DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are the currently pending claims hereby under examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0056] of the specification: “Eppendof” appears to contain a typographical error and should be revised to “Eppendorf”; and
In paragraph [0056] of the specification: “removable form the bases” appears to contain a typographical error and should be revised to “removable from the bases”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 15 recite that “the second impaction stage [is] offset from the first impaction stage along a second axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal first axis” in lines 5-7 and 2-3 respectively. The Examiner interprets the “second axis” as an axis defining a direction in which the second impaction stage is spatially offset from the first impaction stage. The second axis need not be the longitudinal axis of the second impaction stage, but the claim does not require the two axes to be distinct in every arrangement. This interpretation is consistent with the Instant Application at ¶[0040]-[0041], which describes second axis 122 as extending transverse to first axis 110 and separately describes the longitudinal axis of the second impaction stage 126 as parallel or substantially parallel to first axis 110. Paragraph [0040] further permits the second impaction stage to be additionally offset along first axis 110, confirming that the recited offset along the second axis need not account for the entire displacement between the stage centers. Claims 5 and 18 further recite a “second conduit portion that extends along the second axis and interconnects the first impaction stage and the second impaction stage”. The Examiner interprets this language as not requiring every segment of the second conduit portion to remain collinear with the second axis. This is consistent with the Instant Application at ¶[0040]-[0041], which describes second conduit portion 120 as extending from first conduit portion 108 along second axis 122 and further describes second conduit portion 120 as comprising downstream bend 124 before second impaction stage 126. Thus, the second conduit portion can extend along the second axis while also including a downstream bend or transition that completes the connection to the second impaction stage.
Claims 9, 10, 20, and 21 recite an “impaction member” lines 2, 1, 2, and 1-2 respectively. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “impaction member” in the context of the Instant Application as an identifiable additional impaction structure positioned in the aerosol flow path in addition to the ordinary sample collection container or collection surface. The structure need not be physically separate from surrounding stage components. The Instant Application at ¶[0042] separately identifies nozzle 128, funnel 130, sample collection container 132, and impaction member 134 and describes the impaction member as a cylinder, ball or sphere, or other structure providing additional surface area for aerosolized liquid droplets to impact, land, collect, or condense. The Instant Application at ¶[0059]-[0060] further describes impaction member 434 positioned downstream of the nozzle and at or within the funnel, coupled to the conduit or funnel and optionally integrally formed with the funnel, and alternatively formed as pins or a mesh disposed in the flow path. For purposes of the present rejection, the Examiner does not rely on the ordinary stage collection plate, sample collection container, or funnel surface alone as the claimed impaction member.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, line 2: “the sample collection container” without explicit antecedent basis, although the Examiner understands the term to refer to the removable sample collection container of the first impaction stage, and Applicant is requested to provide proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,343,767), hereinafter Marple'767.
Regarding claim 1, Marple'767 teaches an impactor sample collection apparatus (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 1, l. 45-col. 2, l. 33: the reference describes a low-particle-loss cascade impactor having a plurality of serial cavities and particle collection cups, wherein cascade impactor assembly 10 is an impactor sample collection apparatus).
Marple'767 further teaches an inlet (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 2, ll. 1-33; col. 3, ll. 31-42: the body has an entrance passage extending from an inlet opening at the outer surface to first cavity 16A through opening 24A and nozzle tube 26A, wherein opening 24A provides the apparatus inlet).
Marple'767 further teaches a first impaction stage downstream of the inlet, the first impaction stage configured to receive a removable sample collection container, the first impaction stage defining a longitudinal first axis (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 3, ll. 8-61; col. 6, ll. 12-35: first cavity 16A, nozzle tube 26A, and cup 30A are concentric with central axis 21A; cup 30A is received in counterbore 28A and the cups are positioned on exterior accessible surfaces so that each cup can be removed and reinserted, wherein cavity 16A/nozzle 26A/cup 30A form the first impaction stage, cup 30A is a removable sample collection container, and axis 21A is the longitudinal first axis).
Marple'767 further teaches a second impaction stage downstream of the first impaction stage, the second impaction stage being offset from the first impaction stage along a second axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal first axis (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 3, ll. 19-65; col. 4, ll. 1-18: first-stage axis 21A is perpendicular to first-stage surface 15A, inner surface 22A is parallel to surface 15A, and bore 24B opens from first cavity 16A and extends into second cavity 16B while centered on axis 21B; Marple'767 further states that axis 21B is parallel to surface 22A. Thus, axis 21B is perpendicular to longitudinal first axis 21A and, because bore 24B runs from first cavity 16A toward second cavity 16B along axis 21B, axis 21B defines a direction in which the second impaction stage is offset from the first impaction stage. Any additional displacement component along first-stage axis 21A does not negate the disclosed offset along perpendicular axis 21B).
Marple'767 further teaches an outlet downstream of the second impaction stage (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 11-24: bore 24F forms the airflow outlet from the impactor, filter 40 covers the outlet end, plenum 44 has outlet opening 46, and outlet opening 46 leads to air pump 48, wherein bore 24F and outlet opening 46 are downstream of the serial impaction stages).
Regarding claim 14, Marple'767 teaches an impactor sample collection apparatus (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 1, l. 45-col. 2, l. 33, wherein cascade impactor assembly 10 is an impactor sample collection apparatus).
Marple'767 further teaches an inlet (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 2, ll. 1-33; col. 3, ll. 31-42, wherein opening 24A and entrance passage/nozzle tube 26A provide the apparatus inlet).
Marple'767 further teaches a first impaction stage downstream of the inlet, the first impaction stage configured to receive a removable sample collection container; a second impaction stage downstream of the first impaction stage, the second impaction stage configured to receive a removable sample collection container (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 3, ll. 8-61; col. 3, l. 57-col. 4, l. 18; col. 6, ll. 12-35: first cavity 16A receives particle collection cup 30A and downstream second cavity 16B receives particle collection cup 30B, and the cups are exteriorly accessible so that each can be removed and reinserted, wherein cups 30A and 30B are removable sample collection containers received by the respective serial impaction stages).
Marple'767 further teaches an outlet downstream of the second impaction stage (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 11-24: bore 24F forms the airflow outlet from the impactor, filter 40 covers the outlet end, plenum 44 has outlet opening 46, and outlet opening 46 leads to air pump 48, wherein the outlet is downstream of the serial first and second impaction stages).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Turgul et al. (US 2020/0278275 A1), hereinafter Turgul.
Regarding claim 14, Turgul teaches an impactor sample collection apparatus (Turgul, Fig. 11; ¶[0078]: impactor apparatus 200 has an aerosol flow path 224 through a series of impactor housing portions and impactor components 228a, 228b, and 228c, wherein apparatus 200 is an impactor sample collection apparatus).
Turgul further teaches an inlet (Turgul, Fig. 11; ¶[0060], [0078]: the aerosol sample enters through aerosol inlet 110 and follows aerosol flow path 224 through apparatus 200).
Turgul further teaches a first impaction stage downstream of the inlet, the first impaction stage configured to receive a removable sample collection container; a second impaction stage downstream of the first impaction stage, the second impaction stage configured to receive a removable sample collection container (Turgul, Fig. 11; ¶[0061], [0065], [0076], [0078]: in the corresponding single-stage embodiment, impactor component 128 is received in the impactor apparatus, is expressly “in the form of a container,” and is removed from the apparatus after collection; Fig. 11 and ¶[0078] disclose a further embodiment that is similar to the Figs. 1-9 apparatus but includes three successive impactor components 228a, 228b, and 228c, and expressly state that its assembly and operation are substantially similar to the earlier embodiment. Thus, the first and second successive impaction stages of apparatus 200 are configured to receive removable container-form sample collection components).
Turgul further teaches an outlet downstream of the second impaction stage (Turgul, Fig. 11; ¶[0060], [0078]: aerosol flow path 224 proceeds through the successive impactor components and continues into outlet housing portion 108 and the aerosol outlet of the substantially similar apparatus, wherein the outlet is downstream of the second impaction stage).
Regarding claim 16, Turgul further teaches wherein the first impaction stage comprises a nozzle configured to accelerate a flow of gas through the first impaction stage (Turgul, Fig. 11; ¶[0061], [0078]: the impactor housing defines flow constrictions 126 that “generate a high-velocity aerosol flow in the form of jets” upstream of the impactor component, and the multistage apparatus 200 is expressly described as having substantially similar assembly and operation, wherein the corresponding first-stage flow constrictions function as nozzle structure configured to accelerate gas through the first impaction stage).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822), hereinafter Marple'822, and further in view of Turgul et al. (US 2020/0278275 A1), hereinafter Turgul.
Regarding claim 1, Marple'822 teaches an impactor sample collection apparatus (Marple'822, Fig. 1; col. 4, ll. 25-47: "Apparatus 10 is a cascade inertia impactor" and is intended for the "collection, classification and analysis of aerosols", wherein apparatus 10 is an impactor sample collection apparatus).
Marple'822 teaches an inlet (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 20-39: "an inlet passage 42 for the gas and aerosol particles", wherein inlet passage 42 provides the inlet to apparatus 10).
Marple'822 teaches a first impaction stage downstream of the inlet, the first impaction stage defining a longitudinal first axis (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 20-39: inlet passage 42 extends downwardly to first nozzle 43 and orifice 44 is "directly above or in longitudinal alignment with the center of the impaction plate 23", wherein nozzle 43, orifice 44, first chamber 46, and plate 23 define the first impaction stage and its longitudinal axis).
Marple'822 teaches a second impaction stage downstream of the first impaction stage, the second impaction stage being offset from the first impaction stage along a second axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal first axis (Marple'822, Figs. 2-3; col. 5, ll. 37-68; col. 6, ll. 11-18: following the first impaction stage associated with nozzle 43 and plate 23, Marple'822 provides successive downstream impaction stages respectively including nozzle 49 directed toward plate 24, nozzle 54 directed toward plate 25, and nozzle 59 directed toward plate 26; each downstream stage is laterally spaced from the first stage along the common plate-support direction on surface 18 and has a downward longitudinal nozzle-to-plate orientation, and Fig. 2 depicts the offset direction from the first-stage center to each downstream-stage center as perpendicular to the downward first-stage longitudinal axis, wherein any one of the successive downstream stages may correspond to the claimed second impaction stage).
Marple'822 teaches an outlet downstream of the second impaction stage (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 37-68; col. 6, ll. 1-34, wherein, after any selected downstream impaction stage, the gas continues through any remaining downstream stage or stages to outlet passage 62, filter 31, passages 28 and 29, and passage 64 connected to vacuum pump 66).
Also, regarding claim 1, Marple'822 does not fully teach wherein the first impaction stage is configured to receive a removable sample collection container. Rather, Marple'822 teaches impaction plate 23 at the first-stage collection location and teaches that base 11 carrying impaction plates 23-26 is removable from housing 12 and that "The entire set of impaction plates 23-26 can be readily changed" (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 6, ll. 23-65, wherein the first-stage particle-collection structure is removable from the housing as part of the removable plate-supporting base). However, Marple'822 does not teach the removable first-stage collection component as a sample collection container.
Turgul teaches an impactor component that is receivable into the impactor assembly and removable after collection, and teaches that the impactor component may be a receptacle or container. Turgul further teaches that the impaction surface may be provided by the base of the receptacle and that, after the aerosol flow is directed toward the impaction surface, downstream flow proceeds around an outer edge of the impactor component through the apparatus (Turgul, ¶[0008], [0022], [0029]: the impactor component is “receivable into an assembly” and “may be a receptacle or container,” and the aerosol flow is directed onto the impaction surface and downstream around the outer edge of the impactor component). Turgul further recognizes that spacing between the flow constriction and impaction surface may be varied while retaining inertial collection, although the size or mass of particles deposited changes with that spacing (Turgul, ¶[0063]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marple'822 in view of Turgul by substituting a removable receptacle or container for first-stage impaction plate 23. The container would have been mounted with its open entrance exposed at approximately the former plate-23 collection location and with its body extending downwardly away from nozzle 43, such that aerosol discharged from nozzle 43 passes through the container opening toward the container's interior base, which provides the impaction surface as taught by Turgul, while carrier gas can turn and continue toward outlet passage 47. Turgul teaches both a container-form impactor component and downstream gas flow around the outer edge of the impactor component (Turgul, ¶[0022], [0029]), and further teaches retaining the collected sample for analysis when the component is removed (Turgul, ¶[0008], [0010]-[0013]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the removable container form to retain collected aerosol material for removal and analysis while preserving a downstream gas path through the serial impactor. The modification therefore would have resulted in the first impaction stage being configured to receive a removable sample collection container.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Marple'822 further teaches wherein the first impaction stage comprises a nozzle configured to accelerate a flow of gas through the first impaction stage along the longitudinal first axis (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, l. 20-col. 6, l. 18: passage 42 extends to downwardly directed first nozzle 43 and Marple'822 teaches that "The smaller the orifice, the higher the velocity of the gas and particles moving through the orifice", wherein nozzle 43 accelerates the gas flow along the first-stage longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Marple'822 does not fully teach wherein the second impaction stage is configured to receive a second removable sample collection container. Rather, Marple'822 teaches successive downstream impaction plates 24, 25, and 26 at the respective downstream-stage collection locations and teaches removal and ready changing of the plate set carried by base 11 (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 37-68; col. 6, ll. 23-65, wherein each plate 24, 25, or 26 may serve as the particle-collection component of the selected downstream impaction stage and is carried on the removable base). However, the modified Marple'822 does not teach the selected downstream collection component as a second removable sample collection container.
Turgul teaches that a plurality of impactor components may each be receivable into the assembly and arranged successively in the aerosol flow path, that the impactor components may be receptacles or containers, and that downstream gas flow can proceed around an outer edge of an impactor component after being directed toward its impaction surface (Turgul, ¶[0022], [0027]-[0029]: “a plurality of the impactor components, each receivable into the assembly” may be arranged “successively in the aerosol flow path,” and the container-form component may be used at successive stages while maintaining downstream flow). Turgul further recognizes that spacing between the flow constriction and impaction surface may be varied while retaining inertial collection, although the size or mass of particles deposited changes with that spacing (Turgul, ¶[0063]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Turgul by substituting a second removable receptacle or container for the impaction plate of the selected downstream stage, whether plate 24, 25, or 26. The second container would have been mounted with its entrance exposed at approximately the former collection location of the corresponding plate and with its body extending downwardly away from nozzle 49, 54, or 59, such that aerosol discharged toward the collection region passes through the container opening toward the container's interior base, which provides the impaction surface as taught by Turgul, while carrier gas remains able to continue through the serial flow path. Turgul teaches container-form impactor components at successive locations and downstream flow around an impactor component (Turgul, ¶[0022], [0027]-[0029]). Repeating that known removable-container collection technique at a selected downstream Marple'822 stage would have resulted in the second impaction stage being configured to receive a second removable sample collection container. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to provide the removable container at the selected downstream stage so that aerosol material collected at that stage, including the particle fraction separated at that stage, could be separately retained, removed, and analyzed in the same manner taught by Turgul.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Marple'822 teaches wherein the first impaction stage and the second impaction stage are parallel or substantially parallel (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 24-68: the first-stage flow path through nozzle 43 and the successive downstream-stage flow paths through nozzles 49, 54, and 59 are each directed downwardly toward their respective impaction plates 23-26 and are depicted with substantially parallel longitudinal orientations).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Marple'822 does not fully teach a method, comprising collecting aerosolized liquid droplets from exhaled breaths of a patient in the first impaction stage and in the second impaction stage with the impactor sample collection apparatus of claim 1. Rather, the modified Marple'822 provides the apparatus of claim 1 and Marple'822 collects aerosol particles through successive impaction stages (Marple'822, col. 5, l. 20-col. 6, l. 34, wherein aerosol particles are successively collected on plates 23-26). However, Marple'822 does not identify the sampled aerosol as aerosolized liquid droplets from exhaled breaths of a patient.
Turgul teaches that exhaled breath is an aerosol containing liquid particulates and teaches collecting exhaled-breath aerosol components by impaction for analysis (Turgul, ¶[0006]-[0008]: exhaled breath contains "liquid and solid particulates, and as such is an aerosol" and the disclosed impactor is for "aerosol component collection, such as for exhaled breath", wherein liquid droplets in patient breath are collected as aerosol components).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the modified Marple'822 apparatus to collect aerosolized liquid droplets from a patient's exhaled breath through the first and second impaction stages. Turgul identifies exhaled breath as an aerosol containing liquid particulates and teaches impaction collection of those breath components for analysis (Turgul, ¶[0006]-[0008]). Using Marple'822's successive impactor stages for that known aerosol sample would have been use of a known aerosol-classification technique for its established function to collect and separate exhaled-breath aerosol components for analysis and would have resulted in the recited method.
Regarding claim 14, Marple'822 teaches an impactor sample collection apparatus (Marple'822, Fig. 1; col. 4, ll. 25-47: "Apparatus 10 is a cascade inertia impactor" for the "collection, classification and analysis of aerosols", wherein apparatus 10 is an impactor sample collection apparatus).
Marple'822 teaches an inlet (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 20-39: "an inlet passage 42 for the gas and aerosol particles", wherein passage 42 provides the apparatus inlet).
Marple'822 teaches an outlet downstream of the second impaction stage (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 37-68; col. 6, ll. 1-34, wherein, after any selected downstream impaction stage, the gas continues through any remaining downstream stage or stages to outlet passage 62, filter 31, passages 28 and 29, and passage 64).
Also, regarding claim 14, Marple'822 does not fully teach a first impaction stage downstream of the inlet, the first impaction stage configured to receive a removable sample collection container; a second impaction stage downstream of the first impaction stage, the second impaction stage configured to receive a removable sample collection container. Rather, Marple'822 teaches a first impaction stage associated with nozzle 43, chamber 46, and plate 23 and successive downstream impaction stages associated with nozzle 49 and plate 24, nozzle 54 and plate 25, and nozzle 59 and plate 26, any one of which may correspond to the claimed second impaction stage. Marple'822 further teaches that base 11 carrying plates 23-26 is removable from housing 12 and the plate set can be readily changed (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 24-68; col. 6, ll. 23-65, wherein the first-stage particle-collection component and the collection component of any selected downstream stage are removable from the housing as part of the plate-supporting base). However, Marple'822 does not teach either selected removable collection component as a sample collection container.
Turgul teaches a receptacle or container as the impactor component, teaches a plurality of such impactor components receivable into the assembly and arranged successively in the aerosol flow path, and teaches downstream gas flow around an outer edge of an impactor component after the aerosol is directed toward its impaction surface (Turgul, ¶[0022], [0027]-[0029]: the impactor component “may be a receptacle or container,” a plurality may be arranged “successively in the aerosol flow path,” and the flow continues downstream around the impactor component). Turgul further recognizes that spacing between the flow constriction and impaction surface may be varied while retaining inertial collection, although the size or mass of particles deposited changes with that spacing (Turgul, ¶[0063]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marple'822 in view of Turgul by substituting removable receptacle or container impactor components for plate 23 at the first stage and for the corresponding plate 24, 25, or 26 of a selected downstream stage. Each container would have been mounted with its entrance exposed at approximately the former collection location of the corresponding plate and with its body extending downwardly away from the corresponding nozzle, such that aerosol directed toward the collection region passes through the container opening toward the container's interior base, which provides the impaction surface as taught by Turgul, while carrier gas remains able to continue through the serial impactor. Turgul expressly teaches container-form impactor components, successive use of receivable impactor components, and downstream gas flow around an impactor component (Turgul, ¶[0022], [0027]-[0029]). Turgul further teaches retaining the collected sample for analysis when the impactor component is removed (Turgul, ¶[0008], [0010]-[0013]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the removable container form at the collection stages to retain collected aerosol material for removal and analysis. The modification would have resulted in both the first stage and a selected downstream second stage being configured to receive removable sample collection containers.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Marple'822 further teaches wherein the first impaction stage defines a longitudinal first axis, and the second impaction stage is offset from the first impaction stage along a second axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal first axis (Marple'822, Figs. 2-3; col. 5, ll. 24-68; col. 6, ll. 11-18, wherein nozzle 43 and plate 23 define the downward first-stage longitudinal axis and each successive downstream stage associated with nozzle 49/plate 24, nozzle 54/plate 25, or nozzle 59/plate 26 is laterally offset from the first stage along the common plate-support direction shown in Fig. 2, which is perpendicular to the downward first-stage longitudinal axis; any one of those successive downstream stages may correspond to the claimed second impaction stage).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Marple'822 further teaches wherein the first impaction stage comprises a nozzle configured to accelerate a flow of gas through the first impaction stage (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, l. 20-col. 6, l. 18: passage 42 extends to first nozzle 43 and Marple'822 teaches that "The smaller the orifice, the higher the velocity of the gas and particles moving through the orifice", wherein first nozzle 43 accelerates the gas flow through the first stage).
Claims 4, 8, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822), hereinafter Marple'822, and further in view of Turgul et al. (US 2020/0278275 A1), hereinafter Turgul, and further in view of Nelson et al. (Nelson, Tiffanie M. et al, “Detecting respiratory bacterial communities of wild dolphins: implications for animal health,” Marine Ecology Progress Series, Vol. 622, pp. 203-217, published July 18, 2019), hereinafter Nelson.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as discussed above.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claims 14 and 16 as discussed above.
Nelson is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed funnel limitations because Nelson concerns collection of exhaled respiratory droplets and specifically teaches directing such respiratory material through a funnel into a separate sample collection tube (Nelson, p. 205, § 2.1; p. 207, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Marple'822 does not disclose wherein the first impaction stage further comprises a funnel between the nozzle and the sample collection container.
Nelson teaches a funnel between an incoming exhaled-breath flow and a collection tube (Nelson, p. 205, § 2.1; p. 207, Fig. 2: blow samples were collected using "a funnel connected to a 50 ml sterile polypropylene Falcon centrifuge tube" and material captured on the funnel "can be washed down the funnel into the tube", wherein the funnel receives respiratory material upstream of and directs it into the collection tube).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Nelson by positioning a funnel between first-stage nozzle 43 and the removable first-stage container, with a broader funnel receiving region downstream of nozzle 43 and a narrower funnel outlet communicating with the container entrance established regarding claim 1. Nelson teaches a tube-form respiratory sample container connected to a broader upstream funnel, providing a known arrangement for receiving respiratory material and directing collected material toward the tube opening. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Nelson uses the funnel to capture exhaled breath and associated droplets and direct the collected material into the connected collection tube (Nelson, p. 205, § 2.1; p. 207, Fig. 2). In the modified Marple'822 stage, the funnel and container would have been dimensioned and positioned to leave flow clearance for carrier gas to continue toward outlet passage 47, consistent with Turgul's teaching that downstream gas flow proceeds around the outer edge of an impactor component (Turgul, ¶[0029]). Applying Nelson's known funnel/tube arrangement in that collection region would predictably have provided a funnel between the nozzle and the removable sample collection container for receiving respiratory aerosol material and directing collected material toward the container.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Marple'822 teaches wherein the second impaction stage comprises a nozzle (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 46-68; col. 6, ll. 11-18: for purposes of claims 8-11, the second impaction stage corresponds to the downstream stage associated with nozzle 59 and plate 26). However, the modified Marple'822 does not teach a funnel downstream of the nozzle.
Turgul teaches that an impactor component may be a receptacle or container and that a plurality of such components may be arranged successively in an aerosol flow path, thereby providing container-form collection components at successive impactor stages (Turgul, ¶[0022], [0027]-[0029]). Turgul further recognizes that spacing between the flow constriction and impaction surface may be varied while retaining inertial collection, although the size or mass of particles deposited changes with that spacing (Turgul, ¶[0063]).
Nelson teaches a respiratory collection device comprising a broad funnel connected to a narrower centrifuge tube, wherein the funnel receives exhaled breath and associated droplets and directs collected material toward the tube opening (Nelson, p. 205, § 2.1; p. 207, § 3.1; Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Turgul and Nelson by providing the nozzle 59 downstream stage with a removable container-form impactor component in place of plate 26 and positioning a Nelson-type funnel downstream of nozzle 59 with its narrower outlet communicating with the container entrance. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the container-form impactor component so that aerosol material collected at the selected downstream stage could be retained, removed, and analyzed, and to provide the funnel because Nelson teaches using a broader receiving region to capture aerosol-borne material and direct collected material toward a narrower collection-container opening. Applying those known collection structures at the nozzle 59 stage would have provided a broader receiving surface for material discharged from the nozzle and directed captured material into a removable container for retention and subsequent analysis. The modification would have maintained an operative inertial collection arrangement even though the container base is spaced farther from nozzle 59 than original plate 26, with the resulting particle-size cutoff potentially differing from that of the original Marple'822 stage. The funnel and container would have been dimensioned and positioned to permit carrier gas to continue through the serial flow path. The resulting second impaction stage would therefore comprise a nozzle and a funnel downstream of the nozzle.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Marple'822 does not disclose wherein the first impaction stage further comprises a funnel between the nozzle and the sample collection container.
Nelson teaches a funnel connected to a centrifuge tube for collection of exhaled respiratory material (Nelson, p. 205, § 2.1; p. 207, Fig. 2: "A funnel connected to a centrifuge tube is used to collect exhaled blow" and material on the funnel "can be washed down the funnel into the tube", wherein the funnel lies upstream of and directs collected material into the tube).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Nelson by placing a funnel between first-stage nozzle 43 and the removable first-stage sample collection container, with a broader funnel receiving region downstream of nozzle 43 and a narrower outlet communicating with the container entrance established regarding claim 14. Nelson teaches a tube-form respiratory sample container connected to an upstream funnel, providing a known arrangement for receiving respiratory material and directing collected material toward the tube opening. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Nelson uses the funnel to capture exhaled breath and associated droplets and direct the collected material into the connected tube (Nelson, p. 205, § 2.1; p. 207, Fig. 2). The funnel/container assembly would have been dimensioned and positioned to leave flow clearance for carrier gas to continue downstream, consistent with Turgul's teaching that downstream gas flow proceeds around the outer edge of an impactor component (Turgul, ¶[0029]). The resulting first impaction stage would therefore comprise a funnel between the nozzle and the removable sample collection container.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Marple'822 teaches wherein the second impaction stage further comprises a nozzle (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 46-68; col. 6, ll. 11-18: for purposes of this claim, the second impaction stage established regarding claim 14 corresponds to the downstream stage originally associated with nozzle 59 and plate 26, with the plate-26 collection location modified to receive the removable second-stage container as established regarding claim 14; nozzle 59 directs the aerosol flow toward that collection location and its discharge end is among those described as successively closer to the respective impaction plates).
However, the modified Marple'822 does not teach a funnel downstream of the nozzle in the selected nozzle 59 second impaction stage.
Nelson teaches a collection device comprising a funnel and centrifuge tube, wherein the funnel captures exhaled breath and associated droplets and directs the collected material into the tube (Nelson, p. 207, § 3.1; Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Nelson by providing a funnel downstream of nozzle 59 and upstream of the corresponding removable second-stage sample collection container established regarding claim 14, with a broader funnel receiving region facing nozzle 59 and a narrower outlet communicating with the container entrance. Nelson teaches a tube-form respiratory sample container connected to an upstream funnel, providing a known arrangement for receiving respiratory material and directing collected material toward the tube opening. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Nelson uses the funnel to capture exhaled respiratory material and direct the collected material into the connected tube (Nelson, p. 205, § 2.1; p. 207, Fig. 2). The funnel/container assembly would have been dimensioned and positioned to leave flow clearance for carrier gas to continue downstream, consistent with Turgul's teaching that downstream gas flow proceeds around the outer edge of an impactor component (Turgul, ¶[0029]). The resulting second impaction stage would therefore further comprise a nozzle and a funnel downstream of the nozzle.
Claims 5-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822), hereinafter Marple'822, and further in view of Turgul et al. (US 2020/0278275 A1), hereinafter Turgul, and further in view of Tadokoro et al. (JP 2010-145310 A), hereinafter Tadokoro.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Marple'822 does not fully teach wherein the impactor sample collection apparatus comprises a conduit having a first conduit portion that includes the first impaction stage, and a second conduit portion that extends along the second axis and interconnects the first impaction stage and the second impaction stage. For purposes of this claim, the second impaction stage established regarding claim 1 corresponds to the downstream stage associated with nozzle 49, chamber 51, and plate 24. Marple'822 teaches inlet passage 42 and first chamber 46 as a first-stage conduit region and teaches outlet passage 47 connecting first chamber 46 to cone-shaped chamber 48 feeding second nozzle 49 (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 24-45: "An outlet passage 47 connects first chamber 46 to a cone-shaped chamber 48", wherein the text establishes a serial interstage passage but does not specify a required angular geometry for passage 47). Fig. 2 depicts the interstage route rising toward chamber 48. However, Marple'822 does not teach a second conduit portion extending along the lateral second axis between the first and selected second stages.
Tadokoro teaches a serial cascade-impactor arrangement in which the downstream space of impactor 4A and the upstream space of impactor 4B are connected by connecting passage 49, and connecting passage 49 comprises a first horizontal passage followed by a first ascending passage (Tadokoro, ¶[0031]: "The third space 23A and the first space 15B are connected by a connecting passage 49" and "The connecting passage 49 has a first horizontal passage" and "a first ascending passage", wherein the horizontal portion routes flow laterally between adjacent stages and the ascending portion transitions the flow to the next stage). Tadokoro further teaches that, in this embodiment, impactors 4A to 4D have the classification plate and collection plate arranged in the same vertical direction (Tadokoro, ¶[0064], wherein the serial stages retain the same stage orientation while being laterally arranged).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Tadokoro by reconfiguring outlet passage 47 as a second conduit portion having a lateral run extending along the second axis between the first and selected second stages and a downstream transition into chamber 48 feeding second nozzle 49. In the resulting Marple'822 arrangement, the second conduit portion would leave the upper portion of first chamber 46 at the existing outlet-passage elevation, extend laterally at that elevation toward the nozzle 49/chamber 51 stage, and then transition into cone-shaped chamber 48 feeding nozzle 49. Consistent with the claim interpretation above and the Instant Application at ¶[0038]-[0039], the second conduit portion need not remain collinear with the second axis throughout its entire length: its lateral run extends along the second axis, while the downstream transition completes the fluid connection to the second impaction stage. Marple'822 requires serial connection between the stages but does not identify the inclined routing shown in Fig. 2 as necessary to cascade operation. Tadokoro teaches an alternative interstage passage configuration for laterally spaced serial impactor stages having the same vertical orientation, wherein connecting passage 49 includes a horizontal passage between stages followed by an ascending passage to the next stage (Tadokoro, ¶[0031], [0064]). A person of ordinary skill would have recognized Tadokoro's interstage passage configuration as a known alternative for performing the same serial stage-to-stage fluid-connection function performed by Marple'822's outlet passage 47. Selecting that known routing configuration would have provided a second conduit portion that extends along the second axis and, through its downstream transition, interconnects the first impaction stage and the second impaction stage while retaining Marple'822's stage positions, downwardly directed stage orientation, and serial cascade principle.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Marple'822 further teaches wherein when the sample collection container is received in the first impaction stage, the second conduit portion is above the sample collection container (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 24-45, wherein outlet passage 47 begins above first-stage plate 23; the claim 1 modification places the entrance of the removable container at approximately the former plane of plate 23 with the container body extending downwardly, and the claim 5 modification for the selected nozzle 49/plate 24 second-stage branch routes the second conduit portion laterally from outlet passage 47 and then upward toward the selected second stage, thereby maintaining the second conduit portion above the received container).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Marple'822 does not fully teach wherein the impactor sample collection apparatus comprises a conduit having a first conduit portion that includes the first impaction stage, and a second conduit portion that extends along the second axis and interconnects the first impaction stage and the second impaction stage. For purposes of this claim, the second impaction stage established regarding claims 14 and 15 corresponds to the downstream stage associated with nozzle 49, chamber 51, and plate 24. Marple'822 teaches inlet passage 42 and first chamber 46 as a first-stage conduit region and teaches outlet passage 47 connecting first chamber 46 to cone-shaped chamber 48 feeding second nozzle 49 (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 24-45: "An outlet passage 47 connects first chamber 46 to a cone-shaped chamber 48", wherein the text establishes a serial interstage passage but does not specify a required angular geometry for passage 47). Fig. 2 depicts the interstage route rising toward chamber 48. However, Marple'822 does not teach a second conduit portion extending along the lateral second axis between the first and selected second stages.
Tadokoro teaches a serial cascade-impactor arrangement in which the downstream space of impactor 4A and the upstream space of impactor 4B are connected by connecting passage 49, and connecting passage 49 comprises a first horizontal passage followed by a first ascending passage (Tadokoro, ¶[0031]: "The third space 23A and the first space 15B are connected by a connecting passage 49" and "The connecting passage 49 has a first horizontal passage" and "a first ascending passage", wherein the horizontal portion routes flow laterally between adjacent stages and the ascending portion transitions the flow to the next stage). Tadokoro further teaches that the impactors in this embodiment retain the same vertical stage orientation (Tadokoro, ¶[0064]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Tadokoro by reconfiguring outlet passage 47 as a second conduit portion having a lateral run extending along the second axis established regarding claim 15 between the first and selected second stages and a downstream transition into chamber 48 feeding second nozzle 49. In the resulting Marple'822 arrangement, the second conduit portion would leave the upper portion of first chamber 46 at the existing outlet-passage elevation, extend laterally at that elevation toward the nozzle 49/chamber 51 stage, and then transition into cone-shaped chamber 48 feeding nozzle 49. Consistent with the claim interpretation above and the Instant Application at ¶[0038]-[0039], the second conduit portion need not remain collinear with the second axis throughout its entire length: its lateral run extends along the second axis, while the downstream transition completes the fluid connection to the second impaction stage. Marple'822 requires serial connection between the stages but does not identify the inclined routing shown in Fig. 2 as necessary to cascade operation. Tadokoro teaches an alternative interstage passage configuration for laterally spaced serial impactor stages having the same vertical orientation, wherein connecting passage 49 includes a horizontal passage between stages followed by an ascending passage to the next stage (Tadokoro, ¶[0031], [0064]). A person of ordinary skill would have recognized Tadokoro's interstage passage configuration as a known alternative for performing the same serial stage-to-stage fluid-connection function performed by Marple'822's outlet passage 47. Selecting that known routing configuration would have provided a second conduit portion that extends along the second axis and, through its downstream transition, interconnects the first impaction stage and the second impaction stage while retaining Marple'822's stage positions, downwardly directed stage orientation, and serial cascade principle.
Claims 9-10 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822), hereinafter Marple'822, and further in view of Turgul et al. (US 2020/0278275 A1), hereinafter Turgul, and further in view of Nelson et al. (Nelson, Tiffanie M. et al, “Detecting respiratory bacterial communities of wild dolphins: implications for animal health,” Marine Ecology Progress Series, Vol. 622, pp. 203-217, published July 18, 2019), hereinafter Nelson, and further in view of Ariessohn et al. (US 2010/0186524 A1), hereinafter Ariessohn.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Marple'822 does not disclose wherein the second impaction stage further comprises an impaction member positioned in a flow path of the second impaction stage. In the claim 8 branch, the second impaction stage is the downstream stage originally associated with nozzle 59 and plate 26 with the Nelson-derived funnel positioned downstream of nozzle 59 and removable container as established regarding claim 8. The Nelson-derived funnel and downstream Marple'822 collection region are not relied upon, by themselves, as the claimed additional impaction member.
Ariessohn teaches a bluff-body inertial impactor positioned in a gas stream and a three-dimensional bluff-body member formed as a freestanding pillar or supporting column (Ariessohn, ¶[0175]-[0176], [0179]: the gas streamlines are “deflected but particles impact on the Surface of the bluffbody” and central member 261 is “a freestanding pillar or supporting column” whose head is an inertial impactor surface, wherein the bluff body provides an identifiable additional impaction structure in the aerosol flow path). Ariessohn further teaches that side-mounted bluff-body impactors may be adapted from U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822, a.k.a. Marple'822 (Ariessohn, ¶[0189]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Ariessohn by positioning Ariessohn's bluff-body impaction structure in the second-stage gas stream downstream of nozzle 59 and upstream of the Nelson-derived funnel and downstream collection region. Ariessohn's freestanding pillar or supporting-column architecture provides support for the impaction surface in the gas stream while the carrier-gas streamlines deflect and continue around the member and higher-momentum aerosol particles impact the windward surface (Ariessohn, ¶[0175]-[0176], [0179]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the bluff-body particle trap to increase opportunities for inertial capture of aerosol particles remaining in the flowing gas stream, while allowing the carrier gas to deflect around the member and continue downstream. Ariessohn further teaches that side-mounted bluff-body impactors may be adapted from Marple'822, supporting compatibility of the bluff-body architecture with a Marple-type impactor arrangement (Ariessohn, ¶[0189]). The resulting nozzle 59 stage would therefore further comprise an impaction member positioned in its flow path.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Marple'822 further teaches wherein the impaction member is downstream of the nozzle of the second impaction stage (Ariessohn, ¶[0175]-[0179], as incorporated regarding claim 9, wherein the bluff-body member is positioned in the nozzle 59 second-stage gas stream downstream of nozzle 59 and before the Nelson-derived funnel and downstream collection region).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Marple'822 does not disclose wherein the second impaction stage further comprises an impaction member positioned in a flow path of the second impaction stage downstream of the nozzle of the second impaction stage. In the claim 19 branch, the second impaction stage is the nozzle 59 downstream stage originally associated with plate 26, with the removable second-stage container established regarding claim 14 and the Nelson funnel established regarding claim 19. Those collection structures are not relied upon, by themselves, as the claimed additional impaction member.
Ariessohn teaches a bluff body in a collector-channel gas stream and a freestanding pillar or supporting-column bluff body having an inertial impactor surface (Ariessohn, ¶[0175]-[0176], [0179]: gas flow is deflected around the bluff body while aerosol particles impact its windward surface, wherein the bluff body provides an identifiable additional impaction structure in the aerosol flow path). Ariessohn further teaches that side-mounted bluff-body impactors may be adapted from U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822, a.k.a. Marple'822 (Ariessohn, ¶[0189]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Ariessohn by adding Ariessohn's bluff-body impaction structure in the second-stage flow path downstream of nozzle 59 and upstream of the Nelson funnel and removable collection container. Ariessohn's freestanding pillar or supporting-column architecture supports the impaction surface in the gas stream while the carrier-gas streamlines deflect and continue around the member and higher-momentum aerosol particles impact its windward surface (Ariessohn, ¶[0175]-[0176], [0179]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the bluff-body particle trap to increase opportunities for inertial capture of aerosol particles remaining in the flowing gas stream, while allowing the carrier gas to deflect around the member and continue downstream. Ariessohn further teaches that side-mounted bluff-body impactors may be adapted from Marple'822, supporting compatibility of the bluff-body architecture with a Marple-type impactor arrangement (Ariessohn, ¶[0189]). The resulting second impaction stage would therefore comprise an impaction member positioned in its flow path downstream of the nozzle of the second impaction stage.
Regarding claim 21, the modified Marple'822 does not fully teach wherein the impaction member comprises an electrically conductive material and is configured to be electrically charged. Rather, the modification regarding claim 20 provides Ariessohn's bluff-body impaction member. However, that modification does not yet require the member to include an electrically conductive charged portion.
Ariessohn teaches that the impactor cap element forming the impactor surface on top of a bluff-body pillar may contain a flat-plate capacitor or an electrode, and further teaches the cap surface as a specially fabricated electrode operated with voltage and connected by leads to a power supply (Ariessohn, ¶[0187]-[0188]: the cap may "contain a flat plate capacitor or an electrode" and may be a "specially fabricated electrode" with associated leads extending to a power supply, wherein the same bluff-body impactor surface can be electrically conductive and electrically charged).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 by using Ariessohn's disclosed electrode-containing cap as the impactor surface of the same bluff-body member incorporated regarding claim 20. Ariessohn teaches the electrode-cap embodiment for active handling of material collected on that bluff-body surface, including electrowetting and harvesting of collected aerosol particles (Ariessohn, ¶[0187]-[0188]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Ariessohn's electrode-containing cap on the already incorporated bluff-body member to provide the disclosed active electrical handling and harvesting of material collected on the impaction surface. Applying that disclosed electrical feature to the already incorporated bluff-body member would have resulted in the impaction member comprising electrically conductive electrode material configured to be electrically charged.
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822), hereinafter Marple'822, and further in view of Turgul et al. (US 2020/0278275 A1), hereinafter Turgul, and further in view of Nelson et al. (Nelson, Tiffanie M. et al, “Detecting respiratory bacterial communities of wild dolphins: implications for animal health,” Marine Ecology Progress Series, Vol. 622, pp. 203-217, published July 18, 2019), hereinafter Nelson, and further in view of Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,343,767), hereinafter Marple'767.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Marple'822 does not expressly teach wherein the nozzle of the second impaction stage is received in the funnel of the second impaction stage. For purposes of claims 8-11, the claimed second impaction stage corresponds to the downstream stage originally associated with nozzle 59 and plate 26, with the Nelson-derived funnel positioned downstream of nozzle 59 and removable container as established regarding claim 8. Marple'822 teaches that nozzle 59 is longer than nozzle 54 and terminates closer to plate 26, and states that nozzles 49, 54, and 59 have discharge ends “successively closer” to the respective impaction plates (Marple'822, col. 5, ll. 46-68; col. 6, ll. 11-14). This supports selection of the nozzle 59 stage for the claimed downstream-stage arrangement, but Marple'822 does not itself disclose nozzle 59 received in the funnel.
Marple'767 teaches an analogous cascade impactor in which an elongated nozzle tube extends into the associated particle collection cup with its discharge end adjacent the cup end wall or impaction surface, and the surrounding wall permits carrier gas to reverse direction and flow around the exterior of the projecting nozzle toward the downstream outlet. Marple'767 further identifies interstage particle loss caused by aerosol deposition on surfaces other than the intended collection surface as airflow passes through successive stage transitions, and teaches its surrounding-wall/nozzle airflow arrangement as part of a low-particle-loss configuration in which the airflow is smooth and the number of changes in direction is reduced (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 37-55; col. 3, l. 57-col. 4, l. 18; col. 5, ll. 31-68; col. 6, ll. 15-29; claim 9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Marple'767 by arranging the mouth of the Nelson-derived funnel established regarding claim 8 to surround the discharge portion of nozzle 59, with clearance around the nozzle sufficient for carrier gas to continue through the second-stage flow path. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known nested nozzle/collection-region arrangement to one or more stages having a Nelson-derived funnel so that the intended collection/directing surface surrounds the nozzle discharge region while maintaining a return-flow path around the nozzle, thereby reducing the opportunity for discharged aerosol material to deposit on unintended surfaces outside the collection region. Nelson's funnel further provides a receiving surface for capturing respiratory material and directing collected material toward the downstream collection region. Marple'822's relatively long nozzle 59 and close nozzle-to-collection relationship make the nozzle 59 stage particularly suitable for implementing the known nested arrangement. The resulting modified apparatus would therefore provide the nozzle of the second impaction stage received in the funnel of the second impaction stage.
Regarding claim 22, the modified Marple'822 does not expressly teach wherein the nozzle of the second impaction stage is received in the funnel of the second impaction stage. For purposes of claims 19-22, the claimed second impaction stage corresponds to the downstream stage associated with nozzle 59 and plate 26, with the removable second-stage sample collection container inherited from claim 14 and the Nelson-derived funnel positioned downstream of nozzle 59 as established regarding claim 19. Marple'822 teaches that nozzle 59 is longer than nozzle 54 and terminates closer to plate 26, and states that nozzles 49, 54, and 59 have discharge ends “successively closer” to the respective impaction plates (Marple'822, col. 5, ll. 46-68; col. 6, ll. 11-14). This supports selection of the nozzle 59 stage for the claimed downstream-stage arrangement, but Marple'822 does not itself disclose nozzle 59 received in the funnel.
Marple'767 teaches an analogous cascade impactor in which an elongated nozzle tube extends into the associated particle collection cup with its discharge end adjacent the cup end wall or impaction surface, and the surrounding wall permits carrier gas to reverse direction and flow around the exterior of the projecting nozzle toward the downstream outlet. Marple'767 further identifies interstage particle loss caused by aerosol deposition on surfaces other than the intended collection surface as airflow passes through successive stage transitions, and teaches its surrounding-wall/nozzle airflow arrangement as part of a low-particle-loss configuration in which the airflow is smooth and the number of changes in direction is reduced (Marple'767, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 37-55; col. 3, l. 57-col. 4, l. 18; col. 5, ll. 31-68; col. 6, ll. 15-29; claim 9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Marple'822 in view of Marple'767 by arranging the mouth of the Nelson-derived funnel established regarding claim 19 to surround the discharge portion of nozzle 59, with clearance around the nozzle sufficient for carrier gas to continue through the second-stage flow path. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known nested nozzle/collection-region arrangement to one or more stages having a Nelson-derived funnel so that the intended collection/directing surface surrounds the nozzle discharge region while maintaining a return-flow path around the nozzle, thereby reducing the opportunity for discharged aerosol material to deposit on unintended surfaces outside the collection region. Nelson's funnel further provides a receiving surface for capturing respiratory material and directing collected material toward the removable second-stage sample collection container established regarding claim 14. Marple'822's relatively long nozzle 59 and close nozzle-to-collection relationship make the nozzle 59 stage particularly suitable for implementing the known nested arrangement. The resulting modified apparatus would therefore provide the nozzle of the second impaction stage received in the funnel of the second impaction stage.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marple et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,321,822), hereinafter Marple'822, and further in view of Turgul et al. (US 2020/0278275 A1), hereinafter Turgul, and further in view of Lundin et al. (US 2016/0000358 A1), hereinafter Lundin.
The modified Marple'822 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Marple'822 does not disclose a mechanical ventilator comprising the impactor sample collection apparatus of claim 1 coupled to an exhalation limb of the mechanical ventilator. Rather, Marple'822 teaches that its impactor apparatus is configured for active flow of gas and aerosol particles through the collection stages, wherein passage 64 is connected to vacuum pump 66 and “vacuum pump 66 operates to draw gas and aerosol particles through impactor apparatus 10” (Marple'822, Fig. 2; col. 6, ll. 19-45).
Lundin teaches a mechanical-ventilator system in which expiratory airflow conduit 11 carries expiration fluid from a patient and is connected downstream of a Y-piece of the ventilator tubing, and teaches collecting exhaled particles with particle collection unit 19, which may be a cascade impactor and may be connected at locations on expiratory conduit 11 (Lundin, ¶[0053], [0073]-[0076], [0079]: collection unit 19 “may be a cascade impactor”; the collection unit may be connected “at other locations on the conduit 11”; and exhaled particles are passed through the stages of the inertial impactor, wherein a cascade-impactor sample collector is coupled to the ventilator expiratory conduit).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the modified Marple'822 aerosol collector as Lundin's particle collection unit coupled to the expiratory conduit of a mechanical ventilator. Marple'822 already teaches operating its cascade impactor by drawing a gas stream carrying aerosol particles through successive collection stages, while Lundin expressly teaches using a cascade impactor to collect particles from exhaled breath associated with a mechanical ventilator and coupling the collection unit to the expiratory conduit (Lundin, ¶[0053], [0073]-[0076], [0079]). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Lundin uses the impactor at that ventilator location to collect and size-segregate exhaled particles for analysis. The combination would have been predictable because Lundin teaches that exhaust gas may be driven through the particle collection unit by a pump or evacuation underpressure (Lundin, ¶[0075]-[0076]), which is compatible with Marple'822's use of vacuum pump 66 to draw aerosol-containing gas through its impactor. The resulting system would have provided a mechanical ventilator comprising the impactor sample collection apparatus of claim 1 coupled to an exhalation limb of the mechanical ventilator.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00 am - 4:00 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791