Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 refers to “the display device” without introducing a display device first. This suggests a lack of antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Treciokas, US 2024/0017666 A1.
As per Claim 1, Treciokas teaches a display device (¶ 98; display 140 of Figure 1), comprising:
an information display section comprising a plurality of discrete segments configured to display an alphanumeric character (¶ 98; “2 digit or character 16 segment displays 175” of Figure 1);
a drive circuit section configured to selectively switch on and off each of the segments (¶¶ 117-119; to “light them up”); and
a control section configured to control operation of the drive circuit section (¶¶ 118-119; “microcontroller”), and wherein: the drive circuit section comprises:
a multiple drive circuit configured to simultaneously switch on and off a plurality of particular segments among the segments of the information display section which particular segments are each for a portion of a particular alphanumeric character (¶¶ 122-123); and
a single drive circuit configured to switch a single segment among the segments of the information display section which single segment is other than the particular segments (¶ 118; “7 segment”), and the control section is configured to use the multiple drive circuit and the single drive circuit in combination for the control of the operation of the drive circuit section to cause the information display section to display the particular alphanumeric character (¶ 122; for “tailgate the display is ‘TG’ for tailgate then ‘CR’ for Cars or car lengths”).
As per Claim 2, Treciokas teaches that the information display section comprises sixteen segments as the plurality of discrete segments (¶¶ 112, 121-122, 125).
As per Claim 3, Treciokas teaches that the control section is configured to use the multiple drive circuit and the single drive circuit in combination to switch on all the segments of the information display section for a lighting check (¶ 128; by “using a 16 DIP shunt to the Clock Pulse input”).
As per Claim 4, Treciokas teaches that the plurality of discrete segments comprise segments connected to each other (¶¶ 127-128).
As per Claim 5, Treciokas teaches a connection line connecting the control section to one of the segments connected to each other (¶ 128).
As per Claim 6, Treciokas teaches that the display device is configured to switch on all the segments of the information display section (¶¶ 128-129; through “two pair of transistor switches”).
As per Claim 7, Treciokas teaches that: the plurality of discrete segments exceed the connection line in number (¶ 123; with “16x2” or 32 segments).
As per Claim 8, Treciokas teaches a vehicle (¶ 102), wherein the display device is configured to display numeric information (¶ 98; “output that would display the number on the 7 segment displays 140” as in Figure 1) on a total distance traveled (¶ 134; “‘##. #yds’ or ‘##. #m’ at 3310” of Figure 33) or a total time length of operation.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661