DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by CN 215444402 to Lu et al (Lu). (Machine translation has been used).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a scroll compressor comprising:
a housing (10, fig. 1);
a partition wall (30, fig. 1) disposed in the housing, the partition wall dividing a space inside the housing into a first space below the partition wall and a second space above the partition wall, the partition wall having an opening in a central portion (fig. 1);
a first scroll (22, fig. 1) disposed in the first space inside the housing, the first scroll comprising a first end plate and a first scroll wrap extending downward from the first end plate, and a port (V, fig. 1) penetrating a central portion of the first end plate;
a second scroll (24, fig. 1) disposed in the first space inside the housing, the second scroll comprising a second end plate and a second scroll wrap extending upward from the second end plate, the second scroll wrap and the first scroll wrap engaging to form a compression chamber for compressing a medium;
a discharge member (port connecting exhaust port V to the discharge port 104, fig. 1) having a lower end of the discharge member above the port of the first end plate of the first scroll and an upper end of the discharge member connected to an edge of the opening of the partition wall (fig. 1), the discharge member having an internal passage port connecting exhaust port V to the discharge port 104, fig. 1) for discharging compressed medium from the port of the first end plate of the first scroll to the second space above the partition wall (fig. 1); and
a heat shield (40, fig. 1) disposed between the partition wall and the first end plate of the first scroll (see fig. 1; [37]-[53]).
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, wherein the heat shield comprises an annular disc-shaped portion (401, 402, fig. 4b) and has a central hole (fig. 4b), the discharge member passes through the central hole (fig. 4b) (note: heat shield structures are also shown in figs. 5-7 which can also be used to reject the claims).
Regarding claim 3, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, wherein the heat shield comprises an annular disc-shaped portion (401, 402, fig. 4b) and a cylindrical portion (402, 404, fig. 4b) extending downward from an inner periphery of the annular disc-shaped portion (fig. 4b), and a lower portion of the discharge member is disposed in the cylindrical portion of the heat shield (discharge port connecting to port 104 is located in the region of the cylindrical portion; figs. 1-2) (note: heat shield structures are also shown in figs. 5-7 which can also be used to reject the claims).
Regarding claim 4, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, wherein the heat shield is connected to the housing (figs. 1-2; 40 is connected to the housing 10).
Regarding claim 5, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, further comprising:
a driving member (14, 15, 16, fig. 1) disposed below the second scroll, the driving member comprising a hub portion (hub D in annotated figure 1 below containing stator 14 with the stator, motor and shaft in the inner hole) with an inner hole; and a flange (Flange E in annotated figure 1 below) portion extending outward from an end of the hub portion in a radial direction of the hub portion (see fig. 1); and
a scroll cover (cover F in annotated figure 1 below) of the comprising: an end plate (top side of F connected to scrolls) with a central hole; and a cylindrical portion (side surface of F is cylindrical) extending downward from an outer periphery of the end plate, wherein the cylindrical portion of the scroll cover is connected to the flange portion of the driving member (side surface of F connects to E), and the end plate of the scroll cover is connected to the first end plate of the first scroll (top side of F is connected to scrolls), and the discharge member passes through the central hole of the end plate of the scroll cover (V passes through the central hole of F),
wherein at least a part of the heat shield is disposed between the partition wall and the scroll cover (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 5, wherein the heat shield comprises an annular disc-shaped portion (402, fig. 4b) with a central hole (fig. 4b), the discharge member passes through the central hole (port v passes through the hole as shown in fig. 1), the disc-shaped portion of the heat shield is spaced apart from the end plate of the scroll cover (fig. 1, and
a suction passage (from 102 to S, fig. 1) is formed between an outer peripheral surface of the discharge member and a hole wall of the central hole of the end plate of the scroll cover, a to-be-compressed medium enters the compression chamber of the first scroll and the second scroll through a gap (S, fig. 1) between the disc-shaped portion of the heat shield and the end plate of the scroll cover, the suction passage, a gap formed between the end plate of the scroll cover and the first end plate of the first scroll (fig. 1; end plate F and end plate of 22 are on opposite sides forming a gap), and a gap between an inner wall of the cylindrical portion of the scroll cover and the first scroll and the second scroll (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there will be a gap between the cover and the scrolls for the scrolls to rotate and operate).
Regarding claim 7, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 5, wherein the heat shield comprises an annular disc-shaped portion (401, 402, fig. 4b) and a cylindrical portion (402, 404, fig. 4b) extending downward from an inner periphery of the annular disc-shaped portion, a lower portion of the discharge member is disposed in the cylindrical portion of the heat shield (discharge port connecting to port 104 is located in the region of the cylindrical portion; figs. 1-2), and the disc-shaped portion of the heat shield is spaced apart from the end plate of the scroll cover (see annotated fig. 1; F is spaces apart from 40), and
a suction passage (from 102 to S, fig. 1) is formed between an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion of the heat shield and a hole wall of the central hole of the end plate of the scroll cover (see fig. 1; S is between the end plate of scroll 22 and 40), a to-be- compressed medium enters the compression chamber of the first scroll and the second scroll through a gap (S, fig. 1) between the disc-shaped portion of the heat shield and the end plate of the scroll cover, the suction passage, a gap formed between the end plate of the scroll cover and the first end plate of the first scroll (fig. 1; end plate F and end plate of 22 are on opposite sides forming a gap), and a gap between an inner wall of the cylindrical portion of the scroll cover and the first scroll and the second scroll (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there will be a gap between the cover and the scrolls for the scrolls to rotate and operate).
Regarding claim 8, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 2, wherein the disc-shaped portion of the heat shield has an upward convex shape (4014, fig. 5b, also shown in figs. 6b, 6c, 7a,) .
Regarding claim 9, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 3, wherein the heat shield further comprises a flange (410, fig. 7b)) extending outward from a lower end of the cylindrical portion (cylindrical portion around 409, fig. 7b), and the flange is adjacent to the first end plate of the first scroll (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, wherein the heat shield is formed from a metal plate through a stamping process ([23], [49]).
Note: this is a product by process claim. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 11, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, further comprising:
a motor ([38]);
a driving member (14, 15, 16, fig. 1) located below the second scroll, wherein the motor drives the first scroll to rotate through the driving member (fig. 1; operation of the compressor), and the first scroll drives the second scroll to rotate (fig. 1; operation of the compressor), the driving member comprises a hub portion with an inner hole (hub D in annotated figure 1 below containing stator 14 with the stator, motor and shaft in the inner hole); and a flange portion (Flange E in annotated figure 1 below) extending outward from an end of the hub portion in a radial direction of the hub portion; and
a support (base B of the shaft 16, annotated fig. 1), wherein the driving member is rotatably supported on the support.
Regarding claim 12, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 11, further comprising:
a scroll cover (cover F in annotated figure 1 below) of the comprising: an end plate (top side of F connected to scrolls) with a central hole; and a cylindrical portion (side surface of F is cylindrical) extending downward from an outer periphery of the end plate, wherein the cylindrical portion of the scroll cover is connected to the flange portion of the driving member (side surface of F connects to E), and the end plate of the scroll cover is connected to the first end plate of the first scroll (top side of F is connected to scrolls).
Regarding claim 13, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 11, further comprising:
a fixed shaft (L, annotated fig. 1), wherein a lower end of the fixed shaft is fixed to the support (See annotated fig. 1), and the hub portion of the driving member is rotatably mounted on the fixed shaft (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 13, wherein the support comprises a cylindrical portion (around B, annotated fig. 1), and the driving member is rotatably supported on the cylindrical portion of the support.
Regarding claim 15, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 14, wherein a part of the fixed shaft is inserted into the cylindrical portion of the support and fixed to the cylindrical portion of the support (see annotated fig. 1; L is inserted and fixed to B), and the fixed shaft has a cylindrical shape.
Regarding claim 16, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 6, further comprising:
a motor ([38]); and
a compressor suction port (S, fig. 1) disposed in the housing;
wherein a to-be-compressed medium is sucked into the scroll compressor from the compressor suction port (operation of the scroll compressor), and enters the compression chamber of the first scroll and the second scroll through a gap (S, fig. 1) between the motor, the disc-shaped portion of the heat shield and the end plate of the scroll cover, the suction passage, a gap formed between the end plate of the scroll cover and the first end plate of the first scroll (fig. 1; end plate F and end plate of 22 are on opposite sides forming a gap), and a gap between an inner wall of the cylindrical portion of the scroll cover and the first scroll and the second scroll (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there will be a gap between the cover and the scrolls for the scrolls to rotate and operate).
Regarding claim 17, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, wherein the first end plate further comprises a groove (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a scroll compressor will have a groove to accommodate sealing ring (R, annotated fig. 1)) surrounding the port, the scroll compressor further comprises a sealing ring (R, annotated fig. 1) disposed in the groove and extending from the groove, the sealing ring is located between the lower end of the discharge member and the first end plate to form a sealing between the lower end of the discharge member and the first end plate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Lu discloses the scroll compressor of claim 1, further comprising:
a driving member (14, 15, 16, fig. 1) located below the second scroll, the driving member comprising a hub portion (hub D in annotated figure 1 below containing stator 14 with the stator, motor and shaft in the inner hole) with an inner hole; and a flange (Flange E in annotated figure 1 below) portion extending outward from an end of the hub portion in a radial direction of the hub portion,
wherein the first scroll comprises a scroll cover (cover F in annotated figure 1 below) casted integrally with the first scroll, and the scroll cover comprises an end plate with (top side of F connected to scrolls) a central hole; and a cylindrical portion (side surface of F is cylindrical) extending downward from an outer periphery of the end plate, wherein the cylindrical portion of the scroll cover is connected to the flange portion of the driving member (side surface of F connects to E), and the end plate of the scroll cover is connected to the first end plate of the first scroll (top side of F is connected to scrolls), the discharge member passes through the central hole of the end plate of the scroll cover (V passes through the central hole of F), and at least a part of the heat shield is disposed between the partition wall and the scroll cover (fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10,337,514 to Mahure et al.
US 6,592,344 to Witham et al.
US 6,428,293 to Dewar et al.
US 6,287,089 to Williams et al.
US 5,649,816 to Wallis et al.
US 2014/0024563 to Heidecker et al.
US 2003/0099564 to Witham et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746