DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a current measurement unit in claim 11 and a particle classification unit in claims 11-12.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 20 are objected to because of informalities, which appear to be minor draft errors causing grammatical and/or antecedent basis issues.
As noted in the following format (location of objection: suggestion for correction), the following objections may be overcome by making the corresponding corrections: (claim 17, last line: replacing “having” with --has--) and (claim 20, line 1: inserting -- system-- after “coating”).
Any dependent claim of the claim(s) with the noted objections above is also objected to by virtue of its claim dependency. For purposes of examination, the claims have been treated as such with the correction(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966). See also MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8-10, 12, 15, 17-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the word "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 18-19, and 21-22, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 9 and 17 recite the limitation "the charging current and/or discharging current”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the measured charging current and/or discharging current”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 21-23 provide for the use of an apparatus or system, but since the claims do not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-13, 16, and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi et al. (US 5233191; hereinafter Noguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi discloses a method for detecting particles in a gas of a process environment present in a process chamber (col. 2:51-3:18), the method comprising the steps of: guiding the gas, which potentially carries with it one or more particles, into an ionization and charging unit being in fluid communication with the process chamber (fig. 15; col. 15:27-39), wherein the ionization and charging unit has an anode and a cathode and is adapted and configured to at least partly ionize said gas and to charge at least some of said particles (col. 14:56-15:26; figs. 14-15); necessarily igniting and sustaining a discharge in said gas by applying a voltage between said anode and said cathode of the ionization and charging unit (col. 15:18-23); measuring a current flowing from or to the anode and/or from and to the cathode; detecting the particles based on an AC component or a transient of the measured current (col. 15:33-39).
Regarding claim 2, Noguchi discloses a step of classifying the particles based on a signature of the AC component or of the transient of the measured current (col. 15:14-26).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Noguchi discloses wherein the particles to be detected necessarily have a mass of more than 1000 Dalton (col. 14:33).
Regarding claim 6, Noguchi discloses wherein the ionization and charging unit has an inlet at one end and an outlet at an other end, so that the gas can pass through the ionization and charging unit (figs. 14-15).
Regarding claims 7 and 23, Noguchi discloses wherein the gas is in the group comprising air (col. 59-66), nitrogen, oxygen, hydrogen, helium, and argon.
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Noguchi discloses wherein a pressure of the gas, at which pressure the detection takes place, is less than atmospheric pressure (col. 14:41), in particular down to 10−8 mbar.
Regarding claim 10, Noguchi discloses the step of indicating that particles have been detected when the AC component or the transient exceeds a predetermined threshold (fig. 14: in order to count with 228), and/or indicating that a certain class of particles has been detected when an associated signature, in particular from one or more predetermined signatures, of the AC component or of the transient has been detected.
Regarding claim 11, Noguchi discloses an apparatus for detecting particles in a gas of a process environment in a process chamber (fig. 15; col. 15:27-39), the apparatus comprising: an ionization and charging unit with an anode (225) and a cathode (22), adapted and configured to at least partly ionize said gas and to charge at least some of said particles; a voltage source (220) connected between said anode and said cathode of the ionization and charging unit; a current measurement unit (227) adapted to measure a current from or to the anode and/or from and to the cathode; a particle classification unit adapted to detect the particles based on an AC (alternating current) component or a transient of the measured current (particles detected by 227)).
Regarding claim 12, Noguchi discloses wherein the particle classification unit is further adapted to classify the particles based on a signature of the AC component or of the transient of the measured charging current and/or discharging current (col. 15:14-26).
Regarding claim 13, Noguchi discloses wherein the particles to be detected necessarily have a mass of more than 1000 Dalton (col. 14:33).
Regarding claim 16, Noguchi discloses wherein the ionization and charging unit has an inlet at one end and an outlet at an other end, so that the gas can pass through the ionization and charging unit (figs. 14-15).
Regarding claim 18, Noguchi discloses an output for a signal indicating that particles have been detected when the AC component or the transient exceeds a predetermined threshold (fig. 14: in order to count with 228), and/or indicating that a certain class of particles has been detected when an associated signature, in particular from one or more predetermined signatures, of the AC component or of the transient has been detected.
Regarding claim 19, Noguchi discloses a coating system, etching system (col. 3:68) or lithographic system, wherein the apparatus is in particular located within a delivery pipe for delivering the gas to the processing chamber or within a discharge pipe for discharging the gas from the process chamber (col. 3:68).
Regarding claim 20, Noguchi discloses the system being a system for performing CVD, PVD, PECVD or ALD processes or an epitaxy system (col. 3:68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above.
Noguchi discloses claims 1 and 11. Noguchi further discloses wherein an electric field between the anode and the cathode has a strength (due to 229).
However, Noguchi fails to disclose a range from 300 to 3000 kV/m.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Noguchi with a range from 300 to 3000 kV/m, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Noguchi: with 229), discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to make such a modification for providing more power to ensure dust and/or impurity detection with more accuracy and ease (Noguchi: col. 2:62-3:4).
Claim(s) 5, 9, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Gorkhover et al. (US 2022/0172941; hereinafter Gorkhover).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Noguchi discloses claims 1 and 11. Noguchi further discloses wherein the gas is moved into an opening of the ionization unit by means of a conduit (figs. 14-15), wherein the conduit optionally may be heated to a temperature above the temperature of its surrounding.
However, Noguchi fails to disclose wherein the gas is focussed by means of a hydrodynamic lens.
Gorkhover teaches wherein the gas is focussed by means of a hydrodynamic lens (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Noguchi with the teaching of Gorkhover, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for better controlling the ionization (Gorkhover: fig. 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Gorkhover further teaches wherein the step of detecting comprises amplifying the charging current and/or discharging current by means of an AC amplifier circuit (8a, 8b) having a bandwidth (as seen by the output in fig. 1).
However, Gorkhover fails to disclose a bandwidth of at least 500 MHz.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify the prior art with a bandwidth of at least 500 MHz, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Gorkhover: fig. 1), discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to make such a modification for having as large of a bandwith as possible, like an ideal op-amp, so no data is lost.
Conclusion
/Chih-Cheng Kao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884