DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/2/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al., US 20200209356 in view of Takamoto, US 2024/0115208
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a noise detection apparatus (Abstract) comprising: a plurality of sensors configured to detect signals for a test subject (Fig. 1-2; detectors 260 of receiver module 106 detect return signals); and a processor configured to: calculate signal-to-noise ratios (SNRs) for a plurality of signals input from the plurality of sensors (¶[0044]; digitization selection module 270 can include circuitry for determining an SNR from one or more detectors 260); and remove noise from the plurality of signals based on at least one of the SNR, a specific signal, or a specific frequency band, or any combination thereof (¶[0044]; if snr is below a threshold, signals are switched from one set, TDC 308 data to another set ADC 306 data; TDC 308 can also filter out any signals below the threshold thereby removing noise).
Lu is silent in the processer configure to: analyze a frequency spectrum for each signal of the plurality of signals to detect noise. Takamoto teaches analyzing a frequency spectrum for a sensor signal to detect noise (Fig. 2; sensor 2a, noise band identifying unit 14; ¶[0052]; noise band identifying unit 14 identifies a noise band from the frequency spectrum). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Takamoto into Lu for the benefit of removing a noise frequency component from the sensor signals.
Regarding claim 2, Lu teaches wherein, in response to a reference SNR being set, the processor is further configured to remove noise by batch deleting a range where an SNR is lower than the reference SNR from the plurality of signals (¶[0044]; switching from one set of data to another and filtering out signals can be a deletion from the detection module).
Regarding claim 3, Lu teaches wherein, in response to the specific signal being selected, the processor is further configured to remove noise by deleting a signal range corresponding to the specific signal from the plurality of signals (¶[0044]; noise can be removed by filtering out unwanted signals).
Regarding claim 4, Lu is silent in wherein, in response to the specific frequency band being selected, the processor is further configured to remove noise by deleting a frequency range corresponding to the specific frequency band from the plurality of signals. Takamoto teaches a processor is further configured to remove noise by deleting a frequency range corresponding to the specific frequency band (Fig. 2; sensor 2a, noise band identifying unit 14, noise removing unit 15; ¶[0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Takamoto into Lu for the benefit of removing a noise frequency component from the sensor signals.
Regarding claim 6, Lu teaches wherein the plurality of sensors are installed on the test object or at a location adjacent to the test object, (¶[0032], [0041]; system 102 installed on vehicle which can be adjacent to a test object 112). Lu is silent in wherein the plurality of sensors input acceleration signals along the x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis of the test object to the processor. Takamoto teaches a sensor which inputs acceleration signals along an axis of a test object to the processor (¶[0029], [0033]; acceleration sensor 2a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Takamoto into Lu for the benefit of removing a noise frequency component from the sensor signals.
Regarding claim 7, Lu teaches wherein the processor is further configured to quantitatively compare the signals received from the plurality of sensors (¶[0044]; SNR compared to a threshold).
Regarding claim 8, Lu teaches wherein the processor is further configured to selectively filter the signals for each frequency band (¶[0042]; “filter unwanted frequencies”).
Regarding claim 9, Lu teaches wherein the processor is further configured to selectively filter the signals based on whether the signals satisfy a reference value (¶[0044]; TDC configured to filter out signals).
Regarding claim 10, Lu teaches a method for noise detection, the method comprising: analyzing, by a processor, a plurality of signals input from a plurality of sensors in response to signals for a test object being input to the processor from the plurality of sensors (Fig. 1-2; detectors 260 of receiver module 106 detect return signals); calculating, by the processor, SNRs for the plurality of signals (¶[0044]; digitization selection module 270 can include circuitry for determining an SNR from one or more detectors 260); and removing, by the processor, noise from the plurality of signals based on at least one of the SNR, a specific signal, or a specific frequency band, or any combination thereof (¶[0044]; if snr is below a threshold, signals are switched from one set, TDC 308 data to another set ADC 306 data; TDC 308 can also filter out any signals below the threshold thereby removing noise).
Lu is silent in analyzing, by the processor, a frequency spectrum for each signal of the plurality of signals and detecting, by the processor, noise from the plurality of signals (Fig. 2; sensor 2a, noise band identifying unit 14; ¶[0052]; noise band identifying unit 14 identifies a noise band from the frequency spectrum). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Takamoto into Lu for the benefit of removing a noise frequency component from the sensor signals.
Regarding claim 11, Lu teaches wherein in the removing of noise, the processor is configured to: set a reference SNR based on the input data; and batch delete a range where an SNR is lower than the reference SNR from the plurality of signals (¶[0044]; switching from one set of data to another and filtering out signals can be a deletion from the detection module).
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches wherein in the removing of noise, in response to a specific signal being selected based on the input data, the processor is configured to: delete a signal range corresponding to the specific signal from the plurality of signals (¶[0044]; noise can be removed by filtering out unwanted signals). Lu is silent in response to a specific frequency band being selected, delete a frequency range corresponding to the specific frequency band from the plurality of signals. Takamoto teaches selecting a specific frequency band and delete a frequency range corresponding to the specific frequency band (Fig. 2; sensor 2a, noise band identifying unit 14, noise removing unit 15; ¶[0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Takamoto into Lu for the benefit of removing a noise frequency component from the sensor signals.
Regarding claim 14, Lu teaches quantitatively comparing the signals received from the plurality of sensors (¶[0044]; SNR compared to a threshold)..
Regarding claim 15, Lu teaches selectively filtering the signals for each frequency band (¶[0042]; “filter unwanted frequencies”).
Regarding claim 16, Lu teaches further comprising: selectively filtering the signals based on whether the signals satisfy a reference value (¶[0044]; TDC configured to filter out signals).
Claim(s) 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al., US 20200209356 in view of Takamoto, US 2024/0115208 in view of Lawrence, US 20200124863
Regarding claim 5, Lu teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: detect a signal with an SNR lower than a set value for the plurality of signals. Lu is silent in the processor is configured to perform control to change a location of a sensor, among the plurality of sensors, corresponding to the signal. Lawrence teaches a processor to perform control to change a location of a sensor, among the plurality of sensors, corresponding to the signal (Fig. 1; ¶[0019]; processor 14 instructs motor 20 to move the sensor 18 to a new position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lawrence into Lu as modified for the benefit of acquiring a better signal to noise ratio.
Regarding claim 13, Lu teaches wherein the analyzing comprises: detecting a signal with an SNR lower than a set value for the plurality of signals (¶[0044]). Lu is silent in performing control to change a location of a sensor, among the plurality of the sensor, corresponding to the signal. Lawrence teaches a processor to perform control to change a location of a sensor, among the plurality of sensors, corresponding to the signal (Fig. 1; ¶[0019]; processor 14 instructs motor 20 to move the sensor 18 to a new position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lawrence into Lu as modified for the benefit of acquiring a better signal to noise ratio.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858