DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Ref Nos. 17, 56 in Fig. 2; and Ref Nos. 21, and 26 in Fig. 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because “to not run a flow cycle” in line 1 should be --to not run the flow cycle--.
Claim 11 is objected to because “the liquid catalysts is dependent” in lines 1-2 should be --the liquid catalyst
Claim 12 is objected to because “the liquid catalysts” in line 1 should be ----the liquid catalyst
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (U.S. 2012/0118387).
Re claim 10:
Johnson discloses a method (Figs. 1A-1B), comprising:
initiating a run cycle of gas flow (see Fig. 1B at arrows and Para 19) to a turbocharger (see Fig. 1B at “Turbocharger” and Para 16 - “…Air intake 102 may comprise a system or device for pressurizing air, such as, for example, a turbocharger…”) in an engine (see Fig. 1b and Para 15 - “…a system 100 for delivering a catalyst to an internal combustion engine…an engine air intake 102…”)(see Figs. 1A-1B and Paras 19-21);
drawing a liquid catalyst (see Fig. 1B at 106 and Para 18 - “…Catalyst reservoir 106 may… hold a catalyst…” (see also Para 35)) into the gas flow (see Figs. 1A-1B and Paras 19-21); and
nebulizing the liquid catalyst (see Fig. 1B at 106) into the gas flow prior to the gas flow reaching the turbocharger (see Fig. 1B at “Turbocharger”)(see Figs. 1A-1B, Para 18 - “…catalyst reservoir 106 comprises a nebulizer…” and Para 7 - “…pressurized air may be used to generate a mist by flowing it to a device, such as a passive nebulizer, which may be coupled to, or part of a catalytic reservoir. Thus, in various embodiments, a mist may be generated instead of, or in addition to, creating a catalytic aerosol…”).
Re claim 11:
Johnson discloses the method (Figs. 1A-1B) of claim 10 (as described above), further comprising determining a rate of nebulization of the liquid catalysts (see Fig. 1B at 106) is dependent on a size of the engine (see Fig. 1B and Paras 6-7 and 38 - “…methods disclosed herein may regulate and deliver a prescribed Volume of metered air to a catalyst reservoir based, for example, on a size of a restrictor (e.g., a filter and/or a valve), or the load of the engine. More particularly, a check valve may be included, in which case air flow through a catalyst reservoir may be reduced or cut off, as for example, when an engine to which the systems are coupled is operating at a reduced load…”).
Re claim 12:
Johnson discloses the method (Figs. 1A-1B) of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the rate of nebulization of the liquid catalysts (see Fig. 1B at 106) is dependent on a fuel rate consumption of the engine (see Fig. 1B and Paras 6-7 and 38 - “…methods disclosed herein may regulate and deliver a prescribed Volume of metered air to a catalyst reservoir based, for example, on a size of a restrictor (e.g., a filter and/or a valve), or the load of the engine. More particularly, a check valve may be included, in which case air flow through a catalyst reservoir may be reduced or cut off, as for example, when an engine to which the systems are coupled is operating at a reduced load, such as idle…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claim 1:
Johnson discloses a catalyst injection system (Fig. 1A-1B), comprising:
a catalyst reservoir (106, catalyst reservoir - Para 15) configured to hold a liquid catalyst (see Fig. 1B and Paras 18 and 35);
an intake port (10a, reservoir input - Para 34) on the catalyst reservoir (106)(see Fig. 1B);
an output port (10b, reservoir output - Para 34) coupled to the catalyst reservoir (106)(see Fig. 1B), wherein the output port (10b) is situated to connect to a turbocharger (see Fig. 1B at “Turbocharger” and Para 16 - “…Air intake 102 may comprise a system or device for pressurizing air, such as, for example, a turbocharger…”) of an engine (Para 15 - “…a system 100 for delivering a catalyst to an internal combustion engine…”)(see Fig. 1B);
a fluid passage (4, air hose - Para 20) disposed between the intake port (10a) and the output port (10b)(see Fig. 1B);
a nebulizer (see Fig. 1B at 106 and Para 18 - “…catalyst reservoir 106 comprises a nebulizer…”) coupled to the catalyst reservoir (106)(see Fig. 1B and Para 18), wherein the nebulizer is configured to nebulize the liquid catalyst into the gas flow prior to the gas flow reaching the turbocharger (see Fig. 1B and Paras 18-21).
Miller (U.S. 2010/0212415) teaches a catalyst injection system (510, system - Para 105 (see Fig. 5)) comprising a first pump (140, pump - Para 55) coupled to a catalyst reservoir (130, enclosure - Para 55 (see Fig. 5 and Para 55)).
However, It would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have included the pump of Miller in the system of Johnson because doing so would destroy the principle of operation of Johnson as Johnson is expressly for the purpose of removing a pump (Johnson; Paras 38 and 40).
Claims 1-9 are allowed and claims 13-14 would be allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “first pump coupled to the catalyst reservoir, configured to generate a gas flow through the fluid passage and out of the output port to the turbocharger” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 1-9.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “determining whether a fluid level of the liquid catalyst is sufficient to initiate the run cycle” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 13-14.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by one or more references.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 8/14/26