DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the support frame" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radosavljevic (US 7,586,718) in view of Weeks et al. (US 7,869,171).
Regarding Claim 1, Radosavljevic discloses a leakage protection device with additional functions (Figures 1-24, 100, Figures 1-4, 10, Figures 20-21), comprising:
a housing (comprising 104, Figures 1-4); and
an input terminal for coupling to a power supply (13, 11 coupling to an AC power source, Figures 20-21, Column 12, lines 40-46);
an output terminal for coupling to an electrical load (14, 12 coupled to 8, Figures 20-21, Column 12, lines 40-46);
a core assembly disposed within the housing (circuit assembly shown in Figures 10-22), the core assembly including:
a leakage protection assembly, including at least one circuit board, configured to detect a leakage current signal at the output terminal (comprising 102, Figures 20-21, Column 12, lines 45-46, “GFCI 10 includes two main parts, Ground Fault Interrupt (GFI) circuit 102 and checking circuit 100”, PCB 56), and
an additional function assembly (comprising checking unit 100 including 78, Figure 20), coupled to the leakage protection assembly, configured to perform at least one load-end function (Figures 20-21, Column 12, lines 45-46, “GFCI 10 includes two main parts, Ground Fault Interrupt (GFI) circuit 102 and checking circuit 100”).
Radosavljevic does not specifically disclose an additional function circuit board, wherein the leakage protection circuit board and the additional function circuit board are stacked in parallel with each other, and the leakage protection circuit board is located farther away from the input terminal than the additional function circuit board is.
Weeks discloses a leakage protection device with additional functions (10, Figures 1-16), comprising:
a housing (Figures 2-6, 9, 11-12); and an input terminal for coupling to a power supply (2, 4 coupling to an AC power source, Figure 1); an output terminal for coupling to an electrical load (6,8 coupled to load, Figure 1);
a core assembly disposed within the housing (circuit assembly within in the housing as shown in Figures), the core assembly including: a leakage protection assembly (comprising 100, Figures 1, 9, 11), including at least one circuit board, configured to detect a leakage current signal at the output terminal (comprising 100 including PCB 101, Figures 1, 9, 11), and an additional function assembly (comprising 200, Figure 20), coupled to the leakage protection assembly, including at least an additional function circuit board, configured to perform at least one load-end function (200 on PCB 201 and coupled to 100, 101, Figures 1, 8-9, 11);
wherein the leakage protection circuit board and the additional function circuit board are stacked in parallel with each other (101 and 201 stacked together in parallel with each other, Figures 1, 9, 11), and the leakage protection circuit board is located farther away from a first/top side of the housing than the additional function circuit board is (101 farther away from 24 than 201, Figures 1, 9, 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the leakage protection device of Radosavljevic, and additional function circuit board as taught by Weeks, to facilitate easy access for testing maintenance and to locate the leakage protection circuit board having larger number of circuit components relatively farther away from the input terminals than the additional function circuit board to reduce heat generation.
Regarding Claim 2, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 1, wherein the leakage protection assembly includes at least a detection assembly (comprising 2, 3, 16, Figures 20-21) and a disconnection assembly (comprising 40, 42, Figures 20-21), wherein the detection assembly is configured to detect a leakage current signal at the output end, and the disconnection assembly is configured to disconnect an electrical connection between the input terminal and the output terminal in response to the leakage current signal (42 connect and disconnect input end 13, 11 and output end 14, 12 when triggered by 40, Figures 20-21).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 2, wherein the detection assembly includes a detection magnetic ring, which has an inner hole and is coupled to the leakage protection circuit board (comprising 200, 206 coupled to U1, 16, Figures 20-21), configured to detect the leakage current signal of power supply lines passing through the inner hole and to transmit the signal to the leakage protection circuit board (200, 206 detect leakage current passing through power supply lines coupled to 13, 11 and 14, 12 and transmit signal to U1,16, Figures 20-21 ).
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 3, wherein the disconnection assembly includes an input stationary contact assembly coupled to the input terminal (Radosavljevic, fixed contact assembly on input terminals via power conductors, Figures 20-21) and an output moving contact assembly passing through the inner hole of the detection magnetic ring and coupled to the output terminal (Radosavljevic moving contact assembly 42 coupled to the output terminal and passing through detection magnetic ring 2, 3 upon contact being made, Figures 20-21), wherein the disconnection assembly is configured to disconnect an electrical connection between the input stationary contact assembly and the output moving contact assembly in response to the leakage current signal.
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 4, wherein the leakage protection assembly includes an operating assembly mechanically linked with the disconnection assembly (comprising 40, 42, 44, Figures 20-21), wherein the operating assembly includes a reset assembly (comprising 44, Figures 20-21) and a trip assembly configured to switch (comprising 40, Figures 20-21) the input stationary contact assembly and the output moving contact assembly between a connected state and a disconnected state (Column 13, lines 24-33).
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 5, wherein the operating assembly further includes a test assembly, coupled to the leakage protection circuit board and configured to generate a simulated leakage signal (comprising 96, 94, 92, Figures 20-21).
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 1, further comprising a status indicator formed of a light-transmitting material and disposed between the leakage protection circuit board and the housing (comprising 91, Figures 20-21, Column 14, line 44-Column 15, line 3).
Regarding Claim 21, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 1, wherein the load-end function includes at least a power conversion function and/or an electromagnetic compatibility filtering function and/or a switch control function (comprising 78, 86, 88, 90, Figures 20-21, Column 13, lines 53-58).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radosavljevic (US 7,586,718) in view of Weeks et al. (US 7,869,171) and Hurwicz (US 2006/0209483).
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks does not specifically disclose the leakage protection device of Claim 1, further comprising a heat sink, disposed near components on the leakage protection circuit board and/or the additional function circuit board that are heat-generating, configured to dissipate heat for the heat-generating components.
Hurwicz discloses a circuit interrupter (Figures 1-12) and a heat sink provided to conduct and dissipate heat away from electronics circuitry in the circuit breaker (see Paragraph 152). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, a heat sink as taught by Hurwicz, to protect the electronic circuit elements from overheating.
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Hurwicz discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 7, further comprising conducting and dissipating heat away from the heat-generating components (Hurwicz, Paragraph 152).
Combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Hurwicz does not specifically disclose a heat conductor disposed on the heat sink at a position corresponding to the heat-generating components, wherein the heat conductor is in contact with the heat-generating components and the heat sink respectively, and configured to transfer heat between the heat-generating components and the heat sink. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, a heat conductor to efficient transfer of heat from heat generating components to the heat sink and the direct contact between heat sink and heat generating components can be avoided.
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Hurwicz discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 7, further comprising an insulating member (Radosavljevic , Spacer 14, Figures 1, 9, 11), disposed between the heat sink and the leakage protection circuit board and/or the additional function circuit board (in the combination spacer disposed to provide isolation between the circuit boards and heat sink).
Claims 11-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radosavljevic (US 7,586,718) in view of Weeks et al. (US 7,869,171) and Li (US 2015/0327380, Li ‘380).
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 1, wherein the input terminal includes at least two terminal connectors extending out of the housing (Radosavljevic ,124 shown in Figure 2 corresponding to input terminals 11, 13 in Figures 20-21, Weeks, 2, 4, Figures 2-3, 5-6, 9-12), and the leakage protection circuit board and the additional function circuit board are disposed perpendicular to a plugging direction of the terminal connectors, and wherein the connectors are electrically coupled to the leakage protection circuit board or the additional function circuit board via prong wires (Weeks, 101, 200 perpendicular to 2, 4, Figures 3, 11).
Combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks does not specifically disclose at least two prongs extending out of the housing.
Li ‘380 discloses leakage protection device (Figures 1-8) comprising input terminal includes at least two prongs extending out of a housing of the leakage protection device (comprising 130 extending out of housing 104, 102, Figures 1-4, 6-8), and a leakage protection circuit board disposed perpendicular to a plugging direction of the prongs (circuit board assembly 202, Figures 1, 3, 4, 6), and wherein the prongs are electrically coupled to the leakage protection circuit board via prong wires (130 coupled to 202 via 130a, Figures 1, 4, 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, at least two prongs extending out of the housing as taught by Li ’380, to facilitate easy connection to input power supply outlet.
Combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Li ‘139 discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 11, wherein the housing includes at least an upper cover and a bottom cover (Radosavljevic, 104a, 104b, Figure 1, Weeks, 12, 20, Figure 2, Li ‘380, comprising 102, 106, 104, Figures 1-8), wherein the upper cover includes an output terminal through hole configured to accommodate a power cord, and the bottom cover includes input terminal through holes configured for the prongs to pass through (Li ‘380, 102, 106 includes an output terminal through hole for power cord, not labelled, and 104 includes input terminal through holes configured for the prongs to pass through, Figure 1, Paragraph 40).
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Li ‘380 discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 12, wherein the housing further includes a middle cover disposed between the upper cover and the bottom cover, configured to fix the prongs (Li ‘380, comprising separator board 141, Figure 6a, 6b, corresponding elements in other Figures).
Regarding Claim 14, combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Li ‘380 discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 13, wherein the middle cover has screw holes configured to accommodate screws for fixing the middle cover to the upper cover or the bottom cover (Li ‘380 , screw holes, not labelled shown on 141, Figure 6a, 6b).
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Li ‘380 discloses the leakage protection device of Claim, wherein the bottom cover completely encloses the middle cover in the housing (Li ‘380, 104 completely encloses 141, Figures 6a, 6b).
Regarding Claims 19, combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Li ‘380 discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 12, further comprising a support frame (Weeks, comprising 14, Figures 2, 9) disposed between the leakage protection assembly and the additional function assembly, wherein the leakage protection circuit board and the additional function circuit board are electrically connected with each other via conductive columns passing through the support frame (Weeks, Figures 2, 9 shows 14 between 100 and 200 connected with each other with conductive columns).
Regarding Claims 20, combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Li ‘380 discloses the leakage protection device of Claim 12, further includes a wire management block configured to bend the power cord (Li ‘380, comprising 212, 214, 216, Figure 1, Paragraph 41). Combination of Radosavljevic, Weeks and Li ‘380 does not disclose the support frame including the wire management block (Li’ 380 ‘s lower housing includes the wire management block). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, to change the location of the wire management block to the support frame, based on the design requirements.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radosavljevic (US 7,586,718) in view of Weeks et al. (US 7,869,171) and Schneider et al. (US 5,399,093).
Regarding Claims 16-18, combination of Radosavljevic and Weeks does not specifically disclose the leakage protection device of Claim 1, further comprising a wire crimping assembly, configured to fix the power cord in the housing, wherein the wire crimping assembly is moveable only in a plugging direction of the prongs (Claim 16) and further details recited in Claims 17-18.
Schneider discloses electrical plug device (Figures 1-11) comprising input terminal includes at least two prongs extending out of a housing of the device (comprising 44 coming out of housing comprising 14, 18, Figures 1-3), and a power cord extending out of the housing (power cord 48, Figures 1-3), and a wire crimping assembly, configured to fix the power cord in the housing (comprising 82a-82c, Figure 3), the elements of the wire crimping assembly fitting notches and other structures for interfacing each other and with connecting conductors (Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, a wire crimp assembly as taught by Schneider, to securely connect the power cord to the conducting elements inside the housing and select the size, and shape of the crimping assembly element relative to each other and connecting members based on the design requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (US 8,213,139, Li ‘139) discloses leakage protection device (Figures 1-9) comprising input terminal includes at least two prongs extending out of a housing of the leakage protection device (comprising 7, Figure 1), and the leakage protection circuit board disposed perpendicular to a plugging direction of the prongs (circuit board assemble 20 disposed perpendicular to prongs 7, Figure 1), and wherein the prongs are electrically coupled to the leakage protection circuit board via prong wires (Figures 1-9).
/LUCY M THOMAS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 10/02/2026
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838