DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9-11, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0061298 A1 to Cho et al. in view of WIPO 2022/0149009 to Kubo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0282155 A1 to Kubo will be used as the translation below).
As to claim 1, Cho discloses a display device comprising:
a display divided into a plurality of display areas (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041, where display (100) has a plurality of display modules (110-n));
a plurality of drivers connected to the plurality of display areas (Fig. 2A-2B, paragraphs 0045-0050, where driving modules (120-n) are connected to display modules (110-n));
memory storing instructions and current information corresponding to each of the plurality of display areas is stored (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 0053-0068, where storage (130) is the memory); and
one or more processors operatively connected to the display, the plurality of drivers, and the memory (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 0047-0068, processor (140), display (110), drivers (120), storage (130)),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display device to:
input an image into a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, and based on an output of the trained AI model indicating the image is a target for dynamic peaking application, identify whether a pixel value of the image is equal to or less than a threshold value (Fig. 9, paragraphs 0105-0113, where the target peak luminance level is determined in step (S920), where processor (140) is AI as it performs calculations and decision making), and
based on the pixel value being equal to or less than the threshold value:
identify a plurality of peak luminance levels of the plurality of display areas, and
control the plurality of drivers, based on the current information of the plurality of display areas stored in the memory, such that the plurality of display areas have the plurality of peak luminance levels (Fig. 9, paragraphs 0105-0113, where the peak luminance levels are determined and the display modules are controlled in steps (S920, S930)).
Cho is deficient in disclosing a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model comprising a plurality of neural network layers.
However, Kubo discloses a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model comprising a plurality of neural network layers (Fig. 16 and 17, paragraphs 0164-0167, where multilayer neural network (32) is a trained neural network).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model as taught by Cho by including the trained AI model comprising a plurality of neural network layers as taught by Kubo. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the neural network layers to associate a combination of data in order to generate a table (Kubo, paragraph 0167).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified
As to claim 2, Cho discloses the display device, wherein each of the plurality of display areas comprises at least one of:
a pixel area unit corresponding to one driver IC, or
a display module unit corresponding to a plurality of driver ICs (Fig. 2A and 2B, paragraph 0052, where the driving module is an IC).
As to claim 9, Cho discloses the display device, wherein the current information comprises current control information according to luminance of a plurality of subpixels of one display area of the plurality of display areas (Fig. 2A and 2B, paragraphs 0055-0058, where the current control information is according to the luminance of each subpixel), and
wherein a subpixel of the plurality of subpixels comprises Red (R) LED, Green (G) LED, and Blue (B) LED subpixels (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0046, where the subpixels are red, green and blue).
As to claims 10, 11 and 18, Cho discloses limitations similar to claims 1, 2 and 9, respectively.
As to claim 19, Cho discloses limitations similar to claim 1. In addition, Cho discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer instructions recorded thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of a display device divided into a plurality of display areas, causes the display device to: input an image (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 0053-0054 and 0117-0118, where storage (130) is the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 9-11, 18 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627