DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu CN_114455856_A (see English equivalent: USPA_20240343638_A1) in view of Torr USPA_20090098354_A1.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 14, Lu discloses a vehicle and a sunroof glass connected to said vehicle’s body (Abstract; paragraph 0005) wherein said glass can be a laminated glass comprising an outer glass and an inner glass with an interlayer (corresponds to claimed intermediate layer) there-between (paragraph 0027). Lu further discloses that said outer and inner glasses can have a thickness ranging from 0.7 mm to 4.0 mm (paragraph 0034); thereby teaching the claimed range of instant Claims 1, 3. Lu also discloses that the total iron content of the entire glass can be 0.5 to 2.0% (paragraph 0025), but it does not disclose the individual Fe2O3 of each of its outer and inner glasses separately.
Torr discloses that using lightly tinted glass can lead to a reduction in production, shipping, and storage costs and that a large amount of automotive glazing processing and development is designed around using lightly tinted glass (paragraph 0049). Furthermore, Torr discloses that its outer glass can have a light tint of 0.6 wt% Fe2O3 while its inner glass can also have a light tint of 0.6 wt% Fe2O3 (paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the Fe2O3 total iron concentrations of the outer and inner glass layers, of Lu, by using the 0.6%, of Torr. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to reduce storage, production, and shipping costs.
If 0.6% Fe2O3 is used for both the outer and inner glass, while having a 4.0 mm thickness, then (0.6)*(4.0) + (0.6)*(4.0) = 4.8; thereby teaching the claimed range.
Regarding Claims 2, 15, Lu in view of Torr suggests that its outer glass can have a Fe2O3 concentration of greater than 1.2% (Torr: paragraph 0047). The inner glass’s Fe2O3 % mentioned above teaches the claimed range.
Regarding Claims 4, 5, 16, 17, Lu in view of Torr suggests a total solar energy transmittance ranging below 45% and a visible light transmission of less than 25% (Torr: Table 1).
Regarding Claims 7, 19, Lu in view of Torr suggests a Co2O3 percentage of 0.0115 (Torr: paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 8, Lu in view of Torr suggests 0.6/0.0115 = 52. Although this is very close yet not does not overlap with the claimed range, given that the applied art of record allows for the Fe2O3 percentage to range above 0.6 (Torr: paragraph 0047), it would be expected for the ratio to then meet the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 9, Lu in view of Torr suggests 71.1% SiO.sub.2, 1.1% Al.sub.2O.sub.3, 13.3% Na.sub.2O, 0.6% KO.sub.2, 8.4% CaO, 3.8% MgO (Torr: paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 11, Lu in view of Torr suggests not using any alkaline-earth metals in its inner glass.
Regarding Claims 12, 13, 20, Lu in view of Torr suggests all the claimed ranges (Torr: Table 1).
Regarding Claims 6, 18, Lu in view of Torr suggests a ferrous iron amount of 0.3% and a ferric iron amount of 1.45% (Torr: paragraph 0050). This ratio amounts to approximately 21%. Although it is close to the claimed range, it does not overlap with it. However, the Examiner respectfully submits that Torr describes this relationship as the “colorant portion”, which means that based on end-user tint and color specifications, the amount of ferric iron and ferrous iron are known result-effective variables.
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torr USPA_20090098354_A1.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 3, 14, 15 Torr discloses laminated glazings useable in vehicle bodies (paragraph 0051) comprising an outer and inner glass; wherein said outer glass can have a tint of 1.2 wt% Fe2O3 while its inner glass can also have a tint of 1.2 wt% Fe2O3 (paragraph 0047). (1.2)*(3.15) + (1.2)*(2.1) = 6.3.
Regarding Claims 4, 5, 16, 17, Torr discloses a total solar energy transmittance ranging below 45% and a visible light transmission of less than 25% (Torr: Table 1).
Regarding Claims 7, 19, Torr discloses a Co2O3 percentage of 0.0115 (Torr: paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 8, Torr discloses 1.2/0.0115 = 52. Although this is very close yet not does not overlap with the claimed range, given that the applied art of record allows for the Fe2O3 percentage to range above 0.6 (Torr: paragraph 0047), it would be expected for the ratio to then meet the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 9, Torr discloses 71.1% SiO.sub.2, 1.1% Al.sub.2O.sub.3, 13.3% Na.sub.2O, 0.6% KO.sub.2, 8.4% CaO, 3.8% MgO (Torr: paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 11, Torr does not disclose using any alkaline-earth metals in its inner glass.
Regarding Claims 12, 13, 20, Torr discloses all of the claimed ranges (Torr: Table 1).
Regarding Claims 6, 18, Torr discloses a ferrous iron amount of 0.3% and a ferric iron amount of 1.45% (Torr: paragraph 0050). This ratio amounts to approximately 21%. Although it is close to the claimed range, it does not overlap with it. However, the Examiner respectfully submits that Torr describes this relationship as the “colorant portion”, which means that based on end-user tint and color specifications, the amount of ferric iron and ferrous iron are known result-effective variables.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu CN_114455856_A (see English equivalent: USPA_20240343638_A1) in view of Torr USPA_20090098354_A1, as applied to Claim 1, and in view of Kraemling USPN_5849402.
Regarding Claim 10, Lu in view of Torr does not suggest the claimed glass composition.
Krameling discloses a glass composition that can be used as a laminate in vehicles (Title, Abstract) comprising SiO.sub.2 64 to 75% Al.sub.2 O.sub.3 0 to 5% B.sub.2 O.sub.3 0 to 5% CaO 2 to 15% MgO 0 to 5% Na.sub.2 O 9 to 18% K.sub.2 O 0 to 5% Fe.sub.2 O.sub.3 0.75 to 1.4% (total iron expressed in this form) (column 3, lines 1-15). Kraemling further discloses that its invention has excellent mechanical properties including resistance to impact and to penetration, and anti-ejection properties in the case of an accident. It also ensures that the rigidity of the passenger compartment is maintained (column 1, lines 56-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the glass composition, of Lu in view of Torr, by trying the composition, of Kraemling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain excellent mechanical properties including resistance to impact and to penetration, and anti-ejection properties in the case of an accident.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torr USPA_20090098354_A1, as applied to Claim 1, and in view of Kraemling USPN_5849402.
Regarding Claim 10, Torr does not suggest the claimed glass composition.
Krameling discloses a glass composition that can be used as a laminate in vehicles (Title, Abstract) comprising SiO.sub.2 64 to 75% Al.sub.2 O.sub.3 0 to 5% B.sub.2 O.sub.3 0 to 5% CaO 2 to 15% MgO 0 to 5% Na.sub.2 O 9 to 18% K.sub.2 O 0 to 5% Fe.sub.2 O.sub.3 0.75 to 1.4% (total iron expressed in this form) (column 3, lines 1-15). Kraemling further discloses that its invention has excellent mechanical properties including resistance to impact and to penetration, and anti-ejection properties in the case of an accident. It also ensures that the rigidity of the passenger compartment is maintained (column 1, lines 56-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the glass composition, of Torr, by trying the composition, of Kraemling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain excellent mechanical properties including resistance to impact and to penetration, and anti-ejection properties in the case of an accident.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 September 27, 2026