Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “SOC” should be spelled out. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-10,12-17,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN110828918A.
Regarding claims 1,8,15, CN110828918A discloses a control method for a battery heating system (¶[0032]),a battery heating system (¶[0032]), an electric vehicle (¶[0006-0020]), wherein the battery heating system comprises a supercapacitor and a pulse control unit (¶[0031] “battery management unit”), and the control method comprises:
obtaining a temperature value and an SOC value of a power battery (¶[0031-0033] “SOC” and “temperature data of the power battery” are obtained); and
issuing a heating instruction to the pulse control unit when the temperature value is lower than a predetermined temperature threshold and the SOC value is higher than a predetermined charge threshold, to allow the pulse control unit to control, based on the heating instruction, bi-directional energy flow between the power battery and the supercapacitor by means of a pulse current, to heat the power battery (¶[0034,0039]).
Regarding claims 2,9,16, CN110828918A discloses the control method for the battery heating system wherein the energy flow between the power battery and the supercapacitor is performed alternately (¶[0014,0015,0041-0045] FIG 2).
Regarding claims 3,10,17, CN110828918A discloses the control method for the battery heating system wherein the pulse control unit firstly controls the power battery to output the pulse current to the supercapacitor, and whereafter controls the supercapacitor to output the pulse current to the power battery(¶[0014,0015,0041-0045] FIG 2).
Regarding claims 5,12,19, CN110828918A discloses the control method for the battery heating system further comprising: issuing a stop heating instruction to the pulse control unit to control, by the pulse control unit, to stop heating the power battery, when the temperature value is higher than or equal to the predetermined temperature threshold or the SOC value is lower than or equal to the predetermined charge threshold (¶[0034,0045]).
Regarding claims 6,13,20, CN110828918A discloses the control method for the battery heating system further comprising: controlling the supercapacitor to supply power to a low-voltage onboard electrical device after the heating for the power battery is stopped.
Regarding claims 7,14, CN110828918A discloses the control method for the battery heating system wherein the power supplied to the electrical device is excessive electrical energy output during the heating process and stored by the supercapacitor (¶[0032-0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,11,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110828918A in view of CN112510272A.
Regarding claims 4,11,18, CN110828918A discloses the control method for the battery heating system except wherein an amplitude and a frequency of the pulse current are determined based on the temperature value and the SOC value of the power battery.
As known in the art, for example, CN112510272A discloses wherein an amplitude and a frequency of the pulse current are determined based on the temperature value and the SOC value of the power battery (¶[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to use such features taught by CN112510272A because such a modification would have been a mere art recognized equivalent scheme.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fasching (US 2022/0190619) discloses pulsed charging and heating for energy sources.
/JOSEPH CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849