DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/2/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hibino (JPH09144661A).
Regarding Claim 1; Hibino teaches a refrigerant flow path module [6; figs 1 & 3; Drawing I] comprising:
a first pipe portion [62] having a cylindrical flow path and connected to a discharge pipe [4] through which a refrigerant discharged from a compressor of a refrigerant circuit flows [0016-0018; figs 1 & 3; Drawing I]; and
a second pipe portion [61] having a cylindrical flow path and connected to a suction pipe through which a refrigerant to be sucked into the compressor flows [0016-0018; figs 1 & 3; Drawing I];
the refrigerant circuit comprises:
a first heat exchanger [2; 0016];
a second heat exchanger [“not shown”; 0016];
a flow path switching valve [see Drawing I] that switches a refrigerant flow path from the compressor to the first heat exchanger and a refrigerant flow path from the compressor to the second heat exchanger [Drawing I];
the first pipe portion [62] and the second pipe portion [61] are integrally formed separately from the flow path switching valve [Drawing I];
a first end of the first pipe portion is connected to an end of the discharge pipe [4], and a second end of the first pipe portion is connected to the flow path switching valve [Drawing I];
a first end of the second pipe portion [See Drawing I] is connected to an end of the suction pipe [3], and a second end of the second pipe portion is connected to the flow path switching valve [Drawing I].
Drawing I
Regarding Claim 2, Hibino teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hibino teaches a coupling portion [63] disposed between the first pipe portion [62] and the second pipe portion [61] and formed integrally with the first pipe portion and the second pipe portion [0020; fig 3].
Regarding Claim 7, Hibino teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hibino teaches a heat source unit [at least the assembly of compressor 1, heat exchanger 2, module 6] having the refrigerant flow path module [6] and the compressor [Drawing I; fig 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 -5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibino (JPH09144661A) in view of Qibiao Lu et al. (CN211423451U, hereinafter “Lu”).
Regarding Claim 3, Hibino teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hibino teaches wherein the refrigerant flow path module further comprises:
a third pipe portion having a cylindrical flow path and through which a refrigerant flows from the flow path switching valve to the first heat exchanger [Drawing I]; and
a fourth pipe portion having a cylindrical flow path and through which a refrigerant flows from the flow path switching valve to the second heat exchanger [Drawing I];
an end of the third pipe portion is connected to an end of a refrigerant pipe through which a refrigerant flows from the flow path switching valve to the first heat exchanger [Drawing I], and
an end of the fourth pipe portion is connected to an end of a refrigerant pipe through which a refrigerant flows from the flow path switching valve to the second heat exchanger [Drawing I].
Hibino does not teach where the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion are integrally formed.
However, Lu teaches a refrigerator and switching valve [0001] having where a first pipe portion, a second pipe portion, a third pipe portion, and a fourth pipe portion are integrally formed [see pipe portions 11, 12, 13, 14 at fig 7; see also 0046; 0059; 0069-0071] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a switching valve having compact construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hibino to have where the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion are integrally formed in view of the teachings of Lu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. . provide a switching valve having compact construction.
Regarding Claim 4, Hibino, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 above and Hibino teaches the flow path switching valve, wherein the flow path switching valve comprises a rotary valve body [see fig 3] that switches and that connects the first pipe portion to either the third pipe portion or the fourth pipe portion [see pipe portions 11, 12, 13, 14 at fig 7; see also 0046; 0059; 0069-0071], and
the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion extend in a same direction from the flow path switching valve [[see pipe portions 11, 12, 13, 14 at fig 7; see also 0046; 0059; 0069-0071].
Regarding Claim 5, Hibino teaches a refrigerant flow path module [6; figs 1 & 3; Drawing I] comprising:
a first pipe portion [62] having a cylindrical flow path and connected to a discharge pipe through which a refrigerant discharged from a compressor [1] of a refrigerant circuit flow [0016-0018; figs 1 & 3; Drawing I],
wherein the refrigerant circuit comprises:
the compressor [1; 0016-0018];
a first heat exchanger [2; 0016-0018]; a second heat exchanger [“not shown”; 0016-0018]; and
a flow path switching valve that switches a refrigerant flow path from the compressor to the first heat exchanger and a refrigerant flow path from the compressor to the second heat exchanger [See Drawing I];
a second pipe portion having a cylindrical flow path and connected to a suction pipe through which a refrigerant to be sucked into the compressor flows [Drawing I];
a third pipe portion having a cylindrical flow path, connected to the flow path switching valve, and through which a refrigerant flows from the flow path switching valve to the first heat exchanger [Drawing I];
a fourth pipe portion having a cylindrical flow path, connected to the flow path switching valve, and through which a refrigerant flows from the flow path switching valve to the second heat exchanger; and the flow path switching valve of the refrigerant circuit [Drawing I].
Hibino does not teach where the flow path switching valve comprises a rotary valve body that switches and that connects the first pipe portion to either the third pipe portion or the fourth pipe portion;
the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion extend in a same direction from the flow path switching valve;
and
at least two of the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion are integrally formed at portions of the at least two of the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion protruding from the flow path switching valve.
However, Lu teaches a refrigerator and switching valve [0001] having where a flow path switching valve comprises a rotary valve body [at fig 3] that switches and that connects the first pipe portion to either the third pipe portion or the fourth pipe portion [see pipe portions 11, 12, 13, 14 at fig 7; see also 0046; 0059; 0069-0071];
the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion extend in a same direction from the flow path switching valve [see pipe portions 11, 12, 13, 14 at fig 7; see also 0046; 0059; 0069-0071; see fig 7];
and
at least two of the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion are integrally formed at portions of the at least two of the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion protruding from the flow path switching valve [see pipe portions 11, 12, 13, 14 at fig 7; see also 0046; 0059; 0069-0071] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a switching valve having compact construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hibino to have where the flow path switching valve comprises a rotary valve body that switches and that connects the first pipe portion to either the third pipe portion or the fourth pipe portion;
the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion extend in a same direction from the flow path switching valve;
and at least two of the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion are integrally formed at portions of the at least two of the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion protruding from the flow path switching valve in view of the teachings of Lu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. . provide a switching valve having compact construction.
Regarding Claim 10, Hibino, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 above and the refrigerant flow path module having the compressor [See at least claim 1 above for detailed discussion]. Hibino does not explicitly teach wherein the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion of the refrigerant flow path module extend upward from the flow path switching valve.
However, Lu does show where the first pipe portion, the second pipe portion, the third pipe portion, and the fourth pipe portion of the refrigerant flow path module extend downward from the flow path switching valve [see fig 8]. As such, a person skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention would recognize that the rearrangement of parts would be an obvious matter of design choice. (MPEP 2144.04 VIC).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibino (JPH09144661A) and Qibiao Lu et al. (CN211423451U, hereinafter “Lu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liang (CN202675718U).
Regarding Claim 6, Hibino teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach the flow path module according comprising a material containing aluminum as a main component.
However, Liang teaches a room air conditioner [0001] having a flow path module [at least the main valve body, D tube, S tube, E tube and C tube of a four-way valve; the first pipe and second pipe of an expansion valve] according comprising a material containing aluminum as a main component [0062; 0063] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a component of extremely light weight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hibino to have the flow path module according comprising a material containing aluminum as a main component in view of the teachings of Liang where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a component of extremely light weight.
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibino (JPH09144661A) in view of Iwata et al. (JPH0650571A).
Regarding Claim 8, Hibino teaches the invention of claim 7 above but does not explicitly teach a casing that accommodates the compressor and the refrigerant flow path module, wherein the refrigerant flow path module is fixed to either the casing or a member attached to the casing.
However, Iwata teaches an air conditioner [0001] having a casing [2] that accommodates a compressor [5] and the refrigerant flow path module [22], wherein the refrigerant flow path module is fixed to either the casing or a member attached to the casing [0012-0019; figs 1 & 2] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing an outdoor unit having compact construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hibino to have a casing that accommodates the compressor and the refrigerant flow path module, wherein the refrigerant flow path module is fixed to either the casing or a member attached to the casing in view of the teachings of Iwata where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing an outdoor unit having compact construction.
Regarding Claim 11, Hibino teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach a wherein the refrigerant flow path module is fixed to either a casing that accommodates the compressor and the refrigerant flow path module or a member attached to the casing.
However, Iwata teaches an air conditioner [0001] having wherein a refrigerant flow path module [22] is fixed to either a casing [2] that accommodates a compressor [5] and the refrigerant flow path module [22] or a member attached to the casing [0012-0019; figs 1 & 2] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing an outdoor unit having compact construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hibino to have wherein the refrigerant flow path module is fixed to either a casing that accommodates the compressor and the refrigerant flow path module or a member attached to the casing in view of the teachings of Iwata where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing an outdoor unit having compact construction.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibino (JPH09144661A) and Iwata et al. (JPH0650571A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wakao (JPH09196515A).
Regarding Claim 9, Hibino, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 above but does not teach the refrigerant flow path module is fixed to an attachment member attached to a casing, and the attachment member attaches a shutoff valve to the casing,
wherein the shutoff valve connects a refrigerant pipe disposed outside the heat source unit to a refrigerant pipe disposed inside the heat source unit among refrigerant pipes constituting the refrigerant circuit.
However, Wakao teaches a heat pump [0001] having a casing that accommodates the compressor and the refrigerant flow path module [0003; 0013];
the refrigerant flow path module [at least the four-way valve 4, expansion device 6a, 6b, 7, 8] is fixed to an attachment member [at least mounting plate 12] attached to the casing, and the attachment member attaches a shutoff valve [at least gas side service valve 10 or liquid side service valve 11] to the casing [0008; 0009; 0013; 0014]
wherein the shutoff valve connects a refrigerant pipe disposed outside the heat source unit to a refrigerant pipe disposed inside the heat source unit among refrigerant pipes constituting the refrigerant circuit [0003; 0013; 0014] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing an outdoor unit having compact construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hibino to have a casing that accommodates the compressor and the refrigerant flow path module,
the refrigerant flow path module is fixed to an attachment member attached to the casing, and the attachment member attaches a shutoff valve to the casing,
wherein the shutoff valve connects a refrigerant pipe disposed outside the heat source unit to a refrigerant pipe disposed inside the heat source unit among refrigerant pipes constituting the refrigerant circuit in view of the teachings of Wakao where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing an outdoor unit having compact construction.
Response to Remarks and Arguments
On page 6 of the remarks, the examiner has no comment regarding the Examiner Interview.
On page 6 of the remarks, the examiner has no comment regarding Claim amendments.
On pages 6 and 7 of the remarks, Applicant's arguments with respect to rejections under 102 and 103 do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
On page 7 of the remarks, the examiner has no comment regarding new claim 11.
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763