Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 07/20/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 12-14, and 17-18 have been amended.
Claims 4, 16, and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 5-14, 17-18, and 21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 07/20/2026 have been fully considered and each argument will be respectfully addressed in the following non-final office action.
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 101 Remarks
Applicant’s remarks filed on pages 8-11 of the Response concerning the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of the claims have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. The Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of the claims. Thus, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of claims 1-2, 5-14, 17-18, and 21 have been withdrawn accordingly.
The Examiner notes that the reasons for which claims 1-2, 5-14, 17-18, and 21 are considered patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are because the additional elements of independent claims 1, 13, and 17 are considered to integrate the recited abstract ideas into a practical application and the specific combination of elements applies the judicial exception in a way that is beyond general linking to a particular field of use, insignificant extra solution activity, or applying the judicial exception to generic computer components. Claims 1, 13, and 17 recite limitations that involve steps for receiving real-time GPS data indicating a current location of a vehicle by a computing device and sending, via wireless connection, instructions to a plurality of devices (i.e., a first smart tag, second smart tag, and a smart doorplate) to output audio or visual signals based on the GPS data indicating that the current location is within a particular geographical area corresponding to the plurality of devices. Thus, these limitations that recite features directed to improving a technological field, in combination with the other claim limitations, integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 103 Remarks
Applicant’s remarks filed on pages 7-8 of the Response concerning the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of the claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and amended § 103 rejection that may be found starting on page 22 herein.
On pages 8-10 of the Response, the Applicant argues that the prior art of record fail to teach or suggest the features of the amended claims. Upon further search and consideration, the Examiner has set forth an amended §103 rejection of claims 1-2, 5-14, 17-18, and 21 herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 10, 13-14, 17-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Polyakov et al. U.S. Publication No. 2022/0351321 (“Polyakov”), in view of Dearing U.S. Publication No. 2020/0143322 (“Dearing”).
Claim 1: Polyakov teaches the following:
Receiving, in real time by the computing device, global position system (GPS) data indicating a current location of a vehicle that carries the plurality of packages; Based on the real-time GPS data indicating the current location is within a first geographical area that is associated with a first delivery site of the first package […]: sending, via a wireless connection to the first smart […], an instruction to output a first audio or visual signal comprising light of a first color; sending, via a second wireless connection to a smart doorplate associated with the first delivery site, an instruction to output a second audio or visual signal comprising light of the first color.(¶ [0074]: a physical beacon, e.g., a location beacon); (¶ [0040]: the location beacon can be mounted to a door); (¶ [0069]: a virtual geofence zone can be established around a customer delivery destination. A deliverer approaching the destination can cross the geofence and triggers a signal sent to the location beacon, which can then illuminate the customer's location beacon. The location beacon can illuminate an animation, blink, or present a specific color, which makes it easier for the deliverer to spot the customer's location from their vehicle); (¶ [0085]: a global GPS-enabled device can be operated in relation to the physical beacon to determine a physical location of the physical beacon. In another example, a delivery application-enabled device can be operated to detect the physical beacon); (¶ [0086]: an interaction is detected between the physical beacon and the delivery person, where the interaction includes an event that occurs based on the physical beacon and delivery person being in physical proximity to each other); (¶ [0086]: the physical beacon and the delivery person can be close enough so that the beacon can trigger the transmission of a sensory signal through a device used by the delivery person); (¶ [0087]: a smart device in a car driven by the delivery person can serve to trigger an interaction with the physical beacon); (¶ [0090]: the physical beacon can transmit control instructions for generating the sensory signal to a smart device in proximity to the delivery person); (¶ [0079]: a sensory signal includes a visual signal or audio signal); (¶ [0092]: variable characteristics of the sensory signal can be selected. For example, a specific color can be used to illuminate the physical beacon); (¶ [0043]: location beacon can receive an illumination trigger from the platform server over the internet from a wireless connection); (¶ [0046]: A location beacon can be associated with a corresponding color that differentiates itself from other order’s location beacons. A deliverer can be provided with a color via the platform server that is associated with the order to be picked up); (¶ [0089]: the physical beacon can generate an auditory signal that the delivery person can hear).
Thus, the system of Polyakov comprises a physical/location beacon that can be placed at a customer’s home. When a delivery driver is within a proximity of the beacon, a sensory signal may be sent to the beacon such that it may illuminate a specific color. Moreover, the sensory signal may be further provided to a smart device within the driver’s vehicle – the sensory signal comprising the specific color. Moreover, location beacons can be associated with a corresponding color, and the corresponding color is also provided to the smart device associated with the driver/vehicle.
Polyakov does not explicitly teach receiving information associated with a plurality of packages to be delivered, wherein the information comprises: device identifiers of a plurality of smart tags attached to the plurality of packages, wherein the plurality of smart tags comprises a first smart tag, attached to a first package, and a second smart tag attached to a second package; and location information of a delivery sites of each of the plurality of packages. Furthermore, Polyakov does not explicitly teach sending an instruction to a first/second smart tag to output a first/second audio signal (or visual signal comprising a light of a first/second color) based on the real-time GPS data indicating the current location is within a first geographical area that is associated with a first delivery site of the first package and within a second geographical area that is associated with a second delivery site of the second package.
However, Dearing teaches the following:
Receiving, by a computing device, information associated with a plurality of packages to be delivered, wherein the information comprises: device identifiers of a plurality of smart tags attached to the plurality of packages, wherein the plurality of smart tags comprises a first smart tag, attached to a first package, and a second smart tag attached to a second package; and location information of a delivery sites of each of the plurality of packages; (¶ [0023]: an item may be processed and/or sorted at the unit delivery facility before being delivered to its destination point. The item can be processed and/or sorted based on a label affixed to the item, which may include human-readable and/or machine-readable item information such as an item identifier, a destination, etc.); (¶ [0022]: The unit delivery may sort and stage the items intended for delivery to destinations within the unit delivery facility's coverage area); (¶ [0007]: an item having a dynamically configurable label affixed thereto, the dynamically configurable label comprising an electronic display displaying first label information corresponding to the item); (¶ [0051]: the dynamically configurable label affixed to the item may be associated with item information including, for example, an item identifier, a label identifier, a destination point identifier, and/or any other information associated with the item).
Receiving, in real time by the computing device, global positioning (GPS) data indicating a current location of a vehicle that carries the plurality of packages; Based on the real-time GPS data indicating the current location is within a first geographical area that is associated with a first delivery site of the first package and within a second geographical area that is associated with a second delivery site of the second package: sending, via a wireless connection to the first smart tag, an instruction to output a first audio or visual signal comprising light of a first color; […] and sending, via a third wireless connection to the second smart tag, an instruction to output a third audio or visual signal comprising light of a second color, wherein the second color is different from the first color. (¶ [0025]: systems and methods for real-time or near real-time updates to a label affixed to an item being transported); (¶ [0079]: processor can initiate a change in the display on the dynamically configurable label when a vehicle transporting the item crosses a boundary, such as a state line, ZIP code boundary, etc.) (¶ [0006]: the dynamically configurable label comprises a secondary indicator configured to produce at least one of light and sound, the secondary indicator configured to produce a visible or audible notification associated with display of updated label information); (¶ [0006]: dynamically configurable label comprises a GPS receiver); (¶ [0040]: location information is received from the GPS receiver); (¶ [0079]: the dynamically configurable label receives an input corresponding to a label information update. The input may be an event corresponding to one or more predetermined conditions. The label information update may be triggered when the dynamically configurable label reaches a location within a predetermined radius (e.g., 10 miles, 5 miles, 1 mile, etc.) of the destination point); (¶ [0081]: the updated label information is displayed and may include, for example, an identifier of the destination point, or any other sequential information facilitating transport of the item to the recipient); (¶ [0038]: a sound produced at the audio indicator may be used to assist in location of an item. For example, a continuous or repeated sound may be played at the audio indicator); (¶ [0037]: The secondary visual indicator may be, for example, a light source. The secondary visual indicator may be switchable between two or more different colors of light); (¶ [0025]: Dynamically configurable labels may further include one or more remote communication interfaces, such that a command to update the displayed label information may be sent to the dynamically configurable label from a remote location).
Thus, Dearing teaches a system that is configured to sort delivery items intended for delivery to destinations within a delivery facility's coverage area, and each of the items are affixed with dynamically configurable labels. Furthermore, when the dynamically configurable labels reach a location within a predetermined radius (e.g., 10 miles, 5 miles, 1 mile, etc.), the labels may receive an input/command corresponding to a label information update (e.g., information for facilitating transport of the item to the recipient). Moreover, the dynamically configurable labels may produce a secondary indicator in association with the updated label information (see ¶ [0006]). The secondary indicator includes audio and visual notifications, such as a sound or light that is switchable between two or more different colors (see ¶ [0037]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the system of Dearing is configured and capable to instruct a plurality of labels to output individual audio/visual notifications when they are within a predetermined radius of their respective delivery locations. Because Dearing does not explicitly limit the size of the predetermined radius, and suggests the radius can be of any predetermined size, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that two or more labels/items being transported by a carrier may have respective destinations that are within the same predetermined radius for triggering the audio/visual notification and, thus, could each be instructed to output the audio/visual notifications upon entering the same predetermined radius.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov with the teachings of Dearing by incorporating the features for receiving information associated with a plurality of packages to be delivered including device identifiers of a plurality of smart tags attached to the plurality of packages, receiving location information of a delivery sites of each of the plurality of packages, and sending an instruction to a first and second smart tag to output individual audio signals (or visual signal comprising different colors) when GPS data indicates a current location of a carrier vehicle is within a geographical area associated with a first and second delivery site corresponding to the first/second smart tags, as taught by Dearing, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification with the purpose “to assist a carrier of a distribution network in locating an item to which the dynamically configurable label 110 is affixed, especially where the item is located among a number of other items such that the item is not readily distinguishable by sight alone” (¶ [0038]), as suggested by Dearing.
Claim 2: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov teaches the following:
Wherein: the computing device comprises a portable user device; […] or the smart doorplate comprises an IoT device. (¶ [0002]: The subject technology provides solutions for internet of things (IoT) devices, and in particular, for providing a signaling location beacon); (¶ [0054]: location beacon 100 can further include mesh self-organizing networks that can include connecting multiple close proximity devices to a single IoT node); (¶ [0062]: Platform server can also provide low bandwidth, IoT cell service plans to location beacons to provide wireless internet access so that the location beacon 100 can communicate with a user or the platform server).
Claim 5: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov teaches the following:
Wherein the determining the current location of the vehicle being within a geographical area associated with the delivery site is based on at least one of: […] a near-distance communication between the smart doorplate at the first delivery site and the computing device; (¶ [0069]: a virtual geofence zone can be established around a customer delivery destination. A deliverer approaching the destination can cross the geofence and triggers a signal sent to the location beacon, which can then illuminate the customer's location beacon. The location beacon can illuminate an animation, blink, or present a specific color, which makes it easier for the deliverer to spot the customer's location from their vehicle); (¶ [0086]: the physical beacon and the delivery person can be close enough so that the beacon can trigger the transmission of a sensor signal through a device used by the delivery person); (¶ [0087]: an interaction between the physical beacon and the delivery person can be initiated when the delivery person crosses a boundary surrounding the physical beacon. For example, when the delivery person is within a boundary defined as 50 meters away from the physical beacon, then an interaction between the physical beacon and the delivery person can be triggered); (¶ [0090]: In controlling the device to generate and transmit the sensory signal, the physical beacon can either send the control instructions to the device over a LAN or a WAN).
Claim 10: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov teaches the following:
Wherein the first delivery site is identified based on a Bluetooth identifier of the smart doorplate, and wherein the smart doorplate is attached to a structure at the first delivery site. (¶ [0040]: the location beacon can be mounted to a door); (¶ [0066]: The location beacon can also utilize the Bluetooth receiver for an initial Wi-Fi onboarding via a mobile application); (¶ [0067]: Location beacon can utilize both types of connectivity (e.g., Wi-Fi and BLE) to maintain a connection with user equipment or the platform server); (¶ [0043]: location beacon can receive illumination trigger from the platform server via Bluetooth connection); (¶ [0086]: an interaction is detected between the physical beacon and the delivery person, where the interaction includes an event that occurs based on the physical beacon and delivery person being in physical proximity to each other); (¶ [0086]: the physical beacon and the delivery person can be close enough so that the beacon can trigger the transmission of a sensory signal through a device used by the delivery person).
Claim 13: Polyakov teaches the following:
A computing device comprising: one or more processors; memory storing instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the computing device to perform actions comprising: (¶ [0029]: A system can include one or more processors and at least one computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine a physical location for transferring a delivery from a delivery person to a customer).
The remaining limitations of claim 13 are substantially analogous to the limitations of claim 1. Accordingly, the remaining limitations of claim 13 are rejected for substantially the same reasons and rationale as set forth herein with regard to claim 1.
Claim 14: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 13. Furthermore, the limitations of claim 14 are substantially analogous to the limitations of claim 2. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons and rationale as set forth herein with regard to claim 2.
Claim 17: Polyakov teaches the following:
Receiving, in real time, global position system (GPS) data indicating a current location of a vehicle that carries the plurality of packages; Based on the real-time GPS data indicating the current location is within a first geographical area that is associated with a first delivery site of the first package […]: sending, via a wireless connection to the first smart […], an instruction to output a first audio or visual signal comprising light of a first color; sending, via a second wireless connection to a smart doorplate associated with the first delivery site, an instruction to output a second audio or visual signal comprising light of the first color.(¶ [0074]: a physical beacon, e.g., a location beacon); (¶ [0040]: the location beacon can be mounted to a door); (¶ [0069]: a virtual geofence zone can be established around a customer delivery destination. A deliverer approaching the destination can cross the geofence and triggers a signal sent to the location beacon, which can then illuminate the customer's location beacon. The location beacon can illuminate an animation, blink, or present a specific color, which makes it easier for the deliverer to spot the customer's location from their vehicle); (¶ [0085]: a global GPS-enabled device can be operated in relation to the physical beacon to determine a physical location of the physical beacon. In another example, a delivery application-enabled device can be operated to detect the physical beacon); (¶ [0086]: an interaction is detected between the physical beacon and the delivery person, where the interaction includes an event that occurs based on the physical beacon and delivery person being in physical proximity to each other); (¶ [0086]: the physical beacon and the delivery person can be close enough so that the beacon can trigger the transmission of a sensory signal through a device used by the delivery person); (¶ [0087]: a smart device in a car driven by the delivery person can serve to trigger an interaction with the physical beacon); (¶ [0090]: the physical beacon can transmit control instructions for generating the sensory signal to a smart device in proximity to the delivery person); (¶ [0079]: a sensory signal includes a visual signal or audio signal); (¶ [0092]: variable characteristics of the sensory signal can be selected. For example, a specific color can be used to illuminate the physical beacon); (¶ [0043]: location beacon can receive an illumination trigger from the platform server over the internet from a wireless connection); (¶ [0046]: A location beacon can be associated with a corresponding color that differentiates itself from other order’s location beacons. A deliverer can be provided with a color via the platform server that is associated with the order to be picked up); (¶ [0089]: the physical beacon can generate an auditory signal that the delivery person can hear).
The first smart […] configured to output the first audio or visual signal comprising light of the first color; and the smart doorplate configured to output the second audio or visual signal.(¶ [0089]: see above); (¶ [0043]: see above); (¶ [0046]: see above); (¶ [0090]: see above).
Thus, the system of Polyakov comprises a physical/location beacon that can be placed at a customer’s home. When a delivery driver is within a proximity of the beacon, a sensory signal may be sent to the beacon such that it may illuminate a specific color. Moreover, the sensory signal may be further provided to a smart device within the driver’s vehicle – the sensory signal comprising the specific color. Moreover, location beacons can be associated with a corresponding color, and the corresponding color is also provided to the smart device associated with the driver/vehicle.
Polyakov does not explicitly teach receiving information associated with a plurality of packages to be delivered, wherein the information comprises: device identifiers of a plurality of smart tags attached to the plurality of packages, wherein the plurality of smart tags comprises a first smart tag, attached to a first package, and a second smart tag attached to a second package; and location information of a delivery sites of each of the plurality of packages. Furthermore, Polyakov does not explicitly teach sending an instruction to a first/second smart tag to output a first/second audio signal (or visual signal comprising a light of a first/second color) based on the real-time GPS data indicating the current location is within a first geographical area that is associated with a first delivery site of the first package and within a second geographical area that is associated with a second delivery site of the second package.
However, Dearing teaches the following:
Receiving, information associated with a plurality of packages to be delivered, wherein the information comprises: device identifiers of a plurality of smart tags attached to the plurality of packages, wherein the plurality of smart tags comprises a first smart tag, attached to a first package, and a second smart tag attached to a second package; and location information of a delivery sites of each of the plurality of packages; (¶ [0023]: an item may be processed and/or sorted at the unit delivery facility before being delivered to its destination point. The item can be processed and/or sorted based on a label affixed to the item, which may include human-readable and/or machine-readable item information such as an item identifier, a destination, etc.); (¶ [0022]: The unit delivery may sort and stage the items intended for delivery to destinations within the unit delivery facility's coverage area); (¶ [0007]: an item having a dynamically configurable label affixed thereto, the dynamically configurable label comprising an electronic display displaying first label information corresponding to the item); (¶ [0051]: the dynamically configurable label affixed to the item may be associated with item information including, for example, an item identifier, a label identifier, a destination point identifier, and/or any other information associated with the item).
Receiving, in real time, global positioning (GPS) data indicating a current location of a vehicle that carries the plurality of packages; Based on the real-time GPS data indicating the current location is within a first geographical area that is associated with a first delivery site of the first package and within a second geographical area that is associated with a second delivery site of the second package: sending, via a wireless connection to the first smart tag, an instruction to output a first audio or visual signal comprising light of a first color; […] and sending, via a third wireless connection to the second smart tag, an instruction to output a third audio or visual signal comprising light of a second color, wherein the second color is different from the first color; and the first smart tag is configured to output the first audio or visual signal comprising light of the first color; (¶ [0025]: systems and methods for real-time or near real-time updates to a label affixed to an item being transported); (¶ [0079]: processor can initiate a change in the display on the dynamically configurable label when a vehicle transporting the item crosses a boundary, such as a state line, ZIP code boundary, etc.) (¶ [0006]: the dynamically configurable label comprises a secondary indicator configured to produce at least one of light and sound, the secondary indicator configured to produce a visible or audible notification associated with display of updated label information); (¶ [0006]: dynamically configurable label comprises a GPS receiver); (¶ [0040]: location information is received from the GPS receiver); (¶ [0079]: the dynamically configurable label receives an input corresponding to a label information update. The input may be an event corresponding to one or more predetermined conditions. The label information update may be triggered when the dynamically configurable label reaches a location within a predetermined radius (e.g., 10 miles, 5 miles, 1 mile, etc.) of the destination point); (¶ [0081]: the updated label information is displayed and may include, for example, an identifier of the destination point, or any other sequential information facilitating transport of the item to the recipient); (¶ [0038]: a sound produced at the audio indicator may be used to assist in location of an item. For example, a continuous or repeated sound may be played at the audio indicator); (¶ [0037]: The secondary visual indicator may be, for example, a light source. The secondary visual indicator may be switchable between two or more different colors of light); (¶ [0025]: Dynamically configurable labels may further include one or more remote communication interfaces, such that a command to update the displayed label information may be sent to the dynamically configurable label from a remote location).
Thus, Dearing teaches a system that is configured to sort delivery items intended for delivery to destinations within a delivery facility's coverage area, and each of the items are affixed with dynamically configurable labels. Furthermore, when the dynamically configurable labels reach a location within a predetermined radius (e.g., 10 miles, 5 miles, 1 mile, etc.), the labels may receive an input/command corresponding to a label information update (e.g., information for facilitating transport of the item to the recipient). Moreover, the dynamically configurable labels may produce a secondary indicator in association with the updated label information (see ¶ [0006]). The secondary indicator includes audio and visual notifications, such as a sound or light that is switchable between two or more different colors (see ¶ [0037]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the system of Dearing is configured and capable to instruct a plurality of labels to output individual audio/visual notifications when they are within a predetermined radius of their respective delivery locations. Because Dearing does not explicitly limit the size of the predetermined radius, and suggests the radius can be of any predetermined size, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that two or more labels/items being transported by a carrier may have respective destinations that are within the same predetermined radius for triggering the audio/visual notification and, thus, could each be instructed to output the audio/visual notifications upon entering the same predetermined radius.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov with the teachings of Dearing by incorporating the features for receiving information associated with a plurality of packages to be delivered including device identifiers of a plurality of smart tags attached to the plurality of packages, receiving location information of a delivery sites of each of the plurality of packages, and sending an instruction to a first and second smart tag to output individual audio signals (or visual signal comprising different colors) when GPS data indicates a current location of a carrier vehicle is within a geographical area associated with a first and second delivery site corresponding to the first/second smart tags, as taught by Dearing, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification with the purpose “to assist a carrier of a distribution network in locating an item to which the dynamically configurable label 110 is affixed, especially where the item is located among a number of other items such that the item is not readily distinguishable by sight alone” (¶ [0038]), as suggested by Dearing.
Claim 18: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 17. Furthermore, the limitations of claim 18 are substantially analogous to the limitations of claim 2. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected for substantially the same reasons and rationale as set forth herein with regard to claim 2.
Claim 21: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov teaches the following:
Selecting, for the second audio or visual signal and from a plurality of light colors, the first color, wherein the selecting is based on the first audio or visual signal comprising light of the first color. (¶ [0086]: an interaction is detected between the physical beacon and the delivery person, where the interaction includes an event that occurs based on the physical beacon and delivery person being in physical proximity to each other); (¶ [0087]: a smart device in a car driven by the delivery person can serve to trigger an interaction with the physical beacon); (¶ [0090]: the physical beacon can transmit control instructions for generating the sensory signal to a smart device in proximity to the delivery person); (¶ [0079]: a sensory signal includes a visual signal or audio signal); (¶ [0092]: variable characteristics of the sensory signal can be selected. For example, a specific color can be used to illuminate the physical beacon); (¶ [0043]: location beacon can receive an illumination trigger from the platform server over the internet from a wireless connection); (¶ [0046]: A location beacon can be associated with a corresponding color that differentiates itself from other order’s location beacons. A deliverer can be provided with a color via the platform server that is associated with the order to be picked up).
Thus, the system of Polyakov comprises a physical/location beacon that can be placed at a customer’s home. When a delivery driver is within a proximity of the beacon, a sensory signal may be sent to the beacon such that it may illuminate a specific color. Moreover, the sensory signal may be further provided to a smart device within the driver’s vehicle – the sensory signal comprising the specific color. Moreover, location beacons can be associated with a corresponding color, and the corresponding color is also provided to the smart device associated with the driver/vehicle.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Polyakov, in view of Dearing, in further view of Stark U.S. Publication No. 2025/0159434 (“Stark”).
Claim 6: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov does not explicitly teach, however Dearing does teach, the following:
Associating, based on the receiving the information, the first smart tag and the first delivery site; (¶ [0051]: the dynamically configurable label affixed to the item may be associated with item information including, for example, an item identifier, a label identifier, a destination point identifier, and/or any other information associated with the item).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov with the teachings of Dearing by incorporating the features for associating, based on the received information, the smart tag and the delivery site, as taught by Dearing, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable.
Polyakov/Dearing does not explicitly teach dissociating the smart tag and the delivery site after delivery of the package to the delivery site. However Stark does teach the following:
Associating, based on the receiving the information, the first smart tag and the first delivery site; (¶ [0030]: A tracking device controller receives information including location data from each of the wireless tracking devices 400 a, 400 b. The wireless tracking devices 400 a, 400 b may transmit GPS coordinates at regular intervals); (¶ [0017]: the generation of alerts may be based on a comparison of a tracker location with a stored location to identify the location as a destination location); (¶ [0046]: the stored locations include shipping destinations for a package, and are stored in the memory of a tracking device controller).
After delivery of the first package to the first delivery site, dissociating the first smart tag and the first delivery site. (¶ [0017]: once the tracker reaches its destination location, the tracker can be disabled to avoid tracking without consent of an individual or entity retrieving the package from its destination); (¶ [0034]: tracking alert logic may utilize the collected data and the stored locations to determine when to send a notification to paired wireless devices offering an option to disable the paired wireless tracking devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov/Dearing with the teachings of Stark by incorporating the features for associating, based on the received information, the smart tag and the delivery site and dissociating the smart tag and the delivery site after delivery of the package to the delivery site, as taught by Stark, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification with the purpose “to prevent individuals or entities in possession of the tracking device from being tracked without prior consent” (¶ [0018]) and “the tracker can be disabled to avoid tracking without consent of an individual or entity retrieving the package from its destination” (¶ [0017]), as suggested by Stark.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Polyakov, in view of Dearing, in further view of Shafer et al. U.S. Publication No. 2014/0351098, hereafter known as Shafer.
Claim 7: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov/Dearing does not explicitly teach, however Shafer does teach, the following:
Determining that the first smart tag, attached to the first package, is disconnected from the computing device before the first package is delivered; (¶ [0066]: one or more monitoring devices may be affixed to respective products or other articles to facilitate monitoring of the article to which each monitoring device is affixed); (¶ [0005]: systems and methods are provided for leveraging a network for managing articles, such as in a commercial environment); (¶ [0039]: The network entity may comprise a server); (¶ [0121]: the network entity may be configured to initiate a timer upon receiving ping node location data from a monitoring device. If the network entity does not receive another signal from the monitoring device indicating the ping node location data, even if it is the same ping node location data, the network entity may initiate the lost tag alert protocol).
Sending an alert indicating the first package is lost. (¶ [0122]: Upon initiation of the lost tag alert protocol, the network entity may report that the timer has expired. Then the network entity may log a no report event in a memory. The network entity may also be configured to transmit a lost tag alert message to an alert device. The alert device may receive the message and display the lost tag alert. The alert device may store the lost tag alert message to memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov/Dearing with the teachings of Shafer by incorporating the features for determining that the smart tag, attached to the package, is disconnected from the computing device before the package is delivered and sending an alert indicating the package is lost, as taught by Shafer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification when one considers “this information may be helpful for the user in logging events or investigating the alert” (¶ [0126]), as suggested by Shafer.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Polyakov, in view of Dearing, in further view of Subramanian et al. U.S. Publication No. 2023/0089726, hereafter known as Subramanian.
Claim 8: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov/Dearing does not explicitly teach, however Subramanian does teach, the following:
Determining whether an electronic certificate indicating delivery of the first package has been received before the vehicle moves out of the first geographical area associated with the first delivery site; (¶ [0055]: a beaconing device having video/image capability (or having access to live video/image captures taken from cameras) may be capable of identifying the drone in the video/image and provide real-time instructions to a drone for delivering a package to the precise delivery location (e.g., the patio). It may also record this video/image and/or send the video/image to a user to confirm delivery of the package); (¶ [0047]: Alternatively, the delivery may be made by a human deliverer that uses the delivery device, e.g., delivery vehicle); (¶ [0057]: embodiments may utilize different techniques for verifying precise delivery location, including using one or more pictures of the delivered package provided by the delivery device and information from one or more sensors (e.g., camera images)).
Sending, based on the electronic certificate had not been received before the vehicle moved out of the first geographical area, an alert indicating the first package was delivered incorrectly. (¶ [0055]: see above); (¶ [0057]: embodiments may utilize different techniques for verifying precise delivery location, including using one or more pictures of the delivered package provided by the delivery device and information from one or more sensors (e.g., camera images)); (¶ [0058]: a beaconing device may indicate the failure of delivery to the precise delivery location (e.g., instead of providing confirmation). The beaconing device and/or delivery device may notify a user of failure. Optionally, the user may have an ability to provide instructions and/or other input to the delivery device regarding the precise delivery location, rescheduling delivery, or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov/Dearing with the teachings of Subramanian by incorporating the features for determining whether an electronic certificate indicating delivery of the package has been received before the vehicle moves out of the geographical area associated with the delivery site and sending, based on the electronic certificate had not been received before the vehicle moved out of the geographical area, an alert indicating the package was delivered incorrectly, as taught by Subramanian, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification with the purpose of further “helping ensure the package gets delivered to the correct precise location” (¶ [0025]), as suggested by Subramanian.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Polyakov, in view of Dearing, in further view of Bonafe et al. U.S. Publication No. 2024/0220745, hereafter known as Bonafe.
Claim 9: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov/Dearing does not explicitly teach, however Bonafe does teach, the following:
Based on the current location being within the first geographical area associated with the first delivery site, causing a wearable user device to output a fourth audio or visual signal, wherein the fourth audio or visual signal comprises a light corresponding to the first audio or visual signal. (¶ [0020]: When a delivery for the package occurs at the final delivery destination, a delivery driver may have to open the bulkhead door of the logistics vehicle and walk down the bed of the logistics vehicle to locate the package and then drop off the package at the final delivery destination); (¶ [0024]: the present disclosure provide one or more technical solutions to one or more of these technical problems); (¶ [0079]: the vehicle includes a plurality of light devices coupled to respective storage units); (¶ [0091]: an asset is located within a storage unit); (¶ [0026]: the system transmits a control signal to a first light device (e.g., a Light Emitting Diode (LED)), of multiple light devices, where each light device is coupled to a respective storage unit. Such transmission of the control signal causes the first light device to emit light, where the emission of the light indicates that the asset is located within the first storage unit. In this way, for example, carrier personnel may receive a visual indication of where a package is located so that the personnel may know where to walk to within the logistics vehicle to find the package); (¶ [0092]: transmitting a control signal that causes the user device to indicate that the asset is located within the area associated with the location includes transmitting a notification to the user device associated with a driver of the logistics vehicle, where the notification instructs the driver where, in the logistics vehicle, to pick the asset from); (¶ [0080]: “indication” described herein is a message (e.g., received over the network(s) 110), a notification, a flag, signal or other indicator); (¶ [0110]: the term device may include watches and glasses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov/Dearing with the teaching of Bonafe by incorporating the features for causing a wearable user device to output a third audio or visual signal, wherein the third audio or visual signal comprises a light corresponding to the first audio or visual signal based on the determination that the current location is within the geographical area associated with the delivery site, as taught by Bonafe, into the system of Polyakov/Dearing that is configured to cause a plurality of devices to output a visual/audible signal upon determining that a delivery driver is proximate to a delivery destination location. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification when one considers a “carrier personnel may receive a visual indication of where a package is located so that the personnel may know where to walk to within the logistics vehicle to find the package” (¶ [0027]), as suggested by Bonafe.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Polyakov, in view of Dearing, in further view of Bolton et al. U.S. Patent No. 10,198,707, hereafter known as Bolton.
Claim 11: Polyakov/Dearing teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Polyakov/Dearing does not teach, however Bolton does teach, the following:
Determining that the current location of the vehicle is within a predefined distance of at least two delivery sites; (Col. 36, lines 17-20: delivery vehicles may comprise a location determining device (e.g., a GPS device) configured to record and relay the paths traveled by the corresponding vehicle); (col. 57, lines 61-67: the system is configured to identify one or more optimal park positions for servicing one or more serviceable points. The optimal park position is based upon a determination that a particular vehicle operator is scheduled to visit two or more associated serviceable points on a single day); (col. 58, lines 30-45: the system is configured to inform the driver in advance of the driver arriving at a location to deliver the shipments. For example, the system may provide an advance alert to the driver upon the driver being within a predefined threshold distance. The alert provides an indication of the location of the determined optimal park position).
Determining, based on a respective distance between the current location and each of the at least two delivery sites, a parking location of the vehicle. (col. 58, lines 30-45: the system is configured to inform the driver in advance of the driver arriving at a location to deliver the shipments. For example, the system may provide an advance alert to the driver upon the driver being within a predefined threshold distance. The alert provides an indication of the location of the determined optimal park position); (col. 58, lines 55-58: the alert may not indicate an optimal park position, but may instead provide the driver with advance notice to seek out an optimal park position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov/Dearing with the teachings of Bolton by incorporating the features for determining that the current location of the vehicle is within a predefined distance of at least two delivery sites and determining, based on a respective distance between the current location and each of the at least two delivery sites, a parking location of the vehicle, as taught by Bolton, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “in order to service all of the grouped serviceable points without needing to move the vehicle” (col. 58, lines 8-10) and “to minimize the amount of out-of-vehicle (e.g., walking) travel necessary to reach each of the multiple serviceable points without moving the vehicle” (col. 58, lines 58-60), as suggested by Bolton.
Claim 12: Polyakov/Dearing/Bolton teaches the limitations of claim 11. Furthermore, Polyakov/Dearing does not teach, however Bolton does teach, the following:
Wherein the predefined distance is a three-dimensional (3D) distance based on differences in latitude, longitude, and altitude between the current location and the at least two delivery sites. (Col. 36, lines 17-20: delivery vehicles may comprise a location determining device (e.g., a GPS device) configured to record and relay the paths traveled by the corresponding vehicle); (col. 58, lines 30-45: the system is configured to inform the driver in advance of the driver arriving at a location to deliver the shipments. For example, the system may provide an advance alert to the driver upon the driver being within a predefined threshold distance. The alert provides an indication of the location of the determined optimal park position). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that GPS can calculate distance in 3D, as GPS devices are capable of determining positions in three-dimensional space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Polyakov/Dearing with the teachings of Bolton by incorporating the features for determining that the current location of the vehicle is within a predefined distance of at least two delivery sites, wherein the predefined distance is a three-dimensional (3D) distance based on differences in latitude, longitude, and altitude between the current location and the delivery site, as taught by Bolton, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements. In combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination are predictable. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “in order to service all of the grouped serviceable points without needing to move the vehicle” (col. 58, lines 8-10) and “to minimize the amount of out-of-vehicle (e.g., walking) travel necessary to reach each of the multiple serviceable points without moving the vehicle” (col. 58, lines 58-60), as suggested by Bolton.
Conclusion
/JORGE G DEL TORO-ORTEGA/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/JEFF ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628