Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 04/02/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEKAN (US 20230418965 A1) in view of Kusko (US 20220027501 A1)
Regrading claim 1, BEKAN teaches a vehicular system for restricting access to personal data associated with a vehicle, the system comprises:
a processing circuitry configured to:
- send a request message indicative of a request to access the first set of personal data (Para [0036]. Para [0051]: the data consumer 220 send towards the data controller 230 a service request associated with type of vehicle’s data requested.);
- receive a response message indicative of approval to access the first set of personal data (Para [0052]: the data controller 230 then performs a check whether said data consumer 230 is admitted towards consuming the requested data. If the check is positive (approval), the data consumer 220 receives a service admission from the data controller 230.); and
- determine when to allow access to the first set of personal data while restricting access to at least the second set of personal data (Para [0036]- [0037]. Para [0044]. Para [0052]: The data controller checks if data consumer 220 can access specific data streams by performing a check whether said data consumer 230, 330 is admitted towards consuming the requested data and/or whether the privacy policy/policies is/are valid and/or whether the terms and conditions are valid. If approved, the consumer gets admission. While, Sensitive data, like speed, is tagged as individual-approval-enforced (second set of personal data) needs direct consent from the vehicle owner or user 400 before the data controller shares it.).
BEKAN does not explicitly disclose store at least a first set of personal data tagged with user identity; store at least a second set of personal data tagged with user identity.
Kusko teaches store at least a first set of personal data tagged with user identity (Para [0036]- [0037]. Claim 5: Processing proceeds to classifies and stores inputs across five categories: passenger personal data, vehicle data, peripheral data, transponder data, and itinerary details, all linked to a specific user identity in a data store.);
store at least a second set of personal data tagged with user identity (Para [0036]- [0037]. Claim 5: Processing proceeds to classifies and stores inputs across five categories: passenger personal data, vehicle data, peripheral data, transponder data, and itinerary details, all linked to a specific user identity in a data store.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of BEKAN with the teachings of Kusko to include store at least a first set of personal data tagged with user identity; store at least a second set of personal data tagged with user identity in order to implement access control that is more precise and secure as to ensure that security measures are applied proportionally to the importance of the data.
Regrading claim 2, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
- detect a request for vehicle service (BEKAN Para [0036]. Para [0051]: The data controller 230 receives a data access request from the data consumer 220. The request includes a specification detailing which type of data is requested from specific data providers 210.);
- determine the type of vehicle service that is requested (BEKAN Para [0051-[0052]: the data controller 230, 330 determine the policy and conditions linked to the request.); and
- identify the first set of personal data that is desired for the determined type of vehicle service (BEKAN Para [0036]- [0037]. Para [0044]. Para [0052]: The data controller checks if data consumer 220 can access specific data streams by performing a check whether said data consumer 230, 330 is admitted towards consuming the requested data and/or whether the privacy policy/policies is/are valid and/or whether the terms and conditions are valid. If approved, the consumer gets admission.).
Regrading claim 3, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
- determine the first set of personal data that is approved to access and determine at least a second set of personal data that is not approved to access that will be restricted from access (Para [0036]- [0037]. Para [0044]. Para [0052]: The data controller checks if data consumer 220 can access specific data streams by performing a check whether said data consumer 230, 330 is admitted towards consuming the requested data and/or whether the privacy policy/policies is/are valid and/or whether the terms and conditions are valid. If approved, the consumer gets admission. While, Sensitive data, like speed, is tagged as individual-approval-enforced (second set of personal data) needs direct consent from the vehicle owner or user 400 before the data controller shares it.).
Regrading claim 8, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the request message indicative of a request to access the first set of personal data further comprises a request for user identification data (BEKAN Para [0036]. Para [0051]: The data controller 230 receives a data access request from the data consumer 220. The request includes a specification detailing which type of data is requested from specific data providers 210. Kusko Para [0036]- [0037]. Claim 5: Processing proceeds to classifies and stores inputs across five categories: passenger personal data, vehicle data, peripheral data, transponder data, and itinerary details, all linked to a specific user identity in a data store); and
the response message indicative of approval to access the first set of personal data further comprises user identification data (BEKAN Para [0036]- [0037]. Para [0044]. Para [0052]: The data controller checks if data consumer 220 can access specific data streams by performing a check whether said data consumer 230, 330 is admitted towards consuming the requested data and/or whether the privacy policy/policies is/are valid and/or whether the terms and conditions are valid. If approved, the consumer gets admission. While, Sensitive data, like speed, is tagged as individual-approval-enforced (second set of personal data) needs direct consent from the vehicle owner or user 400 before the data controller shares it. Kusko Para [0036]- [0037]. Claim 5: Processing proceeds to classifies and stores inputs across five categories: passenger personal data, vehicle data, peripheral data, transponder data, and itinerary details, all linked to a specific user identity in a data store).
As per claims 1, 2, 3, 6, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claims 9, 10, 11, 12, above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Regrading claim 15, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium, having stored there on a computer program comprising program instructions, the computer program being loadable into a processing circuitry and configured to cause execution of the method according to claim 9 when the computer program is run by the processing circuitry (Kusko Para [0014]).
Claim(s) 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEKAN (US 20230418965 A1) in view of Kusko (US 20220027501 A1) in view of Jensen (US 20200107150 A1)
Regrading claim 4, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches the system according to claim 1.
BEKAN in view of Kusko does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the geographical location of the vehicle; determine if the vehicle is at a predetermined location; and allow access to the first set of personal data in a determination that the vehicle is at the predetermined location.
Jensen teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
- determine the geographical location of the vehicle (Para [0009]: determining a location of the vehicle.);
- determine if the vehicle is at a predetermined location (Para [0009]: where the subset is defined as data retrieved from the vehicle being within a geographical region defined as where the vehicle enters an outer geofence of the start concentric geofence and exit of an inner geofence of an end concentric geofence.); and
- allow access to the first set of personal data in a determination that the vehicle is at the predetermined location (Para [0009]: determining a location of the vehicle; after a tour is assigned to the vehicle, retrieve at a server the data from the vehicle; forwarding from the server a subset of the data to the observer, where the subset is defined as data retrieved from the vehicle being within a geographical region defined as where the vehicle enters an outer geofence of the start concentric geofence and exit of an inner geofence of an end concentric geofence.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of BEKAN in view of Kusko with the teachings of Jensen to include wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the geographical location of the vehicle; determine if the vehicle is at a predetermined location; and allow access to the first set of personal data in a determination that the vehicle is at the predetermined location in order to detect and prevent unauthorized vehicle data theft using geofencing fleet management technology.
As per claim 14, the claim claiming the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claim 4, above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 5, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEKAN (US 20230418965 A1) in view of Kusko (US 20220027501 A1) in view of Bjorkengren (US 20220108565 A1).
Regrading claim 5, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the first set of personal data tagged with user identity and the second set of personal data tagged with user identity (Kusko Para [0036]- [0037]. Claim 5: Processing proceeds to classifies and stores inputs across five categories: passenger personal data, vehicle data, peripheral data, transponder data, and itinerary details, all linked to a specific user identity in a data store.).
BEKAN in view of Kusko does not explicitly disclose data defined by a source of origin of the data or defined by a sensor associated with the data when obtaining the data.
Bjorkengren teaches data defined by a source of origin of the data or defined by a sensor associated with the data when obtaining the data (Para [0023]- [0024]: the method may include communicating, to each source of a plurality of sources of vehicle information, a query requesting information regarding one or more vehicles associated with the source of vehicle information. Each source of vehicle information may correspond to an entity, which may be a vehicle fleet owner (and be associated with multiple vehicles of the fleet) or may be another entity associated with multiple vehicles.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of BEKAN in view of Kusko with the teachings of Bjorkengren to include data defined by a source of origin of the data or defined by a sensor associated with the data when obtaining the data in order to prove the data's authenticity and reliability
As per claim 13, the claim claiming the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claim 5, above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEKAN (US 20230418965 A1) in view of Kusko (US 20220027501 A1) in vier of Goldsteen (US 20220269814 A1).
Regrading claim 6, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches the system according to claim1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
- obtain personal data (Kusko Para [0034]- [0037]);
-obtain user preference settings how to store personal data (Kusko Kusko Para [0036]- [0037]. Claim 5: Processing proceeds to classifies and stores inputs across five categories: passenger personal data, vehicle data, peripheral data, transponder data, and itinerary details, all linked to a specific user identity in a data store.).
BEKAN in view of Kusko does not explicitly disclose determine, by an Artificial Intelligence model, such as a neural network, if the obtained personal data is to be stored as a first set of personal data tagged with user identity or to be stored as a second set of personal data tagged with user identity.
Goldsteen teaches determine, by an Artificial Intelligence model, such as a neural network, if the obtained personal data is to be stored as a first set of personal data tagged with user identity or to be stored as a second set of personal data tagged with user identity (Para [0044]: At 302, personal data stored in a data store is located and classified. According to one embodiment, the data discovery program 110 a, 110 b may implement one or more data discovery tools to find the locations of personal data stored in various structured and unstructured data stores, as described previously with reference to FIG. 2. In one embodiment, the data discovery program 110 a, 110 b may analyze the stored data, as well as the metadata. In various embodiments, the data discovery program 110 a, 110 b may employ supervised or unsupervised ML learning techniques to determine the type and location of each personal data element. In one embodiment, the data discovery program 110 a, 110 b may generate a classification to indicate the personal data feature (e.g., birth date, gender, education) stored in each of the discovered location.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of BEKAN in view of Kusko with the teachings of Goldsteen to include determine, by an Artificial Intelligence model, such as a neural network, if the obtained personal data is to be stored as a first set of personal data tagged with user identity or to be stored as a second set of personal data tagged with user identity in order to help audit the data and comply them to privacy rules.
As per claim 12, the claim claiming the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claim 6, above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEKAN (US 20230418965 A1) in view of Kusko (US 20220027501 A1) in vier of Schwartz (US 20210097069 A1)
Regrading claim 7, BEKAN in view of Kusko teaches the system according to claim 1.
BEKAN in view of Kusko does not explicitly disclose wherein the personal data tagged with user identity is further tagged as General Data Protection Regulation data, and restriction of access to the personal data tagged as General Data Protection Regulation data is managed by the response message indicative of approval to access the first set of personal data
Schwartz teaches wherein the personal data tagged with user identity is further tagged as General Data Protection Regulation data, and restriction of access to the personal data tagged as General Data Protection Regulation data is managed by the response message indicative of approval to access the first set of personal data (Para [0122]: At block 902, the data integration protection assistance system in an embodiment may receive a user-defined dataset label. As described herein, one way for an enterprise system executing data integration processes to protect against GDPR infringement involves tracking the content of data model field values being integrated, and the ways in which such data is being manipulated. For example, an ability to identify sensitive information and apply added security measures to integration processes involving such sensitive information may lessen the risk of infringement. As a first step in such a protection process, data may be sorted in several categories describing different types of sensitive personal information. For example, sensitive information in some embodiments may receive a label identifying a data model field value as falling within one of a plurality of types of sensitive information, including personal data, sensitive data, security data, health data, financial data, or national data. Each of these categories is user-specified. It is contemplated that a user may provide other categories for other purposes. For example, a user may provide categories separating cloud-based transactions from intra-enterprise transactions.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of BEKAN in view of Kusko with the teachings of Schwartz to include wherein the personal data tagged with user identity is further tagged as General Data Protection Regulation data, and restriction of access to the personal data tagged as General Data Protection Regulation data is managed by the response message indicative of approval to access the first set of personal data in order to prevent GDPR infringements and secure sensitive information.
Conclusion
/JUDY BAZNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495