DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first lock" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the second lock" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the respective second position" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As best understood by the examiner, claim 5 is intended to depend from claim 5 and not claim 1; however, for the purposes of examination, the claims are treated as currently written and claim 5 is addressed as depending from claim 1.
Any unspecified claim is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
In view of the indefinite issues the claims will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,292,256. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to substantially the same structure with a rearrangement of the claims. For example, the allowed claim 13 is the equivalent of claims 1 and 4 in the current application with minor differences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fisher, US Patent No. 1,437,797.
Regarding claim 1, Fisher discloses an adjustable firearm balance weight system comprising: a balance weight (16) configured to secure to a part of a firearm in at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm (1:86-2:13); and a lock system (17) configured to hold the balance weight in each of the at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm, wherein the lock system is configured to allow the balance weight to move between the at least two alternative positions (1:86-2:13).
Regarding claim 3, Fisher further discloses the part of the firearm comprises a rifle forend (figure 1 and 4), a rifle chassis or a rifle handguard.
Regarding claim 6, Fisher further discloses the balance weight is configured to secure externally to the part of the firearm (figures 4 and 5).
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geissele, US Patent Publication No. 2016/0209162.
Regarding claim 1, Geissele discloses an adjustable firearm balance weight system comprising: a balance weight (114, 116) configured to secure to a part of a firearm in at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm ([0054] discloses the weights may be shortened and the screw connections to the handguard permit fastening the weight in a variety of longitudinal locations); and a lock system (fasteners disclosed in [0052] with apertures 248) configured to hold the balance weight in each of the at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm, wherein the lock system is configured to allow the balance weight to move between the at least two alternative positions (the fasteners and apertures are placed uniformly along the longitudinal axis and allow the weight to be moved between at least two positions and probably more depending on the length of the weight).
Regarding claim 3, Geisselle further discloses the part of the firearm comprises a rifle forend, a rifle chassis or a rifle handguard (shown in figures 3 and 4 for example).
Regarding claim 7, Geisselle further discloses the part of the firearm comprises an accessory mount (handguard) secured to a remainder of the firearm (figure 1).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts et al., hereafter Roberts, US Patent Publication No. 2017/0138693.
Regarding claim 1, Roberts discloses an adjustable firearm balance weight system comprising: a balance weight (110 is broadly, yet reasonably, construed as a weight because of the inherent weight of the device) configured to secure to a part of a firearm in at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm ([0036-0038]); and a lock system (lock as in figure 13 for example including 106, 126, 128, 130, 132, 138 inter alia) configured to hold the balance weight in each of the at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm, wherein the lock system is configured to allow the balance weight to move between the at least two alternative positions ([0036-0038]).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Roberts further discloses the lock system is configured to be operated by hand and without tools ([0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Roberts further discloses the part of the firearm comprises a rifle forend, a rifle chassis or a rifle handguard (200 as in figures 16-19).
Regarding claim 6, Roberts further discloses the balance weight is configured to secure externally to the part of the firearm (figures 16-19).
Regarding claim 7, Roberts further discloses the part of the firearm comprises an accessory mount (handguard 200) secured to a remainder of the firearm.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng, US Patent No. 9,772,161.
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses an adjustable firearm balance weight system comprising: a balance weight (1 is broadly, yet reasonably, construed as a weight because of the inherent weight of the device) configured to secure to a part of a firearm in at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm (2:47-4:18); and a lock system (3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 inter alia) configured to hold the balance weight in each of the at least two alternative positions relative to the part of the firearm, wherein the lock system is configured to allow the balance weight to move between the at least two alternative positions (2:47-4:18).
Regarding claims 2 and 8) Cheng further discloses the lock system is configured to be operated by hand and without tools (4:22-25).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng further discloses the part of the firearm comprises a rifle forend, a rifle chassis or a rifle handguard (shown in figure 12 for example).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng further discloses a first lock and second lock are movable towards each other (2:47-3:14 discloses squeezing the two elements 3 toward each other to operate the locking mechanism) to move the first lock to the respective second position and the second lock to the respective second position (2:47-3:14 discloses moving the locking mechanism between a first and second position based on actuating elements 3).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng further discloses the balance weight is configured to secure externally to the part of the firearm (handguard 9).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng further discloses the part of the firearm comprises an accessory mount (handguard 9) secured to a remainder of the firearm (rifle in abstract).
8 An adjustable firearm balance weight system comprising: a balance weight configured to secure to a part of a firearm in at least one position relative to the part of the firearm by hand and without tools; and a lock system configured to hold the balance weight in each of the at least one positions relative to the part of the firearm, wherein the lock system is configured to allow the balance weight to move removably from the at least one position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher in view of Roberts.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Fisher discloses the claimed invention except for the device being attachable or moveable by hand or without the use of tools. Nonetheless, Roberts teaches a device which uses a threaded component for locking a device in place and specifically teaches the device is actuatable with knob 106 on the threaded member by hand and/or without the use of tools.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Fisher to utilize a threaded member with a knob/thumb screw similar to that as taught by Roberts with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate moving the weight of Fisher in a quicker and more efficient manner and allow for changing the balance of the firearm in the field without the need to carry tools.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided on form PTO-892.
While the Examiner is available via telephone to resolve administrative issues regarding a patent application, issues relating to patentability and/or prospective amendments may be more efficiently discussed via email correspondence subsequent to the filing of form PTO/SB/439 (“Authorization for Internet Communications in a Patent Application”) authorizing permission for internet communication. The form is available online at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf and may be submitted for the record along with any other response to this action. The Examiner may be reached by telephone at 571-272-6352.
/DERRICK R MORGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641