DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 2 – 3, “the thrust disc and the rotor shaft to rotate” should read - - wherein the thrust disc and the rotor shaft rotate - -.
Claim 1, line 7, “engaging” should read - - engagement - -.
Claim 5, lines 3 – 4, “the second micro lattice structure between the second thrust pad and the second side of the thrust disc” should read - - wherein the second micro lattice structure is between the second thrust pad and the second side of the thrust disc - -.
Claim 14, lines 4 – 5, “the second micro lattice structure between the second thrust pad and the second side of the thrust disc” should read - - wherein the second micro lattice structure is between the second thrust pad and the second side of the thrust disc - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yoshino et al. USPGPUB 20160356310.
Claim 20, Yoshino discloses an air foil bearing assembly (foil bearing unit 10)(Fig. 2)([0108], l. 1) comprising: a rotor shaft (common shaft 6)([0108], l. 2)) to rotate within a housing ([0108], ll. 8 – 12: “[t]he foil bearing unit 10 is fixed to a housing of the gas turbine, and is configured to support, in the radial direction and the thrust directions, the shaft 6 rotatable to one side in a circumferential direction”); a thrust disc (disc-like flange portion 22)(Fig. 3)([0109], ll. 2 – 3) fixed to the rotor shaft; a first thrust pad (first thrust foil bearing 40)([0108], l. 6) fixed to the housing and aligned with a first side of the thrust disc, the thrust disc to move towards the first thrust pad as the thrust disc rotates; a second thrust pad (second thrust foil bearing 50)([0108], ll. 6 – 7) fixed to the housing and aligned with a second side of the thrust disc, the thrust disc to move towards the second thrust pad as the thrust disc rotates; and an aerophilic material coating between at least one of (1) the thrust disc and the first thrust pad and (2) the thrust disc and the second thrust pad, the aerophilic material coating to mitigate movement of the thrust disc along a centerline axis of the rotor shaft ([0128]: “[d]uring the low speed rotation immediately before the stop or immediately after the actuation of the shaft 6, the bearing surfaces of the foils (in particular, a bearing surface of each of the foils 32 of the radial foil bearing 30) and the rotary member 20 come into sliding contact with each other. Thus, low-friction coating such as a DLC film, a titanium aluminum nitride film, a tungsten disulfide film, and a molybdenum disulfide film may be formed on one or both of the bearing surface of each of the foils and the rotary member 20. Further, during the rotation of the shaft 6, due to the slight sliding between each of the foils 32, 42, and 52 and each of the foil holders 31, 41, and 51, the vibration of the shaft 6 can be suppressed. In order to adjust a frictional force that is generated by the slight sliding, the low-friction coating as described above may be formed on one or both of each of the foils 32, 42, and 52 and each of the foil holders 31, 41, and 51”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, including Yoshino et al. USPGPUB 20160356310, taken as a whole neither teaches nor makes obvious the claimed combination of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal as set forth in claim(s) 1. Yoshino teaches an air foil bearing assembly 10 comprising a thrust disc 22 coupled to a rotor shaft 6, and a thrust pad 40 aligned with a first side thrust disc, wherein the thrust disc moves towards the thrust pad as the thrust disc rotates. Yoshino further teaches the use of a coating to mitigate engagement between the thrust disc and the thrust pad. In contrast, the claimed invention requires a micro lattice structure between the thrust disc and the thrust pad, wherein the micro lattice structure mitigates thrust pad engagement with the thrust disc. Further, Yoshino contains no teaching, motivation or suggestion that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the air foil bearing to incorporate a micro lattice structure between the thrust disc and the thrust pad, wherein the micro lattice structure mitigates the thrust pad engagement with the thrust disc. Therefore, the claimed combination represents a non-obvious advance over the prior art.
The prior art of record, including Yoshino et al. USPGPUB 20160356310, taken as a whole neither teaches nor makes obvious the claimed combination of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal as set forth in claim(s) 11. Yoshino teaches an air foil bearing assembly 10 comprising a thrust disc 22 coupled to a rotor shaft 6, and a first thrust pad 40 and a second 50 thrust pad fixed to a housing and aligned, respectively, with the first and second sides to the thrust disc. Yoshino further teaches the use of coating to mitigate engagement between the thrust disc and the first and second thrust pads. In contrast, the claimed invention requires a micro lattice structure between the thrust disc and at least one of the first thrust pad and the second thrust pad, wherein the micro lattice structure mitigates movement of the thrust disc along an axis of the rotor shaft. Further, Yoshino contains no teaching, motivation or suggestion that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the air foil bearing to incorporate a micro lattice structure between the thrust disc and at least one of the first thrust pad and the second thrust pad, wherein the micro lattice structure mitigates movement of the thrust disc along an axis of the rotor shaft. Therefore, the claimed combination represents a non-obvious advance over the prior art.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/PHILLIP A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617