DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on 04/17/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
Regarding Claim 6, the recitation of “a limiting member;
the limiting member is connected to the first side wall or the second side wall;
the limiting member is at least partially positioned in the first mounting groove; and
the limiting member and the second connecting portion are configured, in a state that the bottom wall is positioned in the first position, to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction, to limit a movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position,”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 10, the recitation of “an ice maker, comprising:
a machine body provided with a cavity inside; and
wherein the container is arranged in the cavity to form the container for storing ice,”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of “the ice maker according to claim 10” and “the first side wall is connected to or abuts against the machine body, and the bottom wall is positioned above a bottom of the cavity; and
in the cavity, the space positioned below the bottom wall forms a water storage cavity for storing water, and the bottom wall moves between the first position and the second position to adjust a volume ratio of the accommodating cavity to the water storage cavity,”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Regarding claim 6, the recitation of claim limitation “limiting member" in at least claim 6.
Corresponds to “a screw” in paragraph 0064 of the specification.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation of claim limitation “first limiting portion" and “second limiting portion” in at least claim 8.
Corresponds to “a raised first limiting portion 112 is disposed on the inner wall of the first side wall 110, and a raised second limiting portion 212 is disposed on the outer wall of the second side wall 210” in paragraph 0072 of the specification and further seen in Fig. 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (KR-20070032598-A).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim teaches a container [30], comprising:
a first housing [40];
a bottom wall [Image I below a recreation of fig. 3] arranged in the first housing [30] and movable relative to the first housing [30] in a vertical direction [Image I below] between a first position [fig. 5 showing a first position] and a second position [fig. 6 showing a second position],
wherein the bottom wall [image I below] and at least a part of the first housing enclose [image I below] to form an accommodating cavity [image I below]; and
a dynamic adjustment assembly [70] operatively connected to the bottom wall [image I showing (73) attached to the bottom wall], wherein the dynamic adjustment assembly [70] is configured to dynamically adjust a position of the bottom wall between the first position and the second position [see figs. 5-6 clearly showing adjusting a position] according to a weight of an object contained in the accommodating cavity [pg. 7 paragraphs 6-7 “70 is deformed when the storage container 40 is filled with ice”], to adjust a volume of the accommodating cavity [figs. 5-6 clearly showing an adjusting a volume of (30)].
(fig. 3 of Lim; Image I)
Regarding Claim 2, Lim teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein the dynamic adjustment assembly [70] comprises an elastic member [Abstract “an elastic member(70)”];
the elastic member [70] is configured to provide elastic force [pg. 10; paragraph 1 “force of the elastic member”] along the vertical direction [Image I] such that the bottom wall [Image I] is positioned in the first position [fig. 5 showing the first position]; and
the bottom wall [Image I], driven by a gravity of the object contained in the accommodating cavity [pg. 13; paragraph 8 “fills the storage container 40, the bottom of the expansion container 60 installed in the lower portion of the storage container 40 is pressed downward”], is able to move between the first position and the second position [figs. 5-6].
Regarding Claim 7, Lim teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein one of the first side wall [Image I] and the second side wall [Image I] is provided with a guide groove [Image II below; recreation of fig. 6 of Lim] while the other one of the first side wall [Image I] and the second side wall [Image I] is provided with a guide portion [Image II below]; and
the guide groove [Image II] extends along the sleeve direction [Image I], the guide portion [Image II] is arranged in the guide groove [Image II ], and the guide portion is able to move along the guide groove [pg. 9; paragraph 4 “the upper end portion of the expansion container 60 hangs inside the lower end of the storage container 40”].
(Fig. 6 of Lim; Image II)
Regarding Claim 9, Lim teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein the first housing [40] and the second housing [30] are configured in one of the following ways:
the second side wall [Image I] is in sleeve connection with an outer wall [fig. 5 showing the second side wall in sleeve connection with an outer wall] of the first side wall [image I], and the bottom wall [Image I] is configured to be positioned below a bottom of the first side wall [Image I] when in the second position [Fig. 6 showing the bottom below the first side wall in a second position].
Regarding Claim 10, Lim teaches an ice maker [20], comprising:
a machine body [10] provided with a cavity inside [11]; and
the container according to claim 1 and Lim teaches wherein the container [30] is arranged in the cavity [11] to form the container for storing ice [fig. 10].
Regarding Claim 12, Lim teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein the container further comprises a second side wall [image I] connected to the bottom wall [Image I].
Regarding Claim 13, Lim teaches the container according to claim 12, wherein the first housing comprises a first side wall [image I];
the first side wall [Image I] is in sleeve connection with the second side wall [Image I showing sleeved connection with the second sidewall; see also figs. 5-6]; and
the first side wall [image I] and the second side wall [image I] are able to move relative to each other along a sleeve direction [Figs. 5-6 showing movement in a sleeved direction].
Regarding Claim 3, Lim teaches the container according to claim 13, wherein the dynamic adjustment assembly [70] comprises an elastic member [Abstract “an elastic member(70)”];
the elastic member [70] is a spring [pg. 4; paragraph 3 “a spring”] extending along the sleeve direction [Image I];
one of the first side wall and the second side wall [Image I] is provided with a first mounting seat [Image I] while the other one of the first side wall and the second side wall [Image I] is provided with a second mounting seat [Image I];
the spring [70] is connected between the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat [Image I clearly shows the spring connected between them]; and
a deformation amount of the spring gradually increases in a process that the bottom wall moves from the first position to the second position [pg. 7 paragraphs 6-7 “70 is deformed when the storage container 40 is filled with ice”; see also figs. 5-6].
Regarding Claim 4, Lim teaches the container according to claim 3, wherein the first mounting seat [image I] comprises a first connecting portion [73] and a first mounting groove [Image I] extending along the sleeve direction [Image I];
the second mounting seat [Image I] comprises a second connecting portion [72];
the spring [70] is arranged in the first mounting groove [Image I];
the first connecting portion [73] and the second connecting portion [72] are connected to both ends of the spring, respectively [Image I]; and
the second connecting portion [72] is able to slide along the first mounting groove [pg. 8; paragraph 3 “72 protrudes and protrudes from the edge” where (72) would slide along the first mounting groove].
Regarding Claim 5, Lim teaches the container according to claim 4, wherein the second mounting seat [Image I] further comprises a second mounting groove [pg. 7; paragraph 9 “71 is formed by recessing the outer edge of the expansion container 60 to the inside”, a recess] extending along the sleeve direction [Image I];
the first mounting seat [Image I] is in sleeve connection with the second mounting seat [Image I; see also fig. 5];
the first mounting groove [Image I] and the second mounting groove [recess] form a mounting cavity [fig. 5 where there is a mounting cavity shown by the spring being between (40 and 60)];
the spring [70] is arranged in the mounting cavity [fig. 5 showing (70) in the mounting cavity]; and
the first connecting portion [73] is able to slide along the second mounting groove [pg. 8; paragraph 4 “73 protrudes and protrudes from the edge of the expansion container 60” where (73) would slide along the second mounting groove].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ju et al. (KR-20030087401-A).
Regarding Claim 6, Lim teaches the container according to claim 4 and teaches wherein the container [30] further comprises a limiting member [pg. 9; paragraph 4 “the upper end portion of the expansion container 60 hangs inside the lower end of the storage container 40” hereinafter “lips” there is a lip at the upper end of (60) and a lip at the lower end of (40)];
the limiting member [lips] is connected to the first side wall [a lip at the lower end of (40)] or the second side wall [a lip at the upper end of (60)].
Lim does not explicitly teach the limiting member is at least partially positioned in the first mounting groove; and the limiting member and the second connecting portion are configured, in a state that the bottom wall is positioned in the first position, to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction, to limit a movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position.
However, Ju teaches the limiting member [Image III below a recreation of fig. 5 of Ju corresponding to the lips of Lim] is at least partially positioned in the first mounting groove [Image III corresponding to Image I of Lim]; and
the limiting member [Image III] and the second connecting portion [image III corresponding to Image 73 of Lim; further someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the second connecting portion would only include where the spring attaches and not the rest of the limiting member structure] are configured, in a state that the bottom wall [fig. 3 showing a bottom wall of 32 corresponding to Image I] is positioned in the first position [fig. 3 showing the first position corresponding to the first position of Lim], to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction [Image III clearly showing that they are abutted when in the first position; see further fig. 3 showing a sleeve direction corresponding to Image I of Lim], to limit a movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position [Image III which would limit a movement of the bottom wall I a direction away from the second position].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lim to have the limiting member is at least partially positioned in the first mounting groove; and the limiting member and the second connecting portion are configured, in a state that the bottom wall is positioned in the first position, to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction, to limit a movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position in view of the teachings of Ju where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a container where the limiting member is at least partially positioned in the first mounting groove, and the limiting member and the second connecting portion are configured, in a state that the bottom wall is positioned in the first position, to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction, to limit a movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position which make the container easier to use [Ju; Abstract; pg. 1].
(Image III of Ju)
Regarding Claim 8, Lim teaches the container according to claim 1 and teaches wherein the first side wall [Image I] is provided with a first limiting portion [pg. 9; paragraph 4 “the upper end portion of the expansion container 60 hangs inside the lower end of the storage container 40” hereinafter “lips” a lip at the lower end of (40)], and the second side wall [Image I] is provided with a second limiting portion [pg. 9; paragraph 4 “the upper end portion of the expansion container 60 hangs inside the lower end of the storage container 40” hereinafter “lips” there is a lip at the upper end of (60)].
Lim does not explicitly teach the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion are configured, in a state that the bottom wall is positioned in the first position, to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction, to limit the movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position.
However, Ju teaches the first limiting portion [Image IV below recreation of Ju fig. 4 corresponding to the first limiting portion of Lim] and the second limiting portion [Image IV below corresponding to the second limiting portion of Lim] are configured, in a state that the bottom wall [Image IV corresponding to Image I of Lim] is positioned in the first position [fig. 3 corresponding to the first position of Lim], to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction [fig. 3 showing a sleeved direction corresponding to Image I of Lim ], to limit the movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position [fig. 3 showing limiting the movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lim with Ju by combining the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion are configured, in a state that the bottom wall is positioned in the first position, to be abutted against each other along the sleeve direction, to limit the movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position where the elements could have been combined by known methods with and a Simple substitution would give the system the necessary limiting portions .The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are yielded,
i.e. secures a container which the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion in a state that the bottom wall is positioned in the first position, are abutted against each other along the sleeve direction, to limit the movement of the bottom wall in a direction away from the second position which make the container easier to use [Ju; Abstract; pg. 1].
(Image IV of Ju)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claim 10 and further in view of Venkata et al. (US-20250052468-A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Lim teaches the ice maker according to claim 10 and Lim teaches wherein the container [30] further comprises a second side wall [Image I] connected to the bottom wall [Image I];
the first housing [40] comprises a first side wall [image I];
the first side wall and the second side wall are in sleeve connection along an up-down direction [Image I showing sleeved connection with the second sidewall; see also figs. 5-6];
the first side wall and the second side wall are able to move relative to each other along a sleeve direction [Image I showing sleeved connection with the second sidewall; see also figs. 5-6];
the first side wall [image I ] is connected to or abuts against the machine body [Fig. 10 showing the first wall connected to and abutting against (10)], and the bottom wall [Image I] is positioned above a bottom of the cavity [fig. 10 showing the bottom wall above a bottom of the cavity].
Lim does not explicitly teach in the cavity, the space positioned below the bottom wall forms a water storage cavity for storing water, and the bottom wall moves between the first position and the second position to adjust a volume ratio of the accommodating cavity to the water storage cavity.
However, Venkata teaches in the cavity [12 corresponding to 11 of Lim], the space positioned below the bottom wall [22 corresponding to image I of Lim] forms a water storage cavity [26] for storing water [0024 “The water tank 24 may define a storage volume 26”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lim to have in the cavity, the space positioned below the bottom wall forms a water storage cavity for storing water in view of the teachings of Venkata where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an ice maker where in the cavity, the space positioned below the bottom wall forms a water storage cavity for storing water which allows the melt water may in exemplary embodiments be reused by the appliance to form ice [Venkata; 0040].
Furthermore, the recitation of “the bottom wall moves between the first position and the second position to adjust a volume ratio of the accommodating cavity to the water storage cavity” is a statement of intended use that does not further limit the claimed invention. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962).
The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987).
The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
“Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Lastly, the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an ice maker where the bottom wall moves between the first position and the second position to adjust a volume ratio of the accommodating cavity to the water storage cavity which allows the melt water may in exemplary embodiments be reused by the appliance to form ice [Venkata; 0040].
Conclusion
/ADAM D MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763