DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-8, 12-17 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B and Subspecies ii-v, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/1/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 2, 9-11, 18 and 19 drawn to Species A and Subspecies i in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged. Although Applicant elected claims 8 and 17, they are dependent on withdrawn claims and therefore, are also considered withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-11, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0061298 A1 to Cho et al.
As to claim 1, Cho discloses a display device comprising:
a display divided into a plurality of display areas (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041, where display (100) has a plurality of display modules (110-n));
a plurality of drivers connected to the plurality of display areas (Fig. 2A-2B, paragraphs 0045-0050, where driving modules (120-n) are connected to display modules (110-n));
memory storing instructions and current information corresponding to each of the plurality of display areas is stored (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 0053-0068, where storage (130) is the memory); and
one or more processors operatively connected to the display, the plurality of drivers, and the memory (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 0047-0068, processor (140), display (110), drivers (120), storage (130)),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display device to:
input an image into a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, and based on an output of the trained AI model indicating the image is a target for dynamic peaking application, identify whether a pixel value of the image is equal to or less than a threshold value (Fig. 9, paragraphs 0105-0113, where the target peak luminance level is determined in step (S920)), and
based on the pixel value being equal to or less than the threshold value:
identify a plurality of peak luminance levels of the plurality of display areas, and
control the plurality of drivers, based on the current information of the plurality of display areas stored in the memory, such that the plurality of display areas have the plurality of peak luminance levels (Fig. 9, paragraphs 0105-0113, where the peak luminance levels are determined and the display modules are controlled in steps (S920, S930)).
As to claim 2, Cho discloses the display device, wherein each of the plurality of display areas comprises at least one of:
a pixel area unit corresponding to one driver IC, or
a display module unit corresponding to a plurality of driver ICs (Fig. 2A and 2B, paragraph 0052, where the driving module is an IC).
As to claim 9, Cho discloses the display device, wherein the current information comprises current control information according to luminance of a plurality of subpixels of one display area of the plurality of display areas (Fig. 2A and 2B, paragraphs 0055-0058, where the current control information is according to the luminance of each subpixel), and
wherein a subpixel of the plurality of subpixels comprises Red (R) LED, Green (G) LED, and Blue (B) LED subpixels (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0046, where the subpixels are red, green and blue).
As to claims 10, 11 and 18, Cho discloses limitations similar to claims 1, 2 and 9, respectively.
As to claim 19, Cho discloses limitations similar to claim 1. In addition, Cho discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer instructions recorded thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of a display device divided into a plurality of display areas, causes the display device to: input an image (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 0053-0054 and 0117-0118, where storage (130) is the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium).
Conclusion
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627