DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Any references to applicant’s specification are made by way of applicant’s U.S. pre-grant printed patent publication.
This action is in response to the communication filed on 4/1/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims:
“… generating at least one data object based on the content and the one or more parameters; and performing an encapsulation process to bind the at least one data object …” (e.g. claim 1, and essentially similar recitations within claim 12).
“…wherein the digital agency capsule includes a data object associated with content …” (e.g. claim 20).
Specifically, the examiner notes that the applicant’s drawings fail to show the generation of a “data object” from content and parameters. Furthermore, while the applicant’s drawings illustrate the encapsulation of the content (e.g. Fig. 5:506), the applicant fails to illustrate the encapsulation of a “data object” or a capsule that includes a “data object”.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the applicant’s written description fails to disclose adequate support for the recitation “… generating at least one data object based on the content and the one or more parameters; and performing an encapsulation process to bind the at least one data object …” (e.g. claim 1, and essentially similar recitations within claim 12).
Specifically, the applicant’s disclosure fails to define the algorithm or procedure for generating a “data object” based on “content”. Furthermore, while the applicant’s discloses encapsulating content, the applicant fails to disclose the procedure for encapsulating a data object.
Regarding claim 8, the applicant fails to describe “… exchanging compliance and permission signaling …”.
Regarding claim 20, the applicant’s written description fails to disclose adequate support for the recitation“…wherein the digital agency capsule includes a data object associated with content …” (e.g. claim 20).
Specifically, while the applicant’s drawings illustrate the encapsulation of the content (e.g. Fig. 5:506), the applicant fails to illustrate the encapsulation of a “data object” or a capsule that includes a “data object”.
Depending claims are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 20 the recitations “… generating at least one data object based on the content and the one or more parameters; and performing an encapsulation process to bind the at least one data object …” (e.g. claim 1, and essentially similar recitations within claim 12) and “…wherein the digital agency capsule includes a data object associated with content …” (e.g. claim 20) render the scope of the claims indefinite.
Specifically, the term “data object” has not standardized meaning within the art, and the applicant’s disclosure fails to define the nature of the claimed “data object” and how such “data object” is to be generated from the “content”. Thus, it is not clear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to the subject matter falling within the scope of the term “data object” and as to specifically how any such data object would be generated from content.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation of “…exchanging compliance and permission signaling …” renders the scope of the claims indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear as to what comprise “compliance” signaling and “permission” signaling, as such terms have no standard meaning within the art. Furthermore, the applicant’s specification fails to provide a definition for such terms.
Regarding claim 20, the recitation“… the content in the digital agency capsule…” lacks antecedent basis within the claims. Specifically, the claims recite that a “data object” is included within the capsule, but does not recite that the capsule further includes “content”.
Depending claims are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 3, 5, 6, 8 – 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duncan et al. (Duncan), US 2005/0114672 A1.
Regarding claim 1, as best determined in view of the above noted deficiencies of clarity, Duncan discloses:
A method for data encapsulation (e.g. Duncan, Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, at a user interface, an indication of content associated with a content owner(e.g. Duncan, fig. 4; par. 14, 44, 67 – 70; fig. 7);
receiving one or more governance policies corresponding to the content, wherein the one or more governance polices include one or more parameters, the one or more parameters defining parameter characteristics of the content and include at least one of an accessing parameter, a sharing parameter, and a utilizing parameter (e.g. Duncan, par. 14; 67 – 70, 74; fig. 40 – content provider/administrator defines permissions, i.e. “governance policies”, for accessing, e.g. sharing, reading, etc., the content);
generating at least one data object based on the content and the one or more parameters (e.g. Duncan, fig. 1:106; fig. 2; par. 18, 23, 24 – a data archive is generated).
and performing an encapsulation process to bind the at least one data object with the one or more governance policies into a digital agency capsule (e.g. Duncan, Abstract; par. 14 – wrapper binds access control policies with the content of the data archive)
Regarding claim 2, Duncan discloses:
performing, prior to the encapsulation process, a first encryption process on the data object (e.g. Duncan, fig. 2 – before encapsulation within the license layer, the data archive is encrypted – i.e. “a first encryption process”);
and performing, prior to the encapsulation process, a second encryption process on the one or more governance policies (e.g. Duncan, fig. 2 – before encapsulation within the license layer, the governance permissions are encrypted – i.e. “a second encryption process”).
Regarding claim 3, Duncan discloses:
wherein the first encryption process and the second encryption process include at least one of a fully homomorphic encryption (FHE) algorithm and another encryption algorithm (e.g. Duncan, par. 32, 45, 62 – at least another encryption algorithm).
Regarding claim 5, Duncan discloses:
the content is inseparable from the one or more governance policies in the digital agency capsule based at least in part on performing the encapsulation process (e.g. Duncan, fig. 2; par. 28);
and the one or more governance policies are enforced for the digital agency capsule at a data level based at least in part on performing the encapsulation process (e.g. Duncan, fig. 2; par. 18).
Regarding claim 6, Duncan discloses:
further comprising generating one or more unique cryptographic keys for the digital agency capsule, wherein the one or more unique cryptographic keys are generated based at least in part on at least one of an identifier corresponding to the content owner, and the content in the digital agency capsule (e.g. Duncan, par. 101 – an encryption key phrase based on the content is generated to secure the wrapper).
Regarding claim 8, Duncan discloses:
further comprising establishing one or more communication channels via a secure communication protocol, wherein the one or more communication channels are configured for exchanging compliance and permission signaling to enable access to the digital agency capsule (e.g. Duncan, par. 89, 267 – herein methods of secure sharing, i.e. SSL and other “secure communication protocols”, e.g. email, instant messaging, etc. are provided, such communication protocols enabling access to the digital wrapper or “capsule”).
are enabled between the content provider and content user.
Regarding claim 9, Duncan discloses:
wherein the secure communication protocol includes at least one of a transport layer security (TLS) protocol and another secure communication protocol (e.g. Duncan, par. 89, 267).
Regarding claim 10, Duncan discloses:
configuring one or more access gateways to integrate the digital agency capsule with one or more external systems (e.g. Duncan, par. 92, 180; fig. 8; claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, Duncan discloses:
wherein the one or more external systems includes at least one of an application programming interface (API) system and another external system (e.g. Duncan, par. 92, 180; fig. 8; claim 9).
Regarding claim 20, Duncan discloses:
An apparatus for sending encapsulated content, the apparatus comprising:
a computing device (e.g. Duncan, fig. 7) configured to:
receive an access request to access a digital agency capsule, wherein the digital agency capsule includes a data object associated with content bound to one or more governing policies (e.g. Duncan, par. 21, 185, 267);
establish a connection between a user computing device and a content owner computing device based at least in part on receiving the request, the content owner computing device being associated with an owner of the digital agency capsule (e.g. Duncan, par. 185, 267 – content server is connected to the requesting user);
and transmit, to the user computing device, a permit signal based at least in part on establishing the connection, wherein the permit signal enables a user of the user computing device to access the content in the digital agency capsule according to the one or more governing policies (e.g. Duncan, par. 185, 267 - 275 – content server transmits a “permit signal” - wrapped content and authorization to the user to access the content).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 12 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan et al. (Duncan), US 2005/0114672 A1 in view of Rodriquez, US 2023/0147698 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Duncan discloses a system for creating a container or wrapping of content along with permissions. Duncan however fails to disclose the application of a cryptographic signature to the wrapper.
Rodriguez discloses a system for creating a container or wrapping of content along with permissions. Furthermore, Rodriguez discloses the application of a cryptographic signature to the wrapper (e.g. Rodriguez, par. 147, 268, 292 – herein PKI encryption comprises the encryption with a private key, i.e. the creation of a signature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the digital signature teachings of Rodriguez within the system of Duncan. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings that private key encryption enables data owners to cryptographically prove ownership of their data (e.g. Rodriguez, par. 292).
Thus, the combination enables:
further comprising applying a cryptographic signature from the content owner to the one or more governance policies (e.g. Duncan, fig. 2; Rodriguez, par. 147, 268, 292).
Regarding claim 7, Duncan discloses the production of encryption keys and the encryption of a content wrapper. However, Duncan does not explicitly teach that the produced key are the ones used for the encryption of governance and data layers.
However, like Duncan, Rodriguez also discloses a system for creating a container or wrapping of content along with permissions. Furthermore, Rodriguez discloses that the system produces encryption keys, and uses such key to perform the encryption of the layers within the wrapper (e.g. Rodriguez, par. 130, 131, 150, 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the teachings of Rodriquez for using the produced encryption keys to encrypt the content wrapper. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated by logical reasoning to use the keys available (i.e. the ones created within the system) to perform the encryption that is required (i.e. the encryption of the content/policy).
Thus, the combination enables:
performing, at a first layer, a first encryption process on a contract based at least in part on the one or more unique cryptographic keys, wherein the contract is configured to enforce the one or more governance polices (e.g. Rodriguez, par. 130, 131, 150, 202; e.g. Duncan, par. 101; fig. 2:114 – i.e. “a first encryption process” on enforcement policies, i.e. “a contract”, using the generated keys);
and performing, at a second layer, a second encryption process on an access agreement based at least in part on the one or more unique cryptographic (e.g. Rodriguez, par. 130, 131, 150, 202; e.g. Duncan, par. 51, 62, 91, 101; fig. 2:131 – i.e. “a second encryption process” on embedded audit information, including granted user access information, i.e. “an access agreement”, using the generated keys)
Regarding claims 12, it is a system claims, essentially corresponding to the claims above, and it is rejected, at least, for the same reasons.
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, although Duncan fails to disclose, Rodriguez does disclose a processor; and a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: … (e.g. Rodriguez, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the teachings of Rodriguez for employing a processor, memory, and instructions to implement a system for creating a content capsule (i.e. a wrapper or container). This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the need to use known technological means to practically implement a computing system.
Regarding claims 13 - 19, they are a system claims, essentially corresponding to the claims above, and are rejected, at least, for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
See Notice of References Cited.
/JEFFERY L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495