DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,914. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 do not claim any structure not already claimed in claims 1-8 of USP ‘914.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0327134 to Lundrigan et al. in view of US 9,193,063 to Huang.
Regarding claim 1 Lundrigan ‘134 discloses a support platform for a modular storage utility module comprising: a first back plate 25; a first face plate 90 coupled to the first back plate 25 (Figs. 3 and 4A – paras 0032-0034); and a first female coupler 125 collectively defined by the first back plate 25 and the first face plate 90, the first female coupler 125 comprising: a recessed surface defined by the first back plate 25 (Fig. 1); a back wall 85; a front wall 90 opposite the back wall 85; a first sidewall 91; a second sidewall 91 opposite the first sidewall (Fig. 3); and wherein the female coupler 125 is configured to removably couple with male coupler 152 of a first utility module 150. Lundrigan ‘134 also discloses “other suitable obstruction member for locking interface 150 relative [to] slatwall interface 20” (para 0039).
Lundrigan ‘134 is silent as to a plurality of female couplers and a first rib; wherein the first rib extends from the back wall toward the front wall, wherein the first rib extends from the first sidewall toward the second sidewall.
However, Huang ‘063 teaches a mounting assembly where a plurality of female couplers 11 used to support objects relative to a platform 1 wherein a first rib 13; wherein the first rib 13 extends from the back wall toward the front wall, wherein the first rib 13 extends from the first sidewall toward the second sidewall (Fig. 4 – col. 3, lines 21-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support platform taught in Lundrigan ‘134 with the plurality of couplers and ribs as taught in Huang ‘063 in order to support a plurality and/or variety of utility modules or objects sturdily relative to a wall via the platform.
Regarding claim 2, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, discloses, wherein each of the first plurality of female couplers comprises a second rib 13, wherein the second rib 13 extends from the back wall toward the front wall, and wherein the second rib 13 extends from the first sidewall toward the second sidewall (Fig. 1 and 3-5; col. 3, lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 3, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, where Huang ‘063 discloses, wherein the first rib 13 and the second rib 13 each extend laterally above the recessed surface (as modified).
Regarding claim 4, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, discloses, further comprising a plurality of apertures 45 extending through the recessed surface, the plurality of apertures 45 configured to couple the first back plate 25 to a wall (Figs. 1 and 5; paras 0030 and 0044).
Regarding claim 5, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, where Huang ‘063 discloses, wherein the first plurality of female couplers 11 include a row of female couplers and a column of female couplers, the column of female couplers perpendicular to the row of female couplers (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, where Huang ‘063 discloses, wherein the row of female couplers 11 comprises: a first row; and a second row, the first row and the second row extending along a horizontal axis of the first face plate (as modified).
Regarding claim 11 Lundrigan ‘134 discloses a mounting structure comprising: a back plate 25; a face plate 90 coupled to the back plate 25; and a female coupler 125 defined by the back plate 25 and the face plate 90, the female coupler 125 comprising: a recessed surface defined by the back plate 25; a first sidewall 91; a second sidewall 91 opposite the first sidewall; and wherein each of the female coupler 125 are configured to removably couple with male coupler 152 of a first utility module 150.
Lundrigan ‘134 also discloses “other suitable obstruction member for locking interface 150 relative [to] slatwall interface 20” (para 0039).
Lundrigan ‘134 is silent as to a plurality of female couplers and a first protrusion; and a second protrusion wherein the first protrusion extends from the first sidewall toward the recessed surface, wherein the second protrusion extends from the second sidewall toward the recessed surface.
However, Huang ‘063 teaches a plurality of female couplers 11 and a first protrusion 13; and a second protrusion 13 wherein the first protrusion 13 extends from the first sidewall toward a recessed surface, wherein the second protrusion 13 extends from the second sidewall toward the recessed surface (Figs. 4-5 – col. 3, lines 21-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support platform taught in Lundrigan ‘134 with the plurality of couplers and protrusions as taught in Huang ‘063 in order to support a plurality and/or variety of utility modules or objects sturdily relative to a wall via the platform.
Regarding claim 12, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, wherein each of the plurality of female couplers 125 (plurality as modified by Huang ‘063) further comprises a back wall 85 and a front wall 90 (side of 90 facing 85) opposite the back wall 85.
Regarding claim 13, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, discloses wherein each of the plurality of female couplers 125 (as modified by Huang ‘063) further comprises a third protrusion (fastener inserted through opening 110 – paras. 0036 and 0039-0040), the third protrusion extending from the front wall toward the recessed surface (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, where Huang ‘063 discloses wherein each of the plurality of female couplers further comprises: a first rib 13; and a second rib 13; wherein the first rib 13 extends from the back wall towards the front wall and the first rib 13 extends from the first sidewall towards the second sidewall, and wherein the second rib 13 extends from the back wall towards the front wall and the second rib 13 extends from the second sidewall towards the first sidewall (Figs. 4-5, col. 3, lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 15, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, where Huang ‘063 discloses, wherein the plurality of female couplers 11 are arranged in a first row and a second row, the first row and the second row extending along a horizontal axis of the face plate (as modified).
Regarding claim 17, Lundrigan ‘134 discloses a support platform comprising: a back plate 25; a face plate 90 coupled to the back plate; and a female coupler 125 defined by the back plate 25 and the face plate 90, the female coupler 125 comprising: a recessed surface defined by the back plate 25; a back wall 85; a front wall 90 (side of 90 facing 85) opposite the back wall 85; and wherein the female coupler 125 is configured to removably couple with a male coupler 152 of a first utility module 150. Lundrigan ‘134 also discloses “other suitable obstruction member for locking interface 150 relative [to] slatwall interface 20” (para 0039).
Lundrigan ‘134 is silent as to a plurality of female couplers and a first protrusion; and wherein the first protrusion extends from the front wall toward the recessed surface.
However, Huang ‘063 teaches a plurality of female couplers 11 and a first protrusion 13; and wherein the first protrusion 13 extends from the front wall toward the recessed surface (Figs. 4-5 – col. 3, lines 21-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support platform taught in Lundrigan ‘134 with the plurality of couplers and protrusions as taught in Huang ‘063 in order to support a plurality and/or variety of utility modules or objects sturdily relative to a wall via the platform.
Regarding claim 18, Lundrigan ‘134, as modified, discloses wherein each of the plurality of female couplers 125 (as modified) further comprises a first sidewall 91 and a second sidewall 91 opposite the first sidewall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-10 are not rejected over the prior art and may contain allowable subject matter – noting the double patenting rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: note the configuration of the multiple back plates or protrusions and ribs combo.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and will be used in subsequent office action rejections.
The list of supports is as follows: US-11385055-B2 OR US-12290914-B2 OR US-10629335-B2 OR US-8505720-B2 OR US-7424958-B1 OR US-6436357-B1 OR US-6048503-A OR US-10463226-B2 OR US-10405676-B1 OR US-10125919-B2 OR US-8459472-B2 OR US-8439209-B2 OR US-5957421-A OR US-5544747-A OR US-20060054769-A1 OR US-20150258678-A1 OR US-20090297293-A1 OR US-20230036215-A1 OR US-20170166352-A1 OR US-20150196370-A1 OR US-20160125978-A1 OR US-20130118938-A1 OR US-8371444-B1.
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632