Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 1, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 9, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of the ‘798 Patent (US Patent No. 12,282,798 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than the claims in the ‘798 Patent and are thus anticipated by the ‘798 Patent.
Regarding Claim 1, the ‘798 Patent discloses a system, comprising:
a first device associated with an industrial automation system (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, a plurality of devices for performing a plurality of operations in an industrial system);
one or more components coupled to the first device (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, a plurality of devices for performing a plurality of operations in an industrial system); and
processing circuitry coupled to the first device and the one or more components (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, at least one processor configured to perform operations), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a first dataset of the plurality of datasets via the communication channel);
determine whether the first dataset is associated with a first information model of a plurality of information models accessible to the processing circuitry (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, determining whether the first dataset of the plurality of datasets is associated with an information model of a plurality of information models stored in a storage accessible to the at least one processor);
receive a first set of user inputs defining one or more hierarchical levels of a second information model based on the first dataset not being associated with the first information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, generating a visualization configured to receive one or more user inputs for creating a first information model different from the plurality of information models in response to the first dataset not being associated with the information model … receiving a first set of user inputs via the one or more selectable properties of the visualization to create the first information model, wherein the first set of user inputs is configured to define one or more first hierarchical levels of the one or more sources of data with respect to the one or more components associated with the first device, the one or more sets of data values for each of the one or more components);
generate a structured dataset based on the first dataset and the second information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, generating structured dataset based on the first dataset and the first information model);
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a second set of user inputs via the visualization indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset); and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, transferring the at least a portion of the structured dataset, the one or more mappings, and at least a portion of the first information model to the destination component).
Regarding Claim 2, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more hierarchical levels are defined based on one or more sources of the first dataset (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, associate one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more first hierarchical levels).
Regarding Claim 3, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 2, wherein the one or more sources of the first dataset comprise at least one of the one or more components (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, wherein the visualization comprises one or more selectable properties including one or more sources of data associated with the first dataset).
Regarding Claim 4, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the second information model is different from each information model of the plurality of information models (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, generating a visualization configured to receive one or more user inputs for creating a first information model different from the plurality of information models).
Regarding Claim 5, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the structured dataset of the first dataset based on associating one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more hierarchical levels of the second information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, associate one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more first hierarchical levels … generating structured dataset based on the first dataset and the first information model).
Regarding Claim 6, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 5, wherein the first set of user inputs are indicative of associating the one or more portions of the first dataset to the one or more hierarchical levels (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a first set of user inputs via the one or more selectable properties of the visualization to create the first information model, wherein the first set of user inputs is configured to: define one or more first hierarchical levels of the one or more sources of data with respect to the one or more components associated with the first device, the one or more sets of data values for each of the one or more components, or both and associate the one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more first hierarchical levels).
Regarding Claim 7, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset, one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component, and at least a portion of the second information model to the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, transferring the at least a portion of the structured dataset, the one or more mappings, and at least a portion of the first information model to the destination component, wherein the destination component is configured to insert the at least a portion of the structured dataset into the application based on the one or more mappings).
Regarding Claim 8, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset using one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, transferring the at least a portion of the structured dataset, the one or more mappings, and at least a portion of the first information model to the destination component, wherein the destination component is configured to insert the at least a portion of the structured dataset into the application based on the one or more mappings).
Regarding Claim 9, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, determining one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the application … wherein the destination component is configured to insert the at least a portion of the structured dataset into the application based on the one or more mappings).
Regarding Claim 10, the ‘798 Patent discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein the destination component comprises an application configured to input, organize, analyze, or any combination thereof the at least a portion of the structured dataset, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the application (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a second set of user inputs via the visualization indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset, and comprises an application configured to organize or analyze at least the portion of the structured dataset).
Regarding Claim 11, the ‘798 Patent discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by processing circuitry of an industrial automation system, a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a first dataset of the plurality of datasets via the communication channel);
determining, by the processing circuitry, whether the first dataset is associated with a first information model of a plurality of information models accessible to the processing circuitry (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, determining whether the first dataset of the plurality of datasets is associated with an information model of a plurality of information models stored in a storage accessible to the at least one processor);
receiving, by the processing circuitry, a first set of user inputs defining one or more hierarchical levels of a second information model based on the first dataset not being associated with the first information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, generating a visualization configured to receive one or more user inputs for creating a first information model different from the plurality of information models in response to the first dataset not being associated with the information model … receiving a first set of user inputs via the one or more selectable properties of the visualization to create the first information model, wherein the first set of user inputs is configured to define one or more first hierarchical levels of the one or more sources of data with respect to the one or more components associated with the first device, the one or more sets of data values for each of the one or more components);
generating, by the processing circuitry, a structured dataset based on the first dataset and the second information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, generating structured dataset based on the first dataset and the first information model);
receiving, by the processing circuitry, a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a second set of user inputs via the visualization indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset); and
transferring, by the processing circuitry, the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, transferring the at least a portion of the structured dataset, the one or more mappings, and at least a portion of the first information model to the destination component).
Regarding Claim 12, the ‘798 Patent discloses method of Claim 11, comprising generating, by the processing circuitry, the structured dataset of the first dataset based on associating one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more hierarchical levels of the second information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, associate one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more first hierarchical levels … generating structured dataset based on the first dataset and the first information model).
Regarding Claim 13, the ‘798 Patent discloses method of Claim 11, comprising transferring, by the processing circuitry, the at least a portion of the structured dataset, one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component, and at least a portion of the second information model to the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, transferring the at least a portion of the structured dataset, the one or more mappings, and at least a portion of the first information model to the destination component, wherein the destination component is configured to insert the at least a portion of the structured dataset into the application based on the one or more mappings).
Regarding Claim 14, the ‘798 Patent discloses method of Claim 11, wherein the second set of user inputs are indicative of one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, determining one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the application … wherein the destination component is configured to insert the at least a portion of the structured dataset into the application based on the one or more mappings).
Regarding Claim 15, the ‘798 Patent discloses a tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium, comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry of an industrial automation system to:
receive a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a first dataset of the plurality of datasets via the communication channel);
determine whether the first dataset is associated with a first information model of a plurality of information models accessible to the processing circuitry (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, determining whether the first dataset of the plurality of datasets is associated with an information model of a plurality of information models stored in a storage accessible to the at least one processor);
receive a first set of user inputs defining one or more hierarchical levels of a second information model based on the first dataset not being associated with the first information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, generating a visualization configured to receive one or more user inputs for creating a first information model different from the plurality of information models in response to the first dataset not being associated with the information model … receiving a first set of user inputs via the one or more selectable properties of the visualization to create the first information model, wherein the first set of user inputs is configured to define one or more first hierarchical levels of the one or more sources of data with respect to the one or more components associated with the first device, the one or more sets of data values for each of the one or more components);
generate a structured dataset based on the first dataset and the second information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, generating structured dataset based on the first dataset and the first information model);
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, receiving a second set of user inputs via the visualization indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset); and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, transferring the at least a portion of the structured dataset, the one or more mappings, and at least a portion of the first information model to the destination component).
Regarding Claim 16, the ‘798 Patent discloses the tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein each information model of the plurality of information models comprises a respective data structure, and wherein each respective data structure comprises the one or more hierarchical levels for contextualizing one or more datasets based on a relationship between the plurality of components, one or more transaction conditions between at least two of the plurality of components, or any combination thereof (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 18, wherein each data model from the list of data models comprises a respective data structure, and wherein each respective data structure comprises the one or more hierarchical levels for contextualizing one or more datasets based on a relationship between a plurality of components, one or more transaction conditions between at least two of the plurality of components, or any combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 17, the ‘798 Patent discloses the tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more transaction conditions comprise a communication protocol for data communication (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 19, wherein the transaction conditions comprise a communication protocol that the computing device uses to send the first dataset).
Regarding Claim 18, the ‘798 Patent discloses the tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the machine-readable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry of the industrial automation system to generate the structured dataset of the first dataset based on associating one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more hierarchical levels of the second information model (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, associate one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more first hierarchical levels … generating structured dataset based on the first dataset and the first information model).
Regarding Claim 19, the ‘798 Patent discloses the tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the machine-readable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry of the industrial automation system to transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset using one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, transferring the at least a portion of the structured dataset, the one or more mappings, and at least a portion of the first information model to the destination component, wherein the destination component is configured to insert the at least a portion of the structured dataset into the application based on the one or more mappings).
Regarding Claim 20, the ‘798 Patent discloses the tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the machine-readable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry of the industrial automation system to determine the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see the ‘798 Patent, Claim 1, determining one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the application … wherein the destination component is configured to insert the at least a portion of the structured dataset into the application based on the one or more mappings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould (US Patent No. 10,592,260 B1), and further in view of Nixon (PG Pub. No. 2014/0277656 A1) and Grgic (PG Pub. No. 2014/0343918 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Gould discloses a system, comprising:
a first device associated with an industrial automation system (see Gould, column 2, lines 20, 22, where the method is directed to presenting and editing properties of components for web-based applications of industrial processes);
one or more components coupled to the first device (see Gould, column 3, lines 21-23, where Fig. 12 is a block diagram illustrating components of an example machine able to read instructions from a machine-readable medium and execute the instructions on one or more processors); and
processing circuitry coupled to the first device and the one or more components (see Gould, column 3, lines 21-23, where Fig. 12 is a block diagram illustrating components of an example machine able to read instructions from a machine-readable medium and execute the instructions on one or more processors), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine whether the first dataset is associated with a first information model of a plurality of information models accessible to the processing circuitry (see Gould, column 10, lines 9-15 where in one embodiment, the binding store 250 records data bindings in the form of data paths that are associated with source data models; that is a data path from a root directory of a project may lead to a particular component model and may be stored in association with a source data model to indicate that the data values in each should update to match each other);
receive a first set of user inputs defining one or more hierarchical levels of a second information model (see Gould, column 8, line 57 – column 9, line 20, where PLC tags are one type of data that can be stored as data values in a source hierarchy (e.g., a hierarchical nested structure) within the source data store 240; that is, a hierarchy of data values (e.g., PLC tags) may be used to represent a set of values and how they relate to an entity such as various values associated with a piece of machinery; for example, an oven may be represented by an “oven” data value or PLC tag, which may have child data values associated with PLC tags that report temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like; data values in the source data store 240 (i.e., in a source data model) can be arranged in inheritance trees, like objects in an object-oriented programming scheme … this can also be useful in cases of user defined types of source data models, such as when a designer defines an inheritance tree source hierarchy for a new set of sources … see also Fig. 7C, which includes a GUI for binding data to hierarchical properties of components [emphasis added by Examiner]) based on the first dataset not being associated with the first information model (see Gould, column 10, lines 9-15, where in one embodiment, the binding store 250 records data bindings in the form of data paths that are associated with source data models; that is a data path from a root directory of a project may lead to a particular component data model and may be stored in association with a source data model to indicate that the data values in each should update to match each other [it is the position of the Examiner that binding store 250 records dataset associations with information models and can thus determine if a binding exists]); and
generate a structured dataset based on the first dataset and the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy).
Gould does not disclose:
receive a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel;
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset; and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component.
Nixon discloses receive a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel (see Nixon, paragraph [0053], where in the example process control system big data process control network 100, the process control system big data apparatus or appliance 102 is centralized within the network 100 and is configured to receive data (e.g., streaming and/or via some other protocol) from the devices 108 of the network 100 and to store the received data; see also paragraph [0114], where typically, but not necessarily, data that is received via the plurality of appliance data receivers 112a and 112b is stored in a raw format in the big data appliance storage area 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Nixon for the benefit of delivering data from a plurality of process control system devices to a big data machine for analysis (see Nixon, paragraph [0019]).
Gould in view of Nixon does not disclose:
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset; and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component.
Grgic discloses:
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components (see Grgic, paragraph [0020], where framework 10 may include a user interface 23 configured to cooperate with inputs (e.g., a keypad and/or touchscreen display) for accepting operator input that can be detected and managed vi a the interrelated software elements; such input may be utilized for configuration, emulation, and simulation purposes), wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth); and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould and Nixon with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 2, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more hierarchical levels are defined based on one or more sources of the first dataset (see Gould, Claim 1, where the method comprises establishing a data binding between a first source data model and a subtree of a first property tree, the first source data model associated with a first source selected from a plurality of sources and comprising data values from the first source structured in a source hierarchy, the subtree of the first property tree comprising a set of nodes with associated component properties configured in a component hierarchy that matches the structure of the source hierarchy of the first source data model).
Regarding Claim 3, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 2, wherein the one or more sources of the first dataset comprise at least one of the one or more components (see Gould, Claim 5, wherein establishing a binding between a first source data model and a subtree of a first property tree comprises storing information about a bi-directional association in which values in the first source data model and the subtree of the first property tree update in relation to each other).
Regarding Claim 4, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the second information model is different from each information model of the plurality of information models (see Gould, Claim 9, wherein the method further comprises receiving an updated version of the configuration of a subtree of the first property tree organized into a different hierarchical structure [it is the position of the Examiner that an updated configuration that is different than the original suggests one or more different information models).
Regarding Claim 5, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the structured dataset of the first dataset based on associating one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more hierarchical levels of the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy; see also Claim 1, where the method comprises establishing a data binding between a first source data model and a subtree of a first property tree, the first source data model associated with a first source selected from a plurality of sources and comprising data values from the first source structured in a source hierarchy, the subtree of the first property tree comprising a set of nodes with associated component properties configured in a component hierarchy that matches the structure of the source hierarchy of the first source data model).
Regarding Claim 6, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 5, wherein the first set of user inputs are indicative of associating the one or more portions of the first dataset to the one or more hierarchical levels (see Gould, Fig 9, for a flowchart illustrating a process for establishing a data binding for a component property with a design GUI).
Regarding Claim 8, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
Gould does not disclose transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset using one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component. Grgic discloses transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset using one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however, it may include a range of software, hardware and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 9, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein:
Gould does not disclose the destination component comprises an application configured to input, organize, analyze, or any combination thereof the at least a portion of the structured dataset, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the application. Grgic discloses the destination component comprises an application configured to input, organize, analyze, or any combination thereof the at least a portion of the structured dataset, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the application (see Grgic, paragraph [0014], where embodiments facilitate automatic generation of emulation models that reflect an actual automation control system by generating an emulation based on attributes of modules used to construct and operationally coordinate with a physical automation control system; see also Claim 21, where the instructions are configured to provide output to or receive input from a simulation component).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 11, Gould discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by the processing circuitry, whether the first dataset is associated with a first information model of a plurality of information models accessible to the processing circuitry (see Gould, column 10, lines 9-15 where in one embodiment, the binding store 250 records data bindings in the form of data paths that are associated with source data models; that is a data path from a root directory of a project may lead to a particular component model and may be stored in association with a source data model to indicate that the data values in each should update to match each other);
receiving, by the processing circuitry, a first set of user inputs defining one or more hierarchical levels of a second information model (see Gould, column 8, line 57 – column 9, line 20, where PLC tags are one type of data that can be stored as data values in a source hierarchy (e.g., a hierarchical nested structure) within the source data store 240; that is, a hierarchy of data values (e.g., PLC tags) may be used to represent a set of values and how they relate to an entity such as various values associated with a piece of machinery; for example, an oven may be represented by an “oven” data value or PLC tag, which may have child data values associated with PLC tags that report temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like; data values in the source data store 240 (i.e., in a source data model) can be arranged in inheritance trees, like objects in an object-oriented programming scheme … this can also be useful in cases of user defined types of source data models, such as when a designer defines an inheritance tree source hierarchy for a new set of sources … see also Fig. 7C, which includes a GUI for binding data to hierarchical properties of components [emphasis added by Examiner]) based on the first dataset not being associated with the first information model (see Gould, column 10, lines 9-15, where in one embodiment, the binding store 250 records data bindings in the form of data paths that are associated with source data models; that is a data path from a root directory of a project may lead to a particular component data model and may be stored in association with a source data model to indicate that the data values in each should update to match each other [it is the position of the Examiner that binding store 250 records dataset associations with information models and can thus determine if a binding exists]); and
generating, by the processing circuitry, a structured dataset based on the first dataset and the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy).
Gould does not disclose:
receiving, by processing circuitry of an industrial automation system, a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel;
receiving, by the processing circuitry, a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset; and
transferring, by the processing circuitry, the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component.
Nixon discloses receiving, by processing circuitry of an industrial automation system, a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel (see Nixon, paragraph [0053], where in the example process control system big data process control network 100, the process control system big data apparatus or appliance 102 is centralized within the network 100 and is configured to receive data (e.g., streaming and/or via some other protocol) from the devices 108 of the network 100 and to store the received data; see also paragraph [0114], where typically, but not necessarily, data that is received via the plurality of appliance data receivers 112a and 112b is stored in a raw format in the big data appliance storage area 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Nixon for the benefit of delivering data from a plurality of process control system devices to a big data machine for analysis (see Nixon, paragraph [0019]).
Gould in view of Nixon does not disclose:
receiving, by the processing circuitry, a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset; and
transferring, by the processing circuitry, the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component.
Grgic discloses:
receiving, by the processing circuitry, a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components (see Grgic, paragraph [0020], where framework 10 may include a user interface 23 configured to cooperate with inputs (e.g., a keypad and/or touchscreen display) for accepting operator input that can be detected and managed vi a the interrelated software elements; such input may be utilized for configuration, emulation, and simulation purposes), wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth); and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould and Nixon with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 12, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the method of Claim 11, comprising generating, by the processing circuitry, the structured dataset of the first dataset based on associating one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more hierarchical levels of the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy; see also Claim 1, where the method comprises establishing a data binding between a first source data model and a subtree of a first property tree, the first source data model associated with a first source selected from a plurality of sources and comprising data values from the first source structured in a source hierarchy, the subtree of the first property tree comprising a set of nodes with associated component properties configured in a component hierarchy that matches the structure of the source hierarchy of the first source data model).
Regarding Claim 14, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the method of Claim 11, wherein:
Gould does not disclose the second set of user inputs are indicative of one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component. Grgic discloses the the second set of user inputs are indicative of one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0035], where the programming environment 26 of FIG. 3 may be accessed via the GUI 52 to add a device element 102 that corresponds to the automation device 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 15, Gould discloses a tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium, comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry of an industrial automation system to:
determine whether the first dataset is associated with a first information model of a plurality of information models accessible to the processing circuitry (see Gould, column 10, lines 9-15 where in one embodiment, the binding store 250 records data bindings in the form of data paths that are associated with source data models; that is a data path from a root directory of a project may lead to a particular component model and may be stored in association with a source data model to indicate that the data values in each should update to match each other);
receive a first set of user inputs defining one or more hierarchical levels of a second information model (see Gould, column 8, line 57 – column 9, line 20, where PLC tags are one type of data that can be stored as data values in a source hierarchy (e.g., a hierarchical nested structure) within the source data store 240; that is, a hierarchy of data values (e.g., PLC tags) may be used to represent a set of values and how they relate to an entity such as various values associated with a piece of machinery; for example, an oven may be represented by an “oven” data value or PLC tag, which may have child data values associated with PLC tags that report temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like; data values in the source data store 240 (i.e., in a source data model) can be arranged in inheritance trees, like objects in an object-oriented programming scheme … this can also be useful in cases of user defined types of source data models, such as when a designer defines an inheritance tree source hierarchy for a new set of sources … see also Fig. 7C, which includes a GUI for binding data to hierarchical properties of components [emphasis added by Examiner]) based on the first dataset not being associated with the first information model (see Gould, column 10, lines 9-15, where in one embodiment, the binding store 250 records data bindings in the form of data paths that are associated with source data models; that is a data path from a root directory of a project may lead to a particular component data model and may be stored in association with a source data model to indicate that the data values in each should update to match each other [it is the position of the Examiner that binding store 250 records dataset associations with information models and can thus determine if a binding exists]); and
generate a structured dataset based on the first dataset and the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy).
Gould does not disclose:
receive a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel;
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset; and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component.
Nixon discloses receive a first dataset of the first device via a communication channel (see Nixon, paragraph [0053], where in the example process control system big data process control network 100, the process control system big data apparatus or appliance 102 is centralized within the network 100 and is configured to receive data (e.g., streaming and/or via some other protocol) from the devices 108 of the network 100 and to store the received data; see also paragraph [0114], where typically, but not necessarily, data that is received via the plurality of appliance data receivers 112a and 112b is stored in a raw format in the big data appliance storage area 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Nixon for the benefit of delivering data from a plurality of process control system devices to a big data machine for analysis (see Nixon, paragraph [0019]).
Gould in view of Nixon does not disclose:
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components, wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset; and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component.
Grgic discloses:
receive a second set of user inputs indicative of a destination component of the one or more components (see Grgic, paragraph [0020], where framework 10 may include a user interface 23 configured to cooperate with inputs (e.g., a keypad and/or touchscreen display) for accepting operator input that can be detected and managed vi a the interrelated software elements; such input may be utilized for configuration, emulation, and simulation purposes), wherein the destination component is configured to receive at least a portion of the structured dataset (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth); and
transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset to the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould and Nixon with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 16, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of Claim 15, wherein each information model of the plurality of information models comprises a respective data structure, and wherein each respective data structure comprises the one or more hierarchical levels for contextualizing one or more datasets based on a relationship between the plurality of components (see Gould, column 8, line 57 – column 9, line 20, where PLC tags are one type of data that can be stored as data values in a source hierarchy (e.g., a hierarchical nested structure) within the source data store 240; that is, a hierarchy of data values (e.g., PLC tags) may be used to represent a set of values and how they relate to an entity such as various values associated with a piece of machinery; for example, an oven may be represented by an “oven” data value or PLC tag, which may have child data values associated with PLC tags that report temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like; data values in the source data store 240 (i.e., in a source data model) can be arranged in inheritance trees, like objects in an object-oriented programming scheme … see also Fig. 7C, which includes a GUI for binding data to hierarchical properties of components), one or more transaction conditions between at least two of the plurality of components, or any combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 17, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of Claim 16, wherein the one or more transaction conditions comprise a communication protocol for data communication (see Gould, column 16, lines 13-17, where data values for the source data model 410 may originate from a variety of data production systems 140; as described with respect to the gateway system 130, examples of data production systems 140 may include OPC servers, web servers providing RESTFUL APIs [it is the position of the Examiner that a RESTFUL API is a communication protocol]).
Regarding Claim 18, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of Claim 16, wherein the machine-readable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry of the industrial automation system to generate the structured dataset of the first dataset based on associating one or more portions of the first dataset with the one or more hierarchical levels of the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy; see also Claim 1, where the method comprises establishing a data binding between a first source data model and a subtree of a first property tree, the first source data model associated with a first source selected from a plurality of sources and comprising data values from the first source structured in a source hierarchy, the subtree of the first property tree comprising a set of nodes with associated component properties configured in a component hierarchy that matches the structure of the source hierarchy of the first source data model).
Regarding Claim 19, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of Claim 16, wherein the machine-readable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry of the industrial automation system to:
Gould does not disclose transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset using one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component. Grgic discloses transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset using one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however, it may include a range of software, hardware and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 20, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium of Claim 19, wherein the machine-readable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry of the industrial automation system to determine:
Gould does not disclose determine the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component. Grgic discloses determine the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0014], where embodiments facilitate automatic generation of emulation models that reflect an actual automation control system by generating an emulation based on attributes of modules used to construct and operationally coordinate with a physical automation control system; see also Claim 21, where the instructions are configured to provide output to or receive input from a simulation component).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Gould, Nixon, and Grgic as applied to Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 above, and further in view of Lo (PG Pub. No. 2005/0132064 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
Gould does not disclose transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset, one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component, and at least a portion of the second information model to the destination component. Gould in view of Grgic discloses transfer the at least a portion of the structured dataset and at least a portion of the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy) to the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Gould in view of Grgic does not disclose transfer one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component to the destination component. Lo discloses transfer one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component to the destination component (see Lo, paragraph [0004], where Programming a PLC or other controller is a matter of constructing a set of instructions. Programming usually also involves generating configuration data. Configuring a programmable controller involves mapping the controller's input/output)(“I/O”) area to the physical I/O. Configuration editors are generally graphical).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould and Grgic with Lo for the benefit of providing version management for programable controllers (see Lo, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Gould in view of Nixon and Grgic discloses the method of Claim 11, comprising:
Gould does not disclose transferring, by the processing circuitry, the at least a portion of the structured dataset, one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component, and at least a portion of the second information model to the destination component. Gould in view of Grgic discloses transferring, by the processing circuitry, the at least a portion of the structured dataset and at least a portion of the second information model (see Gould, column 20, lines 54-62, where source data browser 640 displays one or more source data models; in the illustration of Fig. 6A, the source data browser 640 is placed in a bottom left portion of the design GUI 600; the source data browser 640 may also be referred to as a source data browser portion of the GUI 600; the source data may be retrieved from the source data store 240 wherein the source data models are stored; each source data model comprises data values structured into a source hierarchy) to the destination component (see Grgic, paragraph [0022], where communications subsystem 20 may be thought of as including the connections of the device elements 22; however it may include a range of software, hardware, and firmware that send data to and receive data from external circuits, such as automation controllers, input/output devices, computers, networks, sensors, actuators, and so forth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould with Grgic for the benefit of transferring information between devices (see Grgic, paragraph [0022]).
Gould in view of Grgic does not disclose transferring, by the processing circuitry, the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component to the destination component. Lo discloses transferring, by the processing circuitry, the one or more mappings between the structured dataset and the destination component to the destination component (see Lo, paragraph [0004], where Programming a PLC or other controller is a matter of constructing a set of instructions. Programming usually also involves generating configuration data. Configuring a programmable controller involves mapping the controller's input/output)(“I/O”) area to the physical I/O. Configuration editors are generally graphical).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Gould and Grgic with Lo for the benefit of providing version management for programable controllers (see Lo, Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Hood (PG Pub. No. 2006/0259154 A1), which concerns a hierarchically structured data model for use in industrial automation environments.
Brassard (US Patent No. 6,769,095 B1), which concerns an hierarchically structured control information editor.
Chouinard (PG Pub. No. 2015/0268937 A1), which concerns an application builder for industrial automation.
Soto (PG Pub. No. 2015/0365480 A1), which concerns system and methods for communicating with electronic devices.
Agrusa (PG Pub. No. 2009/0210814 A1), which concerns visualization of process control data.
/FARHAD AGHARAHIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161