DETAIL ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 04/02/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-7, delete all the matching elements inside the parenthesis (for example, instead of claiming phrase “one main battery (1) (claim 1, Line)”, amend to claim phrase – “one main battery” --).
Regarding claim 1, examiner recommends the following amendments phrase(s) (especially to avoid unnecessary 112 issues &/or confusions, maintaining easy language flow),
in lines 6-7, amend phrase “which circuit” to – “wherein the external control circuit”—(otherwise, using simply “which circuit” raises 112(b) issues, as it is not clear exactly to which circuit Applicant is referring to when claiming “which circuit” (for example, is battery, primary network, secondary network, voltage converter, filter or external control circuit));
in line 9, amend phrase “wherein the first and second thresholds (VsLo, VsHi)” to -- “wherein a first threshold and a second threshold” --;
in line 14, amend phrase “a first threshold (VsLo)” to – “the first threshold”—; and
in last line amend phrase “a second threshold (VsHi)” to – “the second threshold” --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Jean Cannavo et al. (“Jean” US Pub 2022/0140721), in view of James Jason LoCascio (“James”, US Pub 2011/0241625).
Above Fig. 1-2 from Jean Cannavo et al. (“Jean” US Pub 2022/0140721)
Regarding independent claim 1, Jean teaches (Fig. 1-4) an on-board electrical system (for or in a vehicle; Para 29 and claim 16-19), comprising
at least one main battery (battery providing Vin; Para 31),
a primary network (fuel injector load 2, when 30 is off; wherein, note that Applicant never claims that primary and secondary network are two different/isolated networks or loads; and any single vehicle is known to use at least one fuel injector per cylinder (i.e., where vehicles may have 4, 6 or 8 cylinders), anticipating plural fuel injectors, meaning use of plural networks) directly supplied (note that Applicant never claims when direct supplying, it is done so without having any other intervening elements, thus under broadest reasonable interpretations (BRI), directly supplying is interpreted to be performed, via ‘20 & D1’) with power from the main battery (battery providing Vin; Para 31, 33),
a voltage converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract) supplying power (battery providing Vin, adjusted by 1 using switching operation of 30; Para 31, 33) to a secondary network (when using switching operation of 30, adjusted power supply is provided to 2; wherein, note that Applicant never claims that primary and secondary network are two different/isolated networks or loads; and any single vehicle is known to use at least one fuel injector per cylinder (i.e., where vehicles may have 4, 6 or 8 cylinders), anticipating plural fuel injectors, meaning use of plural networks),
the voltage converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract) being supplied with power from the main battery (battery providing Vin, adjusted by 1 using switching operation of 30; Para 31, 33) via a first supply line (i.e., 10, except for 110 is receiving direct battery’s output Vin and 20’s output carrying Vdrain; wherein 10 includes filter; Para 37-38, 41-52),
the first supply line comprising at least one smoothing filter (i.e., 10, except for 110 is receiving direct battery’s output Vin and 20’s output carrying Vdrain; wherein 10 includes filter; Para 37-38, 41-52),
the system (for or in a vehicle; Para 29 and claim 16-19) being characterized in that it comprises
an external control circuit (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58) for controlling the converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract), which circuit is configured to selectively activate or deactivate the operation of the voltage converter (130 determines to activate or deactivate 1, based on ‘40,50, 110 & 120’ operational output, switching from an inactive state (meaning 30=off) to a steady operating state; Para 39-40) so as to minimize the voltage drop on the primary network (load 2, when 30 is off) when the voltage converter is started up (started up of 1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter), and
wherein the first and second thresholds (i.e., any one of 50’s Vref, 40’s Vtarget &/or 110’s +/- inputs) are defined with respect to an averaged smoothed value of the first supply line (i.e., Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1 that is received by hysteresis comparator 110’s negative input for comparing with scaled down version of Vin at node P2 that is received by the hysteresis comparator 110’s positive input, to provide set output for FF 120) that is representative of a signal output from the smoothing filter (Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1),
wherein the external control circuit (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58) for controlling the converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract) is configured to
deactivate the operation of the voltage converter (130 determines to activate or deactivate 1, based on ‘40,50, 110 & 120’ operational output, switching from an inactive state (meaning 30=off) to a steady operating state; Para 39-40)
if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1 that is received by hysteresis comparator 110’s negative input for comparing with scaled down version of Vin at node P2 that is received by the hysteresis comparator 110’s positive input, to provide set output for FF 120)… a first threshold (i.e., at node P2 coupled to 110’s +input or under BRI in fact can be any one of 50’s Vref &/or 40’s Vtarget), and
wherein the external control circuit (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58) for controlling the converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract) for controlling the converter is configured to
reactivate the operation of the voltage converter (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58) for controlling the converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract)
if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1 that is received by hysteresis comparator 110’s negative input for comparing with scaled down version of Vin at node P2 that is received by the hysteresis comparator 110’s positive input, to provide set output for FF 120) … a second threshold (i.e., at node P2 coupled to 110’s +input or under BRI in fact can be any one of 50’s Vref &/or 40’s Vtarget).
However, Jean fails to explicitly teach wherein the external control circuit for controlling the converter is configured to deactivate the voltage converter’s operation if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line falls below a first threshold and reactivate the voltage converter’s operation if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line rises above a second threshold.
Above Fig. 3, from James Jason LoCascio (“James”, US Pub 2011/0241625)
However, James (Fig. 3) explicitly teaches wherein the external control circuit for controlling the converter is configured to
deactivate (i.e., using 160 deactivating 130, switching off T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=off) if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) falls below a first threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit) and
reactivate (i.e., using 150 reactivating 130, switching on T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=on) if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) rises above a second threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jean’s system to include use of first and second threshold voltages (instead of single threshold voltage) to be compared with the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line, as hysteresis comparator, such that controlling the converter is configured to deactivate the voltage converter’s operation if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line falls below a first threshold, and reactivate the voltage converter’s operation if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line rises above a second threshold, as disclosed by James, as doing so would have prevented unnecessary power loss maintaining longevity of the battery, as taught by James (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Jean teaches the external control circuit for controlling the converter is a digital circuit (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58).
Regarding claim 3, Jean teaches the external control circuit for controlling the converter takes the form of wired logic and comprises a comparator (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58).
However, Jean fails to teach use of a hysteresis comparator.
However, James (Fig. 3) use of a hysteresis comparator (150, 160).
[Additional Examiner’s NOTE: James using the hysteresis comparators for controlling the converter is configured to deactivate (i.e., using 160 deactivating 130, switching off T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=off) if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) falls below a first threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit) and reactivate (i.e., using 150 reactivating 130, switching on T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=on) if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) rises above a second threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit).]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jean’s system to include use of first and second threshold voltages (instead of single threshold voltage) to be compared with the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line, as hysteresis comparator, such that controlling the converter is configured to deactivate the voltage converter’s operation if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line falls below a first threshold, and reactivate the voltage converter’s operation if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line rises above a second threshold, as disclosed by James, as doing so would have prevented unnecessary power loss maintaining longevity of the battery, as taught by James (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Jean teaches
wherein (using the external control circuit being combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58) for controlling the converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract) the positive terminal of the … comparator is connected to the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line and the negative terminal of the … comparator is connected to an output of an RC filter that filters the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1 that is received by hysteresis comparator 110’s negative input for comparing with scaled down version of Vin at node P2 that is received by the hysteresis comparator 110’s positive input, to provide set output for FF 120),
or the negative terminal of the … comparator is connected to the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line and the positive terminal of the … comparator is connected to an output of an RC filter that filters the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1 that is received by hysteresis comparator 110’s negative input for comparing with scaled down version of Vin at node P2 that is received by the hysteresis comparator 110’s positive input, to provide set output for FF 120).
However, James (Fig. 3) use of a hysteresis comparator (150, 160).
[Additional Examiner’s NOTE: James using the hysteresis comparators for controlling the converter is configured to deactivate (i.e., using 160 deactivating 130, switching off T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=off) if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) falls below a first threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit) and reactivate (i.e., using 150 reactivating 130, switching on T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=on) if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) rises above a second threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit). ]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jean’s system to include use of first and second threshold voltages (instead of single threshold voltage) to be compared with the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line, as hysteresis comparator, such that controlling the converter is configured to deactivate the voltage converter’s operation if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line falls below a first threshold, and reactivate the voltage converter’s operation if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line rises above a second threshold, as disclosed by James, as doing so would have prevented unnecessary power loss maintaining longevity of the battery, as taught by James (abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Jean teaches the voltage converter is a quasi-resonant voltage converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Jean teaches a method implemented in an on-board electrical system (for or in a vehicle; Para 29 and claim 16-19) as claimed in claim 1, the method making provision (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58) for selectively activating and deactivating the voltage converter from an inactive state to a steady operating state (130 determines to activate or deactivate 1, based on ‘40,50, 110 & 120’ operational output, switching from an inactive state (meaning 30=off) to a steady operating state; Para 39-40), the method comprising:-
deactivating the operation of the voltage converter (130 determines to activate or deactivate 1, based on ‘40,50, 110 & 120’ operational output, switching from an inactive state (meaning 30=off) to a steady operating state; Para 39-40) if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1 that is received by hysteresis comparator 110’s negative input for comparing with scaled down version of Vin at node P2 that is received by the hysteresis comparator 110’s positive input, to provide set output for FF 120)… a first threshold (i.e., at node P2 coupled to 110’s +input or under BRI in fact can be any one of 50’s Vref &/or 40’s Vtarget), and
reactivating the operation of the voltage converter (combined operation of ‘50, 40, 110, 120, 130, 140, Rc’ configured as a digital circuit includes hysteresis comparator operation; Para 36-58) for controlling the converter (1 quasi-resonant DC-DC voltage converter; Para 30 & abstract) if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., Vdrain is averaged by RC filter to generate averaged smoothed value at node P1 that is received by hysteresis comparator 110’s negative input for comparing with scaled down version of Vin at node P2 that is received by the hysteresis comparator 110’s positive input, to provide set output for FF 120) … a second threshold (i.e., at node P2 coupled to 110’s +input or under BRI in fact can be any one of 50’s Vref &/or 40’s Vtarget).
However, Jean fails to explicitly teach wherein the external control circuit for controlling the converter is configured to deactivate the voltage converter’s operation if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line falls below a first threshold and reactivate the voltage converter’s operation if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line rises above a second threshold.
However, James (Fig. 3) explicitly teaches wherein the external control circuit for controlling the converter is configured to
deactivate (i.e., using 160 deactivating 130, switching off T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=off) if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) falls below a first threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit) and
reactivate (i.e., using 150 reactivating 130, switching on T2; Para 31-37) the voltage converter’s operation (i.e., when T2=on) if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line (i.e., 120’s output received by 160 & 150) rises above a second threshold (170 providing two threshold voltages for respective 160 and 150’; wherein Applicant never claimed any different values for first vs. second thresholds, thus because James indeed teaches use of two different threshold voltages; and lastly, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to use variable reference voltage source generator for comparison purposes to maintain a quick steady operation within any circuit).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jean’s system to include use of first and second threshold voltages (instead of single threshold voltage) to be compared with the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line, as hysteresis comparator, such that controlling the converter is configured to deactivate the voltage converter’s operation if a value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line falls below a first threshold, and reactivate the voltage converter’s operation if the value of the instantaneous voltage of the first supply line rises above a second threshold, as disclosed by James, as doing so would have prevented unnecessary power loss maintaining longevity of the battery, as taught by James (abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Jean teaches a vehicle comprising at least one on-board electrical system as claimed in claim 1 (for or in a vehicle; Para 29 and claim 16-19).
Conclusion
/NUSRAT QUDDUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838