DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Charugundla (US Pub 2014/0357226).
A computer-implemented system for providing user chat by location functionality, said computer-implemented system comprising:
configuring two or more client devices for communicating wirelessly over a network with a server (via configuring user equipments 134 for communicating over a network with communication system102; see fig. 1; also see paragraph [0005])
configuring the server for communicating wirelessly over the network with each of the two or more client devices (configuring the communication system 102 for wirelessly over the network with each of the two or more user equipments 134; see fig. 1; also see paragraph [0005])
configuring each of two or more client devices for displaying a push-to-talk button, with toggling of the push-to-talk button thereby enabling voice communicating with at least a portion of the other of the two or more client devices (via displaying push to talk button; see fig. 4; also see paragraph [0007]);
configuring the server for limiting the voice communicating to being only with the other of the two or more client devices positioned within a threshold radial distance (via limiting the communication to equipments positioning within a geographic zone; see paragraph [0007]);
configuring each of the two or more client devices for setting of a respective said threshold distance (via configuring user equipments to define the geographic zone; see paragraph [0005]- [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charugundla (US Pub 2014/0357226) in view of Hernoud et al. (US Pub 2016/0227376).
As of claim 2, Chargundla discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, configuring each of the two or more client devices for displaying an interactive map, and for positioning on the interactive map a respective icon for each of the two or more client devices at its GPS location.
Hernoud discloses a system for providing user chat by location functionality comprising the function of configuring each of the two or more client devices for displaying an interactive map, and for positioning on the interactive map a respective icon for each of the two or more client devices at its GPS location (see fig. 13; also see paragraph [0107]).
From the teaching of Hernoud it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Chargundla to include the function of displaying location of other devices as taught by Hernoud in order to assist the user in determining location of other devices.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charugundla (US Pub 2014/0357226) in view of Hernoud et al. (US Pub 2016/0227376) further in view of Bridge et al. (US Pub 2014/0066105).
As of claims 3-4, combination of Charugundla and Hernoud discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 2 above, Hernoud further discloses that the user can perform text communication with the other users (see paragraph [0016]), however the it does not disclose displaying a speech bubble
Bridge discloses a communication system wherien a speech bubble 506 containing the text of communication is displayed in proximity to the icon of the user device (see figs. 4A or 4B; also see paragraph [0041]-[0042]).
From the teaching of Bridge, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of combination of Charugundla and Hernoud to include the function of displaying speech bubble containing text as taught by Bridge in order to display location and messages during a communication session.
Conclusion
/NABIL H SYED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689