DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026’ have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions on page 8 of the Remarks with regards to p[0030] of Gavriliuc. Gavriliuc teaches multiple ways of transitioning between free space and surface input, where p[0030] states it can at least partially be based on movement data. P[0040] states a pressure tracking component for processing input based on pressure, where this can be done solely or combined with movement or trigger data. Thus, just like the instant application, pressure and movement may be used as inputs in both the surface and free space modes. The Examiner contends that the new amendments are a mere rewording of the previous claim disclosure and did not change the scope of the claim, thus the previous rejections are still applicable. Namely the claim is still stating that a tip pressure is used / transmitted when a tip pressure greater than zero is detected (tip is contacting a surface) or a second barrel pressure is used when no tip pressure is received (stylus is in free space). Gavriliuc et al teaches in p[0024] “Pressure sensitive controls can be based on a pressure sensitive tip on the mixed-input pointing device or a pressure button on the mixed-input pointing device. Advantageously, the pressure button is used in free space, while the pressure tip can be used on a surface.” Gavriliuc teaches that these two pressure readings are not used in concert and that they are used in two separate “modes.” Gavriliuc states that either the tip pressure is used during use of the stylus on a surface (Fig. 4) or the pressure button is used during free space use of the stylus (Fig. 3). When the tip pressure exceeds a predetermined value (greater than zero), then it is determined that the tip is in contact with a surface and surface pressure data is communicated. It is inherent in a free space example such as in Fig. 3 that there is no tip pressure, as the tip is not in contact with any surface, and thus the pressure button’s free space pressure data is communicated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleck (2016/0306444) in view of Gavriliuc et al (2017/0371432) (herein “Gavriliuc”) and further in view of Rehm (2007/0285405). In regards to claim 1, Fleck teaches a position indicating device See; Fig. 1 and p[0054] for stylus barrel); a first sensor which, in operation, detects a first pressure applied to a first member arranged to protrude from a tip of the housing (See; p[0054] for stylus tip pressure sensor 122a configured to sense pressure applied to the stylus tip); a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member See; p[0054] for barrel pressure sensor configure to sense pressure applied to the stylus barrel. Further see Fig. 4b and p[0067] for detecting different levels of barrel pressure), See; p[0054] for transmission circuitry 119 which transmits data indicative of the stylus tip pressure data and stylus barrel pressure data). Fleck fails to explicitly teach a position indicating device for controlling a 3D object in a virtual reality space; a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member arranged at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member; wherein the second pressure is used to control the 3D object in the virtual reality space; and a control circuit which, in operation, performs a virtual reality space input process, the virtual reality space input process including: acquiring the first pressure from the first sensor; determining whether the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value indicating that the first member is in contact with a surface; in case the first pressure exceeds the predetermined value, controlling the first communication circuit to transmit the information regarding the first pressure; and in case the first pressure does not exceed the predetermined value, acquiring the second pressure from the second sensor and controlling the first communication circuit to transmit the information regarding the second pressure. However, Gavriliuc teaches a position indicating device for controlling a 3D object in a virtual reality space; comprising: a housing; a first sensor which, in operation, detects a first pressure applied to a first member arranged to protrude from a tip of the housing a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member (See; Abstract and p[0023]-p[0024], p[0040] where the pointing device can be used with a pressure sensitive tip on a surface or with a pressure button used in free space. See Fig. 4 where the device is used in a surface mode and Fig. 5 where the device is used in an air mode) arranged at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member (See; Figs. 4 and 5 which implicitly shows the user holding the pen near the pen-tip which is arranged between a midpoint and the tip pressure sensor, where the buttons should inherently be placed so the user does not have to change grips on the pen to enact commands); wherein the second pressure is used to control the 3D object in the virtual reality space (See; p[0024] for controlling the line width of a pen like stroke using a pressure button in free space. See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306); and a control circuit which, in operation, performs a virtual reality space input process, the virtual reality space input process including: acquiring the first pressure from the first sensor; determining whether the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value indicating that the first member is in contact with a surface; in case the first pressure exceeds the predetermined value, controlling the first communication circuit to transmit the information regarding the first pressure; and in case the first pressure does not exceed the predetermined value, acquiring the second pressure from the second sensor and controlling the first communication circuit to transmit the information regarding the second pressure (See; Figs. 3, 4 and p[0024] where the pressure button is used in free space, while the pressure tip can be used on a surface. Thus an inherent tip pressure exceeding a predetermined value (greater than zero) is needed to communicate the surface pressure data. Where it is further inherent in the free space example such as in Fig. 3 that there is no tip pressure, as the tip is not in contact with any surface (not exceeding zero), and thus the pressure button’s free space pressure data is communicated). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Fleck’s pen to work in two separate modes to increase the usability of the pen, increasing user satisfaction in the device by only using one integrated pen instead of two separate pens. Gavriliuc fails to explicitly teach a second sensor which is located close to the pen-tip. However Rehm explicitly teaches a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member arranged at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member (See; Figs 1A, 1B and p[0030] for a pressure sensitive ring 18 located at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to place Fleck’s barrel pressure sensor where the user would naturally grip the stylus with their fingers as shown in Rehm so as to allow the user to update brush dynamics without having to change their grip while drawing, thus increasing user satisfaction in the device.
In regards to claim 2, Fleck fails to explicitly teach a second communication circuit which is different from and operates independently of the first communication circuit and which, in operation, transmits the information regarding the first pressure detected by the first sensor. However, since the first and second communication circuit are both transmitting the first pressure detected by the first sensor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Fleck’s transmission circuitry to be two transmission circuits as a mere duplication of parts, there being no discernable advantage to having two circuits performing the same operation as opposed to one. See; In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
In regards to claim 3, Fleck teaches wherein the first pressure is applied to the first member by a surface when the first member contacts the surface (See; p[0054] for stylus tip pressure sensor 122a configured to sense pressure applied to the stylus tip), wherein the surface is located above a third sensor surface of an external device (See; Fig. 1 for electronic device 3 with sensor 201) configured to receive the information regarding the first pressure transmitted from the second communication circuit (See; p[0054] where tip pressure and barrel pressure are transmitted to the sensor controller 200 of the electronic device 3).
In regards to claim 4, Fleck teaches wherein the second pressure is applied to the second member by a user grasping the housing (See; p[0054] for barrel pressure sensor configured to sense pressure applied to the stylus barrel. Barrel pressure can reasonably be construed to be a user grasping or gripping the housing. Further see Fig. 4b and p[0067] for detecting different levels of barrel pressure).
In regards to claim 5, Fleck teaches wherein the first pressure is applied to the first member by a surface when the first member contacts the surface (See; p[0054] for stylus tip pressure sensor 122a configured to sense pressure applied to the stylus tip as it contacts a surface).
In regards to claim 6, Fleck teaches wherein the housing is a pen-shaped housing (See; Abstract, p[0006] and Fig. 1 for a stylus / pen-shaped housing).
In regards to claim 7, Gavriliuc teaches wherein the information regarding the first pressure transmitted from the first communication circuit is used to control the 3D object in the virtual reality space (See; p[0024] for controlling the line width of a pen like stroke using a pressure button in free space. See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306).
In regards to claim 8, Fleck teaches a computer (See; Fig. 1 for electronic device 3 with sensor 201) communicable with a position indicating device (See; p[0054] where tip pressure and barrel pressure are transmitted to the sensor controller 200 of the electronic device 3 from the stylus), the position indicating device See; Fig. 1 and p[0054] for stylus barrel); a first sensor configured to detect a first pressure applied to a first member arranged to protrude from a tip of the housing (See; p[0054] for stylus tip pressure sensor 122a configured to sense pressure applied to the stylus tip); and a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member See; p[0054] for barrel pressure sensor configure to sense pressure applied to the stylus barrel. Further see Fig. 4b and p[0067] for detecting different levels of barrel pressure), and a control circuit, See; p[0054] where tip pressure and barrel pressure are transmitted to the sensor controller 200 of the electronic device 3 from the stylus); controller which, in operation, controls a line width of the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on either the information regarding the first pressure or the information regarding the second pressure; wherein the communication circuit receives the information regarding the first pressure when the control circuit of the position indicating device acquires the first pressure from the first sensor and determines the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value indicating that the first member is in contact with a surface, and receives the information regarding the second pressure when the control circuit of the position indicating device determines the first pressure does not exceed the predetermined value and acquires the second pressure from the second sensor. However, Gavriliuc teaches a position indicating device for controlling a 3D object in a virtual reality space; comprising: a housing; a first sensor which, in operation, detects a first pressure applied to a first member arranged to protrude from a tip of the housing a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member (See; Abstract and p[0023]-p[0024], p[0040] where the pointing device can be used with a pressure sensitive tip on a surface or with a pressure button used in free space. See Fig. 4 where the device is used in a surface mode and Fig. 5 where the device is used in an air mode where the user is holding the stylus in a natural writing position) arranged at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member (See; Figs. 4 and 5 which implicitly shows the user holding the pen near the pen-tip which is arranged between a midpoint and the tip pressure sensor, where the buttons should inherently be placed so the user does not have to change grips on the pen to enact commands); wherein the second pressure is used to control the 3D object in the virtual reality space (See; p[0024] for controlling the line width of a pen like stroke using a pressure button in free space. See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306) and a controller which, in operation, controls a line width of the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on either the information regarding the first pressure or the information regarding the second pressure (See; p[0024] for controlling the line width of a pen like stroke using a pressure button in free space. See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306); wherein the communication circuit receives the information regarding the first pressure when the control circuit of the position indicating device acquires the first pressure from the first sensor and determines the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value indicating that the first member is in contact with a surface, and receives the information regarding the second pressure when the control circuit of the position indicating device determines the first pressure does not exceed the predetermined value and acquires the second pressure from the second sensor (See; Figs. 3, 4 and p[0024] where the pressure button is used in free space, while the pressure tip can be used on a surface. Thus an inherent tip pressure exceeding a predetermined value (greater than zero) is needed to communicate the surface pressure data. Where it is further inherent in the free space example such as in Fig. 3 that there is no tip pressure, as the tip is not in contact with any surface (not exceeding zero), and thus the pressure button’s free space pressure data is communicated). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Fleck’s pen to work in two separate modes to increase the usability of the pen, increasing user satisfaction in the device by only using one integrated pen instead of two separate pens. Gavriliuc fails to explicitly teach a second sensor which is located close to the pen-tip. However Rehm explicitly teaches a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member arranged at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member (See; Figs 1A, 1B and p[0030] for a pressure sensitive ring 18 located at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to place Fleck’s barrel pressure sensor where the user would naturally grip the stylus with their fingers as shown in Rehm so as to allow the user to update brush dynamics without having to change their grip while drawing, thus increasing user satisfaction in the device.
In regards to claim 9, Gavriliuc teaches wherein the controller, in operation, generates the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on a position of the position indicating device in an air space and based on either the information regarding the first pressure or the information regarding the second pressure (See; p[0024] for controlling the line width of a pen like stroke using a pressure button in free space. See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306).
In regards to claim 10, Gavriliuc teaches in case the first member of the position indicating device is in contact with a surface, controls the line width of the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on the information regarding the first pressure, and in case the first member of the position indicating device is not in contact with a surface, controls the line width of the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on the information regarding the second pressure (See; p[0024] “Pressure sensitive controls can be based on a pressure sensitive tip on the mixed-input pointing device or a pressure button on the mixed-input pointing device. Advantageously, the pressure button is used in free space, while the pressure tip can be used on a surface. In one example of using the pressure data, a user can operate the mixed-input pointing device such that the width of a pen-like stroke using the mixed-input pointing device is based on pressure data.” See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306).
In regards to claim 11, Fleck teaches a control method executed by a computer communicable with a position indicating device (See; Fig. 1 for electronic device 3 with sensor 201 communicating with a stylus), the position indicating device See; Fig. 1 and p[0054] for stylus barrel); a first sensor configured to detect a first pressure applied to a first member arranged to protrude from a tip of the housing (See; p[0054] for stylus tip pressure sensor 122a configured to sense pressure applied to the stylus tip); and a second sensor configured to detect a second pressure applied to a second member See; p[0054] for barrel pressure sensor configure to sense pressure applied to the stylus barrel. Further see Fig. 4b and p[0067] for detecting different levels of barrel pressure), and a control circuit, See; p[0054] where tip pressure and barrel pressure are transmitted to the sensor controller 200 of the electronic device 3 from the stylus); first sensor and determines the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value indicating that the first member is in contact with a surface, and the information regarding the second pressure is received when the control circuit of the position indicating device determines the first pressure does not exceed the predetermined value and acquires the second pressure from the second sensor. However, Gavriliuc teaches a position indicating device for controlling a 3D object in a virtual reality space; comprising: a housing; a first sensor which, in operation, detects a first pressure applied to a first member arranged to protrude from a tip of the housing a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member (See; Abstract and p[0023]-p[0024], p[0040] where the pointing device can be used with a pressure sensitive tip on a surface or with a pressure button used in free space. See Fig. 4 where the device is used in a surface mode and Fig. 5 where the device is used in an air mode where the user is holding the stylus in a natural writing position) arranged at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member (See; Figs. 4 and 5 which implicitly shows the user holding the pen near the pen-tip which is arranged between a midpoint and the tip pressure sensor, where the buttons should inherently be placed so the user does not have to change grips on the pen to enact commands); wherein the second pressure is used to control the 3D object in the virtual reality space (See; p[0024] for controlling the line width of a pen like stroke using a pressure button in free space. See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306) and controlling a line width of the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on either the information regarding the first pressure or the information regarding the second pressure (See; p[0024] for controlling the line width of a pen like stroke using a pressure button in free space. See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306); wherein the information regarding the first pressure is received when the control circuit of the position indicating device acquires the first pressure from the first sensor and determines the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value indicating that the first member is in contact with a surface, and the information regarding the second pressure is received when the control circuit of the position indicating device determines the first pressure does not exceed the predetermined value and acquires the second pressure from the second sensor (See; Figs. 3, 4 and p[0024] where the pressure button is used in free space, while the pressure tip can be used on a surface. Thus an inherent tip pressure exceeding a predetermined value (greater than zero) is needed to communicate the surface pressure data. Where it is further inherent in the free space example such as in Fig. 3 that there is no tip pressure, as the tip is not in contact with any surface (not exceeding zero), and thus the pressure button’s free space pressure data is communicated). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Fleck’s pen to work in two separate modes to increase the usability of the pen, increasing user satisfaction in the device by only using one integrated pen instead of two separate pens. Gavriliuc fails to explicitly teach a second sensor which is located close to the pen-tip. However Rehm explicitly teaches a second sensor which, in operation, detects a second pressure applied to a second member arranged at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member (See; Figs 1A, 1B and p[0030] for a pressure sensitive ring 18 located at a position between a midpoint along an axis of the housing and the first member). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to place Fleck’s barrel pressure sensor where the user would naturally grip the stylus with their fingers as shown in Rehm so as to allow the user to update brush dynamics without having to change their grip while drawing, thus increasing user satisfaction in the device.
In regards to claim 12, Gavriliuc teaches comprising: generating the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on a position of the position indicating device in an air space and based on either the information regarding the first pressure or the information regarding the second pressure (See; p[0024] “Pressure sensitive controls can be based on a pressure sensitive tip on the mixed-input pointing device or a pressure button on the mixed-input pointing device. Advantageously, the pressure button is used in free space, while the pressure tip can be used on a surface. In one example of using the pressure data, a user can operate the mixed-input pointing device such that the width of a pen-like stroke using the mixed-input pointing device is based on pressure data.” See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306).
In regards to claim 13, Gavriliuc teaches comprising: when the first member of the position indicating device is in contact with a surface, controlling the line width of the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on the information regarding the first pressure; and when the first member of the position indicating device is not in contact with a surface, controlling the line width of the 3D object in the virtual reality space based on the information regarding the second pressure (See; p[0024] “Pressure sensitive controls can be based on a pressure sensitive tip on the mixed-input pointing device or a pressure button on the mixed-input pointing device. Advantageously, the pressure button is used in free space, while the pressure tip can be used on a surface. In one example of using the pressure data, a user can operate the mixed-input pointing device such that the width of a pen-like stroke using the mixed-input pointing device is based on pressure data.” See; Figs. 3-5 and p[0021], p[0027] where the user can design 3D objects in a 3D modeling studio application based on controls from free space. See; p[0044] where free space input may control the free space object 306).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627