DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) .
Regarding claim 1, Hirose teach A sensor structure (Fig. 3) for a brake pedal, comprising:
a lever member (44, Fig. 3) configured to be connected to a brake pedal, and configured to rotate around a rotation axis;
a magnet member (52, 62 Fig. 3) positioned on the rotation axis, and configured to rotate around the rotation axis, together with the lever member;
a coil member (43, Fig. 3) arranged to be wound around the magnet member; (Note when the magnets 52 is placed in 51, the coil surrounds magnet 52)
a magnet receiving member (45, Fig. 3) comprising a magnet receiving groove (Note groove in 51, Fig. 3) in which the magnet member is positioned, wherein the magnet member is configured to relatively rotate with respect to the coil member; (Note par. 0040)
a magnet-supporting housing member (45, Fig. 3) comprising a magnet receiving member through-hole (Note hole in 45, Fig. 3) that supports the magnet receiving member, wherein the magnet receiving member is configured to rotate around the rotation axis;
a sensing element comprising a sensor (Note 53, Fig. 3 and par. 0040) configured to detect the rotation of the magnet member; and
a sensor housing member comprising:
a sensor housing body (47 and 41, Fig. 3) in which the sensing element (53, Fig. 3) is water tightly embedded therein; and a sensor housing body coupling part (Note holes of 47) positioned on one outer side of the sensor housing body (47, Fig. 3) , wherein the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member (47 Fig. 3) . (Note 41 and 47 are coupled together when assembled)
Hirose does not teach the sensor housing body in which the sensing element is water tightly embedded therein.
Keller et al. teach a sensor housing body (9 and 11, Fig. 1) in which the sensing element (hall chip 13, par. 0026) is water tightly embedded therein; (Note par. 0021)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of a sensor housing body in which the sensing element is water tightly embedded therein because it would prevent the sensing element form being damaged by water.
Claims 2-5, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) further in view of Saito et al. (US 20170140886)
Hirose teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the sensor housing body is further coupled to the sensing element in an overmolding manner.
Saito et al. teach wherein the sensor housing body (Note body of 80, Fig. 5A) is coupled to the sensing element (within body 60) in an overmolding manner.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein the sensor housing body is coupled to the sensing element in an overmolding manner because it would provide the sensor as an IC device which would make the sensor more compact.
Regarding claim 3, Hirose does not wherein one side of the sensing element is connected to a terminal extending in an outward direction of the rotational axis.
Saito et al. teach wherein one side of the sensing element is connected to a terminal extending in an outward direction (Note terminals of 80 in Fig. 5A) of the rotational axis.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein one side of the sensing element is connected to a terminal extending in an outward direction of the rotational axis because it would provide the sensor as an IC device which would make the sensor more compact.
Regarding claim 4, Hirose does not teach an integrated circuit (IC) carrier that supports the sensing element and a portion of the terminal in order to overmold and couple the sensing element and the portion of the terminal inside the sensor housing body.
Saito teach an integrated circuit (IC) carrier (inherent to ic 80, Fig. 5A) that supports the sensing element and a portion of the terminal in order to overmold and couple the sensing element and the portion of the terminal inside the sensor housing body. (Note 80, Fig. 5A)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirosei to include the teaching of an integrated circuit (IC) carrier that supports the sensing element and a portion of the terminal in order to overmold and couple the sensing element and the portion of the terminal inside the sensor housing body because it would a compact sensing device.
Regarding claim 5, Hirose does not teach wherein the IC carrier comprises: an IC carrier body comprising an IC receiving hole, in which the sensing element is positioned; and a terminal receiving part positioned on a side of the IC receiving hole and configured to receive the terminal connected to the sensing element positioned in the IC receiving hole.
Keller et al. teach wherein the IC carrier (13, Fig. 10) comprises: an IC carrier body (Note 13, Fig. 10) comprising an IC receiving hole (space within 13), in which the sensing element is positioned; and a terminal receiving part positioned on a side of the IC receiving hole and configured to receive the terminal connected to the sensing element positioned in the IC receiving hole. (Note leads extending from body of 13, Fig. 10 therefore implying terminal receiving part )
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein the IC carrier comprises: an IC carrier body comprising an IC receiving hole, in which the sensing element is positioned; and a terminal receiving part positioned on a side of the IC receiving hole and configured to receive the terminal connected to the sensing element positioned in the IC receiving hole because it would allow the sensor of Hirose to be replaced with an ic sensor which would provide a more compact device.
Regarding claim 8, Hirose does not teach wherein a terminal groove is positioned at one end of the sensor housing body, and wherein an outer end of the terminal is positioned within the terminal groove.
Keller et al. teach wherein a terminal groove is positioned at one end of the sensor housing body, and wherein an outer end of the terminal is positioned within the terminal groove. (Note terminals extending from the body of 13, through terminal grooves.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein a terminal groove is positioned at one end of the sensor housing body, and wherein an outer end of the terminal is positioned within the terminal groove because it would serve as support for the terminals.
Regarding claim 9, Hirose teach wherein the sensing element (53, Fig. 3) is disposed on the rotation axis at a predetermined distance from the magnet member (52, Fig. 3) , and configured to detect the rotation of the magnet member. ([0040] Each of first magnet 52 and second magnet 62 is made of ferrite, a Fe-Cr-Co alloy, a Nd-Fe-B alloy or the like as a material, and has a rectangular parallelepiped shape, a cylindrical shape or the like, and both ends thereof in a direction of the horizontal surface are respectively the south pole and the north pole. First magnet 52 is disposed at a rotational center of first rotating body 51, and second magnet 62 is disposed at a rotational center of second rotating body 61. First magnet 52 and second magnet 62 are rotated in association, respectively, with first rotating body 51 and second rotating body 61.)
Regarding claim 10, Hirose teach wherein the sensor housing body comprises: a magnet receiving member (45, Fig. 3) receiving groove (see annotated Fig. 3) configured to receive the magnet member (53, Fig. 3) and a portion of the magnet receiving member (45, Fig. 3) , in which the magnet member is positioned.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) further in view of Lee et al. (US 8502656 B2).
Hirose teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 11, Hirose does not teach wherein the magnet receiving member comprises: a cylindrical first rotating body in which a magnet receiving hole in which the magnet is positioned is positioned at one end of the rotation axis in an extension direction of the rotation axis; a cylindrical second rotating body extending from an other end of the first rotating body toward the lever member; and a lever coupling part positioned at the end of the second rotating body and coupled to the lever member.
Lee et al. teach wherein the magnet receiving member comprises:
a cylindrical first rotating body (Note 5, Fig. 2) in which a magnet receiving hole in which the magnet is positioned is positioned at one end of the rotation axis in an extension direction of the rotation axis;
a cylindrical second rotating body (Note 11, Fig. 2) extending from an other end of the first rotating body toward the lever member; and a lever coupling part positioned at the end of the second rotating body and coupled to the lever member and
a lever coupling part (the end of 11, Note that all parts are connected to the lever when assembled) positioned at the end of the second rotating body and coupled to the lever member (9, Fig. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein the magnet receiving member comprises: a cylindrical first rotating body in which a magnet receiving hole in which the magnet is positioned is positioned at one end of the rotation axis in an extension direction of the rotation axis; a cylindrical second rotating body extending from an other end of the first rotating body toward the lever member; and a lever coupling part positioned at the end of the second rotating body and coupled to the lever member because it would allow the movement of the lever to be detected.
Regarding claim 12, Hirose does not teach the magnet-supporting housing member is provided with a coil receiving groove configured to receive the coil member, wherein the coil member is positioned around the magnet member.
Lee et al. teach the magnet-supporting housing member is provided with a coil receiving groove (Note hole of 27, Fig. 3) configured to receive the coil member (29, Fig. 3), wherein the coil member is positioned around the magnet member (7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of the magnet-supporting housing member is provided with a coil receiving groove configured to receive the coil member, wherein the coil member is positioned around the magnet member because it would serve as a return spring. (Note Lee et al. column 4, lines 9-12)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) further in view of Maiterth et al. (US 20150323346).
Hirose teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 15, Hirose does not teach the sensor housing body coupling part comprises an extension part positioned to protrude in one direction from the sensor housing body, and a locking prominence part positioned at an end of the extension part , and wherein the magnet-supporting housing member is positioned to have a locking projection coupling hole into which the locking prominence part is locked and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member.
Maiterth et al. teach a sensor housing body coupling part comprises an extension part (44, Fig. 13) positioned to protrude in one direction from the sensor housing body, and a locking prominence part (Note the rim of 44, Fig. 13) positioned at an end of the extension part, and
wherein the magnet-supporting housing member (42a, Fig. 13) r is positioned to have a locking projection coupling hole into which the locking prominence part is locked (Note the hole in 42a, Fig. 13) and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member. (Note Fig. 13)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalsi to include the teaching of wherein the sensor housing body coupling part comprises an extension part positioned to protrude in one direction from the sensor housing body, and a locking prominence part positioned at an end of the extension part, and wherein the magnet-supporting housing member is positioned to have a locking projection coupling hole into which the locking prominence part is locked and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member because it would provide protection for the sensing element.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) in view of Saito et al. (US 20170140886) further in view of Liu et al. (US 20230314483).
Hirose teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Hirose does not teach wherein the IC carrier further comprises: an extension part extending laterally from a side of the IC carrier body; and an IC carrier body fixing part penetrating the extension part in a vertical direction.
Liu et al. teach wherein the IC carrier further comprises: an extension part extending laterally from a side of the IC carrier body (Note 32 and 34, Fig. 1C); and an IC carrier body fixing part penetrating the extension part in a vertical direction. (Note 46, Fig. 1C)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein the IC carrier further comprises: an extension part extending laterally from a side of the IC carrier body; and an IC carrier body fixing part penetrating the extension part in a vertical direction because it would provide current flow to the sensor device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) in view of Saito et al. (US 20170140886) further in view of Mase (WO 2015068451).
Hirose teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 7, Hirose does not teach wherein the terminal receiving part comprises: a terminal support groove positioned in the IC carrier body, and configured to support a portion of the terminal in an extension direction of the terminal, and a terminal through-hole positioned in the IC carrier body, wherein another portion of the terminal penetrates the terminal through-hole.
Mase teach wherein the terminal receiving part comprises: a terminal support groove positioned in the IC carrier body (Note annotated Fig. 5) , and configured to support a portion of the terminal in an extension direction of the terminal, and a terminal through-hole positioned in the IC carrier body, wherein another portion of the terminal penetrates the terminal through-hole. (Note the opening in the body 16 for the terminals 18)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein the terminal receiving part comprises: a terminal support groove positioned in the IC carrier body, and configured to support a portion of the terminal in an extension direction of the terminal, and a terminal through-hole positioned in the IC carrier body, wherein another portion of the terminal penetrates the terminal through-hole because it would a provide an ic sensor which would provide a more compact device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) in view of Takenaka et al. (US 20250033605).
Hirose teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 13, Hirose does not teach wherein the sensor housing body comprises a position fixing projection positioned on an other outer side of the sensor housing body, and wherein the magnet-supporting housing member comprises: a position fixing groove into which the position fixing projection of the sensor housing body is fitted and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member.
Takenaka et al. teach wherein the sensor housing body comprises a position fixing projection (26, Fig. 17) positioned on an other outer side of the sensor housing body, and wherein the magnet-supporting housing member comprises: a position fixing groove (24, Fig. 17) into which the position fixing projection of the sensor housing body is fitted and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member. (Note Fig. 17)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein the sensor housing body comprises a position fixing projection positioned on an other outer side of the sensor housing body, and wherein the magnet-supporting housing member comprises: a position fixing groove into which the position fixing projection of the sensor housing body is fitted and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member because it would provide stabilization for the parts.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) in view of Takenaka et al. (US 20250033605) further in view of Eum Woo-cheol (KR 200454563 Y1).
Hirose teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Hirose does not teach wherein the magnet-supporting housing member is provided with a coupling member through-hole into which a coupling member for coupling the magnet-supporting housing member to one side of a vehicle internal frame is penetrated and coupled, and
wherein the coupling member coupled to one side of the vehicle internal frame by penetrating the coupling member through-hole is configured to press a portion of the position fixing projection in a state in which the position fixing projection is fitted and coupled into the position fixing groove.
Eum Woo-cheol teach wherein the magnet-supporting housing member is provided with a coupling member through-hole into which a coupling member for coupling the magnet-supporting housing member to one side of a vehicle internal frame is penetrated and coupled, (Note annoted Fig. 9 below) and
wherein the coupling member coupled to one side of the vehicle internal frame by penetrating the coupling member through-hole is configured to press a portion of the position fixing projection in a state in which the position fixing projection is fitted and coupled into the position fixing groove. (Note annotated Fig. 9 below)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirose to include the teaching of wherein the magnet-supporting housing member is provided with a coupling member through-hole into which a coupling member for coupling the magnet-supporting housing member to one side of a vehicle internal frame is penetrated and coupled because it would help secure the sensor to the vehicle.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalsi (US 6330838) in view of Saito et al. (US 20170140886) in view of Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745).
Regarding claim 1, Kalsi teach A sensor structure,(Note abstract) comprising:
a lever member (12, Fig. 2) , configured to rotate around a rotation axis;
a magnet member (26) configured to rotate together with the lever member; (Note claim 1 a magnet member including a magnet portion (26a) supported on said arcuate body portion (34) for rotational movement with said shaft (22) in response to pivotal movement of said pedal arm (12) about said pivot axis (24))
a magnet receiving member comprising a magnet receiving groove in which the magnet member is positioned; (Note annotated Fig. 2 below)
a magnet-supporting housing member comprising a magnet receiving member through-hole that rotatably supports the magnet receiving member; and
a sensor housing member comprising a sensor housing body in which a sensing element for detecting the rotation of the magnet member is water tightly embedded therein, wherein the sensing element is detachably coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member.
Kalsi teach a magnet supporting member (30, Fig, 2) that rotatably supports the magnet;
wherein the sensing element is detachably coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member. (Note the sensing element can be detached and reattached)
Kalsi does not teach a magnet-supporting housing member comprising a magnet receiving member through-hole that rotatably supports the magnet receiving member;
a sensor housing member comprising a sensor housing body in which a sensing element for detecting the rotation of the magnet member is water tightly embedded therein;
and wherein the sensing element is detachably coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member
Hirose teach a magnet-supporting housing member comprising a magnet receiving member through-hole (45, Fig. 3) that rotatably supports the magnet receiving member (51A); and wherein the sensing element (at least 53, Fig. 3) is detachably coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member. (Note Fig. 3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalsi to include the teaching of a magnet-supporting housing member comprising a magnet receiving member through-hole that rotatably supports the magnet receiving member; and wherein the sensing element is detachably coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member because it would provide the sensor to be changed when the sensor is malfunctioning.
Keller et al. teach a sensor housing member comprising a sensor housing body (9 and 11, Fig. 1) in which a sensing element (hall chip 13, par. 0026) for detecting the rotation of the magnet member is water tightly embedded therein; (Note par. 0021)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalsi to include the teaching of a sensor housing member comprising a sensor housing body in which a sensing element for detecting the rotation of the magnet member is water tightly embedded therein because it would protect the circuitry from water damage.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalsi (US 6330838) in view of Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) further in view of Saito et al. (US 20170140886)
Kalsi teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Kalsi does not teach wherein the sensor housing body is coupled to the sensing element in an overmolding manner, and wherein one side of the sensing element is connected to a terminal extending in an outward direction of the rotational axis.
Saito et al. teach wherein the sensor housing body (Note body of 60, Fig. 5A) is coupled to the sensing element (within body 60) in an overmolding manner, and wherein one side of the sensing element is connected to a terminal extending in an outward direction (Note terminals of 80 in Fig. 5A) of the rotational axis.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalsi to include the teaching of wherein the sensor housing body is coupled to the sensing element in an overmolding manner, and wherein one side of the sensing element is connected to a terminal extending in an outward direction of the rotational axis because it would provide the sensor as an IC device which would make the sensor more compact.
Regarding claim 18, Kalsi does not teach an integrated circuit (IC) carrier that supports the sensing element and a portion of the terminal in order to overmold and couple the sensing element and the portion of the terminal inside the sensor housing body.
Saito teach an integrated circuit (IC) carrier (inherent to ic 60, Fig. 5A) that supports the sensing element and a portion of the terminal in order to overmold and couple the sensing element and the portion of the terminal inside the sensor housing body. (Note 60, Fig. 5A)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalsi to include the teaching of an integrated circuit (IC) carrier that supports the sensing element and a portion of the terminal in order to overmold and couple the sensing element and the portion of the terminal inside the sensor housing body because it would provide a compact sensing device.
Regarding claim 19, Kalsi teach wherein the sensing element (Note 30C, Hall, Fig. 3) is disposed at a predetermined distance from the magnet member (26), and
configured to detect the rotation of the magnet member, (Note column 6, lines 13-17, The stator 30a, 30b and Hall chips 30c are attached to an interior face 28 of the housing 20 such that the interior face 28 and stator 30a, 30b are formed as one piece, and the magnet member 26 is fixed for rotation with the pedal pivot shaft 22. and
Kalsi does not teach wherein the sensor housing body is positioned to have a magnet receiving member receiving groove configured to receive the magnet member and a portion of the magnet receiving member in which the magnet member is received.
Hirose teach wherein the sensor housing body is positioned to have a magnet receiving member receiving groove (Note annotated Fig. 3) configured to receive the magnet member (52 and 62, Fig. 3) and a portion of the magnet receiving member (51, Fig. 3) in which the magnet member is received.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalsi to include the teaching of wherein the sensor housing body is positioned to have a magnet receiving member receiving groove configured to receive the magnet member and a portion of the magnet receiving member in which the magnet member is received because it would help provide a stop lamp lighting device capable of controlling blinking of the stop lamp in a simple configuration. (Note par. 0012)
13. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalsi (US 6330838) in view of Hirose (US 20130222129) in view of Keller et al. (US 20090165745) further in view of Maiterth et al. (US 20150323346).
Kalsi teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 20, Kalsi does not teach a sensor housing body coupling part positioned on one outer side of the sensor housing body and configured to couple the sensor housing body to the magnet-supporting housing member, wherein the sensor housing body coupling part comprises an extension part positioned to protrude in one direction from the sensor housing body, and a locking prominence part positioned at an end of the extension part , and wherein the magnet-supporting housing member is positioned to have a locking projection coupling hole into which the locking prominence part is locked and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member.
Maiterth et al. teach a sensor housing body coupling part (44, Fig. 13) positioned on one outer side of the sensor housing body and configured to couple the sensor housing body to the magnet-supporting housing member, (42a, Fig. 13)
wherein the sensor housing body coupling part comprises an extension part (44, Fig. 13) positioned to protrude in one direction from the sensor housing body, and a locking prominence part (Note the rim of 44, Fig. 13) positioned at an end of the extension part, and
wherein the magnet-supporting housing member (42a, Fig. 13) is positioned to have a locking projection coupling hole into which the locking prominence part is locked (Note the hole in 42a, Fig. 13) and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member. (Note Fig. 13)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kalsi to include the teaching of a sensor housing body coupling part positioned on one outer side of the sensor housing body and configured to couple the sensor housing body to the magnet-supporting housing member, wherein the sensor housing body coupling part comprises an extension part positioned to protrude in one direction from the sensor housing body, and a locking prominence part positioned at an end of the extension part, and wherein the magnet-supporting housing member is positioned to have a locking projection coupling hole into which the locking prominence part is locked and coupled in a state in which the sensor housing body is coupled to the magnet-supporting housing member because it would provide protection for the sensing element.
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858