Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3,.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 11, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Esswie (US 2024/0298263 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Esswie discloses a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration information from a base station (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe a base station (RAN 105) transmits to a UE (115) beam skipping configuration information (equivalent to the claimed SSB configuration information), which comprises information on beams to be skipped according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index when transmitting SSB signals by the base station (act 505/510)); identifying information of an inactive state in which SSB transmission is deactivated from the SSB configuration information (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate the UE determines SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state"), by the base station in transmitting SSB signaling (act 520) based on the beam skipping sequence indication (act 505/510)); and suspending an SSB reception operation in an inactive period according to the information on the inactive state (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe the UE enters a sleep state (equivalent to claimed “suspending”) during periods (equivalent to claimed "inactive period") corresponding to beams being skipped when not used (act 530) according to the beam skipping sequence indication received at act 520).
Regarding claim 11, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 to define the corresponding terminal, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Esswie further discloses, the SSB configuration information is included in at least one of a system information block 1 (SIB1), a radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph [0072], [106]-[108] describe a Radio Resource control protocol layer provides configuration between the UE and the base station), or an SIB 19 transmitted from the base station to the terminal.
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Esswie further discloses the information on the inactive state includes at least one of a parameter indicating that the SSB transmission is to be deactivated (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate information on SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state") according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index (equivalent to claimed "parameter") when transmitting SSB signals by the base station), a parameter indicating a start point of the inactive state, or a parameter indicating the inactive period from the start point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie in view of KIM et al. (US 2025/0253962 A1).
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Esswie discloses a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration information from a base station (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe a base station (RAN 105) transmits to a UE (115) beam skipping configuration information (equivalent to the claimed SSB configuration information), which comprises information on beams to be skipped according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index when transmitting SSB signals by the base station (act 505/510)); identifying information of an inactive state in which SSB transmission is deactivated from the SSB configuration information (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate the UE determines SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state"), by the base station in transmitting SSB signaling (act 520) based on the beam skipping sequence indication (act 505/510)); and suspending an SSB reception operation in an inactive period according to the information on the inactive state (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe the UE enters a sleep state (equivalent to claimed “suspending”) during periods (equivalent to claimed "inactive period") corresponding to beams being skipped when not used (act 530) according to the beam skipping sequence indication received at act 520).
Esswie does not disclose information on the inactive state includes at least one of information on a number of SSB transmissions during a time period when the SSB transmission is possible or information on an inactive time duration of the SSB transmission.
KIM teaches information on a number of SSB transmissions during a time period when the SSB transmission is possible (paragraph [0169] teaches actually transmitted SSB (ATSS) indexes configured by a parameter ssb-PositionsInBurst).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the parameter as taught by KIM into Esswie in order to accurately determine which synchronization beams are actively transmitting.
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie in view of LU et al. (US2024/0357420 A1).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Esswie discloses a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration information from a base station (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe a base station (RAN 105) transmits to a UE (115) beam skipping configuration information (equivalent to the claimed SSB configuration information), which comprises information on beams to be skipped according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index when transmitting SSB signals by the base station (act 505/510)); identifying information of an inactive state in which SSB transmission is deactivated from the SSB configuration information (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate the UE determines SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state"), by the base station in transmitting SSB signaling (act 520) based on the beam skipping sequence indication (act 505/510)); and suspending an SSB reception operation in an inactive period according to the information on the inactive state (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe the UE enters a sleep state (equivalent to claimed “suspending”) during periods (equivalent to claimed "inactive period") corresponding to beams being skipped when not used (act 530) according to the beam skipping sequence indication received at act 520).
Esswie does not disclose when the SSB configuration information includes information on a second SSB transmission periodicity, switching a periodicity of the SSB transmission from a preset first SSB transmission periodicity to the second SSB transmission periodicity before suspending the SSB reception operation, wherein the inactive period is determined by the second SSB transmission periodicity.
LU teaches when SSB configuration information includes information on a second SSB transmission periodicity, switching a periodicity of the SSB transmission from a preset first SSB transmission periodicity to the second SSB transmission periodicity before suspending the SSB reception operation, wherein the inactive period is determined by the second SSB transmission periodicity. (paragraph [0050]-[0055] describe when the measured load, quantity signifying network load is light or heavy, satisfies a light load threshold (under a light load some SSB resources are not used therefore is equivalent to claimed “inactive period”), the access node transmits an SSB using a longer periodicity than the default periodicity and then utilizes this periodicity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the periodicity switching method as taught by LU into the disclosed method by Esswie in order to reduce energy consumption required for SSB transmission.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Esswie discloses a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration information from a base station (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe a base station (RAN 105) transmits to a UE (115) beam skipping configuration information (equivalent to the claimed SSB configuration information), which comprises information on beams to be skipped according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index when transmitting SSB signals by the base station (act 505/510)); identifying information of an inactive state in which SSB transmission is deactivated from the SSB configuration information (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate the UE determines SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state"), by the base station in transmitting SSB signaling (act 520) based on the beam skipping sequence indication (act 505/510)); and suspending an SSB reception operation in an inactive period according to the information on the inactive state (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe the UE enters a sleep state (equivalent to claimed “suspending”) during periods (equivalent to claimed "inactive period") corresponding to beams being skipped when not used (act 530) according to the beam skipping sequence indication received at act 520).
Esswie does not disclose the second SSB transmission periodicity is set to be longer than the first SSB transmission periodicity.
LU teaches the second SSB transmission periodicity is set to be longer than the first SSB transmission periodicity (paragraph [0050]-[0055] describe the second transmission periodicity is longer than the default SSB transmitting periodicity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the longer periodicity switching method as taught by LU into the disclosed method by Esswie in order to reduce energy consumption during low traffic intervals.
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Esswie discloses a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration information from a base station (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe a base station (RAN 105) transmits to a UE (115) beam skipping configuration information (equivalent to the claimed SSB configuration information), which comprises information on beams to be skipped according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index when transmitting SSB signals by the base station (act 505/510)); identifying information of an inactive state in which SSB transmission is deactivated from the SSB configuration information (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate the UE determines SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state"), by the base station in transmitting SSB signaling (act 520) based on the beam skipping sequence indication (act 505/510)); and suspending an SSB reception operation in an inactive period according to the information on the inactive state (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe the UE enters a sleep state (equivalent to claimed “suspending”) during periods (equivalent to claimed "inactive period") corresponding to beams being skipped when not used (act 530) according to the beam skipping sequence indication received at act 520).
Esswie does not disclose before the SSB transmission is transitioned from the inactive state to an active state, receiving, from the base station, information indicating that the periodicity of the SSB transmission has been switched from the second SSB transmission periodicity to the first SSB transmission periodicity; and periodically receiving SSBs according to the first SSB transmission periodicity using the information indicating that the periodicity of the SSB transmission has been switched from the second SSB transmission periodicity to the first SSB transmission periodicity.
Lu teaches before the SSB transmission is transitioned from the inactive state to an active state, receiving, from the base station, information indicating that the periodicity of the SSB transmission has been switched from the second SSB transmission periodicity to the first SSB transmission periodicity; and periodically receiving SSBs according to the first SSB transmission periodicity using the information indicating that the periodicity of the SSB transmission has been switched from the second SSB transmission periodicity to the first SSB transmission periodicity (paragraph [0050]-[0055] describe when the measured load does not meet the threshold, i.e., the network load is heavy, the access node reverts to the default periodicity and then utilizes this periodicity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the periodicity switching method as taught by LU into the disclosed method by Esswie in order to ensure the network can still support fast connection and low latency.
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie in view of JABI et al. (US 2025/0247913).
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Esswie discloses a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration information from a base station (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe a base station (RAN 105) transmits to a UE (115) beam skipping configuration information (equivalent to the claimed SSB configuration information), which comprises information on beams to be skipped according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index when transmitting SSB signals by the base station (act 505/510)); identifying information of an inactive state in which SSB transmission is deactivated from the SSB configuration information (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate the UE determines SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state"), by the base station in transmitting SSB signaling (act 520) based on the beam skipping sequence indication (act 505/510)); and suspending an SSB reception operation in an inactive period according to the information on the inactive state (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe the UE enters a sleep state (equivalent to claimed “suspending”) during periods (equivalent to claimed "inactive period") corresponding to beams being skipped when not used (act 530) according to the beam skipping sequence indication received at act 520).
Esswie does not disclose a parameter indicating whether to suspend transmission and reception of at least some signals including SSBs, and the identifying of the information on the inactive state comprises: estimating the inactive period in which the SSB transmission is deactivated using the parameter.
JABI teaches a parameter indicating whether to suspend transmission and reception of at least some signals including SSBs, and the identifying of the information on the inactive state comprises: estimating the inactive period in which the SSB transmission is deactivated using the parameter (paragraph [0005]-[0008] teach a network node transmitting a configuration of a non-cell defining (NCD) synchronization signal block (SSB) having a periodicity and a time offset, determining a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration and dropping transmission of SSB when the periodicity and the time offset indicate that the transmission is within the non-active period for the cell DTX configuration and further a UE receiving the information previously stated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method as taught by JABI into the disclosed method by Esswie in order to eliminate overhead by sending needed signals only.
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Esswie discloses a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration information from a base station (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe a base station (RAN 105) transmits to a UE (115) beam skipping configuration information (equivalent to the claimed SSB configuration information), which comprises information on beams to be skipped according to a corresponding beam skipping sequence index when transmitting SSB signals by the base station (act 505/510)); identifying information of an inactive state in which SSB transmission is deactivated from the SSB configuration information (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108],[0088] illustrate the UE determines SSB beams to be skipped (equivalent to claimed "deactivated") when not used (equivalent to claimed "inactive state"), by the base station in transmitting SSB signaling (act 520) based on the beam skipping sequence indication (act 505/510)); and suspending an SSB reception operation in an inactive period according to the information on the inactive state (Fig. 5; paragraph [106]-[108] describe the UE enters a sleep state (equivalent to claimed “suspending”) during periods (equivalent to claimed "inactive period") corresponding to beams being skipped when not used (act 530) according to the beam skipping sequence indication received at act 520).
Esswie does not disclose, the SSB configuration information is included in configuration-related information for an inactive period of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and discontinuous reception (DRX).
JABI teaches, the SSB configuration information is included in configuration-related information for an inactive period of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and discontinuous reception (DRX) ((paragraph [0005]-[0008] teach a network node transmitting a configuration of a non-cell defining (NCD) synchronization signal block (SSB) and determining a configuration of a non0-active period for a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration which is sent to a UE (a UE using DTX configuration proactively reshapes the UE’s DRX configuration)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the configuration as taught by JABI into the disclosed method by Esswie in order to conserve power at the UE and base station without disconnecting their connection.
Conclusion
/J.J.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2461 /HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461