DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the filing of 1/28/2025. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “transmission assembly” of at least claims 1, 8, and 15 corresponding to drive shaft 212, drive shaft 281, and distal drive shaft 282.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informality: line 2 reads “a clamping distance stored in the storage device of the reload” when it should read “a clamping distance of the reload stored in the storage device.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shelton (US 2016/0256184 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shelton discloses a surgical device (9010 – Fig. 81) comprising: a reload assembly (the assembly of 9016 and 9018 – Fig. 81) including a plurality of staples (9042 – Fig. 82; para. 0534); an anvil assembly (9014 – Fig. 81) movable relative to the reload assembly (para. 0534); a power source (90 – Fig. 4 as applied to the embodiment of Fig. 81, para. 0534; or the battery, para. 0535); a motor (9082 – Fig. 83) coupled to the power source (para. 0293 as applied to the embodiment of Fig. 81, para. 0534); a transmission assembly (the assembly of 9036 and 9038 – Fig. 82) movable by the motor and configured to move the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly (para. 0538; “assist in spacing the anvil” is interpreted to be moving the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly); a force sensor (9020 – Fig. 84) configured to measure a force imparted on the anvil assembly by the transmission assembly (para. 0529); a storage device (9068 – Fig. 86) storing data including a minimum clamp force limit (para. 0359 as applied to the embodiment of Fig. 81, para. 0534 in view of para. 0551); and a controller (9062 – Fig. 86) configured to: activate the motor to move the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly (paras. 0538-0539; 9082 actuates 9036 which then assists in spacing the anvil); compare the measured force to the minimum clamp force limit (para. 0373 as applied to the embodiment of Fig. 81, para. 0534); and output an alert in response to the measured force being lower than the minimum clamp force limit (para. 0359, “warn the user”).
Shelton further discloses:
Claim 2, the data further includes a clamping distance (measurement of the gap, para. 0546 and para. 0551).
Claim 3, the controller is configured to activate the motor to move the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly until the clamp distance is reached (since the controller moves the transmission assembly to move the anvil assembly to the clamp distance and the clamp distance is stored after the anvil assembly is in position, the controller moves the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly unit the clamp distance is reached; note that clamping distance is not claimed as stored prior to clamping).
Claim 5, the controller is further configured to enable ejection of the plurality of staples in response to the measured force being higher than the minimum clamp force limit (para. 0359; since normal operation is above the minimum clamp force limit and in normal operation the controller enables staples to be ejected, the controller is configured to enable ejection of the plurality of staples in response to the measured force being higher than the minimum clamp force limit).
Claim 8, a method for controlling a surgical device (9010 – Fig. 81), the method comprising: receiving, at a controller (9062 – Fig. 86), a minimum clamp force limit stored in a storage device (para. 0359 as applied to the embodiment of Fig. 81, para. 0534 in view of para. 0551); activating a motor (9082 – Fig. 83) to move a transmission assembly (the assembly of 9036 and 9038 – Fig. 82) coupled to an anvil assembly (9014 – Fig. 81) that is movable relative to a reload assembly (the assembly of 9016 and 9018 – Fig. 81) having a plurality of staples (para. 0538; “assist in space the anvil” is interpreted to be moving the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly); measuring, through a force sensor (9020 – Fig. 84), force imparted on the anvil assembly by the transmission assembly (para. 0529); comparing, at the controller, the measured force to the minimum clamp force limit (para. 0373 as applied to the embodiment of Fig. 81, para. 0534); and outputting, by the controller, an alert in response to the measured force being lower than the minimum clamp force limit (para. 0359, “warn the user”).
Claim 12, enabling ejection of the plurality of staples in response to the measured force being higher than the minimum clamp force limit (para. 0359; since normal operation is above the minimum clamp force limit and in normal operation the controller enables staples to be ejected, the controller is configured to enable ejection of the plurality of staples in response to the measured force being higher than the minimum clamp force limit).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Shelton simply does not disclose comparing the force measured at the clamping distance to the minimum clamp force distance as required by claim 4, determining an alternative reload assembly in response to the measured force being lower than the minimum clamp force limit as required by claim 6, receiving, at the controller, a clamping distance stored in the storage device as required in claim 9, or activating the motor to move the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly until the clamping distance is reached as required by claim 15. Furthermore, regarding claims 4, 6, and 9, there is no known reference that teaches these limitations. Regarding claim 15, even if a teaching were known that teaches activating the motor to move the anvil assembly relative to the reload assembly, claim 15 also does not disclose comparing the force measured at the clamping distance to the minimum clamp force limit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mozdzierz (US 2018/0353186 A1) teaches a clamp force and distance (paras. 0381 and para. 0379).
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
8/4/2026