DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
The presence of claim limitations that are preceded by the phrases “wherein” often raises a question as to the limiting effect of the claim limitations (see MPEP §2111.04). The Examiner has interpreted the limitations following the phrase “wherein” as positively being claimed (i.e. the claim limitations are required and/or the claim limitations following the “wherein clause” limits the structure), where “wherein” is being used as a transitional phrase.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a driving member in claim 1.
The driving member is disclosed to be (3) and is shown in Figures 28-30 for the elected Species.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species VI (Figures 28-30) and Subspecies A (Figures 34-36) in the reply filed on March 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-8, 12-14, 19, 25, 31, 37, and 41-50 are stated to read on the elected Species and/or SubSpecies.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species and/or SubSpecies. Claims 9, 10, 15-18, 20-24, 26-30, 32-36, and 38-40 have been canceled.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SCROLL COMPRESSOR WITH TWO SCROLLS ROTATING AND THE DRIVING MEMBER SUPPORTED BY A BRACKET.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DOEPKER (U.S. Patent 10,280,922 B2).
Regarding claim 1, DOEPKER discloses: a scroll compressor (410) (see Figure 4), comprising:
a first scroll (476) comprising a first end plate (480) and a first scroll wrap (482) extending downward from the first end plate (see Figure 4);
a second scroll (478) comprising a second end plate (486) and a second scroll wrap (488) extending upward from the second end plate (see Figure 4), the second scroll and the first scroll cooperating to form a compression chamber for compressing a medium (see Figure 4, Column 11, lines 44-60);
a motor (420, 506);
a driving member (510, 512) located below the second scroll (see Figure 4 that shows (512) is below the second scroll), the motor driving the first scroll to rotate through the driving member (see Figure 4, Column 12, lines 10-22), and the first scroll driving the second scroll to rotate (see Figure 4, Column 12, lines 10-22 that discloses the Oldham coupling can be keyed to both the first and second end plates (480, 486) thereby, when the first scroll rotates this would then cause the second scroll to rotate); and
a bracket (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER), the driving member being rotatably supported on the bracket (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER that shows the bracket supporting (512) of the driving member).
Regarding claim 50, DOEPKER discloses: an air suction channel is provided on a side of the first scroll away from the second scroll (see Figure 4, where the air enters at (496) and then enters at the side of the first scroll, Column 12, lines 23-36), and used for sucking the medium into the compression chamber (see Figure 4, Column 12, lines 23-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 25, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOEPKER in view of GUANG-DE (Taiwan Patent Publication TW M270266U, a machine translation was provided with the foreign publication in the IDS filed on 1/28/2025 and is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 19, DOEPKER discloses: the driving member comprises: a hub portion (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER) having an inner hole (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER), the hub portion comprising a first end portion (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER) and a second end portion (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER) opposite to each other (see Figure 4); and a flange portion (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER) extending radially outward from the first end portion of the hub portion of the driving member (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER), the second end plate of the second scroll being rotatably supported on the flange portion of the driving member (see Marked up Figure 4 of DOEPKER that shows the second end plate is rotatably supported on the flange portion of the driving member and even has a seal interface via (530)), and
the flange portion has an upper surface (see Figure 4 that shows an upper surface of the flange portion), and the second end plate of the second scroll has a lower surface (see Figure 4 that shows a lower surface of the second scroll).
DOEPKER fails to disclose one of the upper surface of the flange portion and the lower surface of the second end plate of the second scroll has an annular thrust surface and an oil groove.
Regarding claim 19, GUANG-DE teaches: one of the upper surface of the flange portion and the lower surface of the second end plate of the second scroll has an annular thrust surface (see Figures 2, 3, 5, and 6, claim 1, Page 2) and an oil groove (15d) (see Figures 2, 3, 5, and 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have one of the upper surface of the flange portion and the lower surface of the second end plate of the second scroll has an annular thrust surface and an oil groove in the scroll compressor of DOEPKER, in order to provide both support and reducing the friction between the thrust surface and the component that it slides on (see bottom of Page 1 of GUANG-DE). Utilizing known methods to address thrust and friction (i.e. by having one of the upper surface of the flange portion and the lower surface of the second end plate of the second scroll has an annular thrust surface and an oil groove) requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. support and a reduction of friction, which also reduces heat generated from the rubbing between the scroll and the component that it slides on).
Regarding claim 25, GUANG-DE further teaches: the oil groove further comprises: a second oil groove (15b) provided, on the radially outer side of the annular thrust surface (see Figure 5), on one of the upper surface of the flange portion and the lower surface of the second end plate of the second scroll (see Figure 5), the second oil groove extending around the annular thrust surface (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 31, DOEPKER discloses: the driving member further comprises one of two features:
an eccentric ring hole (the eccentric ring hole contains (530) in Figure 4) in the upper surface of the flange portion (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 31, GUANG-DE further teaches: the upper surface of the flange portion has the annular thrust surface (see Figure 5), and the second oil groove (15b) is provided on the upper surface of the flange portion (see Figure 5); and
the driving member further comprises one of two features:
a part of the second oil groove (15b) corresponding to the eccentric ring hole (there are multiple rings (15b)) being located on an inner side of the eccentric ring hole in a radial direction of the hub portion (see Figure 5).
The combination of DOEPKER with GUANG-DE would obviously have a part of the second oil groove corresponding to the eccentric ring hole being located on an inner side of the eccentric ring hole in a radial direction of the hub portion in the modified scroll compressor of DOEPKER, in order to keep the oil within a certain area of the sliding surface and control the oil from being sucked into the scroll compressor.
EXAMINER’S COMMENT
CN217002271 U is by the same assignee as the current application. Even though it was published on 7/19/2022, which is before the filing date of the current application, it is considered to be an exception 102(b)(1)(A) and therefore, is not used to reject the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 12-14, 37, and 41-49 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Communication
/Mary A Davis/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746