DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 1 April 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the clamshells and fasteners must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,263,562 in view of Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963).
Claims 14-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,263,562 in view of Lin (US 2011/0083869).
The table below shows the corresponding language and how they line up, bold goes to bold, underline to underline, and so on, whereas strikethrough text is not similar between them.
As shown, U.S. Patent teaches all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 14, but for “cooperating clamshell halves”, which is taught by Yoshikawa. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of US 12,263,562, by having the motor housing be cooperating clamshell halves, as taught by Yoshikawa, so the internal workings can be easily accessible, thus making it easier to maintain and repair the tool.
As shown, U.S. Patent teaches all the claim limitations of claims 14, but for “the motor housing opposite the front housing portion by a plurality of fasteners”, which is taught by Lin. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of US 12,263,562, by using fasteners to attach the end cap to the tool housing, as taught by Lin, as a well-known way to couple two items together that has the added benefit of being able to remove the screws if needed, therefore the coupling does not result in a permanent attachment.
Current application 19/097,638
U.S. Patent No. 12,263,562
Difference
1. A power tool comprising:
a housing including a motor housing a front housing portion coupled to the motor housing, and an end cap coupled to the motor housing opposite the front housing portion;
a motor supported within the motor housing, the motor including an output shaft defining an axis;
a fan coupled for co-rotation with the output shaft;
a bearing configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis; and
a bearing retainer axially and radially securing the bearing within the end cap.
7. A power tool comprising:
a housing including a motor housing portion and a front housing portion coupled to the motor housing portion;
a motor supported within the motor housing portion, the motor including an output shaft defining an axis,
a fan coupled for co-rotation with the output shaft;
an end cap removably coupled to the motor housing portion opposite the front housing portion;
a bearing configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis,
wherein the end cap includes a bearing retainer
radially secure the bearing,
to axially secure the bearing.
The present claim recites “cooperating clamshell halves”, while the patent does not.
5. The power tool of claim 1, wherein the bearing is insert molded within the bearing retainer.
8. The power tool of claim 7, wherein the bearing is insert molded within the bearing retainer.
None/Identical
2. The power tool of claim 1, wherein the fan includes a recess in which the bearing retainer is at least partially received such that the bearing retainer and the bearing overlap the fan in a radial direction of the output shaft.
9. The power tool of claim 7, wherein the fan includes a recess in which the bearing retainer is at least partially received such that the bearing retainer and the bearing overlap the fan in a radial direction of the output shaft.
None/Identical
3. The power tool of claim 1, wherein the end cap includes an aperture through which the bearing is accessible.
10. The power tool of claim 7, wherein the end cap includes an aperture through which the bearing is accessible.
None/Identical
14. A power tool comprising:
a housing including a motor housing a front housing portion coupled to the motor housing portion, and an end cap removably coupled to the motor housing opposite the front housing portion
a motor supported within the motor housing, the motor including an output shaft defining an axis;
a fan coupled for co-rotation with the output shaft;
a bearing configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis;
an anvil extending from the front housing portion; and
a drive assembly configured to convert torque from the output shaft into a striking rotational force on the anvil,
wherein the end cap includes a bearing retainer with a first wall extending parallel to the axis and opposed second and third walls extending transverse to the axis,
wherein the first wall engages a radial side of the bearing to radially secure the bearing, and
wherein the second and third walls engage opposite axial sides of the bearing to axially secure the bearing.
7. A power tool comprising:
a housing including a motor housing portion and a front housing portion coupled to the motor housing portion;
a motor supported within the motor housing portion, the motor including an output shaft defining an axis,
a fan coupled for co-rotation with the output shaft;
an end cap removably coupled to the motor housing portion opposite the front housing portion;
a bearing configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis,
an anvil extending from the front housing portion; and
a drive assembly configured to convert torque from the output shaft into a striking rotational force on the anvil,
wherein the end cap includes a bearing retainer with a first wall extending parallel to the axis and opposed second and third walls extending transverse to the axis,
wherein the first wall engages a radial side of the outer race of the bearing to radially secure the bearing,
wherein the second and third walls engage opposite axial sides of the outer race of the bearing,
The present claim recites “cooperating clamshell halves” and “plurality of fasteners”, while the patent does not.
15. The power tool of claim 14, wherein the bearing is insert molded within the bearing retainer.
8. The power tool of claim 7, wherein the bearing is insert molded within the bearing retainer.
None/Identical
16. The power tool of claim 14, wherein the fan includes a recess in which the bearing retainer is at least partially received such that the bearing retainer and the bearing overlap the fan in a radial direction of the output shaft.
9. The power tool of claim 7, wherein the fan includes a recess in which the bearing retainer is at least partially received such that the bearing retainer and the bearing overlap the fan in a radial direction of the output shaft.
None/Identical
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the aperture" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963).
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 1: A power tool (10-fig.5) comprising:
a housing (11-fig.5) including a motor housing defined by cooperating clamshell halves (“L” and “R”-fig.5; ¶[0035]), a front housing portion (12-fig.8) coupled to the motor housing (¶[0036]-[0037]) and an end cap (47-fig.1) coupled to the motor housing opposite the front housing (¶[0045]);
a motor (20-fig.1) supported within the motor housing (¶[0036]-[0037]), the motor including an output shaft (22j-fig.4B) defining an axis (annotated fig.4A);
a fan (25-fig.4A) coupled for co-rotation with the output shaft (¶[0042]);
a bearing (41-fig.4A) configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis (¶[0042]); and
a bearing retainer (at least 474-fig.4B) axially and radially securing the bearing (¶[0013]) within the end cap (see fig.4(b) showing bearing 41 retained within the retainer within the end cap 47).
Claim 2: The power tool of claim 1, wherein the fan (25-fig.4A) includes a recess (25h-fig.4A) in which the bearing retainer (47-fig.4B) is at least partially received such that the bearing retainer and the bearing overlap the fan in a radial direction of the output shaft (¶[0049]).
Claim 3: The power tool of claim 1, wherein the end cap (47-fig.1) includes an aperture (472h-fig.3(A)) through which the bearing (41-fig.1) is accessible (41 is capable of being accessible via 472h- figs. 1-3(B)).
Claim 4: The power tool of claim 3, further comprising an end plate (12u-fig.4(A)) removably coupled to the end cap (¶[0050]), wherein the end plate is configured to cover the aperture when the end plate is coupled to the end cap (see fig.4(A) showing 472h covered by 12u; ¶[0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963) in view of Crosby (US 2017/0294819).
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 5: The power tool of claim 1.
Yoshikawa does not expressly teach a bearing is insert molded within the bearing retainer.
However, Crosby teaches a bearing (220-fig.3A) is insert molded within the bearing retainer (252-fig.4; “The rear rotor bearing 220 is positioned and secured inside the first bearing pocket 252 via, for example, heat-staking, insert-molding, clamping via a small fastener, or other known method.” ¶[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, by insert molding the bearing in the bearing retainer, as taught by Crosby, as a well-known way to retain bearings in a power tool. (Crosby ¶[0059])
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963) in view of Li (US 2017/0326712).
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 6: The power tool of claim 1, the output shaft (22b,22j-fig.1) includes a shaft such that rotation of the output shaft produces an axial force on the output shaft that is resisted by the bearing retainer (474-fig.3(B); ¶[0011]-[0013],[0043]-[0051]).
Yoshikawa does not expressly teach a gear assembly including a plurality of helical planet gears and an output shaft including a helical pinion meshed with the helical planet gears.
However, Li teaches a gear assembly (60-fig.3) including a plurality of helical planet gears (63-fig.3) and an output shaft (51-fig.4) including a helical pinion (71-fig.4) meshed with the helical planet gears (¶[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, by having a gearbox having helical gears, as taught by Li, for smoother performance, higher torque capacity, and increased durability.
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963) in view of Herr (US 2019/0291258).
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 7: The power tool of claim 1.
Yoshikawa does not expressly teach a bearing retainer includes a first wall extending parallel to the axis and opposed second and third walls extending transverse to the axis, wherein the first wall engages a radial side of the bearing to radially secure the bearing, and wherein the second and third walls engage opposite axial sides of the bearing to axially secure the bearing.
However, Herr teaches a bearing retainer (72a-fig.7) includes a first wall (annotated fig. 7) extending parallel to the axis and opposed second (annotated fig. 7) and third walls (annotated fig. 7) extending transverse to the axis,
wherein the first wall engages a radial side of the bearing to radially secure the bearing (see fig.7 showing the first wall of 72a radially securing the bearing 102a), and
wherein the second and third walls engage opposite axial sides of the bearing to axially secure the bearing (see fig.7 showing the second and third wall 72a axially securing the bearing 102a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, by using a bearing retainer that axially engages both sides of the bearing, as taught by Herr, to ensure the bearing does not axially shift along the shaft during operation of the tool.
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 11: The power tool of claim 1.
Yoshikawa does not expressly teach an anvil extending from the front housing portion.
However, Herr teaches an anvil (100a-fig.1) extending from the front housing portion (see fig.1 showing 100a extending from 74a; ¶[0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, by adding an anvil, as taught by Herr, to allow the motor to impart a torque on a workpiece, like tightening a bolt.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963) in view of Lin (US 2011/0083869).
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 12: The power tool of claim 1, an end cap (47-fig.1) is removably coupled to the motor housing (12u-fig.4(A); ¶[0050]).
Yoshikawa does not expressly teach a plurality of fasteners coupling an end cap to a housing.
However, Lin teaches a plurality of fasteners (35-figs.6-7) coupling an end cap (30-fig.6) to a housing (12-fig.7; ¶[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, by using fasteners to attach the end cap to the tool housing, as taught by Lin, as a well-known way to couple two items together that has the added benefit of being able to remove the screws if needed, therefore the coupling does not result in a permanent attachment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963) in view of Lin (US 2011/0083869), further in view of Crosby (US 2017/0294819).
Yoshikawa as modified by Lin teaches:
Claim 13: The power tool of claim 12.
Yoshikawa as modified by Lin does not expressly teach a bearing is insert molded within the bearing retainer.
However, Crosby teaches a bearing (220-fig.3A) is insert molded within the bearing retainer (252-fig.4; “The rear rotor bearing 220 is positioned and secured inside the first bearing pocket 252 via, for example, heat-staking, insert-molding, clamping via a small fastener, or other known method.” ¶[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa and Lin, by insert molding the bearing in the bearing retainer, as taught by Crosby, as a well-known way to retain bearings in a power tool. (Crosby ¶[0059]).
Claim(s) 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963) in view Lin (US 2011/0083869), further in view of Herr (US 2019/0291258).
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 14: A power tool (10-fig.5) comprising:
a housing (11-fig.5) including a motor housing defined by cooperating clamshell halves (“L” and “R”-fig.5; ¶[0035]), a front housing portion (12-fig.8) coupled to the motor housing portion (¶[0036]-[0037]), and an end cap (47-fig.1) removably coupled to the motor housing (¶[0050])
a motor (20-fig.1) supported within the motor housing (¶[0036]-[0037]), the motor including an output shaft (22j-fig.4B) defining an axis (annotated fig.4A);
a fan (25-fig.4a) coupled for co-rotation with the output shaft (¶[0042]);
a bearing (41-fig.4A) configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis (¶[0042]);
wherein the end cap (47-fig.1) includes a bearing retainer (at least 474-fig.4B).
Yoshikawa does not expressly teach a plurality of fasteners coupling an end cap to a housing.
However, Lin teaches a plurality of fasteners (35-figs.6-7) coupling an end cap (30-fig.6) to a housing (12-fig.7; ¶[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, by using fasteners to attach the end cap to the tool housing, as taught by Lin, as a well-known way to couple two items together that has the added benefit of being able to remove the screws if needed, therefore the coupling does not result in a permanent attachment.
Yoshikawa as modified by Lin does not expressly teach an anvil extending from the front housing portion; and a drive assembly configured to convert torque from the output shaft into a striking rotational force on the anvil, a bearing retainer with a first wall extending parallel to the axis and opposed second and third walls extending transverse to the axis, wherein the first wall engages a radial side of the bearing to radially secure the bearing, and wherein the second and third walls engage opposite axial sides of the bearing to axially secure the bearing.
However, Herr teaches an anvil (100a-fig.1) extending from the front housing portion (see fig.1 showing 100a extending from 74a; ¶[0025]); and
a drive assembly (16a-fig.2) configured to convert torque from the output shaft into a striking rotational force on the anvil (at least ¶[0025],[0004]),
a bearing retainer (72a-fig.7) with a first wall (annotated fig. 7) extending parallel to the axis and opposed second (annotated fig. 7) and third walls (annotated fig. 7) extending transverse to the axis,
wherein the first wall engages a radial side of the bearing to radially secure the bearing (see fig.7 showing the first wall of 72a radially securing the bearing 102a), and
wherein the second and third walls engage opposite axial sides of the bearing to axially secure the bearing (see fig.7 showing the second and third wall 72a axially securing the bearing 102a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa and Lin, by adding an anvil and using a bearing retainer that axially engages both sides of the bearing, as taught by Herr, to allow the motor to impart a torque on a workpiece, like tightening a bolt, and to ensure the bearing does not axially shift along the shaft during operation of the tool.
Yoshikawa as modified by Lin and Herr teaches:
Claim 16: The power tool of claim 14, wherein the fan (Yoshikawa: 25-fig.4A) includes a recess (Yoshikawa: 25h-fig.4A) in which the bearing retainer (Yoshikawa: 47-fig.4B) is at least partially received such that the bearing retainer and the bearing overlap the fan in a radial direction of the output shaft (Yoshikawa: ¶[0049]).
Yoshikawa teaches:
Claim 20: A power tool (10-fig.5) comprising:
a housing (11-fig.5) including a motor housing defined by cooperating clamshell halves (“L” and “R”-fig.5; ¶[0035]), a front housing portion (12-fig.8) coupled to the motor housing portion (¶[0036]-[0037]), and an end cap (47-fig.1) removably coupled to the motor housing (14u-fig.4(A)) opposite the front housing portion (¶[0050]);
a motor (20-fig.1) supported within the motor housing (¶[0036]-[0037]), the motor including an output shaft (22j-fig.4B) defining an axis (annotated fig.4A);
a first bearing (41-fig.1) configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis (¶[0042]);
a first bearing retainer (at least 474-fig.4(B)), and
wherein the first bearing retainer (474-fig.4B) supports the first bearing (41-fig.4A) within the end cap (see fig.4(b) showing bearing 41 retained within the retainer within the end cap 47).
Yoshikawa does not expressly teach a plurality of fasteners coupling an end cap to a housing.
However, Lin teaches a plurality of fasteners (35-figs.6-7) coupling an end cap (30-fig.6) to a housing (12-fig.7; ¶[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, by using fasteners to attach the end cap to the tool housing, as taught by Lin, as a well-known way to couple two items together that has the added benefit of being able to remove the screws if needed, therefore the coupling does not result in a permanent attachment.
Yoshikawa as modified by Lin does not expressly teach a first bearing and a second bearing, each bearing configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis; an anvil extending from the housing; a drive assembly at least partially disposed within the front housing portion, the drive assembly configured to convert torque from the output shaft into a striking rotational force on the anvil; a first bearing retainer with a first wall extending parallel to the axis and a second wall extending transverse to the axis; a second bearing retainer with a first wall extending parallel to the axis and a second wall extending transverse to the axis; wherein the first wall of the first bearing retainer engages a radial side of the first bearing to radially secure the first bearing, and the second wall of the first bearing retainer engages an axial side of the first bearing to axially secure the first bearing in a first direction, wherein the first wall of the second bearing retainer engages a radial side of the second bearing to radially secure the second bearing, and the second wall of the second bearing retainer engages an axial side of the second bearing to axially secure the second bearing in a second direction opposite the first direction.
However, Herr teaches a first bearing (102a-fig.2) and a second bearing (48a-fig.2), each bearing configured to support the output shaft for rotation about the axis (¶[0027]-[0028]);
an anvil (100a-fig.1) extending from the housing (see fig.1 showing 100a extending from 74a; ¶[0025]);
a drive assembly (16a-fig.2) at least partially disposed within the front housing portion (¶[0025]), the drive assembly (16a-fig.2) configured to convert torque from the output shaft into a striking rotational force on the anvil (at least ¶[0025],[0004]);
a first bearing retainer (annotated fig.7) with a first wall (annotated fig.7) extending parallel to the axis and a second wall (annotated fig.7) extending transverse to the axis;
a second bearing retainer (annotated fig.7) with a first wall (annotated fig.7) extending parallel to the axis and a second wall (annotated fig.7) extending transverse to the axis;
wherein the first wall of the first bearing retainer engages a radial side of the first bearing to radially secure the first bearing (see annotated fig.7 showing the first wall radially securing the bearing), and the second wall of the first bearing retainer engages an axial side of the first bearing to axially secure the first bearing in a first direction (see annotated fig.7 showing the second wall axially securing the bearing),
wherein the first wall of the second bearing retainer engages a radial side of the second bearing to radially secure the second bearing (see annotated fig.7 showing the first wall radially securing the bearing), and the second wall of the second bearing retainer engages an axial side of the second bearing to axially secure the second bearing in a second direction opposite the first direction (see annotated fig.7 showing the second wall axially securing the bearing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa and Lin, by using a bearing retainer that axially engages both sides of the bearing, as taught by Herr, to ensure the bearing does not axially shift along the shaft during operation of the tool.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2012/0080963) in view Lin (US 2011/0083869) and Herr (US 2019/0291258), further in view of Crosby (US 2017/0294819).
Yoshikawa as modified by Lin and Herr teaches:
Claim 15: The power tool of claim 14.
Yoshikawa as modified by Lin and Herr does not expressly teach a bearing is insert molded within the bearing retainer.
However, Crosby teaches a bearing (220-fig.3A) is insert molded within the bearing retainer (252-fig.4; “The rear rotor bearing 220 is positioned and secured inside the first bearing pocket 252 via, for example, heat-staking, insert-molding, clamping via a small fastener, or other known method.” ¶[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the power tool of Yoshikawa, Lin, and Herr, by insert molding the bearing in the bearing retainer, as taught by Crosby, as a well-known way to retain bearings in a power tool. (Crosby ¶[0059]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Any modification to the prior art structure to arrive at the claimed subject matter would have required a reworking of the structure and the principle of operation in a manner which would not have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the relevant art, especially since such modifications to the prior art structure would have gone beyond mere substitution or incorporation of a known structure capable of achieving predictable results. Any such modifications to the prior art structure in order to arrive at the claimed subject matter would have required the improper benefit of the teachings of Applicant' s disclosure. The specific limitations that are not taught in the prior are:
Claim 8: “the bearing retainer includes a bushing fixed within the aperture, and wherein the first wall is defined by the bushing.”
Claim 17: “the bearing retainer includes a bushing fixed within an aperture, and wherein the first wall is defined by the bushing.”
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731