Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 15:
Processor module
Generation module
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are directed to a system with multiple components, and therefore is a machine
Claims 8-14 is directed to a series of steps, and therefore is a process.
Independent Claims
Step 2A Prong One
The limitation of Claim 1 recites:
determining, by conversing with a user …, a pet-travel data selected from the group consisting of: a travel destination, a travel mode, a pet characteristic, a user characteristic, a pet accommodation, a legal requirement, and a medical characteristic;
generating a travel document based on the pet-travel data, the travel document selected from the group consisting of: an itinerary, a checklist, a booking option, a booking confirmation, a medical document, and a legal document; and
displaying the travel document to the user.
The limitation of Claim 8 recites:
conversing with a user … to identify a pet-travel characteristic of a trip for which the user is planning to bring a pet;
accessing an information source to obtain a trip-relevant data for the trip based on the pet-travel characteristic;
generating a travel document based on the trip-relevant data; and
displaying the travel document to the user.
The limitation of Claim 15 recites:
… present to a user a trip query, … to receive from the user a user response to the trip query;
… present to the user, … to access an information source and to obtain travel information from the information source; and
… generates for the user, based on the travel information and the user response, a recommendation or a travel document.
The claim limitations as drafted, recite a concept, that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, is a certain method of organizing human activity. The limitations are analogous to managing personal behavior or interactions between people (interactions between people), or a commercial or legal interaction (sales activity) such as assisting a pet owner with travel. The generic computer implementations (see below) do not change the character of the limitations. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1:
An artificial intelligence (Al) powered pet travel assistant app comprising:
a processor; and
one or more computer-readable data storage devices storing program instructions that when executed by the processor, control the Al powered pet travel assistant app to perform operations comprising:
chatbot
Claim 8:
an artificial intelligence (Al) powered pet travel assistant app
chatbot
Claim 15:
An artificial intelligence (AI) system of an AI-powered pet travel assistant app, the system comprising:
Chatbot
Processor module
Generation module
These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The same analysis applies here in 2B. The additional elements, when considered separately and in combination, do not add significantly more to the exception. They are generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claims are ineligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-7 and 9-14 and 16-20 further narrow the same abstract ideas recited in Claim 1 and claim 8 and claim 15, respectively. Therefore, claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are directed to an abstract idea for the reasons given above.
Step 2A Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the dependent claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 4
Global distribution system
Claim 5
A user history database
Claim 13
Regulations database
Regulations vector database
Claim 16
Plurality of databases
Claim 17
Regulations database
These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The same analysis applies here in 2B. The additional elements, when considered separately and in combination, do not add significantly more to the exception. They are generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alden (US2017/0330295A1) and in further view of Manning (US2018/0375806A1)
Claim 1: Alden teaches:
determining, characteristic, a pet accommodation, a legal requirement, and a medical characteristic; (Alden, Par. 0027)
Alden, in par. 0027, teaches One or more attributes of a household animal, a destination, and a transport may be used to identify one or more travel itineraries for the household animal and an individual associated with the household animal. As an example, an individual may input attributes of a household animal, including the animal's size and breed and a travel itinerary associated with a particular airline for traveling to a particular location.
generating a travel document based on the pet-travel data, the travel document selected from the group consisting of: an itinerary, a checklist, a booking option, a booking confirmation, a medical document, and a legal document; and (Alden, par. 0062)
Alden, Par. 0062, teaches The household animal transport clearinghouse platform may issue an electronic document (boarding pass) confirming the household animal owner has met the travel provider's individual criteria. The airport airline employees utilize the boarding pass to validate the animal has been processed for travel on the specific flight.
displaying the travel document to the user. (Alden, Par. 0062 and 0061)
Alden, Par. 0062, teaches The household animal transport clearinghouse platform may issue an electronic document (boarding pass) confirming the household animal owner has met the travel provider's individual criteria. The airport airline employees utilize the boarding pass to validate the animal has been processed for travel on the specific flight.
Alden, Par. 0061, may regularly issue, automatically or manually initiated, communications to household animal owners on documentation status, travel restrictions (i.e. carrier size), reminders to submit paperwork within prescribed guidelines, confirmation of documentation received, and upcoming travel information (i.e. displaying document to user).
While Alden teaches the limitations of the household animal transport clearing house as cited above, it does not teach but Manning, in par. 0045 and 0049 teaches the limitation of an artificial intelligence powered app with a chatbot conversation regarding travel.
Manning, Par. 0045, teaches an interface for such a chat driven artificial intelligence system that may be usefully applied in the context of travel. Referring first then to FIGS. 1A-1D, embodiments of an interface for a travel related chat driven artificial intelligence system are depicted. For example, in FIG. 1A, interface 100 may include a chat portion or area 110 and a display area 112. The user interacts with the chat driven artificial intelligence system through the chat area 110. In particular, a human understandable natural language conversation may occur in the chat area 110 such that the user may iteratively provide an interaction and the chat driven artificial intelligence system may provide an interaction prompt or a response interaction. These interactions can be exchanged between the user and the chat driven artificial intelligence system in the chat area 110.
See also, Par. 0334-350, which explicitly teach a discussion of pets with the chat bot.
Manning in par. 0049, teaches chat driven artificial intelligence interfaces may be presented through other channels, including through third party web pages or application.
See also, par. 0050 and 0229-0230 which explicitly teach the chat bot as part of an app and the processor and computer instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the household animal transport clearinghouse platform of Alden to include the AI travel assistant chat bot, as taught by Manning, in order to save the user time researching multiple travel related tasks. (Manning Par. 0009)
Claim 2: Alden and Manning teach The app of claim 1, wherein the app is further configured to perform an operation of accessing through a data channel an information source. (Alden, Par. 0027: Regulator bodies; Par. 0058-0059: various regulations and communicating with medical offices)
Claim 3: Alden and Manning teach The app of claim 2, wherein the information source is selected from the group consisting of: an accommodations information source, a transport information source, a medical information source, a regulations information source, and an insurance information source. (Alden, Par. 0027: Regulator bodies; Par. 0058-0059: various regulations and communicating with medical offices)
Claim 4: Alden and Manning teach The app of claim 2, wherein the information source comprises a global distribution system. (Alden, par. 0044: global reservation system)
Claim 5: Alden and Manning teach The app of claim 2, wherein the information source comprises a user-history database comprising a user-preference data based on an earlier interaction of the user with the app. (Alden, Par. 0097: past data)
Claim 6: Alden and Manning teach The app of claim 2, wherein accessing an information source comprises scanning the information source using an agentic workflow. (Alden, Par. 0044: may receive and/or retrieve (via a push or pull mechanism for transferring information) reservation information electronically from the airline reservation system, global reservation system, travel aggregator booking systems, or other system that is separate from and external to the platform)
Claim 7: Alden and Manning teach The app of claim 2, wherein accessing the information source comprises using a retrieval-augmented generation pipeline to obtain information from the information source. (Alden, Par. 0043: he platform to incorporate airlines' specific regulations and guidelines that may include the number of household animals allowed on each specific airline type, time of year, weight restrictions for various types of carriage including in-cabin and excess baggage, type of breed and applicable fees. The rules-based system may also include domestic and international government regulations. The rules engine may enable some embodiments to book and provide boarding information germane to a specific airline.)
Claim 8: Alden teaches (Alden, Par. 0027)
Alden, in par. 0027, teaches One or more attributes of a household animal, a destination, and a transport may be used to identify one or more travel itineraries for the household animal and an individual associated with the household animal. As an example, an individual may input attributes of a household animal, including the animal's size and breed and a travel itinerary associated with a particular airline for traveling to a particular location.
accessing an information source to obtain a trip-relevant data for the trip based on the pet-travel characteristic; (Alden, Par. 0027)
Alden, in Par. 0027, teaches Determining eligibility of the household animal to travel to the destination may depend on what constraints, including governmental legislation or regulations (e.g., International Air Transport Association Live Animal Regulations, Federal Animal Welfare Act, the U.S. Department of Transportation) or airline-specific policies, need to be met before travel and whether the household animal has met conditions set by the compliance regulations.
generating a travel document based on the trip-relevant data; and (Alden, par. 0062)
Alden, Par. 0062, teaches The household animal transport clearinghouse platform may issue an electronic document (boarding pass) confirming the household animal owner has met the travel provider's individual criteria. The airport airline employees utilize the boarding pass to validate the animal has been processed for travel on the specific flight.
displaying the travel document to the user. (Alden, Par. 0062 and 0061)
Alden, Par. 0062, teaches The household animal transport clearinghouse platform may issue an electronic document (boarding pass) confirming the household animal owner has met the travel provider's individual criteria. The airport airline employees utilize the boarding pass to validate the animal has been processed for travel on the specific flight.
Alden, Par. 0061, may regularly issue, automatically or manually initiated, communications to household animal owners on documentation status, travel restrictions (i.e. carrier size), reminders to submit paperwork within prescribed guidelines, confirmation of documentation received, and upcoming travel information (i.e. displaying document to user).
While Alden teaches the limitations of the household animal transport clearing house as cited above, it does not teach but Manning, in par. 0045 and 0049 teaches the limitation of an artificial intelligence powered app with a chatbot conversation regarding travel.
Manning, Par. 0045, teaches an interface for such a chat driven artificial intelligence system that may be usefully applied in the context of travel. Referring first then to FIGS. 1A-1D, embodiments of an interface for a travel related chat driven artificial intelligence system are depicted. For example, in FIG. 1A, interface 100 may include a chat portion or area 110 and a display area 112. The user interacts with the chat driven artificial intelligence system through the chat area 110. In particular, a human understandable natural language conversation may occur in the chat area 110 such that the user may iteratively provide an interaction and the chat driven artificial intelligence system may provide an interaction prompt or a response interaction. These interactions can be exchanged between the user and the chat driven artificial intelligence system in the chat area 110.
See also, Par. 0334-350, which explicitly teach a discussion of pets with the chat bot.
Manning in par. 0049, teaches chat driven artificial intelligence interfaces may be presented through other channels, including through third party web pages or application.
See also, par. 0050 and 0229-0230 which explicitly teach the chat bot as part of an app and the processor and computer instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the household animal transport clearinghouse platform of Alden to include the AI travel assistant chat bot, as taught by Manning, in order to save the user time researching multiple travel related tasks. (Manning Par. 0009)
Claim 9: Alden and Manning teach The method of claim 8, wherein the travel document is a dynamic itinerary, and the app is further configured to update a content of the dynamic itinerary to reflect an information update obtained by the app from the information source. (Alden, par. 0073: changing itinerary to reflect the proper regulations)
Claim 10: Alden and Manning teach The method of claim 8, wherein the travel document is a checklist comprising a list of items for the user to bring on the trip. (Alden, Par. 0110: checklist)
Claim 11: Alden and Manning teach The method of claim 8, wherein accessing the information source comprises using a web crawler to scan the information source. (Alden, Par. 0038: connection to federal agency and animal registries)
Claim 12: Alden and Manning teach The method of claim 8, wherein accessing the information source comprises using a set of agentic workflows to access a plurality of information sources. (Alden, Par. 0044: may receive and/or retrieve (via a push or pull mechanism for transferring information) reservation information electronically from the airline reservation system, global reservation system, travel aggregator booking systems, or other system that is separate from and external to the platform)
Claim 13: Alden and Manning teach The method of claim 8, wherein the information source is a regulations database and accessing the information source comprises using a retrieval-augmented generation pipeline to obtain an updated travel rule from the regulations vector database. (Alden, Par. 0043: the platform to incorporate airlines' specific regulations and guidelines that may include the number of household animals allowed on each specific airline type, time of year, weight restrictions for various types of carriage including in-cabin and excess baggage, type of breed and applicable fees. The rules-based system may also include domestic and international government regulations. The rules engine may enable some embodiments to book and provide boarding information germane to a specific airline.; Par. 0038: connection to federal agency and animal registries)
Claim 14: Alden and Manning teach The method of claim 8, wherein conversing comprises the chatbot presenting to the user an initial query and a subsequent query, the initial query eliciting an initial response from the user, the chatbot basing the subsequent query on a content of the initial response. (Manning, Par. 0045-0046)
Manning, Par. 0045, user may iteratively provide an interaction and the chat driven artificial intelligence system may provide an interaction prompt or a response interaction. These interactions can be exchanged between the user and the chat driven artificial intelligence system in the chat area 110.
Manning, par. 0046, The interactions taking place in the chat area 110 drive the display of content in display area 112 such that the display area 112 is maintained in synchronicity with the user's preferences as expressed (either explicitly or inherently) through the interactions in the chat area 110. In this embodiment, utilized with a travel related chat driven artificial intelligence system, the display area 112 includes a map area 120 and a card display area 130. The map area 120 displays a geographic area or one or more location points (e.g., destinations) associated with the user preferences expressed through interactions with the chat area 110, while the card display area 130 may display a number of display objects (i.e., “cards”), where each of the cards presents content associated with a particular entity (e.g., destination, flight, hotel, travel packages, etc.) associated with the user preferences expressed though interactions with the chat area 110.
See above rationale to combine.
Claim 15: Alden teaches (Alden, Par. 0027)
Alden, Par. 0027, teaches an individual may input attributes of a household animal, including the animal's size and breed and a travel itinerary associated with a particular airline for traveling to a particular location. Determining eligibility of the household animal to travel to the destination may depend on what constraints, including governmental legislation or regulations (e.g., International Air Transport Association Live Animal Regulations, Federal Animal Welfare Act, the U.S. Department of Transportation) or airline-specific policies, need to be met before travel and whether the household animal has met conditions set by the compliance regulations.
a generation module that generates for the user, based on the travel information and the user response, a recommendation or a travel document. (Alden, Par. 0062 and 0061)
Alden, Par. 0062, teaches The household animal transport clearinghouse platform may issue an electronic document (boarding pass) confirming the household animal owner has met the travel provider's individual criteria. The airport airline employees utilize the boarding pass to validate the animal has been processed for travel on the specific flight.
Alden, Par. 0061, may regularly issue, automatically or manually initiated, communications to household animal owners on documentation status, travel restrictions (i.e. carrier size), reminders to submit paperwork within prescribed guidelines, confirmation of documentation received, and upcoming travel information (i.e. displaying document to user).
While Alden teaches the limitations of the household animal transport clearing house as cited above, it does not teach but Manning, in par. 0045 and 0049 teaches the limitation of an artificial intelligence powered app with a chatbot conversation with a query for travel.
Manning, Par. 0045, teaches an interface for such a chat driven artificial intelligence system that may be usefully applied in the context of travel. Referring first then to FIGS. 1A-1D, embodiments of an interface for a travel related chat driven artificial intelligence system are depicted. For example, in FIG. 1A, interface 100 may include a chat portion or area 110 and a display area 112. The user interacts with the chat driven artificial intelligence system through the chat area 110. In particular, a human understandable natural language conversation may occur in the chat area 110 such that the user may iteratively provide an interaction and the chat driven artificial intelligence system may provide an interaction prompt or a response interaction. These interactions can be exchanged between the user and the chat driven artificial intelligence system in the chat area 110.
Manning in par. 0049, teaches chat driven artificial intelligence interfaces may be presented through other channels, including through third party web pages or application.
See also, par. 0050 and 0229-0230 which explicitly teach the chat bot as part of an app and the processor and computer instructions. (i.e. processor module)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the household animal transport clearinghouse platform of Alden to include the AI travel assistant chat bot, as taught by Manning, in order to save the user time researching multiple travel related tasks. (Manning Par. 0009)
Claim 16: Alden and Manning teach The system of claim 15, wherein the information source comprises a plurality of databases and the processor module uses a set of agentic workflows to query the plurality of databases. (Alden, Par. 0044: may receive and/or retrieve (via a push or pull mechanism for transferring information) reservation information electronically from the airline reservation system, global reservation system, travel aggregator booking systems, or other system that is separate from and external to the platform)
Claim 17: Alden and Manning teach The system of claim 15, wherein the information source comprises a regulations database and the processor module uses a retrieval-augmented generation pipeline to obtain updated information from the regulations database. (Alden, Par. 0043: the platform to incorporate airlines' specific regulations and guidelines that may include the number of household animals allowed on each specific airline type, time of year, weight restrictions for various types of carriage including in-cabin and excess baggage, type of breed and applicable fees. The rules-based system may also include domestic and international government regulations. The rules engine may enable some embodiments to book and provide boarding information germane to a specific airline.; Par. 0038: connection to federal agency and animal registries)
Claim 18: Alden and Manning teach The system of claim 15, wherein the information source comprises a user preference data based on an earlier interaction of the user with the app. (Alden, Par. 0097: past data)
Claim 19: Alden and Manning teach The system of claim 18, wherein the generation module populates at least a portion of the travel document based on the user preference data. (Alden, Par. 0091: user preferences)
Claim 20: Alden and Manning teach The system of claim 18, wherein the processor module uses the user preference data to select the trip query to present to the user via the chatbot. (Alden, Par. 0091: user preferences)
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MANEJWALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628