DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-21 of this US application are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/1/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-9 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claims 2 and 19:
Step 1:
Claim 2 recites “A network-accessible platform”. The claim recites the network-accessible platform comprising one or more memories and one or more processors and therefore is a machine.
Claim 19 recites “A method”. The claim recites a series of steps and therefore is a process.
Step 2A Prong One:
Claims 2 and 19 recite the limitation “generate/generating” which specifically recites “generate/generating a knowledge graph from the transformed data, wherein the knowledge graph is used to enhance natural language search results;” These limitations are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other reciting one or more “memories” and one or more “processors”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. For example, “generate/generating” in the context of this claim encompasses a user mentally, and with the aid of pen and paper generating a knowledge graph from transformed data. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion).
Step 2A Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims 2 and 19 recite the additional elements “crawl data in a transaction system using at least one data crawler to obtain crawled data,” “process the crawled data using at least one data processing engine configured to transform the crawled data into transformed data;” “load the transformed data into a cognitive data layer, wherein the cognitive data layer is configured to index the transformed data, and wherein the transformed data in the cognitive data layer is searchable using a natural language voice interface;” and “display the knowledge graph, wherein the knowledge graph is configured to provide further context to a search of the cognitive data layer by displaying a visual map of a plurality of relationships between a plurality of business entities, a plurality of organization entities, or both.” The limitations amount to a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception includes collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results (See MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of using one or more “memories” and one or more “processors” to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 3 is dependent on the claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 3 recites the same abstract idea of claim 2. The claim also recites the additional elements “provide the natural language voice interface; and receive, from a user, a query for data in the cognitive data layer.” The limitations amount to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 4 is dependent on the claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 4 recites the same abstract idea of claim 2. The claim also recites the additional element “update the knowledge graph based on an update to the data in the cognitive data layer.” The limitation amounts to updating an activity log (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and monitoring audit log data relates to transactions or activities (MPEP 2106.05(h)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 is dependent on the claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 5 recites the same abstract idea of claim 2. The claim also recites the additional element “the knowledge graph is generated based on the plurality of relationships between the plurality of business entities, the plurality of organization entities, or both, stored in the cognitive data layer” which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significant more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 is dependent on the claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 6 recites the same abstract idea of claim 2. The claim also recites the additional element “reduce network bandwidth consumed by compressing the at least one data crawler.” The limitation amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, such as selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 7 is dependent on the claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 7 recites the same abstract idea of claim 2. The claim also recites the additional elements “analyze an audit trail log, wherein the audit trail log comprises a list of artificial intelligence algorithms used for selecting a recommendation; and based on analyzing the audit trail log, generate at least one recommendation to address the at least one specified condition.” The limitations amount to a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception includes collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results (See MPEP 2106.05 (h)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 is dependent on the claim 7 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 8 recites the same abstract idea of claim 2. The claim also recites the additional elements “analyze an audit trail log, wherein the audit trail log comprises a list of artificial intelligence algorithms used for selecting a recommendation; and based on analyzing the audit trail log, generate at least one recommendation to address the at least one specified condition.” The limitations amount to a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception includes collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results (See MPEP 2106.05 (h)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 9 is dependent on the claim 8 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 recites the same abstract idea of claim 2. The claim recites the additional elements “compare previous decisions to historical demand of a product; identify at least one accurate previous decision, wherein the at least one accurate previous decision accurately forecasted demand of the product;” which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significant more. The claim also recites the additional element “based on analyzing the audit trail log and the at least one accurate previous decision, generate the at least one recommendation to address the at least one specified condition.” The limitations amount to a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception includes collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results (See MPEP 2106.05 (h)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai et al. (US 2018/0039696, hereinafter “Zhai”) in view of Riscutia et al. (US 2021/0406263, hereinafter “Riscutia”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhai teaches A network-accessible platform, comprising: one or more memories configured to store non-transitory computer readable instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to ([0015]: In an embodiment, a system can comprise at least one hardware processor coupled to a memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, can implement any of the above functionality.):
crawl data in a transaction system using at least one data crawler to obtain crawled data ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Web crawler 120 can crawl the internet for data sources such as server 107 that can contain wiki-like articles, web pages, articles, and other content.),
process the crawled data using at least one data processing engine configured to transform the crawled data into transformed data ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Translation module 125 can provide a translation of one or more topics extracted from the data source to a language supported by the knowledge graph 160.);
load the transformed data into a cognitive data layer, wherein the cognitive data layer is configured to index the transformed data, and wherein the transformed data in the cognitive data layer is searchable using a natural language voice interface ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Translation module 125 can provide a translation of one or more topics extracted from the data source to a language supported by the knowledge graph 160. [0030]: A relationship in non-structured data, such as free-form text, can be extracted by natural language parsing of the text. For example, a sentence in the data source may state, “The United States is also known as ‘America,’ or ‘U.S.A.’”. The phrase, “is also known as,” is an alias relationship between topic entity “United States,” and the entities “America” and “U.S.A.” [0068]: IO devices 607 may include an audio device. An audio device may include a speaker and/or a microphone to facilitate voice-enabled functions, such as voice recognition, voice replication, digital recording, and/or telephony functions.);
generate a knowledge graph from the transformed data, wherein the knowledge graph is used to enhance natural language search results ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Sub-graph generation module 135 can generate a sub-graph of the data source using a main topic of the data source and relationships between the main topic and one or more additional topics within the data source. [0031]: Sub-graph generation module 135 can generate a sub-graph of entities and relationships for the data source and the knowledge graph 160. A sub-graph can have at its center the topic entity, e.g. “United States.” Relationships between entity node United States and other entities in the data source are added as arcs (edges) in the sub-graph between the topic entity node and other entity nodes.).
Zhai does not explicitly teach display the knowledge graph, wherein the knowledge graph is configured to provide further context to a search of the cognitive data layer by displaying a visual map of a plurality of relationships between a plurality of business entities, a plurality of organization entities, or both.
Riscutia teaches display the knowledge graph, wherein the knowledge graph is configured to provide further context to a search of the cognitive data layer by displaying a visual map of a plurality of relationships between a plurality of business entities, a plurality of organization entities, or both ([0042]: The knowledge graph may also allow users to see, for any given report, the tables used by the report. For example, the user interface may allow users to select a report. The user interface may run a query on the knowledge graph to determine, in an automated way, the queries used to generate the report and the tables used by the queries. The user interface may display this information to the user. [0078]: Users may view the reports 120 through the user interface 128. [0093]: The knowledge graph 202 may include entities other than those shown. For example, the knowledge graph 202 may include entities for reports, business terms, or metrics. The knowledge graph 202 may include connections indicating relationships among entities representing the reports, the business terms, the metrics, the tables 216, and the queries 218. [0101]: For example, in FIG. 2, the entities 204 may be nodes and the connections 206 may be edges. Nodes and links may have associated properties. Each node may represent an entity to which information can be attached (such as one of the tables 216a-d). Links connect nodes to other nodes, and each link may represent a relationship between connected entities.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knowledge graph of Zhai with the teaching about displaying the reports of Riscutia because it would improve usability of large data sets used to generate reports and allow organizations and users to make better and more efficient use of the organization's data and reports. Users can access information about the meaning of the organization's data and reports (Riscutia, [0035] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhai in view of Riscutia teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: provide the natural language voice interface (Zhai, [0021]: As well, natural language queries allow the user to type a question in the same form one would ask it to a human. [0030]: A relationship in non-structured data, such as free-form text, can be extracted by natural language parsing of the text. [0068]: IO devices 607 may include an audio device. An audio device may include a speaker and/or a microphone to facilitate voice-enabled functions, such as voice recognition, voice replication, digital recording, and/or telephony functions.); and
receive, from a user, a query for data in the cognitive data layer (Zhai, [0021]: As well, natural language queries allow the user to type a question in the same form one would ask it to a human. [0024]: For example, a client user application 111 of user device 101, may send a search query to server 104 and the search query is received by search engine 110 via an interface over network 103. In response to the search query, search engine 110 extracts one or more keywords from the search query, the keywords representing topics in the knowledge graph 160.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhai in view of Riscutia teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: update the knowledge graph based on an update to the data in the cognitive data layer (Zhai, [0049]: If the similarity score is greater than the high threshold value, then in operation 355 the update knowledge graph module 155 can merge the data source topic entity sub-graph X with the candidate entity sub-graph A of the knowledge graph 160.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhai in view of Riscutia teaches wherein the knowledge graph is generated based on the plurality of relationships between the plurality of business entities, the plurality of organization entities, or both, stored in the cognitive data layer (Riscutia, [0093]: The knowledge graph 202 may include entities other than those shown. For example, the knowledge graph 202 may include entities for reports, business terms, or metrics. The knowledge graph 202 may include connections indicating relationships among entities representing the reports, the business terms, the metrics, the tables 216, and the queries 218. [0101]: For example, in FIG. 2, the entities 204 may be nodes and the connections 206 may be edges. Nodes and links may have associated properties. Each node may represent an entity to which information can be attached (such as one of the tables 216a-d). Links connect nodes to other nodes, and each link may represent a relationship between connected entities.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knowledge graph of Zhai with the teaching about displaying the reports of Riscutia because it would improve usability of large data sets used to generate reports and allow organizations and users to make better and more efficient use of the organization's data and reports. Users can access information about the meaning of the organization's data and reports (Riscutia, [0035] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhai in view of Riscutia teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: analyze the transformed data in the cognitive data layer; based on analyzing the transformed data in the cognitive data layer, detect at least one specified condition in the cognitive data layer (Riscutia, [0036]: Analyzing the data and generating the reports may involve running queries against the data model. The organization may use insights gained from analyzing the data and the reports to better achieve its goals. [0041]: The knowledge graph may facilitate fast and automated responses to data quality issues in the underlying data. For example, a data crawler may discover a data quality issue in one table in the data model. The data crawler may run a query on the knowledge graph to determine any queries and reports that rely on the table. The data crawler may notify users, such as through the user interface, that certain reports may be impacted by the data quality issues. [0044]: Users can access information about the meaning of the organization's data and reports. They may receive automatic notifications about specific reports that may be experiencing data quality issues.); and
report the at least one specified condition (Riscutia, [0074]: After building the knowledge graph 102, the graph builder 108 may periodically crawl the data, the queries 118a, 118b, and the reports 120. The knowledge graph 102 may crawl the data, the queries 118a, 118b, and the reports 120 on a predetermined schedule, in response to a user request, in response to a notification about a change to the data, the queries 118a, 118b, or the reports 120, or in response to a notification about an issue with respect to the data, the queries 118a, 118b, or the reports 120. [0076]: The graph builder 108 may include a notification system 112. The notification system 112 may provide an alert regarding any changes detected between the data and the queries 118a, 118b stored in the data storage systems 114a, 114b and the information stored in the entities 104 or the connections 106 of the knowledge graph 102. The notification system 112 may provide the alert through the user access point 126 or directly to users.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knowledge graph of Zhai with the teaching about displaying the reports of Riscutia because it would improve usability of large data sets used to generate reports and allow organizations and users to make better and more efficient use of the organization's data and reports. Users can access information about the meaning of the organization's data and reports (Riscutia, [0035] and [0044]).
Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai in view of Riscutia and further in view of Vignali (US 2017/0237824).
Regarding claim 6, Zhai in view of Riscutia teaches the method of claim 2 as discussed above. Zhai in view of Riscutia does not explicitly teach wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: reduce network bandwidth consumed by compressing the at least one data crawler.
Vignali teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: reduce network bandwidth consumed by compressing the at least one data crawler ([0079] and Fig. 4: That information may then be used by the Crawler & Multicast server 250 (FIG. 4), for instance the multicast server 250 can transmit the most popular sites to one or more Remote Proxies 220 via the multicast satellite 300a. For a particular web site domain, the crawler 250 navigates to that page via the server 240, obtains all the objects (Images, Videos, etc.), creates a compressed package, and sends it over the Multicast network satellite 300a (which may differ from the Unicast Network 300b for that particular area covered by the Satellite footprint). Examiner interprets that the crawler navigates to that page via the server, obtains all the objects, creates a compressed package as claimed crawl data in a transaction system using at least one data crawler run with multiple connectors in a cluster, reducing network bandwidth consumed by compressing the at least one data crawler.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knowledge graph of Zhai and Riscutia with the teaching about creating the compressed package of Vignali because it would offer advantages like faster performance, lower costs, improved security, and better user experience by reducing congestion, preventing buffering, and efficiently managing data, making networks more resilient and cost-effective for businesses and homes.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai in view of Riscutia and further in view of Hermoni et al. (US 10,764,150, hereinafter “Hermoni”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhai in view of Riscutia teaches the method of claim 7 as discussed above. Zhai in view of Riscutia does not explicitly teach wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: analyze an audit trail log, wherein the audit trail log comprises a list of artificial intelligence algorithms used for selecting a recommendation; and based on analyzing the audit trail log, generate at least one recommendation to address the at least one specified condition.
Hermoni teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: analyze an audit trail log, wherein the audit trail log comprises a list of artificial intelligence algorithms used for selecting a recommendation (column 4 lines 51-58: Additionally, a plurality of artificial intelligence (AI) models is obtained, wherein each AI model of the plurality of AI models is configured to detect a respective classifier in the log data, the respective classifier preceding an instance of the at least one network situation. See operation 104. Further, the log data is analyzed with a first AI model of the plurality of AI models to detect at least one occurrence of the respective classifier.); and
based on analyzing the audit trail log, generate at least one recommendation to address the at least one specified condition (col. 8 ln 33-44: In one embodiment, a configuration change may be analyzed, determined and affected by an AI-based network optimizing system 234 and/or orchestration system 238 using one or more artificial intelligence (AI) engines. Such an AI-engine may use AI rules (e.g., AI-Model(s)), which may be created by an AI-engine using deep learning and/or machine learning technology to analyze training data based on, or sourced from, log data. For example, the AI-based network optimizing system 234 and/or orchestration system 238 may use AI rules (AI-Models) to analyze load-changes, determine a configuration change, and/or effect an appropriate configuration change.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knowledge graph of Zhai and Riscutia with the teaching about the plurality of artificial intelligence (AI) models of Hermoni because the AI models use this data to learn, e.g., by detecting a respective classifier in the log data, and feed this learning back into the system, enabling closed-loop and continuous improvement.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai in view of Riscutia, in view of Hermoni and further in view of Longman et al. (US 2005/0114225, hereinafter “Longman”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhai in view of Riscutia and Hermoni teaches the method of claim 8 as discussed above. Zhai in view of Riscutia and Hermoni does not explicitly teach wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: compare previous decisions to historical demand of a product; identify at least one accurate previous decision, wherein the at least one accurate previous decision accurately forecasted demand of the product; and based on analyzing the audit trail log and the at least one accurate previous decision, generate the at least one recommendation to address the at least one specified condition.
Longman teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: compare previous decisions to historical demand of a product; identify at least one accurate previous decision, wherein the at least one accurate previous decision accurately forecasted demand of the product; and based on analyzing the audit trail log and the at least one accurate previous decision, generate the at least one recommendation to address the at least one specified condition ([0086]: For instance, if in the previous round, demand for such product far exceeded the maximum availability, then the seller is recommended to increase the quantity availability in the next round to match the demand in the last round. On the Contrary, if in the previous round, demand for such product is less than the available quantity, then the seller is recommended to reduce the quantity availability in the next round to match the demand in the last round. It is however not the case that seller must set supply amount to match previous demand amount since such method need not result in the most effective price discovery.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knowledge graph of Zhai, Riscutia and Hermoni with the teaching about product action of Longman because sellers should supply sufficient quantity of such products during said auction process so that shortage in supply will not alter the true market price of the products (Longman, [0086]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai in view of Riscutia and further in view of Dixit et al. (US 2004/0086095, hereinafter “Dixit”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhai in view of Riscutia teaches the method of claim 2 as discussed above. Zhai in view of Riscutia does not explicitly teach wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: provide a drag and drop interface and a library of pre-defined visual constructs for building one or more skills; and build, using a cognitive development kit, a specific skill application on top of a cognitive operating system.
Dixit teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: provide a drag and drop interface and a library of pre-defined visual constructs for building one or more skills ([0144]: If the sender elects to compose a new applet, the messaging application invokes 520 the applet composition application. An applet dialog builder is then displayed 525 on the PC screen by the applet composition application. The applet dialog builder screen allows the sender to compose 530 an applet using a GUI. The sender can record prompts, specify grammar to recognize at different stages of the applet dialog, specify external services and associated parameters, and embed other applets from the applet library. The GUI presents an interface that allows the applet creator to specify the different parts of the application. For example, a drag-and-drop interface typically presents a template of actions including but not limited to play prompt, present options, request speech, request digits, transfer, notify, invoke external service, and include applet from library.); and
build, using a cognitive development kit, a specific skill application on top of a cognitive operating system ([0144]: The GUI presents an interface that allows the applet creator to specify the different parts of the application. For example, a drag-and-drop interface typically presents a template of actions including but not limited to play prompt, present options, request speech, request digits, transfer, notify, invoke external service, and include applet from library… The applet can be built locally by running the applet composition application locally on the device or the applet can be composed on the server by using the web browser on the device. If the applet is built on the device, it is uploaded 535 along with all associated data to the server.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knowledge graph of Zhai and Riscutia with the teaching about creating the drag and drop interface of Dixit because it would make digital interactions intuitive, increase user productivity, and lower barriers for non-coders, allow users to visually manipulate elements like files, content, or design components with simple clicks and drags, which speeds up tasks, reduces the need for complex commands, and fosters greater control and engagement.
Claims 11, 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixit et al. (US 2004/0086095, hereinafter “Dixit”) in view of Zhai .
Regarding claim 11, Dixit teaches A network-accessible platform ([0011]: discussing about an application server), comprising:
one or more memories configured to store non-transitory computer readable instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to ([0011]: discussing about using a personal computer):
provide, by a cognitive development kit, a drag and drop interface and a library of pre-defined visual constructs for building one or more skill applications on top of a cognitive operating system ([0144]: If the sender elects to compose a new applet, the messaging application invokes 520 the applet composition application. An applet dialog builder is then displayed 525 on the PC screen by the applet composition application. The applet dialog builder screen allows the sender to compose 530 an applet using a GUI. The sender can record prompts, specify grammar to recognize at different stages of the applet dialog, specify external services and associated parameters, and embed other applets from the applet library. The GUI presents an interface that allows the applet creator to specify the different parts of the application. For example, a drag-and-drop interface typically presents a template of actions including but not limited to play prompt, present options, request speech, request digits, transfer, notify, invoke external service, and include applet from library.);
build, using the drag and drop interface and the library of pre-defined visual constructs, a skill application on top of the cognitive operating system ([0144]: The GUI presents an interface that allows the applet creator to specify the different parts of the application. For example, a drag-and-drop interface typically presents a template of actions including but not limited to play prompt, present options, request speech, request digits, transfer, notify, invoke external service, and include applet from library… The applet can be built locally by running the applet composition application locally on the device or the applet can be composed on the server by using the web browser on the device. If the applet is built on the device, it is uploaded 535 along with all associated data to the server.);
provide, by the skill application, the functionality of the skill application based on processing the transformed data ([0119]: If other functions than these typical functions are to be performed by the voice mail message applet, a person of ordinary skill in the art can add to or change the templates or create a new template, and augment the parameter collection process and the composer application to allow such functions to be incorporated into the applet to be created. [0141]: Upon completion of the applet composition dialog and any accompanying voicemail message, the messaging application 130 sends the message with the embedded applet to the message deposit server 135. As discussed later herein, the applet execution application 140 is invoked during retrieval of the applet.).
Dixit does not explicitly teach wherein the skill application is configured to perform a functionality and is associated with at least one data crawler associated with the functionality; crawl, using the at least one data crawler associated with the skill application, data in a transaction system associated with the functionality to obtain crawled data, transform, by at least one data processing engine associated with the skill application, the crawled data into transformed data; load, by the skill application, the transformed data into a cognitive data layer of the network-accessible platform; and process, by the skill application, the transformed data in the cognitive data layer.
Zhai teaches wherein the skill application is configured to perform a functionality and is associated with at least one data crawler associated with the functionality ([0023]: Online knowledge graph system 115 can include search engine 110, web crawler 120, translation module 125, entity extraction module 130, sub-graph generation module 135, sub-graph correlation module 140, similarity scoring module 145, manual processing interface 150, update knowledge graph module 155, and knowledge graph 160.);
crawl, using the at least one data crawler associated with the skill application, data in a transaction system associated with the functionality to obtain crawled data ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Web crawler 120 can crawl the internet for data sources such as server 107 that can contain wiki-like articles, web pages, articles, and other content.),
transform, by at least one data processing engine associated with the skill application, the crawled data into transformed data ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Translation module 125 can provide a translation of one or more topics extracted from the data source to a language supported by the knowledge graph 160.);
load, by the skill application, the transformed data into a cognitive data layer of the network-accessible platform ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Translation module 125 can provide a translation of one or more topics extracted from the data source to a language supported by the knowledge graph 160.); and
process, by the skill application, the transformed data in the cognitive data layer ([0026] and Fig. 1B: Sub-graph generation module 135 can generate a sub-graph of the data source using a main topic of the data source and relationships between the main topic and one or more additional topics within the data source.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message applet of Dixit with the teaching about the knowledge graph of Zhai because it would enhance semantic search with contextual understanding, improve AI/ML by providing structured knowledge, enable complex cross-functional analysis, boost decision-making with holistic insights, and ultimately create flexible, scalable, and intelligent data systems.
Regarding claim 13, Dixit in view of Zhai teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions for building the skill application, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: add visualization, logic, actions, machine learning microservices, user-defined code, or any combination thereof, to the skill application (Dixit, [0119]: If other functions than these typical functions are to be performed by the voice mail message applet, a person of ordinary skill in the art can add to or change the templates or create a new template, and augment the parameter collection process and the composer application to allow such functions to be incorporated into the applet to be created. [0136]: The above processes are extensible to allow additional interaction types to be added to the applet composition application.).
Regarding claim 14, Dixit in view of Zhai teaches wherein the skill application is built in a first environment of the network-accessible platform, and wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: deploy the skill application in another environment of the network-accessible platform (Dixit, [0023] In situations involving group messaging, the system provides a global storage area to store the results of the recipients' inputs received during execution of the applet or applets attached to the group message. The stored results can be sent to the message composer/sender after all messages have been read. [0107]: The application server unit 25 provides a framework for running applications. Based upon the sender's inputs, the application server unit 25 invokes the appropriate application. Examples include a messaging application, an applet composer application, and an applet execution application. The applications generate documents such as XML documents that are interpreted by the interpreter running on the media access unit 20. For example, VoiceXML or SALT could be used for voice-based applications. The application server unit 25 could host a standard environment such as the Java 2 Platform, Enterprise Edition, (J2EE) or could host a proprietary environment.).
Regarding claim 16, Dixit in view of Zhai teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: display, by the network-accessible platform, a plurality of skill applications provided by the network-accessible platform (Dixit, [0144]: If the sender elects to compose a new applet, the messaging application invokes 520 the applet composition application. An applet dialog builder is then displayed 525 on the PC screen by the applet composition application. The applet dialog builder screen allows the sender to compose 530 an applet using a GUI. The sender can record prompts, specify grammar to recognize at different stages of the applet dialog, specify external services and associated parameters, and embed other applets from the applet library. The GUI presents an interface that allows the applet creator to specify the different parts of the application. For example, a drag-and-drop interface typically presents a template of actions including but not limited to play prompt, present options, request speech, request digits, transfer, notify, invoke external service, and include applet from library.).
Regarding claim 17, Dixit in view of Zhai teaches wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: display, by the network-accessible platform, in response to a selection of the skill application from the plurality of skill applications, one or more key performance indicators of the skill application, one or more insights about the skill application, or both (Dixit, [0144]: If the sender elects to compose a new applet, the messaging application invokes 520 the applet composition application. An applet dialog builder is then displayed 525 on the PC screen by the applet composition application. The applet dialog builder screen allows the sender to compose 530 an applet using a GUI. The sender can record prompts, specify grammar to recognize at different stages of the applet dialog, specify external services and associated parameters, and embed other applets from the applet library. The GUI presents an interface that allows the applet creator to specify the different parts of the application. For example, a drag-and-drop interface typically presents a template of actions including but not limited to play prompt, present options, request speech, request digits, transfer, notify, invoke external service, and include applet from library.).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixit in view of Zhai, and further in view of Sathish (US 2010/0094922).
Regarding claim 12, Dixit in view of Zhai teaches the platform of claim 11 as discussed above. Dixit in view of Zhai does not explicitly teach wherein the skill application is visually represented in a tree-like interface that is processed using depth-first processing.
Sathish teaches wherein the skill application is visually represented in a tree-like interface that is processed using depth-first processing ([0005]: Delivery Context Client Interface (DCCI) is a mechanism through which applications can access device data such as delivery context information using, for example, a Document Object Model (DOM) like interface. As such, DCCI may act as a consumer interface for web applications (consumers) and providers of data to a tree-like interface. [0043]: With respect to local properties, each local property may use the provider interface 104 to get an entry within the DCCI tree of the DCCI model 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message applet of Dixit and Zhai with the teaching about the tree-like interface of Sathish because it would present large amounts of information compactly and improve findability and comprehension by showing parent-child relationships clearly.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixit in view of Zhai, and further in view of Longman et al. (US 2005/0114225, hereinafter “Longman”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhai in view of Riscutia and Hermoni teaches the platform of claim 11 as discussed above. Zhai in view of Riscutia and Hermoni does not explicitly teach wherein the functionality is a touchless forecasting skill, and wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: apply, by the skill application, a prediction algorithm to the transformed data in the cognitive data layer; select, by the skill application, a plurality of forecasts for a plurality of stock keeping units; store, by the skill application, the plurality of forecasts in the cognitive data layer; and upload, by the skill application, the plurality of forecasts into a customer planning system.
Longman teaches wherein the functionality is a touchless forecasting skill, and wherein the non-transitory computer readable instructions, are further executable, individually or collectively, by the one or more processors to cause the network-accessible platform to: apply, by the skill application, a prediction algorithm to the transformed data in the cognitive data layer; select, by the skill application, a plurality of forecasts for a plurality of stock keeping units ([0086]: Because the number of bidders available during a particular period varies, demand and supply for a particular product auctioned during such a period also fluctuates. New Product Auctions are for products that will be potentially mass produced in the future and are not unique items, so sellers should supply sufficient quantity of such products during said auction process so that shortage in supply will not alter the true market price of the products. The number of participating buyers affects the outcome of the winning bid for each round, thus it is recommended that seller should adjust product available quantity in each round depending on the participation number in the previous round in order to set an optimal quantity for price discovery purpose.);
store, by the skill application, the plurality of forecasts in the cognitive data layer; and upload, by the skill application, the plurality of forecasts into a customer planning system ([0086]: For instance, if in the previous round, demand for such product far exceeded the maximum availability, then the seller is recommended to increase the quantity availability in the next round to match the demand in the last round. On the Contrary, if in the previous round, demand for such product is less than the available quantity, then the seller is recommended to reduce the quantity availability in the next round to match the demand in the last round. It is however not the case that seller must set supply amount to match previous demand amount since such method need not result in the most effective price discovery.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message applet of Dixit and Zhai with the teaching about product action of Longman because sellers should supply sufficient quantity of such products during said auction process so that shortage in supply will not alter the true market price of the products (Longman, [0086]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixit in view of Zhai, and further in view of Cella et al. (US 2021/0133670, hereinafter “Cella”).
Regarding claim 18, Zhai in view of Riscutia and Hermoni teaches the platform of claim 11 as discussed above. Zhai in view of Riscutia and Hermoni does not explicitly teach wherein the skill application is a plant maintenance skill application, a procurement skill application, a forecast attainment skill application, an inventory planning skill application, a demand forecasting skill application, a material shipping skill application, or a distribution center capacity skill application.
Cella teaches wherein the skill application is a plant maintenance skill application, a procurement skill application, a forecast attainment skill application, an inventory planning skill application, a demand forecasting skill application, a material shipping skill application, or a distribution center capacity skill application ([0087]: In embodiments, the set of adaptive intelligence systems that provide coordinated artificial intelligence is configured through the user interface for at least two demand management applications selected from the list consisting of a demand planning application, a demand prediction application, a sales application, a future demand aggregation application, a marketing application, an advertising application, an e-commerce application, a marketing analytics application, a customer relationship management application, a search engine optimization application, a sales management application, an advertising network application, a behavioral tracking application, a marketing analytics application, a location-based product or service-targeting application, a collaborative filtering application, a recommendation engine for a product or service.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message applet of Dixit and Zhai with the teaching about the adaptive intelligence system of Cella because it may provide coordinated intelligence for a specific operator and/or enterprise that participates in the supply chain for the category of goods (Cella, [0088]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gunderson et al. (US 2014/0101572) discloses that the graphical user interface 400 comprises a navigation bar 402 that includes a first plurality of tiles 404-410 that, when selected, cause particular functionality to be enabled.
Kirkwood (US 2008/0005024) discloses that crawling server 33 may be able to obtain fully-formed authenticated and encrypted documents from information servers 21 and 23, or it may be limited to data scraping web pages found on those servers for the necessary information, or obtaining full or partial information in some other way.
Contact Information
/PHONG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156
January 19, 2026