Claim Status
Claims 1-13, 15-17, 30, 37, 83, 94, 100-102 are pending and under examination. Claim 99 has been cancelled. Claim 102 is new. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended. Claims 1, 2, 30, and 83 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 1-13,15-17,30,37,83,94 and 99-101 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghadessy1. in view of Fowler2 and in further view of Gamble3 is withdrawn following the Applicants’ amendments and cancellation of claim 99.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 recite the limitation "the library" twice in the last 3 lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-13, and 15-17 depend on claims 1 and 2 and do not rectify the issue and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 100 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 100 depends upon claim 99, which has been cancelled. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For purposes of compact prosecution, claim 100 is being examined as if it was dependent upon claim 1, which cancelled claim 99 was previously dependent upon before cancellation and the limitations of cancelled claim 99 have been amended into claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-17, 30, 37, 83, 94, 100-102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holliger et al. (US 2004/0005594 A1, published Jan. 8, 2004) in view of Bang (US 2015/0329854 A1, published Nov. 19, 2015) and further in view of Bystrykh (“Generalized DNA Barcode Design Based on Hamming Codes”, PLoS One, Vol. 7, No. 5, 2012.) and Erlich et al. (“DNA Sudoku – harnessing high-throughput sequencing for multiplexed specimen analysis”, Genome Research, Vol. 19, pgs. 1243-1253, 2009) and further in view of Gamble et al. (“Adjacent Codons Act in Concert to Modulate Translation Efficiency in Yeast”, Cell, Vol. 166, No. 3, 2016).
In regards to claims 1 and 2, Holliger is in the field of in-vitro evolution of molecular libraries, used to select polymerase variants with increased activity. Bang is in the similar field of synthesizing and analyzing libraries of protein mutants.
Step (i) Holliger teaches obtaining a plurality of cells that collectively comprise a plurality of polynucleotides encoding variants of the same polymerase, a pool of nucleic acids comprising members each encoding a nucleic acid replicase or variant thereof is provided and subdivided into compartments such that each compartment comprises a nucleic acid member together with the replicase or variant it encodes (see Holliger [0009], Claim 1). Holliger’s working examples reduce this to practice using libraries of Taq polymerase gene variants generated by error-prone PCR (see Holliger [0260]-[0263]; libraries L1 and L2, comprising approximately 8 x 107 and 2 x 107 clones respectively) transformed into an expressed by E. coli host cells.
Holliger does not expressly disclose two specifically sequenced clones sharing a non-synonymous codon at the same first position with different substitutions there, each also comprising a synonymous codon. Bang remedies this deficiency and does so with example-level specificity. Bang teaches designing a gene library in which degenerate nucleotides (N, R, Y) are inserted at codon positions such that all library members translate to the identical protein sequence but have different nucleic acid base sequences (see Bang [0054]-[0055]), and expressly combines this with non-synonymous mutation on the same construct: oligonucleotides were designed using the same codon-randomization metho as [in the earlier example], and error-prone PCR instead of normal PCR was carried out to modify amino acids at random locations in a PCR process after ligation, thereby synthesizing two non-synonymous gene library types (see Bang [0139], Example 9, see also [0087] disclosing “[a] nonsynonymous library may be synthesized by modifying base sequences at a random location during a synthesis process of the codon-randomized gene library”). This is a worked example of a library in which individual members carry both a non-synonymous codon (from error-prone PCR) and a synonymous codon (from randomization) on the same molecule, directly corresponding to the first and second polynucleotide structure recited in step (i)(a)/(b).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine Holliger’s error-prone PCR generated polymerase variant libraries with Bang’s codon-randomized architecture, arriving at polynucleotides each comprising a non-synonymous codon at a shared first position and a synonymous codon, because Bang expressly teaches this combination as a known solution to a known problem, Bang states that although high-throughput verification of short oligonucleotides become possible due to… next generation sequencing[,]… effective use in a final estimation step… was impossible due to… short read length inherent in [NGS] (see Bang [0003], and that by lowering homology of DNA sequences of homologous gene library through codon randomization, fragmented sequence information may be reassembled… this means that barcoding of each gene sequence itself is possible (see Bang [0050]). A person of ordinary skill implementing Holliger’s polymerase screening framework with a pooled NGS readout would have been motivated to adopt Bang’s compatible, purpose built library design solution with a reasonable expectation of success, since synonymous substitution via codon degeneracy is by definition incapable of altering the encoded amino acid sequence.
Step (ii). Holliger teaches depositing individual cells of the plurality, together with reagents sufficient for an active variant to produce an identifying nucleic acid product, into different partitions: bacterial cells expressing the polymerase library are compartmentalized into aqueous compartments of a water-in-oil emulsion together with dNTPs and flanking primers, such that adaptive gains by the polymerase directly translate into genetic amplification of its own encoding gene, the amplified gene product being the identifying nucleic acid product (see Holliger [0055], [0068]-[0069], [0079], [0094]).
Step (iii). Holliger teaches lysing individual cells within the partitions to combine the variant and reagents: the PCR denaturation step ruptures the compartmentalized bacteria cell, releasing the expressed polymerase and its encoding gene into the compartment to permit self-replication while destroying background host enzymatic activity (see Holliger [0222]).
Step (iv). Holliger’s readout, predating commercial NGS, relies on colony PCR screening, gel electrophoresis, and qPCR of individually or small-batch analyzed clones and does not disclose sequencing based quantification of multiple pooled variants simultaneously. Bang remedies this deficiency: Illumina HiSeq 2500 sequencing was used to prepare, sequence, and computationally reassemble pooled, fragmented gene variant library sequences (see Bang [0071], Example 3), and, critically, the codon randomized region itself was used to quantify variant abundance, since sequencing depth information of each variant [was used] to successfully quantify distinctive molecules, providing a useful metric for prioritizing variants (see Bang [0144], describing analysis of pooled Npu variant libraries subjected to selection). It would have been obvious to substitute Bang’s pooled NGS-based quantification for Holliger’s individual clone screening to improve throughput and enable simultaneous multivariant analysis, a known and expressly motivated advance in the art (see Bang [0003]-[0004], [0050]-[0051]).
Step (v). Holliger teaches determining relative activity of variants by comparison to control. In a highly preferred embodiment, the post amplification copy number of the nucleic acid member is substantially proportional to the activity of the replicase (see Holliger [0019]), with Table 1 reporting relative thermostability and heparin resistance fold changes for named clones (T646, T788, T9, T13, T8, H32, H94, H15) measured against wild-type Taq polymerase as the control. Bang’s Example 10 reinforces the motivation and reasonable expectation of success for combining this control comparison concept with NGS-based quantification, the reassembled Npu variant library was subjected to selection at five kanamycin concentrations (0, 100, 250, 500, 1000 µM), with the unselected (0 µM) population functioning as the baseline against which enrichment of genotypes at increasing selection pressure is compared (see Bang [0142]-[0150]).
Regarding the closing wherein clause (Hamming distance ≥ 2 for ≥ 50% of qualifying polynucleotides), Bystrykh teaches that codes with minimal distance dmin = 2t+1 will be able to correct t substitution errors, and explains that a Hamming distance of exactly 2, as recited in the claim is sufficient to detect (though not correct) a single substitution error, since no single base change can convert one such barcode into another (Bystrykh pg. 2 ¶3). Erlich, cited by Bystrykh as a real world example of a dmin = 2 design, confirms that this precise threshold was reduced to practice in a pooled gene-variant clone library context predating this application by approximately fifteen years. Reverse primers used 8-nt barcodes… constructed using a subset of the Hamady et al. (2008) barcode set… constructed by lexicographically sorting the set and choosing every forth entry (Erlich, Methods, “Barcoding and sequencing Arabidopsis”), applied to identify individual clones from a pooled library of 40,320 bacterial clones via Illumina sequencing. Erlich further discloses for a second pooled shRNA clone library, barcoded f 10-nt… with 5-nt Hamming distance (Erlich, Methods “Barcoding and sequencing: Human GIPZ library”), confirming that minimum Hamming distance barcode design for pooled clone library identification via NGS, at and above the claimed threshold, was conventional, reduced to practice technique in the art. Hamady4, cited within Erlich as the source of the base barcode, independently confirms in its published abstract that error correcting DNA barcodes were constructed that allow one run of a massively parallel pyrosequencer to process up to 1,544 samples simultaneously, further corroborating that this class of technique was well established.
It would have been obvious to apply Bystrykh’s and Erlich’s minimum Hamming distance barcode design principles to the codon-randomized library architecture taught by Bang as combined with Holliger above, because Bang’s own stated library design objective accurate identification and reassembly of pooled, fragmented sequencing data back to the correct originating variant, is the identical problem Bystrykh’s and Erlich’s Hamming distance methodologies solve, and both were demonstrated as workable at libraries of tens of thousands of pooled members, comparable in scale to Holliger’s disclosed libraries. A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the claimed ≥ 50% coverage given routine control over the number and position of degenerate/synonymous codons incorporated during Bang’s library design process. The Examiner further notes that because claim 1’s polynucleotide is recited using open “comprising” language, and the instant specification confirms a polynucleotide may include a barcode (see [0054] of the instant specification), the recited Hamming distance 2 separation need not derive specifically from the non-synonymous/synonymous codon of steps (i)(a)/(b), further supporting the obviousness of this limitation.
In regards to claims 3 and 16, Gamble establishes that adjacent codon triplets were an actively studied, characterized design unit in this field, having scored the expression of over 35,000 GFP variants in which three adjacent codons were randomized as a coordinated group (see Gamble Summary). Gamble further identified that only 17 of the tested codon pairs were substantially inhibitory, and that essentially all such pairs share a common, identifiable trait. All ten codons in these [17 inhibitory] pairs are implicated in poor translation by their infrequent use in highly expressed genes, as measure by CAI [codon adaptation index], with the Arg CGA codon, decoded via purine-purine wobble interaction, present in more than half of the identified inhibitory pairs (see Gamble pg. 683). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art arranging Bang’s synonymous codon barcode element immediately adjacent to Holliger’s non-synonymous mutation site to select synonymous codons with codon usage frequency close to that of the wild-type codon, consistent with routine codon usage matching practice reflected in the specifications’ own background disclosure (see [0015],[0018] of the instant specification), and doing so would, as an ordinary consequence of that routine practice, avoid the low CAI codons Gamble identifies as the common thread among inhibitory pairs, thereby achieving the claimed consecutive codon arrangement with a reasonable expectation of success, since the overwhelming majority of adjacent synonymous codon combinations have no material effect on expression (Gamble, Results, “Analysis of 35,811 three codon variants”).
In regards to claim 16, disclosing non-synonymous and synonymous codons within 30 nucleotides, this distance constraint is motivated by well known short read NGS length limitations. Bang’s own protocol positions codon randomized and nonsynonymous elements within a single 150 bp Illumina paired end read window (see Bang [0071]), and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art implementing Bang’s NGS based library analysis to position the recited codon elements within 30 nucleotides of one another as a routine optimization of a result effective variable (distance between co-analyzed elements, as it affects joint read compatibility on short read platforms), consistent with the specification’s own disclosure that read length compatibility governs this parameter (see [0140] of the instant specification).
In regards to claims 4-8, claims 4 and 5 are obvious extensions of the two-polynucleotide teaching of claims 1 and 2, to additional library members, given Holliger’s disclosed library scale (up 8 x 107 clones) and Bang’s demonstrated scalability of the codon randomization architecture to libraries of thousands of variants (see Bang [0107], [0141], [0144], describing a base population of “approximately three hundred million” and reassembly of thousands of variants). Claim 6 (additional polynucleotides) is likewise an obvious extension, for the same reasons whereas claims 7 and 8 (sequencing to determine and determining relative activity of, additional variants) follows directly from Bang’s NGS pooled quantification teaching applied, without further invention to however many variants are present in the pooled library.
In regards to claim 9, Applying Bystrykh’s and Erlich’s minimum Hamming distance design methodology to a library comprising the four named variants of claims 1-5 renders obvious a Hamming distance of at least 2 among all four, the being the 100% case of the ≥ 50% requirement already addressed in claim 1.
In regards to claims 10-13, and 15, claims 10 and 11, reciting ≥ 50% and ≥90% coverage of possible amino acid substitutions, are rendered obvious by Holliger’s disclosed library size, which vastly exceed the number of possible single amino acid substitutions across the 829 residue Taq polymerase, such that comprehensive coverage at these thresholds would be expected as a matter of course, consistent with the general objective of comprehensive single substitution coverage reflected in site saturation mutagenesis practice generally, as exemplified by Gambles ≥ 35,000 mutants. Claims 12, 13, and 15 follow from the same Bystrykh/Erlich minimum distance design methodology applied to claim 1, scaled to the higher coverage percentage and specific subset size recited, a routine matter of extending barcode diversity, exemplified by Erlich’s own demonstrate scaling of Hamming distance barcode design across libraries of tens of thousands of pooled members.
In regards to claim 17, Holliger’s transformation of E. coli cell populations with libraries of up to 8x107 clones expressly involves transforming at least two cells with polynucleotides of the plurality.
In regards to claim 30, Holliger and Bang, combined as set forth above, teach a library comprising a plurality of polynucleotides encoding different variants of the same gene product, comprising a first polynucleotide with a non-synonymous codon at a first position and a synonymous codon, and a second polynucleotide with a non-synonymous codon at that same first position and a synonymous codon. The examiner notes that claim 30, unlike claims 1 and 2, does not require the first and second non-synonymous codons to differ. Holliger’s Table 1, reports multiple specifically sequenced clone pairs sharing an identically mutated position, for example T788, T13, and T8 all; share substitutions at position 205 (R205K), 219 (K219E), 236 (M236T), and 608 (A608V); H94 and H15 share substitutions at position 225 (K225E), 578 (D578G), and 583 (N583S), such that nay two of these clones directly satisfy claim 30(i)/(ii)’s shared first position requirement without resort to the Bang combination for that specific structural element. Holliger’s Example 16 further confirms that silent (synonymous) mutations arose during the same CSR process that generated these clones, reporting that unlike the coding mutations, non-coding mutations display a striking bias (AT to GC vs GC to AT/0 vs 42) toward decreased GC content (see Holliger [0279], Example 16), evidencing that the sequenced clones additionally comprise synonymous codons as required. Given the multiple additional mutations present in each such clone beyond the shared position, the overall pairwise Hamming distance between any two would necessarily exceed 2, satisfying the closing wherein-clause independent of Bystrykh/Erlich combination for this claim specifically, though it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Bang, Bystrykh/Erlich in order to increase throughput and robustness of the library as discussed above.
In regards to claim 37, the limitations of claim 37 are obvious over the same combination and rationale as claim 3 above, applied to the library context of claim 30.
In regards to claim 83, the limitations of claim 83 are obvious over the same combination of Holliger in view of Bang for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 30. Holliger’s Example 16 date, non-coding (synonymous) mutations arising as part of the same compartmentalized self-replication (CSR) process, independently of the coding mutations reporting in Table 1, supports the presences, within the sequenced clone population, of polynucleotides comprising two synonymous codons without an accompanying non-synonymous change at that instance.
In regards to claim 94, a method of producing the first and second polynucleotides of claim 30 by synthesis is obvious over Holliger’s and Bang’s express disclosure of synthesizing the corresponding libraries by error-prone PCR (see Holliger [0261]-[0263]) and codon-randomized oligonucleotides design, assembly PCR/LCR, and ligation (see Bang [0056], [0100]-[0106]), respectively.
In regards to claims 100-101, (Hamming distance ≥ 2 for ≥ 90% of polynucleotides), this limitation is obvious over the same combination and rationale set forth in claims 11/12 above, further supported by Erlich’s demonstrated 5-nt Hamming distance design (exceeding the claimed threshold) at comparable library scale.
In regards to claim 102, the limitations are obvious over Holliger alone as to option (1) non-synonymous codons that differ by at least 2 nucleotides is demonstrated by the analysis stated above in relation to claim 30 (see Holliger Table 1 clone pairs, whose multiple non-shared mutations necessarily produce pairwise Hamming distances exceed 2 through non-synonymous differences), and is further obvious in the alternative over Holliger in view of Bang, Bystrykh, and Erlich as to option (2).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MATTHEW HAROLD RAYMONDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/AARON A PRIEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681
1 Ghadessy et al. “Directed evolution of polymerase function by compartmentalized self-replication” PNAS. Vol. 98, No. 8, pgs.4552-4557, Apr. 2001.
2 Fowler and Fields “Deep mutational scanning: a new style of protein science”, Nat. Methods, Vol. 11, No. 8, pgs. 801-807 Aug. 2014
3 Gamble et al. “Adjacent codons act in concert to modulate translation efficiency in yeast”, Cell, Vol. 166, No. 3, pgs. 679-690, Jul. 2016
4 Hamady et al. “Error-correcting barcoded primers for pyrosequencing hundreds of samples in multiplex”. Nat Methods 5, 235–237 (2008)