DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged. In addition to cancelling claims 8-33, Applicant has added new claims 34-49. However, claims 34-49 comprise the claim material of the restricted Inventions II-V. The restriction indicated that the inventions were related as subcombinations; even though the inventions have been amended to all depend from claim 1, they still remain subcombinations. Dependent claims 34, 40, 45, & 49 all contain claim material not present in the others, as well as dependent claims 2-7. Therefore, claim groups 1-7, 34-39, 40-44, 45-48, & 49 remain distinct inventions and a search burden still exists. As such, the restriction still applies. Claims 1-7—the claims of elected Invention I—will be examined, and claims 34-49 will be withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tyler (US 2012/0289869).
Regarding claim 1, Tyler teaches a transcranial-focused ultrasound system (tFUS) delivery and tracking system comprising:
a transducer array assembly (transducers, [0031]) configured to deliver a tFUS waveform to a subject ([0071]);
a direct neural activity measurement system (EEG sensors/MEG sensors/sensors that provide information about the scattered photons, [0096]) measuring neural activity in response to the tFUS waveform ([0063] & [0096]);
a physiological measurement system (components for measuring or detecting physiological status indicators, [0063]) measuring a physiological response to the tFUS waveform ([0063] & [0096]);
an electromyography (EMG) system ([0028]); and
a user interface device (remote command center, [0063]) displaying data from at least one of the direct neural activity measurement system or the physiological measurement system ([0063]).
Regarding claim 2, Tyler teaches the tFUS delivery and tracking system of claim 1, wherein the physiological measurement system measures at least one of respiration ([0116]), blood pressure ([0063]), blood flow ([0096]), blood oxygen saturation ([0063]), heart rate ([0063]), or temperature ([0135]).
Regarding claim 3, Tyler teaches the tFUS delivery and tracking system of claim 1, further comprising an anatomical targeting system for targeting a position on a skull or brain of the subject ([0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Tyler teaches the tFUS delivery and tracking system of claim 1, wherein the transducer array assembly delivers a tFUS waveform comprising at least one of an excitatory ([0057]), an inhibitory ([0057]), or a modulatory ([0030]) waveform that modulates the magnitude of induced activity in the brain region in response to stimuli (environmental cues, [0089] & stressful event, [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Tyler teaches the tFUS delivery and tracking system of claim 1, further comprising a stress and sympathetic measurement to measure stress and sympathetic responses to the tFUS waveform ([0116]).
Regarding claim 7, Tyler teaches the tFUS delivery and tracking system of claim 1, wherein the direct neural activity measurement system comprises at least one of EEG, MEG, or fNIRS ([0063] & [0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler, as applied to claim 1, above, in view of Tyler (US 2014/0211593, hereinafter Tyler ‘593).
Regarding claim 6, Tyler teaches the tFUS delivery and tracking system of claim 1.
However, Tyler fails to disclose that the transducer array assembly indirectly targets the target region in response to the tFUS waveform yielding no measurable or quantifiable effect on the target region.
Tyler ‘593 teaches that the transducer array assembly indirectly targets the target region in response to the tFUS waveform yielding no measurable or quantifiable effect on the target region ([0094]).
Paragraph [0094] of Tyler ‘593 teaches modifying the targeting of the brain region to achieve the intended effect. The tFUS waveform yielding “no measurable or quantifiable effect” constitutes the intended effect not being achieved.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Tyler such that the transducer array assembly indirectly targets the target region in response to the tFUS waveform yielding no measurable or quantifiable effect on the target region, as taught by Tyler ‘593. If the desired effect of the neuromodulation is not achieved, then an adjustment of the ultrasound parameters (including focus area) can help achieve the goal of the procedure.
Conclusion
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798