claim 4 Holub as modified discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising: ascertaining the one or more security vulnerabilities by filtering security vulnerabilities from a security vulnerability database, wherein those security vulnerabilities are filtered out which include functions which the computer system does not comprise (Holub, in col.12, ll63-65, col. 13, ll.2-18 discloses the assessment service 470 for vulnerability analysis, i.e., filtering of specified features, followed by providing additional processes to monitor security in the system).
As per claim 6, claim 6 encompasses same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
As per claim 7, claim 7 encompasses same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 7 is rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holub et al. (US 12386980) (hereafter Holub), in view of Hannis et al. (US 20150047032) (hereafter Hannis) and in view of Cameron et al. (US 20250165616) (hereafter Cameron).
As per claim 5 Holub as modified failed to explicitly disclose: implementation of machine learning technology for security vulnerability detection, analysis and treatment.
However, Cameron discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising: training a machine learning model for detecting malicious communication traffic using training data elements that are in each case formed from a message in which one of the extracted exploit strings was found, and indicating the security vulnerability assigned to the exploit strings found in the message (Cameron, in para. [0032] discloses implementation of machine learning-based data processing in the system to detect security-vulnerability information and perform security exploits related improvement actions, [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holub-Hannis in view of teaching of Cameron because they all disclose methods for detection and treatment of malicious actions in computing network. The motivation to combine would be to modify Holub-Hannis for teaching of Cameron for machine learning technology to detect and treat system vulnerabilities and to improve security in the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hebert US_20240291858, Yellapragada US_20230208871, Marion US_20140298469, Belva US_20150264082, Ichnowski US_20110219446.
/VLADIMIR I GAVRILENKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2431