This office action is in response to the application filed on 01/28/2025.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reception unit” and “a calculation unit” in claim 1 and “a transmission unit” and “a calculation unit” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi (WO 2021100411) in view of Deng et al. (CN 102595390), hereinafter Deng.
Regarding claim 1,
Furuichi discloses a communication control device comprising:
a reception unit that receives information on a communication device from a communication device requesting a secondary communication service that is a communication service using at least a part of a frequency band of a primary communication system; (pages 10-11, 2.1 Registration Procedure> The registration procedure is a procedure for registering information on a wireless system that intends to use the shared frequency band … to use the shared frequency band notifies the communication control device 130 of the registration request including the device parameters, so that the registration procedure is started. When a plurality of communication devices 110 belong to a wireless system that intends to use the shared frequency band, the device parameters of the plurality of communication devices are included in the registration request…in frequency sharing or frequency secondary use, an existing system that uses the target frequency band is called a primary system, and a secondary user is called a secondary system. For example, a macro cell base station in a heterogeneous network (HetNet) may be a primary system, and a small cell base station or a relay station may be a secondary system. Further, the base station may be the primary system, and the Relay UE (User Equipment) or Vehicle UE that realizes D2D or V2X existing in the coverage may be the secondary system. The base station is not limited to the fixed type, and may be a portable type or a mobile type. In such a case, for example, the communication control device 130 of the present embodiment may be provided in a core network, a base station, a relay station, a Relay UE, or the like; pages 23-24, 2.3 Spectrum Grant Procedure> … performs the frequency use permission procedure on behalf of the wireless system may be the same as or different from the 110 that has performed the procedure so far) and
a calculation unit that generates a communication parameter of the communication device by performing [[secret calculation]] based on the information on the communication device (pages 24-25, 2.3.1 Details of frequency usage permission processing- after the frequency use permission request, the 130 performs the frequency use permission process based on the frequency use permission request method … When the flexible method is used, the maximum allowable transmission power information may be derived … the allowable interference power information in the or its protection zone, the position information of the reference point for calculating the interference power level incurred …the maximum permissible transmission power information is calculated using the propagation loss estimation model)
Furuichi does not explicitly teach performing secret calculation. However, Deng in analogous art discloses secret calculation (para. [0012]-[0013], the base station the initial context establishment request, configuring security for MTC to the MTC sends a security mode command (Security Mode Command), wherein includes an encryption algorithm(cipheringAlgorithm) and configuration of integrity protection algorithm(integrityProtAlgorithm)… the MTC the security mode command, obtaining an encryption according to the encryption algorithm and integrity protection algorithm, and predefined rules of the protocol (Κκκεη. KupeJ and integrity protection(KKKint))
Furuichi and Deng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Furuchi to incorporate the teachings of Deng. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to provide a system for configuring a terminal to communicate with a security mode (para. [0001], Deng)
Regarding claim 2,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation by encryption (Deng, para. [0012]-[0013], MTC the security mode command, obtaining an encryption according to the encryption algorithm and integrity protection algorithm, and predefined rules of the protocol (Κκκεη. KupeJ and integrity protection (KKKint). MTC configured bottom application ciphering and integrity protection algorithm, the MTC comprises safety mode finish signaling (Security Mode Complete) ;MTC implementing the encryption algorithm in a subsequent signaling integrity protection algorithm is performed in a subsequent signaling is needed in addition to safe mode finish signaling does not use an encryption algorithm). The same motivation as claim 1 above applies.
Regarding claim 4,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the reception unit receives the information on the communication device encrypted by the encryption, and the calculation unit performs the secret calculation based on the encrypted information on the communication device (Deng, para. [0012]-[0013], MTC the security mode command, obtaining an encryption according to the encryption algorithm and integrity protection algorithm, and predefined rules of the protocol (Κκκεη. KupeJ and integrity protection (KKKint). MTC configured bottom application ciphering and integrity protection algorithm, the MTC comprises safety mode finish signaling (Security Mode Complete) ;MTC implementing the encryption algorithm in a subsequent signaling integrity protection algorithm is performed in a subsequent signaling is needed in addition to safe mode finish signaling does not use an encryption algorithm). The same motivation as claim 1 above applies.
Regarding claim 5,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation using a safety area (Furuichi, page 20, 2.2 Available Spectrum Query Procedure…a procedure in which a wireless system that intends to use the shared inquires the 130 for information on available frequencies. It is not always necessary to carry out the procedure for inquiring about available frequency information… an inquiry request including information that can identify the 110.Here, the available frequency information is typically information indicating a frequency at which the 110 does not cause fatal interference to the and can be safely secondarily used)
Regarding claim 8,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation with an antenna configuration as the information on the communication device (Furuchi, pages 20-24, Here, P .sub.MaxTx (dBm) is the maximum allowable transmission power, I.sub.Th (dBm) is the allowable interference power (the limit value of the allowable interference power), and d is a predetermined reference point and the communication device 110. The distance between PL (d) .sub.(dB), is the propagation loss at distance d. Equation (2) does not include the antenna gain in the transceiver, but it can be used as a reference point for the maximum allowable transmission power(EIRP, Conducted power, etc.) and reception power (antenna input point, antenna output point, etc.). Accordingly, the antenna gain in the transceiver may be included. Also, feeder loss may be considered as needed. This embodiment is applied, for example, when deriving the maximum allowable transmission power information. Details will be described later)
Regarding claim 9,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation with a frequency channel as the information on the communication device (Furuichi page 22, evaluate the available frequency by a method different from the above-mentioned method. Specifically, for example, when the estimated interference amount is less than the allowable interference power in the or its protection zone (Protection Zone), assuming that the desired transmission power indicated by the transmission power information is used is determined that the frequency channel is available and is notified to the110).
Regarding claim 10,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation with a wireless access scheme as the information on the communication device (Furuichi, pages 24-25, The designation method is a request method in which the 110specifies a desired and requests the 130 for permission for operation based on the desired . The desired communication include, but are not limited to, the frequency channel to be used, the maximum transmission power, and the like. For example, specific to the wireless interface technology (modulation method, duplex mode, etc.) may be specified. In addition, information indicating radio wave usage priority such as PAL and GAA may be included)
Regarding claim 11,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation with transmission power as the information on the communication device (Furuichi, pages 8-9, page 21, information on the maximum EIRP … reducing the transmission power, the same frequency as the or the nearby110 may be notified as an available channel … the maximum permissible transmit power information is typically included in the available frequency information. The maximum allowable transmit power is typically expressed as Equivalent Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP) … in a combination of antenna power and antenna gain. Further, as the antenna gain, an allowable peak gain may be set foreach spatial direction)
Regarding claim 13,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit generates the communication parameter on the basis of distance information on the communication device generated by performing the secret calculation (Furuich page 24, P .sub.MaxTx (dBm) is the maximum allowable transmission power, I.sub.Th (dBm) is the allowable interference power (the limit value of the allowable interference power), and d is a predetermined reference point and the 110. The distance between, PL (d) .sub.(dB), is the propagation loss at distance d. … reference point for the maximum allowable transmission power(EIRP, Conducted power, etc.) and power (antenna input point, antenna output point, etc.). Accordingly, the antenna gain in the transceiver may be included. Also, feeder loss may be considered as needed. This embodiment is applied, for example, when deriving the maximum allowable transmission power information)
Regarding claim 14,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit generates the communication parameter on the basis of a radio wave propagation characteristic generated by performing the secret calculation (Furuichi page 25, propagation loss estimation model that requires information on the radio wave propagation path. Information on the radio wave propagation path includes, for example, information indicating the inside and outside of the line of sight(LOS: Line of Sight and / or NLOS: Non Line of Sight), topographical information(undulations, sea level, etc.), and environmental information (Urban, Suburban, Rural, Open Sky, etc.) can be included. When using the propagation loss estimation model, the communication control device 130 may infer such information from the registration information of the communication device 110 and the information of the primary system that have already been acquired. Alternatively, if there are parameters specified in advance, it is desirable to use those parameter).
Regarding claim 15,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit compares the information on the communication device with geographic information to generate the radio wave propagation characteristic (Furuichi pages 39-40, the determination unit 132 searches for a wireless system in the vicinity of the target communication device 110 based on the registered installation position or the like (S201). The "neighborhood" may be appropriately determined according to the terrain and the like. For example, if the radius is a predetermined distance (isolation distance) and the inside of the circle centered on the target communication device 110 is defined as "neighborhood", it is confirmed whether the existing communication device 110 exists inside the circle. .. For each registered communication device 110, the Euclidean distance to the target communication device 110 may be calculated, and if the distance is within the isolation d).
Regarding claim 17,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng further discloses wherein the calculation unit generates the communication parameter on the basis of received signal power detected on the basis of at least one of a distance of the communication device generated by performing the secret calculation and a radio wave propagation characteristic generated by performing the secret calculation (Furuichi pages 40, the magnitude of the desired transmission power when using the shared frequency band may be acquired from the target communication device 110, and the SNR and coverage may be calculated based on the transmission power. Alternatively, when a protected area based on the position of the communication device 110 is set as in the PAL Protection Area of CBRS in the United States, the protected area may be treated as coverage. Further, when the target communication device 110 or the existing communication device 110 is installed in the building (Indoor), the communication control device 130 determines the attenuation when passing through the building when determining the coverage thereof.).
Regarding claim 18,
Furuichi discloses a communication device comprising:
a transmission unit that transmits own information on a communication device to a communication control device in order to request a secondary communication service that is a communication service using at least a part of a frequency band of a primary communication system; (page 10 and pages 34-35, 2.1 Registration Procedure> … frequency resource includes, for example, a resource block and a component carrier. Time resources include, for example, radio frames, subframes, slots, mini-slots, and the like. When the resource pool is set in the frequency channel to be the target of frequency sharing, it is set in the terminal 120 by the communication device 110 based on at least one of RRC signaling, system information, and downlink control information. Then, the communication parameters to be applied in the resource pool and the side link are also set in the terminal 120 by the communication device 110 based on at least one of RRC signaling, system information, and downlink control information from the communication device 110 to the terminal 120 … the dynamic frequency sharing of the present embodiment, time division duplex (TDD) wireless communication is performed, and when using the shared frequency band, the procedure for TDD time synchronization is performed) and
a control unit that performs wireless communication with a terminal device on the basis of a communication parameter generated by [[secret calculation]] based on the transmitted information on the communication device in the communication control device (page 25, after the frequency use permission request, the 130 performs the frequency use permission process based on the frequency use permission request method … When the flexible method is used, the maximum allowable transmission power information may be derived … the allowable interference power information in the or its protection zone, the position information of the reference point for calculating the interference power level incurred …the maximum permissible transmission power information is calculated using the propagation loss estimation model).
Furuichi does not explicitly teach performing secret calculation. However, Deng in analogous art discloses secret calculation (para. [0012]-[0013], the base station the initial context establishment request, configuring security for MTC to the MTC sends a security mode command (Security Mode Command), wherein includes an encryption algorithm(cipheringAlgorithm) and configuration of integrity protection algorithm(integrityProtAlgorithm)… the MTC the security mode command, obtaining an encryption according to the encryption algorithm and integrity protection algorithm, and predefined rules of the protocol (Κκκεη. KupeJ and integrity protection(KKKint))
Furuichi and Deng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Furuchi to incorporate the teachings of Deng. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to provide a system for configuring a terminal to communicate with a security mode (para. [0001], Deng)
Regarding claim 19,
Claim 19 is a method claim with limitations substantially similar in scope to claim 1, therefore, is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20,
Claim 20 is a method claim with limitations substantially similar in scope to claim 18, therefore, is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 6-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi (WO 2021100411) in view of Deng et al. (CN 102595390), hereinafter Deng and further in view of Sachs et al. (TW 202037208) hereinafter Sachs.
Regarding claim 3,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng does not explicitly teach, however, Sachs discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation by the encryption having homomorphism (page 227, the homomorphic encryption scheme can be used for other one-way functions of sensitive scalar information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Furuichi in view of Deng to incorporate the teachings of Sachs. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to provide a system that enables comparing responses with sensitive encrypted information (para. 227, Sachs).
Regarding claim 6,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng does not explicitly teach, however, Sachs discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation with a location as the information on the communication device (Sachs page 14,
3GPP has recorded the positioning requirements for 5G positioning services in section 5.7 "Location Performance Requirements" of TS22.104, Page 27, LTE enhanced cell ID positioning … The eNB can report additional information to the positioning server, such as angle of arrival, cell part, round trip time, and so on. The positioning server estimates the location based on this information and its knowledge of the cell location). The same rationale as claim 3 above applies.
Regarding claim 7,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng does not explicitly teach, however, Sachs discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation with location uncertainty as the information on the communication device. (Page 99, Both Type 1 and Type 2 retransmissions are based only on the dynamic grant of CS RNTI (that is, retransmissions are not sent using ULgrants that occur repeatedly) …A dynamic grant with C-RNTI can change a configured grant for initial transmission when the time domain overlaps… Each serving cell and BWP has at most one type 1 or type 2 configuration The difference between Type 1 and Type 2 is the setting procedure. The program of Type 1 CG is illustrated in FIG. 71, and the program of Type 2 CG is illustrated in FIG.72. It can be proved that since Type 1 CG is started by RRC, it is most suitable for traffic with decisive arrival periodicity (according to TSN characteristics). On the other hand, Type 2 CG is suitable for supporting streams with uncertain misalignment, where DCI (PHY signal) can be used to quickly configure the grant). The same rationale as claim 3 above applies.
Regarding claim 12,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng does not explicitly teach, however, Sachs discloses wherein the calculation unit performs the secret calculation with a time usage as the information on the communication device (Sachs, Page 177, the usage module 3140 can perform some of the usage functions of the equipment 3100. For example, the usage module 3140 can use the offset to reduce a deviation between the first time signal and the second time signal). The same rationale as claim 3 above applies.
Claim(s) 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi ((WO 2021100411) in view of Deng et al. (CN 102595390), hereinafter Deng and further in view US Herle et al (US 20030035544), hereinafter Herle.
Regarding claim 16,
Furuichi in view of Deng teach the system of claim 15 as set forth above. Furuichi in view of Deng does not explicitly teach, however, Herle discloses wherein the calculation unit compares the encrypted information on the communication device with the encrypted geographic information to generate the radio wave propagation characteristic (para. [0008], determining the geographic location information and storing it in memory. The controller is additionally capable of establishing a secure connection with the server, using at least one encryption/decryption key, over the wireless network over which the geographic location information is transmitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Furuichi in view of Deng to incorporate the teachings of Herle. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to enable secure communication and share a mobile station's geographic location to authorized client access devices (Abstract, Herle).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Litichever (US 20200389469) directed to an external network is protected by analyzing messages received from the external network or from devices connected to the network that may be substituted, compromised, or otherwise malware infected.
Nix (US 20190313246) directed to system to use preconfigured WiFi credentials, for the device to communicate with a configuration system.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amy C. Johnson can be reached at (571) 272-2238. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436