DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites “at least two selected a group consisting of…” This should read “at least two selected from a group consisting of…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 – 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Locke et al. (US PGPUB 2003/0201752).
Regarding claim 1, Locke discloses a defibrillator system (e.g. ABSTRACT) comprising:
a base defibrillator (e.g. 20) unit that is capable of operating independently as an automated external defibrillator (AED) the base defibrillator unit including a rechargeable battery and battery charging circuitry (e.g. ¶ 26; power source in the form of rechargeable cells); and
a supplemental battery pack (e.g. 60) configured to be electrically connected to the base defibrillator unit and stored with the base defibrillator unit to facilitate periodically recharging the base defibrillator unit's rechargeable battery via the battery charging circuitry while the base defibrillator unit is being stored (e.g. ¶ 26); and
wherein the defibrillator system is configured to charge the rechargeable battery using power supplied by the supplemental battery pack while the base defibrillator unit is being stored to thereby extend a shelf life of the base defibrillator unit (e.g. ¶ 26).
Regarding claim 6, Locke discloses the base defibrillator unit has a first connector electrically coupled to the battery charging circuitry; and the supplemental battery pack has a second connector configured to be directly or indirectly coupled to the first connector to facilitate recharging the rechargeable battery while the base defibrillator unit is being stored (e.g. ¶ 33).
Regarding claim 7, Locke discloses the supplemental battery pack is mounted on the base defibrillator unit to form at least a part of a unitary portable modular defibrillator system that combines the base defibrillator unit and the supplemental battery pack; and the first connector of the base defibrillator unit directly contacts the second connector of the supplemental battery pack (e.g. ¶ 26, 36).
Regarding claim 8, Locke discloses a connector cable that electrically connects the first connector of the base defibrillator unit to the second connector of the supplemental battery pack (e.g. ¶ 36; the electrical connectors read on the connector cable).
Regarding claim 10, Locke discloses the supplemental battery pack is mounted on the base defibrillator unit to form at least a part of a unitary portable modular defibrillator system that combines the base defibrillator unit and the supplemental battery pack (e.g. ¶ 26, 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lock et al.
Regarding claim 9, Locke discloses the first and second connectors as previously discussed but doesn’t explicitly recite USB connectors. However, USB connectors are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the connectors as taught by Lock with the USB connectors, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using well known and readily available connectors to charge the rechargeable cells.
Claim(s) 2 – 5, 15, 16, and 18 – 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke in view of Stever et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0292534).
Regarding claims 2 – 5 and 18 – 25, Locke discloses the claimed invention except for the interface unit mounted on the base defibrillator as claimed. Stever teaches it is known to use a removable interface module mounted in operative relation to an AED, having its own rechargeable energy storage, a processor, and a communication receiver (e.g. ¶ 6, 37 – 41). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Locke with the interface as taught by Stever, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of efficiently providing information to a user.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Locke discloses the claimed invention except for
the defibrillator system is configured to automatically, periodically send status messages via the communications unit to a remotely located server, the status messages including an indication of a charge level of the rechargeable battery. Stever teaches it is known to use an AED that periodically sends status messages via the communications unit to a remotely located server, the status messages including an indication of a charge level of the rechargeable battery (e.g. ¶ 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Locke with the status messaging as taught by Stever, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing a physician at a remote location to monitor the status of the AED in real time.
Claim(s) 11 – 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke et al. in view of Tamura et al. (US PGPUB 2004/0212344).
Regarding claims 11 – 14, Locke discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly recite a battery charging controller. Tamura teaches it is known to use an AED assembly comprising a defibrillator housing carrying a rechargeable power source, and a battery charging controller that manages charging and maintenance of the base unite battery which communicates battery status (e.g. ¶ 29-30 and 47). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Locke with the battery charging controller as taught by Tamura, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of further extending readiness/shelf life.
Regarding claim 17¸ Locke discloses the claimed invention except for period self-tests. Tamura teaches it is known to use a shock discharge capacitor and capacitor charging circuitry suitable for charging the shock discharge capacitor to a level suitable for delivering a defibrillation shock; the defibrillator system is configured to execute periodic self-tests of the base defibrillator unit; and at least some of the periodic self-tests involve charging the shock discharge capacitor (e.g. ¶ 47). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Locke with the self-tests as taught by Tamura, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of efficiently optimizing defibrillator performance.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796