DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 states “comprising adjustable retainer strap receivers…to pass through retainer strap receivers” and it is not clear if this should recite the straps themselves as referred in claim 10.
Claim 16 positively recites the “movable surface” and it is not clear if this surface is claimed as part of the cooler mounting apparatus or should only be written in intended use language.
Claim 18 positively recites the “the cooler” and it is not clear if this surface is claimed as part of the cooler mounting apparatus or should only be written in intended use language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Brinkman (US 11,155,215).
Regarding claim 1, Brinkman (hereafter “D1”) discloses a cooler mounting apparatus (figure 1) comprising: a cooler receiver plate (at basket 64) having a bracket frame (figure 2) configured for removably coupling with a cooler (abstract); a plurality of attachment receivers (coupling 50) disposed on the bracket frame, wherein the attachment receivers comprise at least one magnetically interactive component (col. 3, lines 32-33 – disclosing use of magnet for 50); and an attachment apparatus (bag bar 106, strap 128) configured to be fixably attached to a movable surface (golf cart), wherein the attachment apparatus comprises complementary interactive components (bar 106, strap 128 shaped to receive the cooler receiver plate 64) adapted for removable engagement with the cooler receiver plate (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses further comprising retainer strap receivers (strap received at 26 at buckle 38 – col. 3, lines 39-45) disposed on the bracket frame and configured to receive retainer straps (bag strap) for securing the cooler to the cooler receiver plate (strap is capable of securing a cooler).
Regarding claims 8-9, D1 discloses wherein the retainer strap receivers (buckle 38 members) are integrally formed with the bracket frame (figure 1) and received strap (col. 3, lines 49-52).
Regarding claim 10, D1 discloses wherein the retainer strap (strap – not indexed) include an adjustable fastening mechanism (at buckle 38 components).
Regarding claim 15, D1 discloses wherein the attachment apparatus further comprises multiple attachment points (at magnets 50).
Regarding claim 16, D1 discloses wherein the attachment apparatus (106) is formed integrally with the movable surface (golf cart).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 11-14, 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631