DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (Publication: US 2019/0188895 A1) in view of Rice (Publication: US 2019/0311341 A1).
Regarding claim 18, see rejection on claim 37.
Regarding claim 19, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses determining a field of vision of the first user in the virtual scene based on the target pose of the first user; and presenting a portion of the field of vision in the virtual scene to the first user ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).
[0086] – user’s view, FOV, is shared. ).
Regarding claim 20, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses in response to receiving an interaction request of the first user with the virtual object, obtaining a virtual object of the physical object; and replacing the virtual object in the virtual scene with the virtual object ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).
[0397] FIG. 33 illustrates an example of identifying a target interesting impulse. The environment 3300 in FIG. 33 may be a mixed reality environment in which Alice's Avatar 1000 is rendered. This mixed reality environment can be rendered by Bob's wearable device 904. The environment 3300 can include physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 which may be part of a physical object in the environment. the physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 may be associated with gaze boxes. The environment 3300 can also include virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314. The virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314 may be virtual objects which may be shared by Alice's avatar 1000 and Bob in the mixed reality environment 3300. The environment 3334 can also include a social triangle 3334 which may be the social triangle of Bob (who may be a viewer of Alice's avatar 1000). The environment 3300 can also include an interesting area 3336. The physical interesting objects 3324, 3322, the virtual interesting objects 3312, 3314, the social triangle 3334, and the interesting, “physical object”).
Rice discloses
prestored virtual object ([0046] – virtual objects in the storage medium thus prestored)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller in view Rice with prestored virtual object as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Regarding claim 21, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 20.
Miller discloses wherein the object has higher precision than the virtual object (The wearable system can automatically scale the avatar in a manner that increases or maximizes direct eye contact based on the contextual information thus “higher precision”).
Regarding claim 22, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses providing an avatar associated with the first user in the virtual scene. ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.)
Regarding claim 23, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 22.
Miller discloses determining a pose of the avatar associated with the first user based on the target pose of the first user; and presenting the avatar associated with the first user in the virtual scene according to the pose ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench). ).
Regarding claim 24, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 22.
Miller discloses in response to receiving an interaction request of the first user with the virtual object, changing a pose of the virtual object in the virtual scene based on the interaction request ( [0267], [0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book. With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).
[0397] FIG. 33 illustrates an example of identifying a target interesting impulse. The environment 3300 in FIG. 33 may be a mixed reality environment in which Alice's Avatar 1000 is rendered. This mixed reality environment can be rendered by Bob's wearable device 904. The environment 3300 can include physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 which may be part of a physical object in the environment. the physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 may be associated with gaze boxes. The environment 3300 can also include virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314. The virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314 may be virtual objects which may be shared by Alice's avatar 1000 and Bob in the mixed reality environment 3300. The environment 3334 can also include a social triangle 3334 which may be the social triangle of Bob (who may be a viewer of Alice's avatar 1000). The environment 3300 can also include an interesting area 3336. The physical interesting objects 3324, 3322, the virtual interesting objects 3312, 3314, the social triangle 3334, and the interesting, “virtual object”). ).
Regarding claim 25, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 24.
Miller discloses wherein the virtual scene further comprises a [[virtual mirror]], and presenting the updated virtual scene to the first user comprises: in response to the target pose being associated with the [[virtual mirror]], presenting, in the [[virtual mirror]], a mirror image of a combination of the avatar associated with the first user and the virtual object ([0267], [0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book. With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).) .
Rice discloses
virtual mirror ([0152] – mirror virtual)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller in view Rice with virtual mirror as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Regarding claim 26, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses obtaining measurement data of the physical scene; and generating the virtual scene associated with the physical scene based on the measurement data ([0401] In certain implementations, the wearable system maintains a list of interesting impulses for objects and areas within the avatar's field of view (which may be determined and represented by the visual cone 3320). If an interesting impulse is not in the avatar's field of view, the interesting impulse may be culled from the list. when the virtual avatar looks to its right, the physical interesting object 3324 may become outside of the visual cone 3320 while the physical interesting object 3322 may move inside of the visual cone 3320. As a result, information of the physical interesting object 3324 is removed from the list of interesting impulses while information associated with the physical interesting object 3322 (which had been outside the avatar's field of view) may be added to the list of interesting impulses.
[0156] FIG. 10 illustrates an example of an avatar as perceived by a user of a wearable system. The example avatar 1000 shown in FIG. 10 can be an avatar of Alice (shown in FIG. 9B) standing behind a physical plant in a room. An avatar can include various characteristics, such as size, appearance (e.g., skin color, complexion, hair style, clothes, facial features (e.g., wrinkle, mole, blemish, pimple, dimple, etc.)), position, orientation, movement, pose, expression, etc. These characteristics may be based on the user associated with the avatar (e.g., the avatar 1000 of Alice may have some or all characteristics of the actual person Alice). As further described herein, the avatar 1000 can be animated based on contextual information, which can include adjustments to one or more of the characteristics of the avatar 1000. Although generally described herein as representing the physical appearance of the person (e.g., Alice), this is for illustration and not limitation. Alice's avatar could represent the appearance of another real or fictional human being besides Alice, a personified object, a creature, or any other real or fictitious representation. Further, the plant in FIG. 10 need not be physical, but could be a virtual representation of a plant that is presented to the user by the wearable system. Also, additional or different virtual content than shown in FIG. 10 could be presented to the user.).
Regarding claim 27, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 26.
Miller discloses in response to receiving audio data of the second user, providing the audio data in the virtual scene ([0259] Advantageously, in some embodiments, by remapping user's intent in an environment that the avatar is rendered, the wearable system can interact and communicate to adapt to a viewer's local physical surroundings. Alice can be sitting at her desk talking to Bob's avatar 1100 on the table, while Bob is in a big empty room with Alice's avatar 1000 appearing to stand in front of him. Bob and Alice each has a very different environment, but can still successfully communicate. On the other hand, in a VR environment, both of Alice's avatar and Bob's avatar are transported to be at the same virtual space, and thus the avatars do not need to adapt to a user's local physical environment.
[0280] At block 2146, the wearable system can extract semantic intent directives, such as interacting with a certain object. the wearable system can determine an interaction with the object as intended by the user, such as, e.g., moving the object, staring at the object, modifying the object, talking to a virtual avatar of Bob, etc.)
Regarding claim 28, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 26.
Miller discloses in response to receiving updated measurement data of the physical scene, determining a change of the physical scene based on the updated measurement data; and adjusting the virtual scene based on the change ([0058] The wearable system can extract intent of a user's interaction based on contextual information associated with the user's environment, the user's movements, the user's intentions, and so forth. The wearable system can accordingly map the world motion of the user's interaction to an avatar's action based on the avatar's environment and map the local action of the user's interaction directly to the avatar. The mapping of the world motion can include adjusting one or more characteristics of the avatar such as, e.g., the movement, position, orientation, size, facial expression, pose, eye gaze, etc., to be compatible with the physical environment in which the avatar is rendered (rather than simply mapping the characteristics in a direct one-to-one fashion).).
Regarding claim 29, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses presenting the updated virtual scene to a wearable electronic device worn by the first user ([0148] The user device may be a wearable device (such as an HMD or an ARD)
[0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book).
Regarding claim 30, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses wherein the physical scene is a room, the first user is a viewer, the second user is a host, the physical object is an item in the room, and the virtual scene is a virtual scene based on a three-dimensional model ([0234] At block 1814, the wearable system can determine a surface in the user's environment 1814. The surface may be the ground, the surface the user is standing on, or the surface that the avatar will be or is rendered on. As described with reference to FIGS. 16A-17C, the surface can be extracted from a set of 3D points (e.g., 3D environment point clouds) or extracted from a mesh of the environment (which may be generated from the 3D environment point clouds), room. .
[0259] Advantageously, in some embodiments, by remapping user's intent in an environment that the avatar is rendered, the wearable system can interact and communicate to adapt to a viewer's local physical surroundings. For example, Alice can be sitting at her desk talking to Bob's avatar 1100 on the table, while Bob is in a big empty room with Alice's avatar 1000 appearing to stand in front of him. Bob and Alice each has a very different environment, but can still successfully communicate. On the other hand, in a VR environment, both of Alice's avatar and Bob's avatar are transported to be at the same virtual space, and thus the avatars do not need to adapt to a user's local physical environment, “viewer, host”.).
Rice discloses
live streaming room ([0153], [0074], [0264] - manuvering around the room, live view of a video feed with streaming, “application”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller in view Rice with live streaming room as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Regarding claim 31, see rejection on claim 37.
Regarding claim 32, see rejection on claim 19.
Regarding claim 33, see rejection on claim 20.
Regarding claim 34, see rejection on claim 22.
Regarding claim 35, see rejection on claim 23.
Regarding claim 36, see rejection on claim 26.
Regarding claim 37, Miller discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon one or more computer instructions, wherein the one or more computer instructions are executed by a processor to implement acts comprise ([0080], [0377] – wearable system includes a memory stored instruction processed by the processor to perform the following methods:):
receiving a request to access a virtual scene by a first user of a application, the virtual scene being associated with a physical scene which a second user of the virtual application is currently in, and the physical scene comprising a physical object ( [0066] - Alice's system may detect a dog moving in her environment. Bob's wearable system can present movement of a virtual dog in Bob's environment. Bob's wearable system may display the virtual dog's movement in Bob's environment based on obstacles in Bob's environment (e.g., by having the virtual dog move on a trajectory that does not cause the virtual dog to pass through physical objects). Bob’s wearable system receives a request to prevent a virtual dog in Bob’s environment.);
presenting the virtual scene to the first user based on the request, the virtual scene comprising an avatar associated with the second user and a virtual object associated with the physical object ([0066] - Alice's system may detect a dog moving in her environment. Bob's wearable system can present movement of a virtual dog in Bob's environment. Bob's wearable system may display the virtual dog's movement in Bob's environment based on obstacles in Bob's environment (e.g., by having the virtual dog move on a trajectory that does not cause the virtual dog to pass through physical objects). Bob’s wearable system receives a request to prevent a virtual dog in Bob’s environment.
[0058] - The wearable system can accordingly map the world motion of the user's interaction to an avatar's action based on the avatar's environment and map the local action of the user's interaction directly to the avatar. The mapping of the world motion can include adjusting one or more characteristics of the avatar such as, e.g., the movement, position, orientation, size, facial expression, pose, eye gaze, etc., to be compatible with the physical environment in which the avatar is rendered (rather than simply mapping the characteristics in a direct one-to-one fashion). Bob and Alice can interact with each other.); and
presenting an updated virtual scene to the first user based on a request by the first user to switch to a target pose in the virtual scene, the updated virtual scene comprising an updated avatar of the second user and an updated virtual object determined based on the target pose ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book thus “presenting an updated virtual scene to the first user based on a request by the first user to switch to a target pose in the virtual scene”.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench), thus “the updated virtual scene comprising an updated avatar of the second user and an updated virtual object determined based on the target pose”.).
Miller does not disclose; however Rice discloses
virtual live streaming application ([0074], [0264] - create creates virtual objects, live view of a video feed with streaming in computer, “application”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller with virtual live streaming application as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (Publication: US 2019/0188895 A1) in view of Rice (Publication: US 2019/0311341 A1).
Regarding claim 18, see rejection on claim 37.
Regarding claim 19, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses determining a field of vision of the first user in the virtual scene based on the target pose of the first user; and presenting a portion of the field of vision in the virtual scene to the first user ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).
[0086] – user’s view, FOV, is shared. ).
Regarding claim 20, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses in response to receiving an interaction request of the first user with the virtual object, obtaining a virtual object of the physical object; and replacing the virtual object in the virtual scene with the virtual object ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).
[0397] FIG. 33 illustrates an example of identifying a target interesting impulse. The environment 3300 in FIG. 33 may be a mixed reality environment in which Alice's Avatar 1000 is rendered. This mixed reality environment can be rendered by Bob's wearable device 904. The environment 3300 can include physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 which may be part of a physical object in the environment. the physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 may be associated with gaze boxes. The environment 3300 can also include virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314. The virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314 may be virtual objects which may be shared by Alice's avatar 1000 and Bob in the mixed reality environment 3300. The environment 3334 can also include a social triangle 3334 which may be the social triangle of Bob (who may be a viewer of Alice's avatar 1000). The environment 3300 can also include an interesting area 3336. The physical interesting objects 3324, 3322, the virtual interesting objects 3312, 3314, the social triangle 3334, and the interesting, “physical object”).
Rice discloses
prestored virtual object ([0046] – virtual objects in the storage medium thus prestored)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller in view Rice with prestored virtual object as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Regarding claim 21, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 20.
Miller discloses wherein the object has higher precision than the virtual object (The wearable system can automatically scale the avatar in a manner that increases or maximizes direct eye contact based on the contextual information thus “higher precision”).
Regarding claim 22, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses providing an avatar associated with the first user in the virtual scene. ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.)
Regarding claim 23, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 22.
Miller discloses determining a pose of the avatar associated with the first user based on the target pose of the first user; and presenting the avatar associated with the first user in the virtual scene according to the pose ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench). ).
Regarding claim 24, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 22.
Miller discloses in response to receiving an interaction request of the first user with the virtual object, changing a pose of the virtual object in the virtual scene based on the interaction request ( [0267], [0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book. With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).
[0397] FIG. 33 illustrates an example of identifying a target interesting impulse. The environment 3300 in FIG. 33 may be a mixed reality environment in which Alice's Avatar 1000 is rendered. This mixed reality environment can be rendered by Bob's wearable device 904. The environment 3300 can include physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 which may be part of a physical object in the environment. the physical interesting objects 3324 and 3322 may be associated with gaze boxes. The environment 3300 can also include virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314. The virtual interesting objects 3312 and 3314 may be virtual objects which may be shared by Alice's avatar 1000 and Bob in the mixed reality environment 3300. The environment 3334 can also include a social triangle 3334 which may be the social triangle of Bob (who may be a viewer of Alice's avatar 1000). The environment 3300 can also include an interesting area 3336. The physical interesting objects 3324, 3322, the virtual interesting objects 3312, 3314, the social triangle 3334, and the interesting, “virtual object”). ).
Regarding claim 25, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 24.
Miller discloses wherein the virtual scene further comprises a [[virtual mirror]], and presenting the updated virtual scene to the first user comprises: in response to the target pose being associated with the [[virtual mirror]], presenting, in the [[virtual mirror]], a mirror image of a combination of the avatar associated with the first user and the virtual object ([0267], [0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book. With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench).) .
Rice discloses
virtual mirror ([0152] – mirror virtual)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller in view Rice with virtual mirror as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Regarding claim 26, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses obtaining measurement data of the physical scene; and generating the virtual scene associated with the physical scene based on the measurement data ([0401] In certain implementations, the wearable system maintains a list of interesting impulses for objects and areas within the avatar's field of view (which may be determined and represented by the visual cone 3320). If an interesting impulse is not in the avatar's field of view, the interesting impulse may be culled from the list. when the virtual avatar looks to its right, the physical interesting object 3324 may become outside of the visual cone 3320 while the physical interesting object 3322 may move inside of the visual cone 3320. As a result, information of the physical interesting object 3324 is removed from the list of interesting impulses while information associated with the physical interesting object 3322 (which had been outside the avatar's field of view) may be added to the list of interesting impulses.
[0156] FIG. 10 illustrates an example of an avatar as perceived by a user of a wearable system. The example avatar 1000 shown in FIG. 10 can be an avatar of Alice (shown in FIG. 9B) standing behind a physical plant in a room. An avatar can include various characteristics, such as size, appearance (e.g., skin color, complexion, hair style, clothes, facial features (e.g., wrinkle, mole, blemish, pimple, dimple, etc.)), position, orientation, movement, pose, expression, etc. These characteristics may be based on the user associated with the avatar (e.g., the avatar 1000 of Alice may have some or all characteristics of the actual person Alice). As further described herein, the avatar 1000 can be animated based on contextual information, which can include adjustments to one or more of the characteristics of the avatar 1000. Although generally described herein as representing the physical appearance of the person (e.g., Alice), this is for illustration and not limitation. Alice's avatar could represent the appearance of another real or fictional human being besides Alice, a personified object, a creature, or any other real or fictitious representation. Further, the plant in FIG. 10 need not be physical, but could be a virtual representation of a plant that is presented to the user by the wearable system. Also, additional or different virtual content than shown in FIG. 10 could be presented to the user.).
Regarding claim 27, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 26.
Miller discloses in response to receiving audio data of the second user, providing the audio data in the virtual scene ([0259] Advantageously, in some embodiments, by remapping user's intent in an environment that the avatar is rendered, the wearable system can interact and communicate to adapt to a viewer's local physical surroundings. Alice can be sitting at her desk talking to Bob's avatar 1100 on the table, while Bob is in a big empty room with Alice's avatar 1000 appearing to stand in front of him. Bob and Alice each has a very different environment, but can still successfully communicate. On the other hand, in a VR environment, both of Alice's avatar and Bob's avatar are transported to be at the same virtual space, and thus the avatars do not need to adapt to a user's local physical environment.
[0280] At block 2146, the wearable system can extract semantic intent directives, such as interacting with a certain object. the wearable system can determine an interaction with the object as intended by the user, such as, e.g., moving the object, staring at the object, modifying the object, talking to a virtual avatar of Bob, etc.)
Regarding claim 28, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 26.
Miller discloses in response to receiving updated measurement data of the physical scene, determining a change of the physical scene based on the updated measurement data; and adjusting the virtual scene based on the change ([0058] The wearable system can extract intent of a user's interaction based on contextual information associated with the user's environment, the user's movements, the user's intentions, and so forth. The wearable system can accordingly map the world motion of the user's interaction to an avatar's action based on the avatar's environment and map the local action of the user's interaction directly to the avatar. The mapping of the world motion can include adjusting one or more characteristics of the avatar such as, e.g., the movement, position, orientation, size, facial expression, pose, eye gaze, etc., to be compatible with the physical environment in which the avatar is rendered (rather than simply mapping the characteristics in a direct one-to-one fashion).).
Regarding claim 29, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses presenting the updated virtual scene to a wearable electronic device worn by the first user ([0148] The user device may be a wearable device (such as an HMD or an ARD)
[0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book).
Regarding claim 30, Miller in view Rice disclose all the limitation of claim 18.
Miller discloses wherein the physical scene is a room, the first user is a viewer, the second user is a host, the physical object is an item in the room, and the virtual scene is a virtual scene based on a three-dimensional model ([0234] At block 1814, the wearable system can determine a surface in the user's environment 1814. The surface may be the ground, the surface the user is standing on, or the surface that the avatar will be or is rendered on. As described with reference to FIGS. 16A-17C, the surface can be extracted from a set of 3D points (e.g., 3D environment point clouds) or extracted from a mesh of the environment (which may be generated from the 3D environment point clouds), room. .
[0259] Advantageously, in some embodiments, by remapping user's intent in an environment that the avatar is rendered, the wearable system can interact and communicate to adapt to a viewer's local physical surroundings. For example, Alice can be sitting at her desk talking to Bob's avatar 1100 on the table, while Bob is in a big empty room with Alice's avatar 1000 appearing to stand in front of him. Bob and Alice each has a very different environment, but can still successfully communicate. On the other hand, in a VR environment, both of Alice's avatar and Bob's avatar are transported to be at the same virtual space, and thus the avatars do not need to adapt to a user's local physical environment, “viewer, host”.).
Rice discloses
live streaming room ([0153], [0074], [0264] - manuvering around the room, live view of a video feed with streaming, “application”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller in view Rice with live streaming room as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Regarding claim 31, see rejection on claim 37.
Regarding claim 32, see rejection on claim 19.
Regarding claim 33, see rejection on claim 20.
Regarding claim 34, see rejection on claim 22.
Regarding claim 35, see rejection on claim 23.
Regarding claim 36, see rejection on claim 26.
Regarding claim 37, Miller discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon one or more computer instructions, wherein the one or more computer instructions are executed by a processor to implement acts comprise ([0080], [0377] – wearable system includes a memory stored instruction processed by the processor to perform the following methods:):
receiving a request to access a virtual scene by a first user of a application, the virtual scene being associated with a physical scene which a second user of the virtual application is currently in, and the physical scene comprising a physical object ( [0066] - Alice's system may detect a dog moving in her environment. Bob's wearable system can present movement of a virtual dog in Bob's environment. Bob's wearable system may display the virtual dog's movement in Bob's environment based on obstacles in Bob's environment (e.g., by having the virtual dog move on a trajectory that does not cause the virtual dog to pass through physical objects). Bob’s wearable system receives a request to prevent a virtual dog in Bob’s environment.);
presenting the virtual scene to the first user based on the request, the virtual scene comprising an avatar associated with the second user and a virtual object associated with the physical object ([0066] - Alice's system may detect a dog moving in her environment. Bob's wearable system can present movement of a virtual dog in Bob's environment. Bob's wearable system may display the virtual dog's movement in Bob's environment based on obstacles in Bob's environment (e.g., by having the virtual dog move on a trajectory that does not cause the virtual dog to pass through physical objects). Bob’s wearable system receives a request to prevent a virtual dog in Bob’s environment.
[0058] - The wearable system can accordingly map the world motion of the user's interaction to an avatar's action based on the avatar's environment and map the local action of the user's interaction directly to the avatar. The mapping of the world motion can include adjusting one or more characteristics of the avatar such as, e.g., the movement, position, orientation, size, facial expression, pose, eye gaze, etc., to be compatible with the physical environment in which the avatar is rendered (rather than simply mapping the characteristics in a direct one-to-one fashion). Bob and Alice can interact with each other.); and
presenting an updated virtual scene to the first user based on a request by the first user to switch to a target pose in the virtual scene, the updated virtual scene comprising an updated avatar of the second user and an updated virtual object determined based on the target pose ([0059] when Alice walks to a chair and sits down on the chair, the wearable system can automatically find a chair in Bob's environment (or another sit-able surface if there is no chair) by accessing information from the world map of Bob's environment and rendering Alice as sitting on the chair. As another example, the wearable system may determine that Alice intends to interact with an object of interest (e.g., a tree or a virtual book) in her environment. The wearable system can automatically reorient Alice's avatar to interact with the object of interest in Bob's environment, where the location of the object of interest may not be the same as that in Alice's environment. if a direct one-to-one mapping of the virtual book would cause it to be rendered inside or underneath a table in Bob's environment, Bob's wearable system may instead render the virtual book as lying on top of the table, which will provide Bob with a more natural interaction with Alice and the virtual book thus “presenting an updated virtual scene to the first user based on a request by the first user to switch to a target pose in the virtual scene”.
[0267] With reference to the subprocess 2020, at block 2022, the wearable device B can determine contextual information associated with the wearable device B. Such contextual information can be used to determine Alice's avatar's interaction with the wearable device B's environment. the wearable device B can determine a corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment. As an example, where the object of interest in wearable A's environment is a virtual object shared between the wearable device A and the wearable device B, the corresponding object of interest in the wearable device B's environment can be this shared virtual object. In some situations, the intent may include semantic intent, which can cause the wearable device B to find an object having similar classification or function or support similar user interaction in wearable device B's environment as the corresponding object of interest. an object of interest in wearable device A's environment can include an office chair. The corresponding object of interest in wearable device B's environment may be an object with sit-able surface (such as a bed or a bench), thus “the updated virtual scene comprising an updated avatar of the second user and an updated virtual object determined based on the target pose”.).
Miller does not disclose; however Rice discloses
virtual live streaming application ([0074], [0264] - create creates virtual objects, live view of a video feed with streaming in computer, “application”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller with virtual live streaming application as taught by Rice. The motivation for doing is to improve technology for advertising.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618