DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 6/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 12-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites 0.001 to 20 % anionic surfactant and further recites wherein the anionic surfactant comprises at least a taurate. This limitation lacks antecedent basis because the claim does not specify there is more than one present but merely recites a percent of anionic surfactant. The same issue applies for the zwitterionic surfactant and lack of antecedent basis. The dependent claims are included because they do not cure the deficiency of claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the anionic surfactant comprises isethionate, taurate sodium alkyl sulfate, acyl glutamate, glycinate alaninate or a mixture thereof and claim 1 recites a taurate so it is not clear if this is additional surfactants. Furthermore, the claim recites or mixture of surfactants but claim 1 does not specify one or more than one anionic surfactants are present.
If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See In re Kiely, 2022 USPQ2d 532 at 2* (Fed. Cir. 2022).
It is believed the claim should recite “The cleaning composition according to claim 1, further comprising an anionic surfactant selected from the group consisting of isethionate, sodium alkyl sulfate, acyl glutamate, glycinate alaninate or a mixture thereof”. The same issue applies to claim 4.
Claim 5 recites the cleansing composition wherein the zwitterionic surfactant comprise lauryl betaine or a mixture thereof but depends from claim one that does not recite there is more than one surfactant. Furthermore, it is not clear if these are additional surfactants present or if these are meant to be the betaine recited in claim 1. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See In re Kiely, 2022 USPQ2d 532 at 2* (Fed. Cir. 2022).
Claims 9 and 15 recite (RV5 spindle, 10 rpm, 30s @ 25°C) in parenthesis and it is not clear if this libation is exemplary and is meant to a required claim limitation or not. It is suggested to remove the parenthesis.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trentini et al. (WO 2019038309) in view of Pawson et al. (GB 2378186), and Feng et al. (US 20220241179) as evidenced by pKa of citric acid: Essential Data & Buffering [Master Guide].
Trentini et al. (WO 2019038309) (hereinafter Trentini et al.) disclose personal cleansing compositions that contain betaine surfactant and taurate surfactant (claim 1). 4 % by weight sodium methyl cocyl taurate and 4 % by weight cocoamidopropyl betaines disclosed and 0.6 wt % citric acid where the pH is from 4 to 6 and the composition is substantially free of electrolytes and thickening agent ( claims 1, 5, 8, 10, example 2 table 2A). The citric acid is used to adjust the pH (Example 4). Trentinin et al. disclose that betaine surfactants help to boast lather and are generally milder than sulfate surfactants. The cleansing surfactant include both taurate and betaine and present from 5 to 15 % and Trentini et al. discloses that when the composition contains greater than 10 weight percent of cleansing surfactant, the weight ratio of betaine surfactant to taurate is from 80:20 to 20:80 which overlaps with the claimed amount of betaine. Trentinin et al. disclose when translucency is or transparency is desired, the amount of cleansing surfactant and relative amount of betaine surfactant to taurate surfactant should be selected such that little or no added electrolyte is needed to build viscosity. The personal cleansing compositions of the subject invention have or are adjusted to viscosities in the range of from 2500cP to 10000 cP. As evidenced by pKa of citric acid: Essential Data & Buffering [Master Guide], citric acid has three pKa values, 3.13, 4.76 and 6.40 at 25° C. The composition is free of sulfate. While the viscosity is not measured exactly the same way, the centipoise is disclosed to be the same and is desired.
Pawson et al. (GB 2378186) (hereinafter Pawson et al.) disclose liquid cleansing compositions where the acid buffering compounds include citric acid and the acid is preferably present in an amount of 0.05 to 3 wt % of the composition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the amount of citric acid. One would have been motivated to do so for its buffering properties.
Trentini et al. does not explicitly state the composition is biodegradable however, Feng et al. (US 20220241179) disclose there is increased demand for sustainable, safe and environmentally friendly green compositions (para 0005) and that these include biodegradable ingredients (para 0042). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composition be biodegradable. One would have been motivated to do so to provide for an environmentally friendly green composition.
CORRESPONDENCE
/Danah Al-Awadi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615