DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gorman (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2021/0116146 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gorman ‘146.
Regarding claim 12, Gorman ‘146 discloses a packaged terminal air conditioner (PTAC) unit (100), comprising: a wall sleeve (102); a chassis (104) including a chassis drain pan (118) positioned in the wall sleeve {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0068]}; a wall sleeve drain pan (108) positioned in the wall sleeve, under the chassis, wherein condensate collected in the chassis drain pan drains into the wall sleeve drain pan, the wall sleeve drain pan having a front edge, a rear side opposite the front edge, a right side, and a left side opposite the right side, wherein the right and left sides each extend from the rear side to the front edge, a floor defined from the right side to the left side and from the front edge to the rear side, and at least one arcuate channel formed on the floor {see Abstract, ¶¶ [0007], [0012], [0014], [0017], [0022], 0026], [0111], [0070-0072] and [0113]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorman ‘146, in view of Sibai (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2020/0121535 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sibai ‘535.
Regarding claim 1, Gorman ‘146 discloses a wall sleeve drain pan (3300) for a packaged terminal air conditioner (PTAC) (100), comprising: a front edge (3304) {as shown in Fig. 33: ¶¶ [0112-0113]}; a rear side (3310) opposite the front edge; a right side (3314), and a left side (3312) opposite the right side, wherein the right and left sides each extend from the rear side to the front edge {as shown in Fig. 33: ¶¶ [0112-0113]}; a floor (3302) defined from the right side to the left side and from the front edge to the rear side {as shown in Fig. 33: ¶¶ [0112-0113]}; and at least one channel (3316) formed on the floor {as shown in Fig. 33: ¶¶ [0112-0113]}.
However, Gorman ‘146 fails to explicitly disclose the limitation of at least one arcuate channel formed on the floor.
Sibai ‘535 teaches: the concept of at least one arcuate channel (435) formed on the floor (430){as shown in Fig. 15: [0049]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gorman ‘146 least one channel in view of Sibai ‘535 to include at least one arcuate channel formed on the floor, in order to provide a relief in profile of the edge of drain pan {Sibai ‘535 – ¶ [0049]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Gorman ‘146 in view of Sibai ‘535 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gorman ‘146 and Sibai ‘535 disclose and teach the wall sleeve drain pan of claim 1, Gorman ‘146 discloses wherein the at least one arcuate channel (3316) is symmetric about a center (3308x) between the right side (3314) and the left side (3312), from the front edge (3304) to the rear side (3310), wherein the at least one arcuate channel has a first end (3316y1) at the front edge on one side of the center and a second end (3316y2) at the front edge on an opposite side of the center, and a peak (3308) that is away from the front edge and on the center {as shown in annotated Fig. 33: Abstract, ¶¶ [0112-0113]}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gorman ‘146 and Sibai ‘535 disclose and teach the wall sleeve drain pan of claim 2, Gorman ‘146 discloses wherein the at least one arcuate channel is a plurality of nested arcuate channels (3316, 3316) {as shown in Fig. 33: Abstract, ¶¶ [0112-0113]}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gorman ‘146 and Sibai ‘535 disclose and teach the wall sleeve drain pan of claim 1, Gorman ‘146 discloses wherein the floor (3302) is sloped upwards from the front edge to the rear side {as shown in Fig. 33: ¶¶ [0112-0113].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gorman ‘146 and Sibai ‘535 disclose and teach the wall sleeve drain pan of claim 1, wherein the front edge includes a drip edge {see ¶¶ [0003] and [0092]}.
Regarding claim 13, Gorman ‘146 discloses the PTAC of claim 12, wherein the at least one channel is symmetric (3316) about a center (3308x) between the right side (3314) and the left side (3312), from the front edge (3304) to the rear side (3310), wherein the at least one channel has a first end (3316y1) at the front edge on one side of the center and a second end (3316y2) at the front edge on an opposite side of the center, and a peak (3308) that is away from the front edge and on the center {as shown in annotated Fig. 33: Abstract, ¶¶ [0112-0113]}.
However, Gorman ‘146 fails to explicitly disclose the limitation of at least one arcuate channel.
Sibai ‘535 teaches: the concept of at least one arcuate channel (435) as shown in Fig. 15: [0049]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gorman ‘146 least one channel in view of Sibai ‘535 to include one arcuate channel is symmetric about the center between the right side and the left side, from the front edge to the rear side, wherein the at least one arcuate channel has a first end at the front edge on one side of the center and a second end at the front edge on an opposite side of the center, in order to provide a relief in profile of the edge of drain pan {Sibai ‘535 – ¶ [0049]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Gorman ‘146 in view of Sibai ‘535 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gorman ‘146 and Sibai ‘535 disclose and teach the PTAC of claim 13, Gorman ‘146 disclose wherein the at least one arcuate channel is a plurality of nested arcuate channels (3316, 3316) {as shown in Fig. 33: Abstract, ¶¶ [0112-0113]}.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 4-9 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
09/30/2026