2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s amendments/remarks received on June 11, 2026.
3. Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
4. Claims 1, 4 and 7 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed on June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed moot in view of a necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 15, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
9. Claims 1-7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al.(US 2013/0182755 A1)(hereinafter Chen) in view of Sato(US 2014/0161192 A1)(hereinafter Sato).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a video decoding method [See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-12 and par. 11-15 method for video decoder], comprising:
receiving a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message comprising information about parameter set to be activated[See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3 and 6, par. 81, 101-112, 136, 162-176, 241, 264-271 regarding A sequence parameter set RBSP may include parameters that can be referred to by one or more picture parameter set RBSPs or one or more supplemental enhancement information (SEI) NAL units containing a buffering period SEI message. A sequence parameter set RBSP may include parameters that can be referred to by one or more picture parameter set RBSPs or one or more SEI NAL units containing a buffering period SEI message…In some examples, the operation_point_desription( ) syntax structure of Table 2 is not included in the VPS; instead, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30, or other elements (e.g., output interface 22 and/or input interface 28), may code the content in the operation_point_desription( ) syntax structure in a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message… During operation of the decoding process, the values of parameters of the active video parameter set, the active sequence parameter set, the active picture parameter set and the active adaptation parameter set for each type of APS parameters may be considered in effect. For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics…]; and
parsing a parameter set based on the information about parameter set to be activated[See Chen: at least par. 78, 136, 162-176, 241, 261-271 regarding During operation of the decoding process, the values of parameters of the active video parameter set, the active sequence parameter set, the active picture parameter set and the active adaptation parameter set for each type of APS parameters may be considered in effect. For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics…];
wherein the parameter set includes a video parameter set (VPS) and a sequence parameter set (SPS) [See Chen: at least par. 29, 98, 108, 136-137, 271 regarding Video data may be hierarchically categorized as including a plurality of layers, a sequence of pictures within a given layer, a picture within a sequence, slices within a picture, and blocks (e.g., macroblocks or coding tree units) within a slice. Sequence parameter sets (SPSs) may be used to signal infrequently changing parameters for a sequence of pictures, and picture parameter sets (PPSs) may be used to signal infrequently changing parameters for individual pictures… For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics…(The parameter set includes a video parameter set and a sequence parameter set)],
wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated comprises information indexing the VPS to be activated[See Chen: at least Table 2, par. 64, 66, 75, 165 regarding The VPS may also include a sample index to characteristics mapping. If for each dimension, the characteristics indicator is not equal to an index ranging from 0 to the sample dimension counter minus 1, a loop may be introduced to specify the characteristics indicator for each characteristics index. The mapping may include, for each dependency index, a specific spatial resolution with specific bit depth value and specific chroma sample format. The mapping may additionally or alternatively, include: for each temporal index/id, a specific frame rate or average frame rate; for each view index, a specific view id; for each bit depth index, a pair of specific bit depth values for luma and chroma; and for each chroma sampling format, a specific chroma sampling format indicator… A VPS may also include, for each dimension: a specific index value, a range of index values, or a list of index values. For example, when a VPS includes data describing a specific index value, the index value may correspond to, for spatial resolution, bit depth for chroma sampling format. As another example, when a VPS includes a range of index values, for temporal layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest temporal layer ID, and for quality layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest quality layer ID. As still another example, when a VPS includes data describing a list of index values, the list may comprise a list of view index values for multiple views…], information indicating a number of SPSs [See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 6, Tables 1, 2, 4, 5, 16, par. 29, 32, 81, 98, 101-112, 132-137, 155-156, 162, 171-172, 176, 241-245, 264-271, 280 regarding a VPS may include, additionally or alternatively, data substantially similar to any data previously signaled in an SPS (that is, signaled in conventional SPSs). In this manner, when sequences of two or more layers of a bitstream include substantially similar or identical parameters, a video coder may code a VPS to signal parameters for the sequences of the layers, rather than redundantly coding such data in respective SPSs for the various sequences among the different layers… video decoder 30 receives a bitstream including a VPS, one or more SPSs, and one or more PPSs for layers of coded video data (120). Video decoder 30 may then decode the VPS, which includes common parameters for corresponding sequences among one or more layers (122). Likewise, video decoder 30 may decode a sequence parameter set including common parameters for a sequence of one layer (124). Moreover, video decoder 30 may decode a picture parameter set including parameters for a picture of the sequence (126).], and information indexing the SPSs to be activated according to a number of SPSs[See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 6, Tables 1, 2, 16, par. 29, 32, 81, 0101-112, 136,162, 171-172, 176, 241, 264-271 regarding All constraints that are expressed on the relationship between the values of the syntax elements (and the values of variables derived from those syntax elements) in video parameter sets, sequence parameter sets, picture parameter sets and adaptation parameter sets and other syntax elements are expressions of constraints that may apply only to the active video parameter sets, the active sequence parameter set, the active picture parameter set and the active adaptation parameter set for each particular type of APS parameters… During operation of the decoding process, the values of parameters of the active video parameter set, the active sequence parameter set, the active picture parameter set and the active adaptation parameter set for each type of APS parameters may be considered in effect. For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics.],
wherein the information indexing a VPS to be activated has a value in a range of 0-15[See Chen: at least Tables 2, 4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 16, 17, and par. 63-67, 75, 143, 165, 207, 217, 243-245, 249, 267-269 regarding The VPS may include various categories of information. For example, the VPS may include sample dimension counter description (SDCD). That is, for each dimension, the video coder may signal a set of indices. Possible dimensions include cnt_p: number of priority layers contained in the coded video sequence; cnt_d: how many different dependency layers in the bitstream, multiple layers with the same spatial resolution and bit depth may belong to different dependency layers; cnt_t: how many temporal layers in the bitstream; cnt_q: maximum number of quality layers for any dependency layer in the bitstream; and cnt_v: maximum number of views…The VPS may also include a sample index to characteristics mapping. If for each dimension, the characteristics indicator is not equal to an index ranging from 0 to the sample dimension counter minus 1, a loop may be introduced to specify the characteristics indicator for each characteristics index. The mapping may include, for each dependency index, a specific spatial resolution with specific bit depth value and specific chroma sample format. Note that this might be omitted, if there is always a fixed look-up table at the decoder, e.g., 0 may correspond to 4:2:0, 1 may correspond to 4:4:4, and 2 may correspond to 4:0:0. The mapping may additionally or alternatively, include: for each temporal index/id, a specific frame rate or average frame rate; for each view index, a specific view id; for each bit depth index, a pair of specific bit depth values for luma and chroma; and for each chroma sampling format, a specific chroma sampling format indicator. The VPS may also include one or more operation point descriptions. n some examples, the operation point VCL NAL unit representation may include, for each dimension, three possible choices: (1) a specific index value: e.g., for spatial resolution, for bit depth for chroma sampling format; (2) a range of the index value: e.g., for temporal layers, 0 to the highest temporal layer id, for quality layers, 0 to the highest quality layer id; or (3) a list of index values, e.g., for views, a list of view index values… A VPS may also include, for each dimension: a specific index value, a range of index values, or a list of index values. For example, when a VPS includes data describing a specific index value, the index value may correspond to, for spatial resolution, bit depth for chroma sampling format. As another example, when a VPS includes a range of index values, for temporal layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest temporal layer ID, and for quality layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest quality layer ID. As still another example, when a VPS includes data describing a list of index values, the list may comprise a list of view index values for multiple views.].
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated, included in the SEI message.
However, including information about the parameter set to be activated in a SEI message was well known in the art at the time of the invention was made as evident from the teaching of Sato[See Sato: at least Figs. 23-24, 36-38, par. 523-526 regarding the syntax of a buffering period SEI (buffering period SEI (Supplemental Enhancement Information)) are illustrated. FIG. 36 is a diagram illustrating an example of the syntax of the video parameter set (VPS). FIG. 37 is a diagram illustrating an example of the syntax of the buffering period SEI. In both figures, the buffering period SEI is associated with the sequence parameter set (SPS) (seq_parameter_set_id) and the video parameter set (VPS).].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Chen with Sato teachings by including “wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated, included in the SEI message” for providing an alternate activation configuration using SEI messages to activate different parameter sets.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Chen discloses a video encoding method [See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9-12 and par. 11-15 method for video encoder] and a method for transmitting a bitstream that is encoded by a video encoding method[See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9-12 and par. 11-15, 35-41, 96, 136, 295 method for video encoder where the encoded bitstream may be transmitted to another device (e.g., video decoder 30)], comprising / the method comprising:
generating a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message[See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3 and 6, Tables 2, 4, and par. 81, 101-112, 136, 162-176, 241, 264-271 regarding A sequence parameter set RBSP may include parameters that can be referred to by one or more picture parameter set RBSPs or one or more supplemental enhancement information (SEI) NAL units containing a buffering period SEI message. A sequence parameter set RBSP may include parameters that can be referred to by one or more picture parameter set RBSPs or one or more SEI NAL units containing a buffering period SEI message…In some examples, the operation_point_desription( ) syntax structure of Table 2 is not included in the VPS; instead, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30, or other elements (e.g., output interface 22 and/or input interface 28), may code the content in the operation_point_desription( ) syntax structure in a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message...]; and
encoding the SEI message [See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3 and 6, Tables 2, 4, and par. 81, 101-112, 136, 162-176, 241, 264-271 regarding In some examples, the operation_point_desription( ) syntax structure of Table 2 is not included in the VPS; instead, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30, or other elements (e.g., output interface 22 and/or input interface 28), may code the content in the operation_point_desription( ) syntax structure in a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message…], wherein the SEI message comprises information about parameter set to be activated[See Chen: at least par. 78, 81, 101-102, 136, 162-176, 241, 261-271 regarding For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics…],
wherein a parameter set is parsed based on the information about parameter set to be activated[See Chen: at least par. 78, 136, 162-176, 241, 261-271 regarding During operation of the decoding process, the values of parameters of the active video parameter set, the active sequence parameter set, the active picture parameter set and the active adaptation parameter set for each type of APS parameters may be considered in effect. For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics…], and
wherein the parameter set includes a video parameter set (VPS) and a sequence parameter set (SPS) [See Chen: at least par. 29, 98, 108, 136-137, 271 regarding Video data may be hierarchically categorized as including a plurality of layers, a sequence of pictures within a given layer, a picture within a sequence, slices within a picture, and blocks (e.g., macroblocks or coding tree units) within a slice. Sequence parameter sets (SPSs) may be used to signal infrequently changing parameters for a sequence of pictures, and picture parameter sets (PPSs) may be used to signal infrequently changing parameters for individual pictures… For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics…(The parameter set includes a video parameter set and a sequence parameter set)],
wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated comprises information indexing the VPS to be activated[See Chen: at least Table 2, par. 64, 66, 75, 165 regarding The VPS may also include a sample index to characteristics mapping. If for each dimension, the characteristics indicator is not equal to an index ranging from 0 to the sample dimension counter minus 1, a loop may be introduced to specify the characteristics indicator for each characteristics index. The mapping may include, for each dependency index, a specific spatial resolution with specific bit depth value and specific chroma sample format. The mapping may additionally or alternatively, include: for each temporal index/id, a specific frame rate or average frame rate; for each view index, a specific view id; for each bit depth index, a pair of specific bit depth values for luma and chroma; and for each chroma sampling format, a specific chroma sampling format indicator… A VPS may also include, for each dimension: a specific index value, a range of index values, or a list of index values. For example, when a VPS includes data describing a specific index value, the index value may correspond to, for spatial resolution, bit depth for chroma sampling format. As another example, when a VPS includes a range of index values, for temporal layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest temporal layer ID, and for quality layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest quality layer ID. As still another example, when a VPS includes data describing a list of index values, the list may comprise a list of view index values for multiple views…],
information indicating a number of SPSs[See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 6, Tables 1, 2, 4, 5, 16, par. 29, 32, 81, 98, 101-112, 132-137, 155-156, 162, 171-172, 176, 241-245, 264-271, 280 regarding a VPS may include, additionally or alternatively, data substantially similar to any data previously signaled in an SPS (that is, signaled in conventional SPSs). In this manner, when sequences of two or more layers of a bitstream include substantially similar or identical parameters, a video coder may code a VPS to signal parameters for the sequences of the layers, rather than redundantly coding such data in respective SPSs for the various sequences among the different layers… video decoder 30 receives a bitstream including a VPS, one or more SPSs, and one or more PPSs for layers of coded video data (120). Video decoder 30 may then decode the VPS, which includes common parameters for corresponding sequences among one or more layers (122). Likewise, video decoder 30 may decode a sequence parameter set including common parameters for a sequence of one layer (124). Moreover, video decoder 30 may decode a picture parameter set including parameters for a picture of the sequence (126).], and information indexing the SPSs to be activated according to a number of SPSs[See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 6, Tables 1, 2, 16, par. 29, 32, 81, 0101-112, 136,162, 171-172, 176, 241, 264-271 regarding All constraints that are expressed on the relationship between the values of the syntax elements (and the values of variables derived from those syntax elements) in video parameter sets, sequence parameter sets, picture parameter sets and adaptation parameter sets and other syntax elements are expressions of constraints that may apply only to the active video parameter sets, the active sequence parameter set, the active picture parameter set and the active adaptation parameter set for each particular type of APS parameters… During operation of the decoding process, the values of parameters of the active video parameter set, the active sequence parameter set, the active picture parameter set and the active adaptation parameter set for each type of APS parameters may be considered in effect. For interpretation of SEI messages, the values of the parameters of the video parameter set, sequence parameter set, picture parameter set and adaptation parameter set that are active for the operation of the decoding process for the VCL NAL units of the coded picture in the same access unit may be considered in effect unless otherwise specified in the SEI message semantics.],
wherein the information indexing a VPS to be activated has a value in a range of 0-15[See Chen: at least Tables 2, 4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 16, 17, and par. 63-67, 75, 143, 165, 207, 217, 243-245, 249, 267-269 regarding The VPS may include various categories of information. For example, the VPS may include sample dimension counter description (SDCD). That is, for each dimension, the video coder may signal a set of indices. Possible dimensions include cnt_p: number of priority layers contained in the coded video sequence; cnt_d: how many different dependency layers in the bitstream, multiple layers with the same spatial resolution and bit depth may belong to different dependency layers; cnt_t: how many temporal layers in the bitstream; cnt_q: maximum number of quality layers for any dependency layer in the bitstream; and cnt_v: maximum number of views…The VPS may also include a sample index to characteristics mapping. If for each dimension, the characteristics indicator is not equal to an index ranging from 0 to the sample dimension counter minus 1, a loop may be introduced to specify the characteristics indicator for each characteristics index. The mapping may include, for each dependency index, a specific spatial resolution with specific bit depth value and specific chroma sample format. Note that this might be omitted, if there is always a fixed look-up table at the decoder, e.g., 0 may correspond to 4:2:0, 1 may correspond to 4:4:4, and 2 may correspond to 4:0:0. The mapping may additionally or alternatively, include: for each temporal index/id, a specific frame rate or average frame rate; for each view index, a specific view id; for each bit depth index, a pair of specific bit depth values for luma and chroma; and for each chroma sampling format, a specific chroma sampling format indicator. The VPS may also include one or more operation point descriptions. n some examples, the operation point VCL NAL unit representation may include, for each dimension, three possible choices: (1) a specific index value: e.g., for spatial resolution, for bit depth for chroma sampling format; (2) a range of the index value: e.g., for temporal layers, 0 to the highest temporal layer id, for quality layers, 0 to the highest quality layer id; or (3) a list of index values, e.g., for views, a list of view index values… A VPS may also include, for each dimension: a specific index value, a range of index values, or a list of index values. For example, when a VPS includes data describing a specific index value, the index value may correspond to, for spatial resolution, bit depth for chroma sampling format. As another example, when a VPS includes a range of index values, for temporal layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest temporal layer ID, and for quality layers, the range may comprise zero (0) to the highest quality layer ID. As still another example, when a VPS includes data describing a list of index values, the list may comprise a list of view index values for multiple views.].
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated, included in the SEI message.
However, including information about the parameter set to be activated in a SEI message was well known in the art at the time of the invention was made as evident from the teaching of Sato[See Sato: at least Figs. 23-24, 36-38, par. 523-526 regarding the syntax of a buffering period SEI (buffering period SEI (Supplemental Enhancement Information)) are illustrated. FIG. 36 is a diagram illustrating an example of the syntax of the video parameter set (VPS). FIG. 37 is a diagram illustrating an example of the syntax of the buffering period SEI. In both figures, the buffering period SEI is associated with the sequence parameter set (SPS) (seq_parameter_set_id) and the video parameter set (VPS).].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Chen with Sato teachings by including “wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated, included in the SEI message” for providing an alternate activation configuration using SEI messages to activate different parameter sets.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Chen and Sato teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 4, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, when combined teachings, Chen and Sato teach wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated is used to extract a sub-layer or layer providing at least one of temporal, spatial, quality and view scalabilities [See Chen: at least Figs. 4-9, par. 31, 64, 66, 75, 165, 273, 279-286 regarding his disclosure describes various examples of data which may be included in a VPS. Such data may include, in some examples, an indication of a number of sub-layers (e.g., a maximum number of sub-layers) within the corresponding layers. For example, a VPS may include data that signals a number of temporal layers and/or a maximum number of temporal layers (e.g., a highest temporal layer identifier)… he VPS may also include a sample index to characteristics mapping…The mapping may include, for each dependency index, a specific spatial resolution with specific bit depth value and specific chroma sample format…The mapping may additionally or alternatively, include: for each temporal index/id, a specific frame rate or average frame rate; for each view index, a specific view id; for each bit depth index, a pair of specific bit depth values for luma and chroma; and for each chroma sampling format, a specific chroma sampling format indicator… In still other examples, a bitstream may be partitioned into a combination of various layers, e.g., any combination of views, spatial resolution layers, quality layers, temporal layers, or the like…video decoder 30 codes (that is, decodes) a VPS indicating a number of temporal layers in video data (150), e.g., of one or more layers to which the VPS corresponds… See Sato: at least Figs. 23-24, 36-38 and par. 412-428, 523-526 regarding in order to realize such control as described above, in place of the enable_temporal_mvp_flag in the picture parameter set, described in FIG. 21, an enable_temporal_mvp_hierarchy_flag is set in, for example, the sequence parameter set (SPS), as illustrated in FIG. 23 and FIG. 24. This enable_temporal_mvp_hierarchy_flag is information indicating a pattern of whether or not the temporal prediction is to be used that performs prediction using the above-mentioned parameter in a temporally neighboring region temporally located on the periphery of a current region...].
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Chen and Sato teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 4, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, when combined, Chen and Sato teach wherein the information about the parameter set to be activated is used to refer to or activate parameter set for decoding a video coding layer network abstraction layer (NAL) unit[See Chen: at least Figs. 1, 3 and 6, and par. 81, 101-102, 136, 162, 171-172, 176, 239-241, 258-271 regarding A video coder may activate a video parameter set or a layer parameter sets when a VCL NAL unit (containing a coded slice) refers to the parameter set, indirectly, e.g., based on the H.264/AVC design principal. In some examples, parameter sets can be activated by a specific type of NAL unit, rather than by a coded slice. For example, a NAL unit type of this specific type (parameter sets activation NAL unit), if present in the bitstream, may activate one, and exactly one, VPS. In various alternatives, in addition, such a type of a NAL unit may activate at least one LPS. In addition, such type of NAL unit may activate at least one PPS… See Sato: at least Figs. 23-24, 36-38 and par. 401-403, 523-526 regarding nal_unit].
Citation of pertinent prior art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al.(US 2013/0135431 A1)
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482