DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (U.S. Pat # 9,110,576) in view of Kim et al (pub # 20230051541), hereinafter referred to as D1, and further in view of Motoi (pub # 20140118295).
Consider claim 1. Kim et al teaches A display apparatus (abstract, display device). comprising:
memory storing one or more instructions; (col. 4 lines 40-46, The storage unit 2030 may store various kinds of digital data including video data, audio data, image data and application data. Particularly, the storage unit 2030 may include refocusable image data and video data including refocusable images as frames. The storage unit 2030 represents various kinds of digital data storing space such as a flash memory, a random access memory (RAM) and a solid state drive (SSD).
a display panel comprising a touch sensor; (col. 4 lines 1-14, The input sensor unit 2010 may use at least one sensor mounted to the device to transfer a user input or an environment recognized by the device to the processor 2040. More specifically, the input sensor unit 2010 may use at least one sensor mounted to the device to sense a touch input. Herein, the at least one sensor may include various touch sensing means for sensing a touch input to the device such as a touch sensor, a fingerprint sensor, a motion sensor, a proximity sensor, an illumination sensor, and a pressure sensor. The input sensor unit 2010 is a common name for such sensing means. The sensing means may be included in the device as separate elements or may be integrated into at least one elements included in the device).
and at least one processor operatively coupled to the memory and the display panel and configured to execute the one or more instructions, (Fig. 2 and col. 4 lines 47-53, The processor 2040 may processes data in the device to execute various applications. In addition, the processor 2040 may control content executed in the device, based on a content control command. In addition, the processor 2040 may control the aforementioned units of the device respectively and may also control data transmission/reception between the units).
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display apparatus to:
based on a first touch on a screen of the display panel being detected through the touch sensor (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020).
while a first frame from among a plurality of frames included in an image is displayed by the display panel, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010).
obtain a first input point corresponding to the first touch, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020).
based on a second touch on the screen being detected (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030).
while a second frame from among the plurality of frames is displayed by the display panel, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030 for a second frame 3040.).
obtain a second input point corresponding to the second touch, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030).
display, on the display panel, a touch trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point in a next frame subsequent to the second frame, (Fig. 4, the user’s touch trajectory that is based on the first and second inputs during the first two frames is displayed in a third frame after the second frame).
Kim et al does not specifically disclose obtain a predicted trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point, , and display, on the display panel, the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length with the touch trajectory in the next frame such that the touch trajectory and the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length form a continuous trajectory in the next frame.
In an analogous art D1 teaches obtain a predicted trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point, (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0090 and 0091, predictive coordinate points 410a-410c are determined based on first input coordinate point 400a and second input coordinate point 400b).
and display, on the display panel, the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length with the touch trajectory in the next frame such that the touch trajectory and the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length form a continuous trajectory in the next frame. (Fig. 8A, the continuous trajectory is displayed having only the points 800, 802, and 804 instead of points 800, 802, 804, and 806).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of D1 with the invention of Kim et al in order to reduce an error of a predictive path by determining the number of generated predictive coordinate points to be used in accordance with a predetermined criterion (D1 paragraph 0014).
Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose adjust a length of the predicted trajectory based on a location of the first touch within the screen specified in coordinate information corresponding to the first touch within the screen. However Motoi in at least Figs. 10 and 11 and paragraphs 0067-0074 discloses a method of adjusting the length of a predicted line segment by calculating the difference in an angle between a first vector and a second vector obtained from a first contact position of first input and a second contact position of a second input, thus adjusting the length of the predicted trajectory based on a location of the first touch. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Motoi with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 so as to display a predicted line segment while reducing user disconcertment by using the method that extremely reduces the calculation cost by decreasing the predicted value when the change amount (.alpha.) is large and prediction readily goes wrong (Motoi paragraph 0075).
Consider claim 11. Kim et al teaches A controlling method of a display apparatus, (abstract, display device). the method comprising:
based on a first touch on a screen of a display panel of the display apparatus being detected (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020).
while a first frame from among a plurality of frames included in an image is displayed, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010).
obtaining a first input point corresponding to the first touch; (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020).
based on a second touch on the screen being detected (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030).
while a second frame from among the plurality of frames is displayed, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030 for a second frame 3040.).
obtaining a second input point corresponding to the second touch; (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030).
displaying a touch trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point in a next frame subsequent to the second frame; (Fig. 4, the user’s touch trajectory that is based on the first and second inputs during the first two frames is displayed in a third frame after the second frame).
Kim et al does not specifically disclose obtaining a predicted trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point; and displaying the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length with the touch trajectory in the next frame such that the touch trajectory and the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length form a continuous trajectory in the next frame.
In an analogous art D1 teaches obtaining a predicted trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point; (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0090 and 0091, predictive coordinate points 410a-410c are determined based on first input coordinate point 400a and second input coordinate point 400b).
and displaying the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length with the touch trajectory in the next frame such that the touch trajectory and the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length form a continuous trajectory in the next frame. (Fig. 8A, the continuous trajectory is displayed having only the points 800, 802, and 804 instead of points 800, 802, 804, and 806).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of D1 with the invention of Kim et al in order to reduce an error of a predictive path by determining the number of generated predictive coordinate points to be used in accordance with a predetermined criterion (D1 paragraph 0014).
Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose adjusting a length of the predicted trajectory based on location information of the first touch within the screen specified in coordinate information corresponding to the first touch within the screen;. However Motoi in at least Figs. 10 and 11 and paragraphs 0067-0074 discloses a method of adjusting the length of a predicted line segment by calculating the difference in an angle between a first vector and a second vector obtained from a first contact position of first input and a second contact position of a second input, thus adjusting the length of the predicted trajectory based on a location of the first touch. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Motoi with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 so as to display a predicted line segment while reducing user disconcertment by using the method that extremely reduces the calculation cost by decreasing the predicted value when the change amount (.alpha.) is large and prediction readily goes wrong (Motoi paragraph 0075).
Consider claim 16. Kim et al teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium, having instructions stored therein, (col. 15 lines 28-41, a device and a control method for the same in the present disclosure may be implemented in a recording medium readable by a processor provided to a network device as a code readable by the processor. The recording medium readable by the processor includes all kinds of recording devices to store data readable by the processor. Examples of the recording medium readable by the processor include ROMs, RAMs, magnetic tapes, floppy disks, and optical data storage devices).
which when executed by a processor a display apparatus, cause the processor to execute a method comprising:
based on a first touch on a screen of a display panel of the display apparatus being detected (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020).
while a first frame from among a plurality of frames included in an image is displayed, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010).
obtaining a first input point corresponding to the first touch; (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020).
based on a second touch on the screen being detected (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030).
while a second frame from among the plurality of frames is displayed, (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030 for a second frame 3040.).
obtaining a second input point corresponding to the second touch; (Fig. 3 and col. 5 lines 27-30, the device may detect a first input 3020 for a first frame 3010 and a second input 3030).
displaying a touch trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point in a next frame subsequent to the second frame, (Fig. 4, the user’s touch trajectory that is based on the first and second inputs during the first two frames is displayed in a third frame after the second frame).
Kim et al does not specifically disclose obtaining a predicted trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point; and displaying the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length with the touch trajectory in the next frame such that the touch trajectory and the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length form a continuous trajectory in the next frame.
In an analogous art D1 teaches obtaining a predicted trajectory based on the first input point and the second input point; (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0090 and 0091, predictive coordinate points 410a-410c are determined based on first input coordinate point 400a and second input coordinate point 400b).
and displaying the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length with the touch trajectory in the next frame such that the touch trajectory and the predicted trajectory with the adjusted length form a continuous trajectory in the next frame. (Fig. 8A, the continuous trajectory is displayed having only the points 800, 802, and 804 instead of points 800, 802, 804, and 806).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of D1 with the invention of Kim et al in order to reduce an error of a predictive path by determining the number of generated predictive coordinate points to be used in accordance with a predetermined criterion (D1 paragraph 0014).
Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose adjusting a length of the predicted trajectory based on a location of the first touch within the screen specified in coordinate information corresponding to the first touch within the screen. However Motoi in at least Figs. 10 and 11 and paragraphs 0067-0074 discloses a method of adjusting the length of a predicted line segment by calculating the difference in an angle between a first vector and a second vector obtained from a first contact position of first input and a second contact position of a second input, thus adjusting the length of the predicted trajectory based on a location of the first touch. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Motoi with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 so as to display a predicted line segment while reducing user disconcertment by using the method that extremely reduces the calculation cost by decreasing the predicted value when the change amount (.alpha.) is large and prediction readily goes wrong (Motoi paragraph 0075).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 2. Kim et al further teaches The display apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display apparatus to:
update the display panel from a top to bottom direction or a left to right direction during a refresh rate (See Figs. 3 and 4 where the display is updated from a top to bottom or left to right direction).
and display each of the plurality of frames sequentially, (See Figs. 3 and 4 where the frames are display sequentially).
However neither Kim et al nor any of the other prior art of record teaches or renders obvious and obtain a display time between a time of updating the display panel for displaying the next frame and a time of displaying the touch trajectory in the next frame based on a ratio of the coordinate information to a size of the screen.
Claims 12 and 17 recite similar features as disclosed in claim 12 above and are objected to for the same reasons.
Claims 3-9 are objected to due to their dependency from claim 2.
Claims 13-15 are objected to due to their dependency from claim 12.
Claims 18-20 are objected to due to their dependency from claim 17.
Consider claim 10. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display apparatus to: based on the display panel performing an adaptive synchronization function, add a time required to perform the adaptive synchronization function to a buffering time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624
/MATTHEW A EASON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2624