DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the applicant arguments that the prior art of record Robbins (US20180113309) does not teach:
the newly amended limitation: “a second waveguide, separate from the first waveguide”; and
an image pipe configured to receive the first output image beam at an image pipe input and provide at least one propagated image beam at an image pipe output
The examiner respectfully disagrees:
after further consideration of the amendment the examiner believes the rejection to be proper as it was and including the newly added limitation listed above, in at least fig 1A and 1B, the invention is shown to have a lightpipe, 106) as well as multiple waveguides (114a, 114b and 116) each of which as seen in figure 1A are separate from each other and as such read on the newly added limitation.
With regard to the statement that the prior art doesn’t teach a light pipe guiding light between the other lightguides, the examiner points to 1A and 1B again, as element 106 acts as a lightpipe(or guide of its own) to channel the light from element 112, to the aforementioned waveguides 1 (114a/b) and 2 (116).
As such the rejection is believed to be proper and has been restated below to include any newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robbins (US 20180113309) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an optical device (Figure 1A) comprising: a coupling assembly (112, input coupler) configured to receive a collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide a first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) and a second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG); an image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) at an image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) input (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 240, BPG) and provide at least one propagated image beam at an image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) output (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 114b, second intermediate component); a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) having a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) configured to receive the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and emit a first expanded output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) from the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]); and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component), separate from the first waveguide (waveguides 114a/b are separate from waveguide 116), having a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the at least one propagated image beam (Figure 5) and emit a second expanded output image beam from the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the coupling assembly (112, input coupler) further comprises: a semitransparent mirror ([0002]) having a semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface and a semitransparent mirror ([0002]) second surface opposite the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface, the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface configured to receive the collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) reflected from the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface and provide the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) emitted from the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) second surface.
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) comprises a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil); configured to expand the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the first expanded output image beam; and wherein the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) comprises a mirror ([0002]) configured to receive the at least one propagated image beam and provide a reflected at least one propagated image beam, the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) further comprising a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the reflected at least one propagated image beam and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the second expanded output image beam.
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); further comprising: an image projector ([0049]) configured to provide the collimated image beam ([0051]) based on a digital image ([0050]), wherein the collimated image beam ([0051]) is collimated to infinity, and wherein the projector includes a liquid crystal on silicon display ([0050]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches an optical system comprising: an image projector ([0049]) configured to provide a collimated image beam ([0051]) based on a digital image ([0050]); a coupling assembly (112, input coupler) configured to receive the collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide a first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) and a second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG); an image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) at an image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) input (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 240, BPG) and provide at least one propagated image beam at an image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) output (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 114b, second intermediate component); a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) having a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) configured to receive the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and emit a first expanded output image beam from the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye); and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component), separate from the first waveguide (waveguides 114a/b are separate from waveguide 116) having a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the at least one propagated image beam and emit a second expanded output image beam from the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 5, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein at least one of: the collimated image beam ([0051]) is collimated to infinity; the image projector includes one of a liquid crystal display, a liquid crystal on silicon display ([0050]), an organic light emitting diode display, a micro light emitting diode display, and a laser display; the image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) includes at least one of a glass material, an acrylic material, and a polycarbonate material; a portion of the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) is affixed to a portion of the image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) with a layer of low refractive index adhesive; and the image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) is an elongated transparent member having a first end and a second end with a rectangular cross section and orthogonal walls, the image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive at least one input (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 240, BPG) image beam and provide four replicated output image beams based on the at least one input (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 240, BPG) image beam.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 5, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the coupling assembly (112, input coupler) comprises a semitransparent mirror ([0002]) having a semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface and a semitransparent mirror ([0002]) second surface opposite the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface, the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface configured to receive the collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) reflected from the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) first surface and to provide the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) emitted from the semitransparent mirror ([0002]) second surface; and wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) comprises a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the first expanded output image beam; and wherein the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) comprises a mirror ([0002]) configured to receive the at least one propagated image beam and provide a reflected at least one propagated image beam, the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) further comprising a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the reflected at least one propagated image beam and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the second expanded output image beam.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 5, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the coupling assembly (112, input coupler) comprises: a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side opposite the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side, the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side being configured to receive the collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) from the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and provide a transmitted image beam from the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side; and a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side, the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) being configured to receive the transmitted image beam at the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and provide the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) from the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side.
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) comprises a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the first expanded output image beam; and wherein the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) comprises a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the at least one propagated image beam and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the second expanded output image beam.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 5, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the coupling assembly (112, input coupler) further comprises: an active half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) liquid crystal element configured to receive the collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide a transformed image beam; a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side opposite the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side, the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side being configured to receive the transformed image beam and provide the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) from the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and provide a transmitted image beam from the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side; and a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side, the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) being configured to receive the transmitted image beam on the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and provide the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) from the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side.
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) comprises a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the first expanded output image beam; and wherein the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) comprises a mirror ([0002]) configured to receive the at least one propagated image beam and provide a reflected at least one propagated image beam, the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) further comprising a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the reflected at least one propagated image beam and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the second expanded output image beam.
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) comprises a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the first expanded output image beam; and wherein the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) comprises a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the at least one propagated image beam and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the second expanded output image beam.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) is a first image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) and wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) includes a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) front surface that is opposite the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the optical system further comprising: a third waveguide ([0098]) having a third waveguide ([0098]) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the third waveguide ([0098]) configured to receive the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and emit a third expanded output image beam from the third waveguide ([0098]) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the third waveguide ([0098]) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) being affixed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) front surface, the third waveguide ([0098]) comprising: a second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) and provide at least one propagated third image beam at a third image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) output (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 114b, second intermediate component); a third waveguide ([0098]) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the third waveguide ([0098]) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the at least one propagated third image beam and provide a third waveguide ([0098]) first plurality of expanded image beams; and a third waveguide ([0098]) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the third waveguide first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a third waveguide ([0098]) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the third expanded output image beam, the second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to surround at least a portion of the third waveguide ([0098]) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 5, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); further comprising: a frame configured to support the image projector ([0049]), the coupling assembly (112, input coupler), the image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) and the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component), the frame being configured to conceal the image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) within a portion of the frame.
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches an optical system comprising: an image projector ([0049]) configured to provide a collimated image beam ([0051]) based on a digital image ([0050]); a coupling assembly (112, input coupler) configured to receive the collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide a first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) and a second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG); a first image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG) at a first image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) input (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 240, BPG) and provide an at least one first propagated image beam at a first image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) output; a second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) at a second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) input (Figure 5, surface of 106, bulk substrate, adjacent to 240, BPG)t and provide an at least one second propagated image beam at a second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) output; a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) having a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) configured to receive the at least one second propagated image beam and emit a first expanded output image beam from the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye); And a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component), separate from the first waveguide (waveguides 114a/b are separate from waveguide 116), having a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the at least one first propagated image beam and emit a second expanded output image beam from the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the coupling assembly (112, input coupler) comprises: an active half wave plate liquid crystal element configured to receive the collimated image beam ([0051]) and provide a transformed image beam; a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side opposite the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side, the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side being configured to receive the transformed image beam and provide the second output image beam (Figure 6, output from 240, BPG) from the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and provide a transmitted image beam from the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side; a quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side, the quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) being configured to receive the transmitted image beam on the quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and provide a converted image beam from the quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side; and a mirror ([0002]) having a reflective mirror ([0002]) surface configured to receive the converted image beam and provide a reflected image beam, the quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) configured to receive the reflected image beam on the quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side and provide a second converted image beam from the quarter wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side, the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) configured to receive the second converted image beam on the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side and provide the first output image beam (Figure 5, output from 240, BPG).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) comprises a first mirror ([0002]) configured to receive the at least one second propagated image beam and provide a reflected at least one second propagated image beam, the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) further comprising a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the reflected at least one second propagated image beam and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the first expanded output image beam; and wherein the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) comprises a second mirror ([0002]) configured to receive the at least one first propagated image beam and provide a reflected at least one first propagated image beam, the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) further comprising a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) and a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) being configured to expand the reflected at least one first propagated image beam and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams directed to the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the second expanded output image beam.
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) includes a first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) front surface that is opposite the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the optical system further comprising: a third waveguide ([0098]) having a third waveguide ([0098]) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the third waveguide ([0098]) configured to receive the at least one second propagated image beam and emit a third expanded output image beam from the third waveguide ([0098]) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the third waveguide ([0098]) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) being affixed to the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) front surface, the third waveguide ([0098]) comprising: a third image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured receive the at least one second propagated image beam and provide an at least one propagated third image beam at a third image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) output; a third waveguide ([0098]) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the third waveguide ([0098]) first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the at least one propagated third image beam and provide a third waveguide ([0098]) first plurality of expanded image beams; and a third waveguide ([0098]) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the third waveguide first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a third waveguide ([0098]) second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the third expanded output image beam, the second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to surround at least a portion of the third waveguide ([0098]) second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) having a homogenizing layer.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); wherein the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) includes a second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) front surface that is opposite the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]), the optical system further comprising: a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side opposite the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side, the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side being configured to receive the at least one first propagated image beam and provide a second transmitted image beam from the polarizing beam splitter (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side; a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) having a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and a half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side, the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) being configured to receive the second transmitted image beam on the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) first side and provide a second converted image beam from the half wave plate (abstract, and [0006], [0007]) and [0019]) second side; a fourth waveguide having a fourth waveguide rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye), the fourth waveguide configured to receive the second converted image beam and emit a fourth expanded output image beam from the fourth waveguide rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]), the fourth waveguide rear surface (surface of 116, output coupler, towards 714, human eye) ([0031]) being affixed to the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component) front surface, the fourth waveguide comprising: a fourth image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to receive the second converted image beam and provide an at least one propagated fourth image beam at a fourth image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) output; a fourth waveguide first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the fourth waveguide first aperture expander ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the at least one propagated first image beam and provide a fourth waveguide first plurality of expanded image beams; and a fourth waveguide second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil) configured to expand the fourth waveguide first plurality of expanded image beams and provide a fourth waveguide second plurality of expanded image beams to be emitted as the fourth expanded output image beam, the fourth image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) configured to surround at least a portion of the fourth waveguide second aperture expander; ([0006]; expanded output-pupil), the fourth image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) including a homogenizing layer.
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches a near eye display waveguide, in at least (Fig. 1A, 5, 6, 7 ; and [0031], [0033] and [0051]); further comprising: a frame configured to support the image projector ([0049]), the coupling assembly (112, input coupler), the first image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component), the second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component), the first waveguide (Figure 7, 116, output coupler) and the second waveguide (114b, second intermediate component), the frame being configured to conceal the first image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) and the second image pipe (portion of 106, bulk substrate, between 240, BPG, and 114b, second intermediate component) within a portion of the frame.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872