Claim Objections
Claims 15-16, 18, and 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, line 3, it appears Applicant intended “test data; training” to read --test data; and training--
In claim 15, line 4, it appears Applicant intended “the training data.” to read --the training data set.--
In claim 16, line 2, it appears Applicant intended “the test person” to read --a respective test person--
In claim 18, line 1, it appears Applicant intended “when comparing the electrical signal with the reference” to read --when comparing the electrical signal with the respective reference--
In claim 20, line 2, it appears Applicant intended “when the seat is occupied” to read --when the seat is determined to be occupied--
In claim 20, line 4, it appears Applicant intended “switching on the air bag for the seat in all other cases.” to read --switching on the air bag for the seat in all other cases in which the seat is determined to be occupied.--
In claim 21, line 10, it appears Applicant intended “the comparison” to read --the comparison.--, adding a period (“.”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the respective actual mass" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim(s) 16-17 depend(s) from claim(s) 15, (respectively,) fail(s) to cure said indefiniteness issues, and is/are thereby similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the test data" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim(s) 16-17 depend(s) from claim(s) 15, (respectively,) fail(s) to cure said indefiniteness issues, and is/are thereby similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 14, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ewert (US PGPub. No. 2018/0065505).
Regarding claim 12, Ewert discloses a method for categorizing a passenger of a transport means, comprising:
ascertaining an electrical signal of a motor for adjusting a passenger seat (¶0034);
detecting the passenger by means of an optical sensor for generating an image (¶0052);
comparing the electrical signal and the image with a respective reference (¶0017, ¶0080-0081); and
categorizing the passenger as a child-on-a-child-seat or as an adult based on a result of the comparison (¶0009, ¶0080). Examiner understands a determination of occupant classification as a “small child … present in a seat shell” reads on “categorizing the passenger as a child-on-a-child-seat”, and further that classification of an occupant’s size and weight (¶0022, ¶0032, ¶0078) that is capable of classifying a “small child” is also capable of classifying a non-“small child” (i.e. an “adult”).
Regarding claim 14, Ewert discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the electrical signal represents a current or a torque (¶0034).
Regarding claim 19, Ewert discloses the method of claim 12, wherein a signal of a pressure sensor is not incorporated in the comparison (¶0017, ¶0080-0081).
Regarding claim 20, Ewert discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising:
switching off an air bag for the seat when the seat is occupied and the category is child-on-a-child-seat (¶0009); and
switching on the air bag for the scat in all other cases (¶0009, ¶0022, ¶0080).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Ewert discloses a system for categorizing a passenger of a transport means, comprising:
a data input (¶0034);
a data output (¶0009, ¶0080); and
an evaluation unit configured to:
ascertain, via the data input, an electrical signal of a motor for adjusting a passenger seat (¶0034),
detect the passenger by means of an optical sensor for generating an image (¶0052),
compare the electrical signal and the image with a respective reference (¶0017, ¶0080-0081), and
categorize, via the data output, the passenger as a child-on-a-child-seat or as an adult based on a result of the comparison (¶0009, ¶0080), and as previously discussed in regard to claim 12, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ewert as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Han (US PGPub. No. 2023/0080898).
Regarding claim 13, Ewert discloses the method of claim 12, but appears to be silent on the method wherein the motor is a brushless DC motor.
Han, however, teaches a vehicle having a powered adjustable seat that uses a brushless DC motor for controlling seat position (Han ¶0081). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ewert in view of Han. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to have modified Ewert, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success therein, to include wherein the motor is a brushless DC motor, as doing so was a known type of motor for use in seat position control, as recognized by Han (Han ¶0081).
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 18, Examiner deems a method for categorizing a passenger of a transport means, comprising: ascertaining an electrical signal of a motor for adjusting a passenger seat; detecting the passenger by means of an optical sensor for generating an image; comparing the electrical signal and the image with a respective reference; and categorizing the passenger as a child-on-a-child-seat or as an adult based on a result of the comparison; wherein, when comparing the electrical signal with the reference, a posture is detected by means of the optical sensor, which posture is predefined for a valid ascertainment of the mass of the passenger to be novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record. Specifically, the prior art of record provides no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for modifying the prior art of record to include such a method for categorizing a passenger of a transport means specifically including posture detection for qualifying a valid ascertainment of mass of the passenger. While Ewert does teach “when comparing the electrical signal with the reference, a posture is detected by means of the optical sensor” (Ewert ¶0022, ¶0031), Ewert appears to be silent qualifying a valid ascertainment of mass of the passenger in this way.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL V KERRIGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664