The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of April 1, 2025 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on August 28, 2025. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lacroix (USPN 2919159).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Lacroix (USPN 2919159) teaches a lockhopper (see Figure 3)for the safe handling of hot solids, the lockhopper comprising: an outer vessel (wall of injector means 22); an inner vessel (column 21) positioned within the outer vessel to form an annulus volume between an exterior of the inner vessel and an interior of the outer vessel (an annular space is shown between the column 21 the wall of the injector means 22) ; and insulation positioned within the annulus volume (asbestos sheets 24 are positioned inside the annular space).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Lacroix teaches a means for solids filtration between the inner and outer vessel (the asbestos sheet 24 would provide some level of filtration).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Lacroix teaches a means for providing aeration gas to the inner vessel (orifices 26).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Lacroix teaches a means for providing thermal isolation between the inner and outer vessels (the asbestos sheet 24 would provide some level of thermal isolation along with the empty air space in the injector means).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Lacroix teaches an array of filtered ports (orifices 26 are covered by asbestos sheet 24, which would provide a level of filtration).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Lacroix teaches a gas gap and insulation fill the annulus volume. The space inside the injector means is considered a gas gap and asbestos sheet (24) is considered insulation.
Regarding Claim(s) 15, Lacroix teaches removable fasteners (clamps 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 13, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacroix as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Berggren (USPN 7581905).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Lacroix teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach a means for allowing thermal expansion of the inner vessel. Berggren teaches an inner vessel (14) and an outer vessel (10) and teaches a means for allowing thermal expansion of the inner vessel [Col. 3:45-51]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a means for allowing thermal expansion to reduce thermal stress.
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Lacroix teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the inner vessel includes an inner outlet positioned within an outer outlet of the outer vessel, the inner outlet and the outer outlet not bonded with respect to each other. In Figure 2, the outlet of the inner vessel (14) is not bonded to the outlet of the outer vessel (10) to allow thermal expansion [Col. 3:45-51]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to not bond the inner outlet and the outer outlet to allow for thermal expansion and reduce thermal stress.
Regarding Claim(s) 13. Lacroix teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the inner vessel includes an inner inlet bonded to an outer inlet of the outer vessel. Berggren (USPN 7581905) teaches an inner vessel (14) including an inner inlet (near 15 in Figure 2) that is bonded to an outer inlet of an outer vessel (10) by bolts. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to bond an inner inlet of the inner vessel to an outer inlet of the outer vessel to maintain the positional relationship of the inlets.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Lacroix teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the inner vessel is bonded to the outer inlet of the outer vessel with bolts or welds. Berggren teaches bonding the inner vessel to the outer vessel using bolts [Col. 3:14-16]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to bond the inner vessel to the outer inlet of the outer vessel with bolts or welds as taught by Berggren in order to fix the positional relationship of the vessels.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Lacroix teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the outer vessel is flanged at an inlet and an outlet. Berggren teaches flanges (11, 12). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide flanges to connect the lockhopper to other elements of a system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 5042169 discloses an apparatus having an inner vessel and outer vessel.
/WILLIAM R HARP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653