DETAILED ACTION
A power of attorney is on file for this application, received 4/1/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the receiver communicates the data signal to the processing unit” should be revised to recite “the receiver is configured to communicate the data signal to the processing unit” to properly recite the intended function of the receiver. Please review all claims for proper functional language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 is unclear as it recites “The hard hat fan system of claim 18, wherein the processing unit with repeats sending the first control signal followed by the second control signal after the predetermined amount of time…”. There appears to be text missing as the processing unit “with repeats sending the first control signal” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (U.S. 11,266,199) in view of Katz (U.S. 6,122,773) and Salem et al. (Salem, U.S. 2019/0191812). Wong discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Wong teaches a hard hat fan system, comprising: a shell 140 comprising an inner surface configured to receive a head of a user and an outer surface opposite the inner surface; a fan 18 coupled to the outer surface of the shell 140 (see Figure 2), the fan comprising: an inlet 48; an outlet 50; a motor configured to be turned on and off (disclosed as a motor driven fan with a power button or switch 59) and a power supply 16 configured to provide power to the motor. However, Wong doesn’t teach a fan blade coupled to the motor such that when the motor is on, the motor rotates the fan blade and the fan blade draws air through the inlet and pushes air through the outlet. Wong doesn’t teach a sensor communicably coupled to a processing unit of the fan, the sensor configured to detect environmental condition data and generate a data signal that is indicative of the environmental condition data, wherein the sensor communicates the data signal to the processing unit; wherein when the processing unit receives the data signal, the processing unit compares the environmental condition data to a threshold condition to determine if the environmental
condition data is above the threshold condition; and wherein, if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, the processing unit generates a control signal configured to change a first speed of the fan blade to a second speed different from the first speed. Katz teaches a motor-driven fan 19 as part of a hardhat, with the fan having blades 18 coupled to the motor such that the motor activates to rotate the fan upon receipt of a signal from the temperature sensor to draw air through the vent holes of the hardhat. Salem teaches a helmet/hard hat with a fan system, the fan system including a sensor 70 communicably coupled to a processing unit of the fan 18, the sensor 70 configured to detect environmental condition data (ambient temperature) and generate a data signal to the processing unit 68 (“electronic temperature controller 68 may include a microcontroller or microprocessor that receives signals from temperature sensor 70” as in par.35), wherein when the processing unit 68 receives the data signal, the processing unit 68 compares the data to a threshold condition to determine if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, and wherein if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, the processing unit 68 generates a control signal configured to change a first speed of the fan blade to a second speed different from the first speed (pars.36 and 38 discloses the processing unit can be programmed to adjust the rotation rate of fan 18 according to the ambient temperature and can have memory for storing temperature control parameters and first and second threshold values may be stored in the memory of the processing unit 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong to provide a fan blade coupled to the motor wherein when the motor is on, the motor rotates the fan blade and the blade draws air into the fan through the inlet and pushes air out through the outlet, as an alternate structure achieving the same function-rotating and drawing air through the inlet or pushing air thought the outlet for cooling the hardhat wearer. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong to provide the fan system with a sensor communicably coupled to a processing unit of the fan, the sensor configured to detect environmental condition data and generate a data signal that is indicative of the environmental condition data, wherein the sensor communicates the data signal to the processing unit; wherein when the processing unit receives the data signal, the processing unit compares the environmental condition data to a threshold condition to determine if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition; and wherein, if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, the processing unit generates a control signal configured to change a first speed of the fan blade to a second speed different from the first speed as these features address efficient power source management and effective cooling for the hard hat wearer where the temperature threshold values may be customized for each wearer.
For claim 2, Wong doesn’t teach the hard hat fan system of claim 1, wherein if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, the control signal is configured to turn the motor off by inhibiting power from being delivered from the power supply to the motor. Salem teaches in paragraph 37 the processing unit 68 can be programmed to turn on and turn off fan 18 according to the ambient temperature. Turning on and off is considered as inhibiting power from being delivered from the power supply to the motor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s hard hat fan system such that if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, the control signal is configured to turn the motor off by inhibiting power from being delivered from the power supply to the motor as Salem teaches it’s known in the art to program the processing unit to store temperature threshold values for turning the fan on and off and inhibiting power from being delivered from the power supply to the motor and this is expected to preserve the useful life of the power source.
For claim 3, Wong’s modified system comprises a duct 60 coupled to the outlet 50 of the fan and configured to direct air in a direction towards the inner surface of the shell as in col.6, lines 39-43.
For claim 6, Wong’s modified hard hat fan system teaches the sensor 70 is a temperature sensor
and the environmental condition data is temperature data.
For claim 7, Wong’s modified hard hat system comprises the temperature data is representative
of an ambient temperature of the air surrounding the shell as the sensor 70 is located on the helmet shell.
Claims 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong ‘199 in view of Katz ‘773 and Salem ‘812 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (Hashimoto, U.S. 11,849,792). Wong discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Wong doesn’t teach the hard hat fan system of claim 1, wherein the sensor is physically coupled to the fan. For claims 8-10, Wong doesn’t teach the hard hat fan system of claim 6, wherein the temperature data is representative of an ambient temperature of the air within the shell, and the hard hat fan system of claim 6, wherein the temperature data is representative of a body temperature of the user of the hard hat fan system and the hard hat fan system of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a humidity sensor and the environmental condition data is humidity data, wherein the humidity data is representative of the humidity of the air surrounding the shell. Hashimoto teaches a helmet with a fan system including a fan 6 provided on the outer shell 2 of the helmet, and a sensor 54 for measuring ambient temperature of air within the shell at channel 421 (Fig.6) and a sensor 52 physically coupled to the fan for measuring humidity of the air surrounding the shell 2 and entering the interior of the helmet. Sensor 74 measures body temperature of the user of the helmet fan system such that a control device 11 (also electrically connected to fan 6) receives data from the sensor regarding the helmet wearer’s body temperature and adjusts the air volume of the fan 6 based on pre-set medical parameters of the control device 11. Sensors 52,54 are also connected to the control device 11 and the control device calculates humidity values based on data received from the sensors such that the air flow of the fan can be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s sensor such that it is physically coupled to the fan as Hashimoto teaches the sensor can measure characteristics of the air as it enters through the fan housing. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s hard hat fan system such that the sensor is a temperature sensor provides data representative of an ambient temperature of the air within the shell, is representative of a body temperature of the user of the hard hat fan system, and is a humidity sensor and the environmental condition data is humidity data representative of the humidity of the air surrounding the shell as Hashimoto teaches each of these sensors capable of providing ambient temperature, body temperature and humidity data as part of a hard hat fan system that capable of measuring and monitoring physical conditions of the hard hat wearer in a high temperature environment and adjusting fan parameters accordingly to improve wearer safety.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong ‘199 in view of Katz ‘773 and Salem ‘812 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simpson (US 2023/0346604). Wong discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Wong teaches the hard hat fan system of claim 1, wherein the sensor 70 is physically coupled to the outer surface of the shell as in Figure 7. However, Wong doesn’t teach the fan further comprises a receiver, the receiver configured to receive the data signal from the sensor and deliver the data signal to the processing unit. Simpson teaches a motor-driven fan 113 and sensors for measuring temperature or humidity, with a receiver for receiving data from the sensor and transmitting to a control system 111B for modify the speed of motor 114 and the fan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s fan to comprise a receiver configured to receive the data signal from the sensor and transmit to the processing unit, as Simpson teaches it’s known in the art to affect an operation of a fan as part of a helmet structure by using a receiver to capture and interpret signals from the sensors and relaying to the processing unit for operation of the fan based on the transmitted data.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong ‘199 in view of Simpson ‘604 and Salem ‘812. Wong discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Wong teaches a hard hat fan system, comprising: a shell 140 comprising an inner surface configured to receive a head of a user and an outer surface opposite the inner surface; a fan 18 coupled to the outer surface of the shell 140, the fan 18 comprising: a housing 38 comprising an inlet 48 and an outlet 50; a motor configured to be turned on and off (disclosed as a motor driven fan with a power button or switch 59), wherein when the motor is on air enters the fan through the inlet 48 and exits through the outlet 50; and a power supply 16 coupled to the fan and configured to provide power to the motor. However, Wong doesn’t teach a receiver communicably coupled to a processing unit; wherein the receiver is configured to receive environmental condition data from a personal electronic device and generate a data signal that is indicative of the environmental condition data; wherein the receiver communicates the data signal to the processing unit; wherein when the processing unit receives the data signal, the processing unit compares the environmental condition data to a threshold condition to determine if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition; and wherein, if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, then the processing unit generates a power control signal configured to change a first power level provided by the power supply to the motor to a second power level different from the first power level. Simpson teaches a motor-driven fan 113 and sensors for measuring environmental condition data such as temperature or humidity, with a receiver for receiving data from the sensor and communicably coupled to a control system 111B for adjusting the speed of motor 114 and the fan 113. Salem teaches a helmet/hard hat with a fan system, the fan system including a sensor 70 communicably coupled to a processing unit of the fan 18, the sensor 70 configured to detect environmental condition data (ambient temperature) and generate/transmit a data signal to the processing unit 68 (“electronic temperature controller 68 may include a microcontroller or microprocessor that receives signals from temperature sensor 70” as in par.35), wherein when the processing unit 68 receives the data signal, the processing unit 68 compares the environmental condition data to a threshold condition to determine if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, and wherein if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, the processing unit 68 generates a control signal configured to change a first power level provided by the power supply to a second power level different from the first power level (paragraph 38 discloses the processing unit can be programmed to adjust the rotation rate of fan 18 according to the ambient temperature and includes memory for storing temperature control parameters and first and second threshold values may also be stored in the memory of the processing unit 68). Paragraph 38 also discloses “The availability of a slower rotation can also conserve battery power” such that one of ordinary skill would understand that a first power level is required for a faster rotation rate and a second power level is required for a slower rotation rate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s fan to comprise a receiver communicably coupled to the processing unit, the receiver configured to receive the data signal from the sensor and transmit to the processing unit, as Simpson teaches it’s known in the art to provide a receiver as part of a helmet fan operating system to capture and interpret signals from the sensors for relaying to the processing unit for operation of the fan according to pre-set parameters based on the transmitted data. It also would have been obvious to modify Wong’s hard hat fan system to provide a processing unit that compares the environmental condition data to a threshold condition to determine if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition; and wherein, if the environmental condition data is above the threshold condition, then the processing unit generates a power control signal configured to change a first power level provided by the power supply to the motor to a second power level different from the first power level as Salem teaches it’s known in the art to provide a hard hat fan system with a processing unit programmed with desired environmental condition parameters such that the hardhat wearer can customize environmental condition parameters and optimize power source management.
For claim 12, Wong’s modifed hard hat fan system teaches the second power level is less than the first power level as the second power level required for a slower fan rotation rate is less than the first power level for a faster ran rotation rate as taught by Salem.
For claim 13, Wong’s modified hard hat fan system teaches the power control signal turns the
motor of the fan off as Salem teaches in paragraph 37 the processing unit 68 can be programmed to turn on and turn off the fan 18 according to the ambient temperature and the
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong ‘199 in view of Simpson ‘604 and Salem ‘812 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Katz ‘773. Wong discloses the invention substantially as claimed but doesn’t teach the hard hat fan system of claim 11, wherein the fan further comprises at least one fan blade positioned within the fan housing and coupled to the motor, wherein when the motor is on, the at least one fan blade rotates and draws air into the fan through the inlet and pushes the air out through the outlet, and wherein the motor is configured to rotate the at least one fan blade at different speed levels. Katz teaches a fan coupled to a hardhat and at least one fan blade positioned within the fan housing and coupled to the motor, wherein when the motor is on, the at least one fan blade rotates and draws air into the fan through the inlet. Wong’s modified fan comprising at least one blade would operate as claimed, to draw air into the fan through the inlet and push air out through the outlet as Wong’s fan housing includes the inlet 48 and outlet 50. Wong’s modified helmet includes the motor configured to rotate the at least one fan blade at different speed levels as taught by Salem in paragraphs 36 and 38. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s hard hat fan system wherein the fan further comprises at least one fan blade positioned within the fan housing and coupled to the motor, wherein when the motor is on, the at least one fan blade rotates and draws air into the fan through the inlet and pushes the air out through the outlet, and wherein the motor is configured to rotate the at least one fan blade at different speed levels, as the speed is adjusted based on environmental conditions.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong ‘199 in view of Simpson ‘604 and Salem ‘812 as applied to claims 11 and 14 above, and further in view of Awiszus et al. (Awiszus, US 11,260,251). Wong discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including a rechargeable battery cell, but doesn’t teach the processing unit is configured to detect a battery charge level of the rechargeable battery cell. Awiszus teaches a helmet with a fan system powered by a rechargeable battery and a processor 224 communicably coupled to the battery such that the processor can determine how much battery life remains for the particular battery at any given time as in par.27, lines 57-65. Modifying Wong’s processing unit such that it is configured to detect a battery charge level of the rechargeable battery cell is obviously a useful function of the processor so that the hardhat wearer can determine if the battery is sufficiently charged to power the operation of the fan for a desired amount of time. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong such that the processing unit is configured to detect a battery charge level of the rechargeable battery cell as taught by Awiszus, so that the hard hat wearer can modify their actions accordingly based on the battery charge level by switching batteries or charging the battery.
For claim 16, Wong’s modified hard hat fan system doesn’t explicitly teach that when the processing unit detects that the battery charge level is below a predetermined battery charge, the processing unit sends a speed control signal to change a first speed level of the at least one fan blade to a second speed level providing a haptic indicator of the battery charge level to the user of the hard hat fan system. However, Wong’s modified hard hat fan system includes the fan blade and processing unit configured to detect a battery charge level of the rechargeable battery cell as modified by Katz and Awiszus. As previously discussed, Salem teaches that it’s known in the art to program a controller with desired environmental condition parameters such that the speed levels of the fan change from a first speed to a second speed with a lower fan speed conserving battery charge levels. Based on these teachings of Katz, Awiszus and Salem, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Wong’s processing unit can be programmed with desired battery charge level parameters to detect when a battery charge level of the rechargeable battery cell is below a predetermined battery charge to send a signal to change a first speed level of the at least one fan blade to a second speed level providing a haptic indicator of the battery charge level to the user of the hard hat fan system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s hard hat fan system such that when the processing unit detects that the battery charge level is below a predetermined battery charge, the processing unit sends a speed control signal to change a first speed level of the at least one fan blade to a second speed level providing a haptic indicator of the battery charge level to the user of the hard hat fan system, particularly as Salem teaches the fan speed affects the battery charge levels and the processing unit is capable of being programmed to store and execute a variety of operations including battery charge level detection, as the hard hat wearer would recognize the change in fan blade speed levels and charge the battery accordingly.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong ‘199 in view of Katz ‘773 and Salem ‘812 and Awiszus ‘251. Wong discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Wong teaches a hard hat fan system, comprising a shell 140; a fan 18 coupled to an outer surface of the shell 140, the fan 18 comprising: an inlet 48; an outlet 50, a motor configured to be turned on and off (disclosed as a motor driven fan with a power button or switch 59) and a battery cell 16 coupled to the fan 18 and configured to provide power to the motor. However, Wong doesn’t teach the fan comprises a processing unit and the processing unit is configured to detect a battery charge level of the battery cell and a fan blade coupled to the motor, wherein when the motor is on, the motor rotates the fan blade and the fan blade draws air into the fan through the inlet and pushes air out through the outlet. Wong also doesn’t teach the processing unit configured to detect a battery charge level of the battery cell and when the processing unit detects the battery charge level, the processing unit compares the battery charge level to a predetermined battery charge to determine if the battery charge level is below the predetermined battery charge; and wherein, if the battery charge level is below the predetermined battery charge, then the processing unit generates a first control signal configured to change a first speed level of the fan to a second speed level different from the first speed level to provide a haptic indicator of the battery charge level to a user of the hard hat fan system. As previously discussed, Katz teaches a motor-driven fan 19 as part of a hardhat, with the fan having blades 18 coupled to the motor such that the motor activates to rotate the fan upon receipt of a signal from the temperature sensor to draw air through the vent holes of the hardhat. Salem teaches that it’s known in the art to program a controller with desired environmental condition parameters such that the speed levels of the fan change from a first speed to a second speed with a lower fan speed conserving battery charge levels. Awiszus teaches a helmet with a fan system powered by a rechargeable battery and a processor 224 communicably coupled to the battery such that the processor can determine how much battery life remains for the particular battery at any given time as in par.27, lines 57-65. Based on these teachings of Katz, Awiszus and Salem, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Wong’s processing unit can be programmed with desired battery charge level parameters to detect when a battery charge level of the rechargeable battery cell is below a predetermined battery charge to send a signal to change a first speed level of the at least one fan blade to a second speed level providing a haptic indicator of the battery charge level to the user of the hard hat fan system as a way to optimize the useful life of the charged battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s hard hat fan system to program the processing unit to detect a battery charge level of the battery cell and program the processing unit with desired battery charge level parameters such that the processing unit is configured to detect that the battery charge level is below a predetermined battery charge and send a speed control signal to change a first speed level of the at least one fan blade to a second speed level providing a haptic indicator of the battery charge level to the user of the hard hat fan system, particularly as Salem teaches the fan speed affects the battery charge levels and the processing unit is capable of being programmed to store and execute a variety of operations including battery charge level detection, and the hard hat wearer would recognize the change in fan blade speed levels and charge the battery accordingly.
For claim 18, Wong’s modified hard hat fan system doesn’t teach wherein after a predetermined amount of time, the processing unit generates a second control signal configured to change the second
speed level of the fan to the first speed level of the fan. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the processing unit could be programmed to provide desired parameters of the battery charge level, as Salem teaches that the fan speed can be changed to preserve battery life.
For claim 19, as best understood, Wong’s modified hard hat fan system doesn’t teach wherein the processing unit with repeats sending the first control signal followed by the second control signal after the predetermined amount of time, a predetermined number of times. Wong’s processing unit is considered capable of being programmed such that the first control signal is followed by the second control signal after the predetermined amount of time, a predetermined number of times, such that the fan speed can adjust as desired based on the wearing condition of the hard hat.
For claim 20, Wong’s modified hard hat fan system includes a sensor communicably coupled to the processing unit of the fan, the sensor configured to detect environmental condition data and generate a data signal that is indicative of the environmental condition data, wherein the sensor communicates the data signal to the processing unit. As previously discussed, Salem teaches a helmet/hard hat with a fan system, the fan system including a sensor 70 communicably coupled to a processing unit of the fan 18, the sensor 70 configured to detect environmental condition data (ambient temperature) and generate a data signal communicated to the processing unit 68 (“electronic temperature controller 68 may include a microcontroller or microprocessor that receives signals from temperature sensor 70” as in par.35) such that the operation of the fan can be determined by the detected environmental condition data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wong’s hard hat fan system to comprise a sensor communicably coupled to the processing unit of the fan, the sensor configured to detect environmental condition data and generate a data signal that is indicative of the environmental condition data, wherein the sensor communicates the data signal to the processing unit, as Salem teaches it’s known in the art to provide a hard hat fan system with a sensor configured to detect environmental condition data such as temperature and communicate the data signal to a processing unit such that the rotation rate of the fan will adjust according to the temperature data for the comfort of the hard hat wearer.
Conclusion
The PTO-892 includes references considered relevant to the claimed invention.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications should be directed to Primary Examiner Katherine Moran at (571) 272-4990 (phone). Please note that any internet communication directed to katherine.moran@uspto.gov requires prior submission of an Authorization for Internet Communications form (PTO/SB/439). The examiner can be reached on Monday-Thursday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, and alternating Fridays.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Khoa Huynh, may be reached at (571) 272-4888. The official and after final fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is (571) 273-8300. General information regarding this application and
questions directed to matters of form and procedures may be directed to the PTO Contact
Center/Inventors Assistance Center at (800) 786-9199/571-272-1000. Information regarding the status
of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system.
Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For questions on
access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-
free).
/KATHERINE M MORAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732