DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-4 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant argues that examination of the entire application would not place a serious burden on the examiner (Remarks filed 18 June 2026, p. 4, top).
In response, after further consideration, claims 1-4 have been examined, as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leng et al. (CN114682076A) in view of Novek (US 2020/0188840 A1), as evidenced by Wahl (US 4,357,801).
Leng discloses a ship exhaust gas integrated treatment system (Fig.; [n0031]) for absorbing CO2 ([n0057]) and releasing CO2 ([n0033]), and implicitly a method for the same ([n0009]) (i.e., a method for sorption/desorption of carbon dioxide) comprising:
counter-current contact of an exhaust gas with a chemical absorbent in the chemical absorption section of an absorption tower 4 ([n0027], [n0032], [n0036]), wherein the absorbent may be a calcium-based alkaline solution ([n0041]), which the skilled practitioner would have interpreted to include calcium hydroxide aqueous solution, which is capable of generating calcium carbonate when exposed to carbon dioxide, as evidenced by Wahl (Abstract; col. 3, lines 31-34) (i.e., a step of contacting exhaust gas containing carbon dioxide with a sorption solution made of an aqueous metal hydroxide solution capable of generating carbonate in a sorption tank to provide an aqueous metal carbonate solution);
transferring washing liquid to a washing liquid buffer tank 6 and through a booster pump 8 to a heating section 91 and desorption section 92 ([n0034]) of a desorption tower 9 ([n0033]) (i.e., a step of transferring the aqueous metal carbonate solution from the sorption tank to a desorption tank);
desorbing and releasing absorbed CO2 in the desorption tower 9 so the desorbed washing liquid can be reused ([n0043]) (i.e., a step of desorbing carbon dioxide from the aqueous metal carbonate solution in the desorption tank to regenerate the sorption solution);
pumping the washing liquid using a washing liquid supply pump 7 connected to an inlet of a chemical absorption section 42 of the absorption tower 4 ([n0034]) for the reuse of the washing liquid ([n0043]) (i.e., a step of transferring the regenerated sorption solution from the desorption tank to the sorption tank),
wherein the desorption tower 9 includes a heating section 91 and desorption section 92 ([n0034]) of a desorption tower 9 ([n0033]), the desorption section including an ultrasonic generator 921 for desorbing and releasing absorbed CO2 ([n0043]) (i.e., wherein the step of desorbing carbon dioxide from the aqueous metal carbonate solution to regenerate the sorption solution is performed by irradiating the aqueous metal carbonate solution contained in the desorption tank with ultrasonic waves).
However, Leng does not explicitly disclose that the step of desorbing carbon dioxide from the aqueous metal carbonate solution to regenerate the sorption solution is performed by reducing a desorption tank pressure, or irradiating with ultrasonic waves under reduced pressure.
Novek discloses an absorption system for absorbing CO2 from a flue gas ([0675]). Novek teaches that depressurization can be combined with heat input to desorb a dissolved acid gas (Fig. 2B; [0036]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Leng by regenerating a sorption solution by reducing a desorption tank pressure and irradiating with ultrasonic waves under reduced pressure as taught by Novek because (1) Leng teaches the use of heat and ultrasound to promote desorption (Leng, [n0043]), and (2) depressurization can be combined with heat input to desorb dissolved gas Novek ([0036]). See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leng et al. (CN114682076A) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0160420 A1), as evidenced by Wahl (US 4,357,801) and Novek (US 2020/0188840 A1).
Leng discloses a ship exhaust gas integrated treatment system (Fig.; [n0031]) for absorbing CO2 ([n0057]) and releasing CO2 ([n0033]) (i.e., an apparatus for sorption/desorption of carbon dioxide) comprising:
an absorption tower 4 ([n0032]) that receives exhaust gas ([n0057]) including an absorbent storage tank 15 and an absorbent replenishment pump 16 ([n0041]) (i.e., a sorption tank including a sorption solution supply unit configured to supply a sorption solution) which may be a calcium-based alkaline solution ([n0041]), which the skilled practitioner would have interpreted to include calcium hydroxide aqueous solution, which is capable of generating calcium carbonate when exposed to carbon dioxide, as evidenced by Wahl (Abstract; col. 3, lines 31-34) (i.e., a sorption solution made of an aqueous metal hydroxide solution capable of generating carbonate; wherein the exhaust gas is sorbed into the sorption solution to provide an aqueous metal carbonate solution), and
a flue gas pipeline 10 and an inlet of a pre-washing section 41 ([n0035]) for supplying the exhaust gas to the absorption tower ([n0036]) (i.e., an exhaust gas supply unit configured to supply exhaust gas containing carbon dioxide);
a washing liquid buffer tank 6 and booster pump 8 for supplying washing liquid to a heating section 91 and desorption section 92 ([n0034]) of a desorption tower 9 ([n0033]) (i.e., an aqueous metal carbonate solution transfer unit configured to transfer the aqueous metal carbonate solution from the sorption tank to a desorption tank); the desorption section including an ultrasonic generator 921 for desorbing and releasing absorbed CO2 so the desorbed washing liquid can be reused ([n0043]) (i.e., a desorption tank including an ultrasonic irradiation unit, wherein carbon dioxide is desorbed from the aqueous metal carbonate solution to regenerate the sorption solution);
an outlet of the desorption tower 9 (Fig.) for directing desorbed CO2 to a CO2 storage chamber 11 ([n0039]) (i.e., a carbon dioxide extraction unit configured to extract carbon dioxide from the desorption tank); and
a washing liquid supply pump 7 connected to an inlet of a chemical absorption section 42 of the absorption tower 4 ([n0034]) for the reuse of the washing liquid ([n0043]) (i.e., a sorption solution transfer unit configured to transfer the regenerated sorption solution from the desorption tank to the sorption tank).
However, Leng does not explicitly disclose a desorption tank including a pressure-reducing unit.
Tanaka discloses an exhaust gas treatment device and method (Fig. 1; claim 1; [0027], [0029]) using an absorbing liquid with a CO2 recovery function ([0035]). Tanaka teaches an absorbing liquid heating/regenerating unit 23 ([0027]) with a vacuum pump (i.e., a pressure-reducing unit) for a released gas line L6 so that a boiling point of an alkaline solution is lowered ([0039], [0043]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Leng by providing a desorption tank including a pressure-reducing unit as taught by Tanaka because (1) Leng teaches the use of heat and ultrasound to promote desorption (Leng, [n0043]), and it was known that depressurization could be combined with heat input to desorb dissolved gas as evidenced by Novek ([0036]); and (3) it would have been obvious to use a vacuum pump for depressurization to lower a boiling point of a used absorbent (Tanaka, [0039], [0043]) along with the use of heat and ultrasonic radiation since these were known techniques for promoting desorption of absorbed gases. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leng in view of Tanaka as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Novek.
Regarding claim 3, Leng in view of Tanaka does not explicitly disclose that the sorption tank is part of a conduit configured to transport exhaust gas from a source of exhaust gas containing carbon dioxide to an exhaust gas treatment apparatus.
Novek discloses an absorption system for absorbing CO2 from a flue gas ([0675]). Novek teaches that the remaining gas stream after at least a portion of CO2 is absorbed may undergo further treatment such as additional CO2 scrubbing ([0676]), which implicitly teaches a scrubber (i.e., an exhaust gas treatment apparatus).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Leng in view of Tanaka by providing a sorption tank that is part of a conduit configured to transport exhaust gas from a source of exhaust gas containing carbon dioxide to an exhaust gas treatment apparatus as taught by Tanaka because (1) a remaining gas stream after absorption may undergo further treatment such as additional CO2 scrubbing (Novek, [0676]) to improve CO2 removal; and (2) an absorption tower/scrubber tank connected to a flue gas source (Leng, [n0035]) and a scrubber/exhaust gas treatment apparatus can be regarded as part of a conduit configured to transport the flue gas from the source to the scrubber/exhaust gas treatment apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, Leng teaches the use of pipelines for gas transport ([n0035], [n0052]), so it would have been obvious to combine the absorption tower of Leng in view of Tanaka for the transport of exhaust or flue gas (i.e., wherein the conduit is a pipeline connecting the source of exhaust gas containing carbon dioxide and the exhaust gas treatment apparatus).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rabindran et al. (US 2020/0398216 A1) teaches that CO2 lean gas that is absorber exhaust gas is removed through the top of an absorber and enters a water wash section where vapors of the absorbent are removed ([0007]).
Conclusion
/GABRIEL E GITMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772