DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 20-22 in the reply filed on 6-01-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 depends from claim 1 and states that the ink layer covers at least a portion of the printing stock layer, but this limitation is already recited in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ridless, US 2007/0110925 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Ridless teaches a sheet (10 of Fig. 2) comprising a fabric layer (22 of Fig. 2) and a printing stock layer (20 of Fig. 2) formed on one side of the fabric layer, the printing stock layer comprising a first polymer, and an ink layer covering a portion of the printing stock layer ([0022], [0045]-[0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Ridless teaches that the polymer of the printing stock layer may be an acrylate ([0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Ridless teaches that the printing stock layer may have a thickness of 0.01-0.05 mm ([0046]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Ridless teaches that the sheet may comprise a base material layer (24 of Fig. 2) that is attached to the side of the fabric layer opposite the printing stock layer, the base material comprising polyethylene ([0045]-[0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackusick, EP1006504A2, in view of Ridless, US 2007/0110925 A1.
Regarding claims 1-2, 6-7, and 20-22, Mackusick teaches an inflatable advertising sign or display (Abstract, [0001]) having internal tensioning members disposed in the inflatable chamber and connected to at least one wall ([0012]). Mackusick teaches that the inflatable product may comprise a nylon fabric layer with a coating of polyurethane (corresponding to the claimed “printing stock layer”) on one side ([0022]).
The teachings of Mackusick differ from the present invention in that Mackusick does not explicitly teach an ink layer covering a portion of printing stock layer. It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an ink layer on the product of Mackusick because Mackusick explicitly teaches that the product is intended to be an advertising sign or display ([0001]), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that advertising sings and displays typically comprise a printed ink layer featuring text or graphics. See, for example, Ridless’ Abstract and [0002]-[0003].
Conclusion
IAN A. RUMMEL
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/IAN A RUMMEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785